Photos of badges from BUS COMPANIES BEGINNING WITH THE LETTER “C”
(PLEASE NOTE: THE BADGES AND INFORMATION PRESENTED ON THIS SITE ARE FOR REFERENCE / EDUCATIONAL USE ONLY. WE DO NOT BUY, SELL OR TRADE TRANSIT BADGES! The purpose of this page is to share information about collecting transit badges. All photos and artwork displayed on this site are from personal collections and are used by permission of the owners, or are in the public domain. If requested, we credit badge photos to the owner. We gratefully welcome additional information and/or corrections, questions, comments, new badge entries and especially badge photos. Please don’t hesitate to contact us.)
CBS LINES, INC. started service in July 1989 in Coram, Suffolk County, New York, on Long Island. The company used the yard of the old Coram Bus Service. The Company was owned by George Semke, who use to own Harran Transportation Co, Inc., and Harran Shuttle Corp. It ran buses under a contract with Suffolk Transit. In 2011 CBS Lines was outbid by Suffolk Bus Corp for their routes, as a result after 22 years of service CBS Lines stop operating for Suffolk Transit on December 31, 2011. The company closed down in Jan. 2013.
C.C.C. LINES See Consolidated Coach Corporation.
C.& T. COACH COMPANY was operating in 1942 in North Carolina. The company was owned by E.O. Woodie.
CTA See Chicago Transit Authority.
CTC No information on this badge. The seller says it’s a “Chicago Transit City” badge. The first badge measures 2½” X 2½”. The second badge measures 2½” x 2¼” with a maker’s mark BLACKINTON. Judging the badges below to be from the 1940s, some of the transit companies with the initials “CTC” that were operating in 1946, include:
Calvetti Transportation Co., Inc. Hurley, Wisc.
Canyon Transportation Company, Helena, Mont.
Cape Transit Corporation, Cape Girardeau, Mo.
Capital Transit Co, Frankfort, My.
Capital Transit Co., Washington, D.C.
Capital Transportation Co. Little Rock, Ark.
Charleston Transit Co., Charleston, W. Va.
Cheshire Transportation Co., Keene, N. H.
Chicago Tunnel Co., Chicago, Ill
Clinton Transportation Company, Paterson, N.J.
Club Transportation Co., Yonkers, N.Y.
Colonial Transit Co., Inc., Fredericksburg, Va.
Community Transit Co., Helena, Mont
Conestoga Traction Company, Lancaster, Pa.
Cook Transit Corp. Evansville, Ind.
Co-operative Transit Co., Wheeling, W. Va.
County Transportation Co., Inc. port Chester, N.Y.
Crescent Transit Co., Inc. Fairfield, Ala.
Cross Transit Corp. Kokomo, Ind.
CALIFORNIA HOT SPRINGS STAGES was operating in the early 1930s out of Hot Springs, California. F. A. Minaker was the owner.
CALIFORNIA NEVADA STAGES, INC. was operating in the early 1930s out of the Union Stage Depot in Sacramento, California. Beverly Gibson was the president and general manager.
CALIFORNIA PARLOR CAR TOURS COMPANY, INC. This company was operating in San Francisco, California, in 1924. R. C. Smith, President; J. A. Boyd, Secretary; F. R. Smalley, General Manager. The company had some kind of connection to Greyhound Lines, which is shown by this notice in the February 1931 issue of Railway Age: In 1931 “George J. Loftus was appointed department of tours manager for Pacific Greyhound Lines, Inc., Pacific Greyhound Lines of Texas, Inc. and California Parlor Car Tours Company.” The company isn’t listed in the MTD from the 1940s or 1950s, nor in Russell’s National Motor Coach Guide for 1939. However, a California Parlor Car Tours Company was incorporated in November 1963 in San Francisco and had a connection to Greyhound, which is shown by this mention in the New York Times, October 2, 1964: “Greyhound became a holding company last December, when it transferred its bus operations to a subsidiary, the California Parlor Car Tours Company, which operates buses over more than 101,000 miles of routes.” Based on the Greyhound connection, one might assume that the latter company is one and the same as the 1924 company.
CALIFORNIA TRANSIT COMPANY See Star Auto Stage Association
CALISTOGA-CLEAR LAKE STAGE LINE ran in 1924 in Calistoga, California. William Spiers, operator. In May 1930 the company was sold to Pacific Greyhound Lines, Inc.
CALLOWAY’S ETNA-YREKA STAGE LINE was operating in the mid 1920s out of Etna, California. H.F. Calloway was the owner/operator.
CALUMET MOTOR COACH COMPANY, INC. Harold E. Miner obtained a franchise in 1924 to operate a bus line in Hammond, Indiana. Miner incorporated under the name Calumet Motor Coach Company. It was forcefully bought out by Samuel Unsell’s Shore Line Motor Coach Company, which, in the end, caused financial ruin for Harold E. Miner.
CAMAS STAGE COMPANY ran a route from Portland, Oregon to Longview, Washington, in 1923.
CAMBRIDGE & SOUTHERN TRANSIT was an Ohio transit company during the 1940s. In the April 28, 1948, edition of the Cincinnati Enquirer reported that thirteen drivers strike stopping “bus service here [Cambridge, Ohio] and in six surrounding villages . . .” The badge measures 2 ½ ” x 2 ½ ” with a single threaded post; it was made by “FIFTH AVENUE UNIFORM CO. 19 SO. WELLS CHICAGO”.
CAMEL CITY COACH COMPANY was founded in Winston-Salem, North Carolina, and was named “Camel” for the nickname of its hometown, due to the Camel cigarettes made there: “On this date: January 19, 1926. Six yellow coaches and 150 highway miles were purchased and operation of the Camel City Coach Company was begun, making three round trips to Charlotte and two to Martinsville. John Lash Gilmer purchased the lone bus line in Winston-Salem in December 1925, and organized the Camel City Lines, which grew from six lines to 25 in the first year of operation. It eventually merged with the Atlantic Greyhound Lines. Mr. Gilmer was elected a vice-president and general sales manager for the company.“
In 1931 Arthur M. Hill (who bought the White Transportation Company and the Huntington-Charleston Motor Bus Company and combined them as the Midland Trail Transit Company in July 1924, and who formed the Blue & Gray Company in 1927 to buy his Midland Trail Transit Company) and John Lash Gilmer (who owned Camel City Coach Company) and some other investors, organized Atlantic Greyhound Lines. In December 1929 Hill and Gilmer combined their routes and companies by creating a holding company named National Highway Transport. In 1929 Arthur Hill, John Gilmer and Guy Huguelet (of the Consolidated Coach Corporation, based in Lexington, Kentucky, which in 1936 became renamed as the Southeastern Greyhound Lines), organized another bus company, based in Roanoke, Virginia named as the Old Dominion Stages. In 1932 Hill and Gilmer bought Huguelet’s interest in Old Dominion Stages and merged the company into Atlantic Greyhound. By 1934 Atlantic Greyhound’s main East Coast route was from Washington, D. C., to Jacksonville, Florida via Richmond, Raleigh, Wilmington, Charleston and Savannah. By 1937 The Greyhound Corporation owned a controlling interest in Atlantic Greyhound Lines. By 1957 the corporation owned Atlantic Greyhound lock, stock and barrel. Doc Rushing writes: “[In] November 1960, in another round of consolidation, Greyhound merged the Atlantic GL with – not into but rather with – the Southeastern GL, based in Lexington, Kentucky, a neighboring regional company – thereby forming the Southern Division of The Greyhound Corporation, called also the Southern [Greyhound Lines], the third of four huge new divisions (along with Central, Eastern, and Western). Thus ended the Atlantic GL and the Southeastern GL, and thus began the Southern [Greyhound Lines]”
CAMERON BUS LINE ran between Cameron to Lake Charles, Louisiana. In 1925 it was running a regular route from Taylor to Rockdale, Louisiana.
CAMP ELWELL STAGE ran in 1924 in Blairsden, California. W.F. Drew, operator.
CAMP NELSON AUTO STAGE LINE ran in 1924 in Porterville, California. R. Holloway was the owner/operator.
CAMPO-SECO-VALLEY SPRINGS STAGE LINE was running in 1928 in Camp Seco, California. Edward Maher was the owner/operator.
CANADIAN AMERICAN COACHES, LTD. / CANADIAN AMERICAN TRAILWAYS In 1925 F. Cyril Cooper formed Windsor-Chatham Coaches, which operated out of Windsor, Ontario, Canada. When London was added to the route, the name was changed to Windsor-Chatham-London Coaches. On May 28, 1930, Cooper founded Canadian American Coaches Ltd., which operated to Detroit, Michigan, Windsor, Ontario, Chatham, London, Ingersoll, Woodstock, Paris, Brantford, Hamilton, St. Catharines, Niagara Falls and Buffalo, New York. The company operated from the Union Bus Terminal in Windsor, Ontario. In 1934 the company began using the motto “The Bulldog Line” on its buses. In June 1936, Canadian American Coaches Ltd. joined the National Trailways System and changed their name to Canadian American Trailways Ltd. By September 1938, the company was operating 16 buses. On December 30, 1939, Canadian American Trailways and routes, along with Windsor-Chatham-London Coaches, were sold to Toronto Greyhound Lines, Ltd. for $140,000. (Toronto Greyhound Lines, was owned by Gray Coach from Toronto.)
CANNON BALL COACH LINES was an intercity bus company running between Aurora and Yorkville, Illinois. It was incorporated in 1924, and was acquired by Burlington Transportation Company (later Burlington Trailways), which was formed as a subsidiary of Chicago Burlington & Quincy Railroad. The company was part of an ad campaign selling a motor oil in 1927 This ad appeared in a number of newspapers on September 21, 1927: “Mr. L. W. Cameron, Mgr. — Gentlemen: We would like to have you know juat how we feel about IsoVis after using it for four months. We are now using IsoVis Oils in our Model W, Reo Motors, and IsoVis Lubricants for chassis lubrication. After exhaustive comparative tests we have come to the conclusion that IsoVis is as perfect an oil as is found on the market today. We believe that we were as skeptical as the average bus operator in adopting a new oil. We had heard the usual condemnation of a new and untried product, and naturally were very cautious in trying IsoVis. We are SOLD on IsoVia. Very sincerely, Cannon Ball Coach Line, Inc. Bertha M. Orr, President.“
CANNON BALL STAGE LINES / CANNON BALL TRAILWAYS / CANNON BALL, INC. Cannon Ball Stage Lines was operating in the 1930s out of Durango, Colorado. In the late 1930s R. B. Stone was general manager and his buses served Gallup and Shiprock, New Mexio, Durango and Dolores, Colorado. The company joined the National Trailways Bus System in 1944 and stayed in that affiliation until 1954. In 1946 the company ran 14 buses over 562 route miles. By that time it was owned by partners L. E Clark, who was general manager, and R. C. Hine, who served as traffic manager. According to one source the Trailways portion of the company sold out to Maurice E. Moore, who absorbed it into his Transcontinental Trailways in 1954. In 1955 Cannon Ball Stage Lines moved operations to Albuquerque, New Mexico, changed its name to Cannon Ball, Inc., and was running 3 buses over 48 route miles. It ceased operations in 1959.
CANNON BALL TRANSPORTATION COMPANY There’s little info on this company. It was mentioned in a court case from the Ohio Supreme Court (vs Ohio Valley Bus Company) dated December 1, 1924: “Since March 17, 1924, the Cannon Ball Transportation Company has been operating a motor transportation service under certificate of convenience and necessity No. 633, granted by the Public Utilities Commission of Ohio, over a regular route, a part of which extends from the city of Ironton, Ohio, to the Ohio river, in the direction of Huntington, W. Va.” It was again mention in another court case from Kentucky dated 1931 against Red Diamond Bus Line Company: “About April 1, 1928, the Cannon Ball Transportation Company applied to the commissioner of motor transportation for a certificate of public convenience and necessity to operate a motor bus line between Portsmouth, Ohio, and Ashland, Ky., via South Portsmouth, Fulton, and Greenup, Ky., for the purpose of transporting interstate passengers between Portsmouth, Ohio, and Ashland, Ky., and intrastate passengers between South Portsmouth, Ky., and Ashland, Ky. The granting of the certificate was protested by the Red Diamond Bus Line Company and the Blue Ribbon Bus Line Company, and their owners, who were operating a motor bus service between Ashland and Greenup under a permit theretofore granted by the commissioner.”
The company was also mentioned in the June 1929 issue of the ELECTRIC RAILWAY JOURNAL: “People’s Necessity Outweighs Traction Loss in Ohio. The Scioto Valley Railway & Power Company has lost its long-time fight to prevent the Cannonball Transportation Company from extending its bus line from Chillicothe, Ohio, to Columbus. By way of Portsmouth the bus company operates a line from Ironton to Chillicothe. In a majority opinion, the State Public Utilities Commission held that the necessity of the people of southern Ohio to have a direct method of transportation into Columbus outweighed the fact that the electric railway company would lose money if the Cannonball’s request were granted. The opinion restricts the Cannonball to service over state route 104 from Chillicothe to Columbus, and Cannonball buses must not carry Chillicothe and Circleville passengers, but only through-passengers both ways out of Columbus. The opinion left open the way for the railway, which sought to operate supplemental bus service itself, to amend its own application and protest so that it may be able to operate buses over state route 23 from Chillicothe to Columbus.”
CANTON & BLUE HILL BUS LINE, INC. In 1922 the company replaced interurban railway service, which had been operated by Blue Hill Street Railway since 1899. The route operated from Mattapan transit terminal via Canton, Massachusetts, into Stoughton. The company was incorporated on February 16, 1944. In the 1940s it was acquired by Hudson Bus Lines and operated as a subsidiary. In 1954 the company was located in Stoughton and served Canton, Stoughton, Norwood and Boston with 9 buses over 41 route miles. The company was dissolved on December 31, 1990.
CANTON CITY LINES, INC. succeeded the Canton Traction Company in 1940. It was a subsidiary of National City Lines and operated in Canton, Ohio, from 1940 until 1971 when public transportation was taken over by the Canton Regional Transit Authority. The badge was made by Greenduck Co., Chicago, and measures 2 ½” with two threaded posts.
CAPE FEAR BUS COMPANY was operating in the mid 1920s in Lumberton, North Carolina. It ran between Lunberton, Fayetteville, Franklin and Sylva.
CAPITOL BUS COMPANY, INC. / CAPITOL TRAILWAYS The company’s history begins in Pennsylvania with Joseph L. Maguire back in the mid 1930s. When he lost his job, Maguire began working for the state highway department in Harrisburg, some 55 miles from his home in Pottsville, Pennsylvania. Before long he was transporting others to Harrisburg for work, which was the beginning of the future bus company. With his brother John as a partner, Maguire was granted permission to operate a 12 passenger stretch auto, and began operations on July 6, 1936. By 1943 Capitol Bus Company was carrying over 6,000 passengers a day and operating service 24 hours a day; that same year the company headquarters were moved from Pottsville to Harrisburg. In 1947, Capitol Bus Company acquired two companies: Gettysburg-& Harrisburg Transportation and Adams Transit Company. The brothers incorporated in 1948 and that same year joined the National Trailways Bus System. In 1956 Capitol Bus Company / Capitol Trailways was operating 30 buses over 464 route miles. The November 11, 1959 edition of the Kingston Daily Freeman from Kingston, New York offers more insight into the company: “The State Public Service Commission approved today the sale of the L. D. Dickinson Motor Coach Lines of Owego for $15,000 to the Capitol Bus, Co. Inc., of Harrisburg. Pa. The transaction, however, hinges on approval by the Interstate Commerce Commission of Dickinson turning over its interstate operating rights to Capitol for an additional $20,000. . . . The PSC said the Dickinson line had been operated since early this year by the estate of its founder. The heirs no longer want to stay in the business, the PSC said.” A December 31, 2008 newspaper article offers recent history: “Capitol Trailways sale approved: The U.S. Bankruptcy Court in Harrisburg has approved the sale of the parent company of Capitol Bus Co., known as Capitol Trailways, to a Kutztown firm. Carl R. Bieber Inc. is buying the assets of the Harrisburg-based bus and charter company for $2.65 million.” The company was absorbed into Bieber Tourways / Bieber Transportation Group.
CAPITAL MOTOR COACH TRANSIT COMPANY was formed in 1921 as an intercity company to fill a 30-mile gap in rail service between Louisville and the Bluegrass section of Kentucky. It ran from Shelbyville, Ky. 30 miles east of Louisville, and Frankfort, which is 60 miles east of Louisville.
CAPITAL SERVICE LINES, INC. This company began with a merger in 1967 between Center Service Bus Lines and Capital Stage Lines. The original routes were Columbus-Norfolk, Nebraska, and Lincoln-Columbus, Nebraska. The company operated until 1976. The badge is chrome and has two threaded posts.
CAPITAL TRANSIT COMPANY was created in Washington, D.C., on December 1, 1933 through the merger of Capital Traction Company, Washington Rapid Transit and the Washington Railway & Electric Company. In January 1955 the Capital Transit Company consisted of 750 buses and 450 streetcars. In 1956 Capital Transit Company, which was owned by Lewis E. Wolfson, had its franchise revoked by the U.S. Congress. The company was purchased on August 15, 1956, for $13.5 million by O. Roy Chalk, who renamed the company DC Transit System. Chalk had explicit instructions to switch to buses. The system was dismantled in the early 1960s and the last streetcar ran on January 28, 1962. On January 14, 1973, Washington Metropolitan Area Transit Authority purchased DC Transit and the Washington, Virginia and Maryland Coach Company, (followed on February 4 by the purchase of AB&W Transit Company and WMA Transit Company) unifying all the bus companies in D.C.
There are four badges shown here: first is an older badge made of aluminum by Whitehead and Hoag Co., Newark, NJ.j, measures 2 ⅝ x 2½ and mounts through the holes on either end. The other three are later badges made of plastic and are pin backs.
CAPITAL TRANSIT, INC. In 1956 this company ran buses in Concord, New Hampshire. It succeeded the Boston & Maine Transportation Company. The badge is die pressed nickel, measures 2 ¼” in diameter with a single threaded post and one pin post.
CAPITAL TRANSIT succeeded Trenton Transit Co. in 1959 and ran buses in Trenton, N.J,. until 1969 when Mercer County Metro took over.
CAPITAL TRANSIT Transit services in Lock Rock, Arkansas, go back to City Electric Street Railway (1885-1901) and then to the Little Rock Railway & Electric Company, which ran from 1901 until 1925. This company was then taken over by the Arkansas Power & Light Company, which ran streetcars. It formed a subsidiary called Capital Transportation, which ran from 1935 until 1950 when it was sold to a group of local investors. From 1952 until 1956 Capital Transit Company ran buses in Little Rock. On February 28, 1956, the city governments of Little Rock and North Little Rock awarded a bus franchise to Citizens Coach Company. This company went under in 1962 and was succeeded by Twin City Transit on September 25, 1962. This company ran until 1972 when it was taken over by Central Arkansas Transit Authority. In 2015 Rock Region Metropolitan Transit Authority (Rock Region Metro) took over public transit in Little Rock, North Little Rock, Cammack Village, Maumelle, Sherwood, and Jacksonville, Arkansas.
CAPWOOD TRANSPORTATION CORPORATION ran in 1933 in the Bronx, New York City.
CARBONDALE-HARRISBURG COACH LINES, INC. was founded by Earl Throckmorton in 1937 when he acquired a bus route between Carbondale and Harrisburg, Illinois, from Dixie Greyhound Lines. Starting out with two buses, the company had expanded to employee 55 workers and served 120 cities by the time it was sold to the Peoria Bus Co. in 1955.
CARDINAL BUSES, INC. See Middlebury Bus Line.
CAREY & LEACH BUS LINES, INC. was incorporated in Indiana and was running buses in the mid-to late teens into the 1920s. At some point in the year 1927, the corporation was sold to the Insull interests of Chicago, which owned the Chicago, North Shore & Milwaukee Railroad, the Chicago, South Shore & South Bend Railroad, and the Chicago, Aurora & Elgin Railway Companies, in addition to a number of subsidiary motor coach companies supplementing and feeding the rail lines. (The “Insull interests“ refers to the business interests of Samuel Insull, 1959-1938, who was based in Chicago and had accumulated a vast fortune in the 1920s, principally from the acquisition of public utilities and railroads, which he purchased through his various companies.) When Carey & Leach Bus Lines was sold, the name was changed to Southwestern Michigan Motor Coach Company. In 1928 that company was sold to the Motor Transit Corporation, which, in 1930, changed its name to The Greyhound Corporation. (See the entry for Southwestern Michigan Motor Coach Company for more detailed information.)
CARMEL-MONTEREY STAGE ran in 1924 in Carmel, California. C. Goold, operator.
CAROLINA COACH COMPANY, INC. was incorporated on November 25, 1925, when the owners bought five bus companies—Carolina Motor Coach Company, Safety Coach Lines, Southern Transit Company, Safety Transit Lines and Golden Star Bus Lines. In 1929 the company bought out Southern Coach Company. The company joined Trailways on May 1, 1940, as the Carolina Trailways; in 1997 the company became a wholly owned subsidiary of Greyhound Lines, Inc. (Click here for a detailed history of Carolina Coach Company.) The badge is made of brass and is a single threaded post.
CAROLINA MOTOR BUS LINES was operating out of Anderson, South Carolin,a in the late 1930s. In the late 1920s there was a bus company named Inter-Carolina Motor Bus Company operating along the same routes, which may be the same company. It ran from South Carolina to North Carolina. Carolina Motor Bus Lines was sold to Carolina Stages / Carolina Scenic Coach Lines in 1946, which had become became part of the National Trailways Bus System in 1938 as Carolina Scenic Trailways. (All these companies were owned by McDuff Turner; see Carolina Scenic Coach Lines for more information.)
CAROLINA SCENIC COACH LINES / CAROLINA STAGES / CAROLINA SCENIC TRAILWAYS These companies were based in Spartanburg, South Carolina, and were owned by McDuff Turner (1875-1964). The information is sketchy, but at some point McDuff Turner formed a partnership with his son, Hamish Turner, Sr., and daughters Martha Beth Turner Jackson and Nita Turner Scott. During the 1940s all worked in the company—McDuff Turner as president, Hamish Turner as general manager, Martha as secretary, and Nita as treasurer. In 1946 the company bought Carolina Motor Bus Lines and was operating 70 buses over 591 route miles. It served Asheville, Hendersonville, Spartanburg, Union, Columbia, Shelby, Greenwood, Marion, Augusta, Newberry and Greenville, South Carolina. By 1956 the company was operating 65 buses over 1,366 route miles. Carolina Scenic Coach Lines joined the National Trailways Bus System in 1938 as Carolina Scenic Trailways. According to one source it was sold in 1973 to Continental Trailways. (See Carolina Scenic Trailways for a badge photo.)
CARPENTER BUS LINE, INC. was founded by Fred W. Carpenter in Black River, New York, in the late 1910s and ran into the 1920s.
CARROLLTON-CINCINNATI BUS LINE ran in Covington, Warsaw and Ghent, Kentucky, in the 1920s-1930s.
CARTER VALLEY BUS LINE According to a 1946 Kingston, Tennessee, Rotary Club publication, this company ran 3 buses in the 1940s and served Kingston along Bloomingdale Road and the city of Rock Springs, Tennessee.
CASCADA-HUNTINGTON LAKE STAGE COMPANY ran in 1924 out of Los Angeles, California. D.A. Munger, general manager.
CASCADE MOUNTAIN STAGE LINE The only information about this company is that it is mentioned in the State of Washington Fifteenth Biennial Report of the Secretary of State for October 1, 1916, September 30, 1918; it served the Washington region noted in the company title, and that it was bought out by North Bend Stage Line in 1925.
CASEYVILLE BUS LINES, INC. / CASEYVILLE BUS LINE According to the 1984 edition of The Atwood-Coffee Catalogue, this company was operating in 1938, when it issued fare tokens in the name of “Caseyville Bus.” (As noted below, this information was based on a 1966 report by Richard Montague of Cahokia, Illinois.) However, the first evidence I have found of this company is in a December 19, 1941, notice printed in the Edwardsville Intelligencer from Edwardsville, Illinois, noting that Oliver Anderson, President of the Caseyville Bus Line, Inc., had applied to the Illinois Commerce Commission for “a Certificate of Convenience and Necessity to operate as a motor carrier for the transportation of passengers for hire between Collinsville, Illinois; Caseyville, Illinois; French Village, Illinois, Edgemont, East St. Louis, Illinois, and Washington Park, Illinois.” The 1946 Mass Transit Directory provides this info: “Caseyville Bus Line, Inc. Local serving Caseyville, Collinsville, E. St. Louis, Belleville. Buses 5, route miles 27.” The 1956 MTD entry reads: “Caseyville Bus Line, Inc. Fourth and Morris Sts. City service in Caseyville and surrounding area.” By the 1950s the company was owned by Industrial Bus Lines, Inc., an intercity company servicing E. St. Louis, Cahokia, Fairview, O’Fallon, Illinois and St. Louis, Missouri. In 1956 the two companies ran 11 buses over 27 route miles, with Oliver C. Anderson servicing as president. (Anderson also owned and operated the Central and Southern Trucking.) By 1960 the company was operating 35 buses over 30 route miles. Caseyville Bus Lines, Inc., was taken over by Bi-State Transit of St. Louis in 1963.
A note on Caseyville Bus Lines fare tokens: The March 1966 issue of The Fare Box, which is the monthly newsletters of the American Vecturist Association, had this to say about the Caseyville fare tokens: “The Caseyville token was found by Richard Montague of Cahokia, Ill ., which is only a few miles from Caseyville. Mr . Montague tells us that the token was first issued in 1938, and that only 500 of them were struck. When the company stopped using tokens they collected and destroyed all that they could find, and very few of them survived. About 5 years ago the Caseyville Bus line was taken over by Bi-State Transit. Caseyville is a small suburb of East St. Louis. We list the token at $1.00, because it is a comparatively recent issue. However, should no more of them turn up, the value would be expected to be in the census category.” The 1982 edition of The Atwood-Coffee Catalogue list the value of this token at $100. The most recent edition gives a value of $250.
The badge is die-pressed brass with one threaded post and one pin post. It measures approx. 2¾” x 2⅝”.
CASSADAY AUTO LINE / R.S. CASSADAY AUTO LINE was operating in the mid 1920s out of Blairsden, California. R. S. Cassaday was the owner / operator.
CATSKILL ELECTRIC RAILWAY COMPANY began running in Catskill, New York, on December 14, 1900 from Catskill Point to Jefferson for a distance of two miles. In 1910 it was reorganized as the Catskill Traction Company. The company stopped running in the Summer of 1917 and filed it’s last report on October 31st.
CAYUGA OMNI-BUS CORPORATION was a city bus line in Auburn, New York, in the late 1920s. It also ran an intercity service, receiving a certificate of operation in May 1931 from the Public Service Commission of New York to operate a bus line between Marcellus and Syracuse, New York. At that time the company was already operating routes in Auburn and the Town of Owasco, New York. Their company motto was “Intelligent Transportation.” In 1945 the company was serving Skaneateles, New York. In 1943 the company issued bus tokens. The Tuesday, January 3, 1950, edition of the Citizen Advertiser, from Auburn, New York, gives the details in the next chapter of Cayuga Omni-Bus Corporation’s history: “A fleet of red and cream colored buses, owned by the Auburn Bus Company, composed of Shaw and Ben Benderly, went into action New Year’s Day and the switch from the service rendered by the Cayuga Omnibus Corporation to the new one was performed without a hitch. The Benderly brothers, who took over the franchise with a 10-year agreement for city operation, expressed pleasure at the fine way the Auburn passengers and officials have co-operated. The Auburn Bus Company has a fleet of 18 buses in operation and the Arm announced that more than 25 of the drivers of the Cayuga Omnibus Corporation have been absorbed in the change. The new bus firm houses its fleet in its recently acquired property, known as the Green Street Garage. The Cayuga Omnibus Corporation still maintains its service between Auburn and Syracuse. The Inter-urban line was not affected by the change in city operators.”
As noted in the article, the Cayuga Omni-Bus Corporation’s rural routes were unaffected by the sale of their city operation. However, by 1952 that situation had changed. In a newspaper article dated Saturday April 25, 1953, the company’s president, Harold J. Drescher, was interviewed about his request with the Public Service Commission that he be allowed to discontinue two rural bus routes, which would dissolve the company. (They were interurban service between Auburn and via Skaneateles and between Syracuse and via Onondaga Hill.) The March 12, 1954, edition of the Syracuse Post-Standard from Syracuse, New York, carried this notice: “Last May the Cayuga Omnibus Co., which had operated the lines for 24 years, filed a petition with the commission asking for an order permitting it to go out of business on the ground that it was losing money.” That petition was granted in April 1954 and it sparked a bid from other companies for the abandoned routes. One of those companies was the Auburn Bus Company, which had already taken over Auburn’s city bus service by brothers Shaw and Ben Benderly. The PSC denied the petition, after which the Benderlys appealed. In March 1954 a rehearing was denied by the PSC. The other company was the Onondaga Coach Co., which applied for a permanent certificate of consent to operate the interurban bus lines between Auburn and Syracuse and Marcellus and Syracuse. (The Onondaga Coach Co. had been operating the lines on a temporary certificate since November 1, 1954.) After 1959 the Auburn Transit Corporation was providing bus service to the city of Auburn, New York.
CECIL COACH LINE or sometime R. J. CECIL COACH LINE, was running out of Muncie, Indiana, in 1926.
CECIL TRANSIT was a local bus service located in Perryville, Maryland, and operated by Cecil County, Maryland.
CEDAR RAPIDS CITY LINES was a subsidiary of National City Lines, and succeeded Iowa Electric Light & Power Company in 1937 providing service in Cedar Rapids, Iowa. It ran buses until 1967. The badge measures 2 ½”x 2 ½” with two threaded posts; not marked but probably made by Greenduck Co., Chicago.
CELYER BROTHERS BUS LINE COMPANY There’s no info on this company other than it was operating in 1928 in Tennessee.
CENTRAL ALABAMA COACHES The origin of this company appears to date from October 1938 when G. E. Guthrie applied to the Alabama State Public Service Commission to establish a bus line between Grove Hill and Evergreen via Whatley, Monroeville, Excel and Repton, Alabama. The permit was given on June 20, 1938. In July 1940 Southeastern Greyhound Lines sought to acquire Central Alabama Coaches’ franchise between Selma and Clanton over State Highway No. 22 via Plantersville, Stanton and Maplesville. In August 1945 G. E. Guthrie, DBA Central Alabama Coaches, received approval to take over a portion of Monroeville Bus Company’s certificate of convenience and necessity to transport passengers and baggage between Troy and Selma, via Luverne and Greenville to Camden, Belknap and Sardis, Alabama. In 1946 the company was operating15 buses over 263 route miles. G. E. Guthrie was listed as owner, president and manager. In April 1950 Monroeville Bus Company took over Central Alabama Coaches’ line from Troy to Selma. The end of the company seems to have come in May 1951 when the National Trailway Bus System purchased the company’s franchise running between Selma and Tuscaloosa.
CENTRAL ARKANSAS TRANSIT Transit services in Lock Rock, Arkansas, go back to City Electric Street Railway (1885-1901) and then to the Little Rock Railway & Electric Company, which ran from 1901 until 1925. This company was then taken over by the Arkansas Power & Light Company, which ran streetcars. It formed a subsidiary called Capital Transportation, which ran from 1935 until 1950 when it was sold to a group of local investors. From 1952 until 1956 Capital Transit Company ran buses in Little Rock. On February 28, 1956, the city governments of Little Rock and North Little Rock awarded a bus franchise to Citizens Coach Company. This company went under in 1962 and was succeeded by Twin City Transit on September 25, 1962. This company ran until 1972 when it was taken over by Central Arkansas Transit Authority. In 2015 Rock Region Metropolitan Transit Authority (Rock Region Metro) took over public transit in Little Rock, North Little Rock, Cammack Village, Maumelle, Sherwood, and Jacksonville, Arkansas. The badge measures approx. 2 ½”, die pressed and a single threaded post.
CENTRAL AVENUE BUS LINE / CENTRAL AVE BUS LINE There’s not much info on this company other than it was owned by Otto F. Beutke and was operating before 1920 in Phoenix, Arizona. On September 12, 1920, Otto F. Beutke applied for a certificate of convenience and necessity to operate a stage line between Sherman Street and Indian School Road, serving the central business section of Phoenix, Arizona. The application was denied because the Phoenix Street Railway Company was operating a route that was within three blocks of the proposed bus line. The company was still operating in 1930, but is not mentioned in any edition of the MTD in the 1940s. (This company is not to be confused with the Central Avenue Bus Line that was operating in Upion City and Jersey City, New Jersey in the 1960s.) The badge is die-pressed, made of brass, measures 2 3/8″ x 2″, has one threaded post and is marked AMERICAN RY. SUPPLY CO.
CENTRAL BUS COMPANY operated out of Lincolnton to Cherryville, North Carolina, in the 1940s.
CENTRAL BUS LINES / CENTRAL TRAILWAYS Editor’s note: some of the early Trailways members had very tangled histories, and oft times hard to work out. Central Trailways is one of these: Based in Cookeville, Tennessee, in 1935 Cookeville Coach Company was renamed Central Bus Lines. Based in Cookeville, the company was owned and operated by H. J. Utter and Don D. Utter. With Interstate Commerce Commission approval, in August 1947 Central Bus Lines took over the routes and operations of Consolidated Bus Lines, Inc., and the combined operations formed Central Trailways. (Consolidated Bus Lines had been founded in 1938 in Smithville, Tennessee.*) In 1947 the company served Chattanooga, Crossville, Jamestown, Nashville, Cookeville, Lebanon, McMinnville, Tullahoma, Celina and Gallatin, Tennessee, with 60 buses over 722 route miles. In 1953 Continental Southern Lines bought Crescent Stages / Crescent Trailways, and renamed the companies Continental Crescent Lines; on March 1, 1954, with Tennessee Utilities Commission approval, Continental Southern Lines acquired Central Trailways and renamed it Continental Tennessee Lines, Inc., which continued as a Trailways member company. Dr. D.B. “Doc” Rushing writes: “In 1960 the Tennessee Coach Company [was] sold to a new firm (created specifically to buy the TCC), named as the Tennessee Trailways, Inc., owned in three equal shares by three other Trailways member companies. The investors were the Virginia Stage Lines (the Virginia Trailways), the Smoky Mountain Stages (the Smoky Mountain Trailways), and the Continental Tennessee Lines (which ran in part between Nashville and Knoxville along US-70N via Lebanon, Carthage, Cookeville, Crossville, and Rockwood). That last company [Continental Tennessee Lines, Inc.] was in turn a wholly owned subsidiary of the Continental Southern Lines, based in Alexandria, Louisiana. The two latter firms were members of the Transcontinental Bus System, which used the trade name of the Continental Trailways.” (*Chicago Transit & Railfan confuses this Consolidated with Consolidated Bus Lines “formed 1926 by J. E. Craft”.)
CENTRAL GATEWAY CO. No information on this badge.
CENTRAL ILLINOIS BUS COMPANY was headquartered in Springfield, Illinois, and began operating in August 1928. It operated a route between Springfield, Riverton, Dawson, Buffalo,Lanesville, Illiopolis,Niantic, Harristown, Decatur, Antioch, Casner, La Place, Lintner, Hume, Metcalf, Chrisman and the Illinois-Indiana state line. In 1930 the company added a route between Danville and Decatur, Illinois. During the 1930’s the company acquired Tri-State Bus Company.
CENTRAL MICHIGAN MOTOR COACH LINES / CENTRAL MICHIGAN BUS LINES First of all, I’m not sure if these two companies are one and the same. On July 23, 192, Central Michigan Motor Coach Line was advertising a route between Muskegon and Freemont Mt. Pleasant: “Bus Leaves Hotels Bennett and Park Daily 6:30 a. m., 1:00 p. m.. Central Standard Time. FOR SPECIAL TRIPS SEE DRIVER”. The company was again mentioned in July 1930 in a newspaper ad. There is no further mention of the company after 1930. However, Central Michigan Bus Lines was running in the 1940s between Saginaw, Merrill, Hemlock, Breckinridge, St. Louis, Alma, Edmore, Greenville and Howard City, Michigan. This company was located in Alma, Michigan, and ran 4 buses over 40 route miles. In the November 23, 1951 edition of the Traverse City Record-Eagle from Traverse City, Michigan, there is this note of the company’s end: “(UP) – Orval Hyatt, owner of the Wolverine Bus Lines of Muskegon and Hesperia, has purchased the Central Michigan Bus Lines of Alma and requested the Michigan Public Service commission for an extension from Alma to Muskegon.” The company was still operating under the name “Central Michigan Bus Lines” in the 1954 edition of the MTD. It is not listed in the 1956 edition.
CENTRAL MOTOR BUS LINE ran a 72-mile route from Salem to Eugene, Oregon, in 1923.
CENTRAL OF GEORGIA MOTOR TRANSPORT COMPANY was running in the late 1920s as a subsidiary bus line of Central of Georgia Railroad Company: Railway Age, Vol. 92, No. 26 June 1932: “‘We operate buses in the name of the Central of Georgia Motor Transport Company, which is a corporation owned by the Central of Georgia,’ says H.D. Pollard, president and general manager.’” The subsidiary is not mentioned in the 1939 Russell’s Guide. However, in 1951 Central of Georgia Railroad founded a trucking firm to handled some of its shipping loads—giving it the name Central of Georgia Motor Transport Company.
CENTRAL SWALLOW COACH LINES began operating buses as early as 1935, east of Indianapolis, Indiana, to Dunreith and New Castle, replacing the THI&E railway line which had been abandoned in 1932. Now part of the IndyGo Washington route. The badge has a single threaded post, and was made by the FIFTH AVENUE UNIFORM COMPANY 19 SO. WELLS CHICAGO .
CENTRAL TRANSIT COMPANY was operating out of Stockton, California, in the mid 1920s. The owners’ name was Colberg.
CHAMPAIGN-URBANA CITY LINES was owned by National City Lines, which bought out Illinois Power & Light Company and replaced their streetcars with buses. Beginning in 1936, Champaign-Urbana City Lines provided transit to Champaign-Urbana, Illinois, metro area. The company ran bus until 1965-1966, when it sold the system to Westover Transit Management Corporation. The new owners, keeping the same name, ran until 1971. The Champaign-Urbana Mass Transit District began operation on August 2, 1971. (Go to Champaign Urbana Mass Transit District History for more information.)
CHAMPLAIN COACH LINES, INC. / CHAMPLAIN-FRONTIER COACH LINES “Soon after [John D.] Hertz acquired control of Fifth Avenue Coach in 1924, its operations were extended, through new subsidiaries, into other states and Canada. In 1926, Gray Line Motor Tours, which operated sightseeing buses in the City and to outside points such as Bear Mountain, was acquired; in 1929 Frontier Coach Lines was organized in Massachusetts to operate a line between Boston and Montreal and sightseeing buses in Boston; and in the same year Champlain Coach Lines, a New York corporation, was organized to operate a line between New York and Montreal.” (Swaine, Robert T. 2007. The Cravath Firm and Its Predecessors 1819-1947. New Jersey: The Lawbook Exchange, Ltd.) Another of Hertz’s partners in this venture was Canada’s Provincial Transport Company, which took care of the Canadian side of business. In 1930 the company charged $18 for a round trip, or $10 one way, and served various towns in New York, Vermont, New Jersey and Quebec, Canada. Since the company was under the same ownership as the Frontier Coach Lines, Inc., it was often advertised as the Champlain-Frontier Coach Lines and indeed the two companies issued joint bus schedules. In the 1930s and 1940s the company’s president and director was Frederick T. Wood, who was also a director and VP of Madison Avenue Coach Company, Inc.; director and vice-chairman of the Board of the New York City Omnibus Corporation; a director and chairman of the Board of the Fifth Avenue Coach Company; a director and president of the Champlain Coach Lines; president of Frontier Coach Lines, Inc. Champlain Coach Lines was taken over by Central Greyhound Lines of New York in 1942—which was merged into Eastern Greyhound Lines in 1955.
CHAPIN & SADLER Not much information here. I found an obit for Clarence E. “Bud” Rose (1924 – 2015) who worked for the Chapin & Sadler Fuel and Bus Company, located in Montague Center, MA, stating he was an oil delivery and school bus driver. The badge has a single threaded post.
CHARLEROI COACH LINES This company appears to have been founded in ca. 1959-1960, since I can find no mention of it in the 1950s editions of the MTD. In November 1959 it is mentioned in an advertisement in the Charleroi Daily Mail from Charleroi, Pennsylvania, naming John A. Shultz as owner/operator. (Charleroi is about 21 miles south of Pittsburgh.) The company operated a service along Route 71 between Charleroi and Cokeburg. The firm’s slogan was, “Why Fuss Take Schultz’s Bus.” It was still in business in 1968, when a newspaper items noted that the owner might be closing down his company due to ill health and no money to upgrade equipment. The badge is nickel-plated metal with two threaded posts.
CHARLESTON TRANSIT COMPANY The history of this company begins in Charleston, West Virginia, with the Charleston Interurban Railroad Company, which took over streetcar service from Kanawha Valley Traction Company in 1923. At a the 1935 receiver’s sale for the bankrupt Charleston Interurban Railroad Company, Charleston Transit Company acquired the property. On June 29, 1939, the new company converted the entire streetcar operation to buses. The company lasted until 1971 when it was sold to the current Kanawha Valley Regional Transportation Authority. There are three badge designs. The first, which may be the earliest, is made if nickel-plated brass with enamel has two threaded posts on either end at the top, and measures 2″ x 2⅛”; the other two badges differ slightly in design with one fancy and one plain. The fancy badge design, which is earlier, has flower wreath around the bottom and has no maker’s mark. The plain badge design was made by Maier Lavaty Co. Chicago. They measure approx. 1¾” diameter with a single threaded post.
CHARLESTOWN BUS LINES connecting Jeffersonville and Charlestown, Indiana, with Louisville, Ky. The company went out of business in 1943.
CHARLOTTE CITY COACH LINES, INC. / CITY COACH LINES, INC. / CITY COACH took over the public transportation in Charlotte, North Carolina, in 1955 from Duke Power Company. (That company had discontinued streetcars in Charlotte in 1938 and in 1946 was running 93 buses over 152 route miles. After Charlotte City Coach Lines took over operations in Charolotte, the company still operated in Durham, Greensboro, N.C., Anderson and Spartanburg, S.C.) Although Charlotte City Coach Lines operated buses in Charlotte, it was controlled by City Coach Lines. In 1956 Charlotte City Coach Lines operated 115 buses over 205 route miles The company operated until 1976 when the Charlotte Department of Transportation took over and operated buses as Charlotte Transit, which was in existence from 1976 to 1999. The below badge is made of nickel-plated brass, measures 2¼” x 2″ and has two threaded posts.
CHARLOTTE-CONCORD BUS LINE, INC. was operating in the early and mid 1920s out of Charlotte, North Carolina. L. B. Cress was the president. There is this entry from North Carolina Corporation Commission: “Under the Commission’s Order of March 14, 1925, six applications were filed for service on the line between Charlotte, N. C, and Greensboro, N. C, namely: Kirk’s Auto Bus Service. Piedmont Stage Line, Inc. Charlotte-Concord Bus Line. Dixie Motor Coach Line, Inc. Blue Star Bus Line. The Royal Blue Transportation Co., Inc. The Commission called the carriers to a conference on April 3, 1925, for the purpose of separating the operation of the equipment on time schedules primarily to prevent racing and controversy between the drivers. . . . These carriers have been operating with keen competition and little was known as to the financial results of their operation, therefore, without attempting to ascertain the adequacy of the service the Commission made twenty-six temporary daily schedules, thirty minutes apart, allocated as follows:
Kirk’s Auto Bus Service, eight round trips; Piedmont Stage Line, Inc., seven round trips Charlotte-Concord Bus Line, three round trips; Dixie Motor Coach, Inc., four round trips; White Bus Line, one round trip Blue Star Bus Line, two round trips; Royal Blue Transportation Co., Inc., two round trips.”
CHATTANOOGA-DAYTON BUS LINE began operating on July 29, 1916, between Dayton, Decatur and Lupton City, Tennessee. J. Alfred Williams was the owner. By 1929 Frank S. Wingate was the company’s owner. (Wingate bought Air Line Coaches’ operations in 1930.)
CHATTANOOGA-DECATUR BUS LINE was operating in the late 1920s out of Chattanooga, Tennessee. As the name says, it served Chattanooga and Decatur, Tennessee.
CHATTANOOGA-HUNTSVILLE BUS LINE In the early 1930s this company was operating over U.S. Highway 72 running from Chattanooga, Tennessee to Huntsville, Alabama. On April 11, 1933, the Tennessee Railroad & Public Utilities Commission approved the sale of the Chattanooga-Huntsville Bus Line to Cumberland Coach Company. Cumberland only operated the service until May 23, 1934, at which time it was sold to Capital Motor Lines of Montgomery, Alabama. (Info from David Steinburg’s Chattanooga transit history, which you may access in our “Links” page.)
CHATTANOOGA-LAKE WINNEPASAUKAH BUS LINE was operating in the late 1920s out of Chattanooga, Tennessee. As the name says, it served Chattanooga and Lake Winnepasaukah, Tennessee.
CHATTANOOGA-LOOKOUT MOUNTAIN BUS LINE was operating in the late 1920s out of Chattanooga, Tennessee. As the name says, it served Chattanooga and Lookout Mountain, Tennessee.
CHATTANOOGA-NASHVILLE BUS COMPANY was operating in the 1920s between Nashville and Chattanooga, Tennessee.
CHATTANOOGA-SOUTH PITTSBURG & HUNTSVILLE BUS COMPANY was operating in the late 1920s out of Chattanooga, Tennessee. As the name says, it served Chattanooga, South Pittsburg, and Huntsville, Tennessee.
CHAUDOIN BUS LINES This company’s history begins with two brothers, Albert Lee (1904-1979) and Robert Guthrie Chaudoin (19043-1982), who, in 1935, founded Chaudoin Bus Lines in Louisville, Kentucky. In the 1930s the company served Louisville, Central City and Paducah, Kentucky. By the early 1940s their buses served New Castle, Carrollton and Paducah via Shepherdsville, Kentucky. A November 27, 1943, Louisville, Kentucky newspaper article announced that Chaudoin Bus Lines was sold to “the Bankers National Investment Corporation for $225,000. It was transferred to a new corporation known as the Kentucky Bus Lines, Inc. The property was owned by A. L. Chaudoin and R. G. Chaudoin, brothers who operated an intrastate line from Louisville. Running 13 buses to New Castle, Carrollton and Paducah via Shepherdsville.” Kentucky Bus Lines joined the National Trailways Bus System in 1952 and remained until 1954. In 1972 the Louisville Transit Company acquired the company’s routes.
JOHN CHEAP STAGE LINE ran in 1924 in Oxnard, California. John Cheap, owner/operator.
CHECKER BUS CORPORATION ran on Long Island, New York, in the 1960s. It was reorganized into Stage Coach Lines sometime in the 1960s, and that company was acquired by BEE LINE, INC. In 1973 all of Bee Line, Inc.’s operations were taken over by the Metropolitan Suburban Bus Authority (operating as MTA Long Island Bus) in 1973.
CHECKERWAY CHARTER COACH COMPANY was a charter bus service in – Milwaukee, Wisconsin. Interestingly, the bus emblem on the badge features a Greyhound bus, which indicates a Greyhound Lines connection.
CHENANGO VALLEY TRANSIT LINES This company was operating in the 1940s out of Binghampton, New York, and served Binghamton, Norwich, Hamilton and Utica. In 1956 Austin F. Robbins was owner and president of the company and operated 10 buses over 161 route miles. In 1978 Robbins was still the owner of the company. The badge is made of nickel-plated metal and has two threaded posts.
CHEROKEE MOTOR COACH COMPANY, INC. was incorporated in 1928 by the Levan brothers of Chattanooga, Tennessee. (By 1940 J. B. Levan and Florence Levan owned the compnay.) They ran a route to Manchester, Monteagle and Tullahoma, Tennessee and Huntsville, Alabama. In 1949 the company was sold to Southeastern Greyhound Lines. The badge measures 2¼” x 2″ single threaded post, made by FIFTH AVENUE UNIFORM CO IN CHICAGO.
CHERRY TRANSIT COMPANY was founded in 1933 in Green Bay, Wisconsin. The May 24, 1933, edition of the Green Bay Press-Gazette from Green Bay, Wisconsin carried the story of the company’s founding: “In the matter of the application of Cherry Transit Company for a certificate to operate motor vehicles as an auto transportation company for the carrying passengers between Green Bay, Algoma and Sturgeon Bay. NOTICE OF HEARING AND ORDER FOR PUBLICATION Notice is hereby given that the Public Service Commission of Wisconsin will hold a public hearing upon the above entitled application on May 31, 1933 to be held in the city of Madison, Wisconsin, at 10:00 o’clock in the forenoon said day, at which time and place persons present desiring to he heard thereon will be given an opportunity to present such evidence and arguments as may bear upon the question of whether public interest requires the issuance of a certificate to Cherry Transit Company for the carriage of passengers between the points named …” In 1956 the company was running 8 buses over 96 route miles. In 1962 the company was merged with two other bus companies (Green Bay Wausau Lines and Wisconsin Michigan Transit Lines) to form Wisconsin-Michigan Coaches, Inc.
CHICAGO AURORA & ELGIN RAILROAD (CA&E), “known colloquially as the ‘Roarin’ Elgin’ or the ‘Great Third Rail’, was an interurban railroad that operated passenger and freight service on its line between Chicago and Aurora, Batavia, Geneva, St. Charles, and Elgin, Illinois. The railroad also operated a small branch to Mt. Carmel Cemetery in Hillside and owned a branch line to Westchester.” “Utilities magnate Samuel Insull gained control of the CA&E in 1926. Insull and his corporate interests had already taken over and improved the properties of the North Shore and South Shore Lines. Insull’s plans to make similar improvements to the CA&E were scrapped as the result of the Great Depression. With the collapse of his utilities empire, Insull was forced to sell his interest in the CA&E, and the railroad was once again bankrupt by 1932. The line connecting West Chicago with Geneva and St. Charles was abandoned in 1937. Wounded by the increased use of automobiles after World War II, the CA&E abruptly ended passenger service in 1957. Freight service was suspended in 1959, and the railroad was officially abandoned in 1961. Most of the right-of-way has since been converted to the Illinois Prairie Path rail trail.” (Information from Wikipedia.) (Samuel Insull, 1959-1938, was based in Chicago and accumulated a vast fortune in the 1920s, principally from the acquisition of public utilities and railroads, which he purchased through his various companies.)
CHICAGO & CALUMET DISTRICT TRANSIT CO. INC. also, CHICAGO & CALUMET DIST.–TRANS. CO. SHORELINE There is an older and newer badge for this company, which ran from 1931 until 1971, providing local bus service in the Hammond and Whiting and East Chicago. The earlier badge measures 1 ½ ” in diameter and is a pin back. The later badge has one threaded post, measures just under 2″ x ½” tall, and was made by FIFTH AVENUE UNIFORM COMPANY, 19 SO. WELLS, CHICAGO.
CHICAGO & JOLIET TRANSPORTATION COMPANY was formed in 1922 by the Chicago & Joliet Electric Railway Company to operate buses. Both companies ceased operations in July 1934 and their routes and equipment sold off.
CHICAGO & KANSAS CITY FREIGHT & LINES COMPANY Many early bus companies began as a combination of freight and passenger service. Often, their “buses” were a flatbed truck where some benches were set up among the freight when passengers were riding. This company was one of those businesses, although it seems to have been primarily a freight trucking company based in Kansas City, Missouri. There is little surviving info: a badge, which dates to the 1910s-1920s, and a single 1937 newspaper item and a truck photo. The July 30, 1937, edition of the Bucklin Herald, from Bucklin, Missouri, reported “A Chicago and Kansas City Freight line truck was hi-jacked of five five-gallon buckets of paint at about one o’clock this morning three miles east of Bucklin on U.S. Highway 36, according to the state patrol. As the truck was going up a hill, a man jumped on the running board and forced the driver to drive down a side road. Here the occupants of the truck, Herbert and Herman Wallers and Al Markam all of Kansas City were tied up and blindfolded. The paint was then stolen from the truck.” The badge is made of die-pressed brass, measures approx. 2¾” x 2¾”, is marked “Joe” and had at least one threaded post. (Note: the badge has a hole drilled in the center to replace a missing post with a screw.)
CHICAGO MOTOR BUS COMPANY was incorporated in Egewater, Illinois, in December 1913 and secured a franchise on June 19, 1916, from the Lincoln Park Board, to have exclusive rights to operate buses through Lincoln Park, and began operations on its first route March 25, 1917. (Info from LeRoy Blommaert.) The company merged with Chicago Stage Company and Depot Motor Bus Lines in 1923 to form the Chicago Motor Coach Company. This new company was owned by John D. Hertz, who had founded the famed Yellow Cab Company. The following year Hertz merged Chicago Motor Coach and his Fifth Avenue Motor Coach Corporation of New York City, creating the Omnibus Corp. In 1952 Chicago Motor Coach’s operations were taken over by the Chicago Transit Authority (CTA), the city’s public mass-transit enterprise. (For more info on this company’s history see: Before The CTA, City Buses Were Double Deckers You Could Hail )
CHICAGO MOTOR COACH COMPANY There are two differing stories about this company’s founding. One is found on Wikipedia, which offers that “John D. Hertz founded the Chicago Motor Coach Company in 1917 to run bus transport services in Chicago.” The other states that the Chicago Motor Coach Company was formed in 1923 by John D. Hertz after a merger of three motorbus carriers, Chicago Motor Bus Co., the Chicago Stage Co., and the Depot Motor Bus Lines. In 1924 Hertz merged Chicago Motor Coach and the Fifth Avenue Motor Coach Corp. of New York City, creating the Omnibus Corp. In 1952, when it owned nearly 600 buses, Chicago Motor Coach’s operations were taken over by the Chicago Transit Authority (CTA), the city’s public mass-transit enterprise. Supporting documentation seems to show that the latter account is correct. (See the above entry for Chicago Motor Bus Company.) The first badge is die pressed brass, convex shaped with two loops and measures 2 ¾” x 2″. The second badge is for an inspector, is die pressed and nickel plated with two fasteners.
CHICAGO NORTH SHORE & MILWAUKEE RAILROAD “NORTH SHORE LINE” was formed in 1916 by famed industrialist Samuel Insull when he acquired the Chicago & Milwaukee Electric Railway Company. (Samuel Insull, 1959-1938, was based in Chicago and accumulated a vast fortune in the 1920s, principally from the acquisition of public utilities and railroads, which he purchased through his various companies.) The line served the northern Chicago metropolitan area, and southeastern Wisconsin. The North Shore Line provided electric freight and passenger service between the Chicago Loop and downtown Milwaukee. In 1947 the company purchased Racine Motor Coach Lines, Inc. and operated 50 buses over 23.6 route miles in Racine, Wisconsin. During the 1950s the company was in decline; finally, on January 22, 1963, the company ceased operations and its lines were abandoned.
CHICAGO RAPID TRANSIT COMPANY / CRT From the Encyclopedia of Chicago: “The Chicago Rapid Transit Co., which was led by Chicago utilities titan Samuel Insull, was created in 1924 after a formal merger among the lines associated in the Chicago Elevated Railways. During the 1920s, Chicago Rapid Transit employed about 5,000 men and 600 women and had annual revenues of roughly $20 million. In 1932, during the Great Depression, the company entered bankruptcy. In [October] 1947 it was taken over by the new Chicago Transit Authority (CTA), a public entity that became the new owner of the city’s famous ‘L.’” From Wikepedia: “The CRT was an amalgamation of several elevated railroad operators, each of which operated service in a particular section of the city. These predecessors include: Chicago and South Side Rapid Transit Railroad (providing service starting in 1892), Lake Street Elevated Railroad (providing service starting in 1893), Metropolitan West Side Elevated Railroad (providing service starting in 1895), Northwestern Elevated Railroad (providing service starting in 1900). The badge is made of stainless steel with solid copper numerals, measures 3″ x 1¼” and was made by GREENDUCK CO. CHICAGO.
CHICAGO SOUTH SHORE & SOUTH BEND RAILROAD (CSS) / SOUTH SHORE LINE is owned by the Anacostia Rail Holdings Company. “The South Shore Line is the last remaining of the once numerous electric interurban trains in the United States. The South Shore began in 1901 as the Chicago and Indiana Air Line Railway, a streetcar route between East Chicago and Indiana Harbor. Reorganized as the Chicago, Lake Shore and South Bend Railway in 1904, by 1908 its route had reached South Bend, Indiana via Michigan City, Indiana. The company leased the Kensington and Eastern Railroad, an Illinois Central Railroad subsidiary, to gain access to Chicago. Passenger service between South Bend and Chicago began in 1909. . . . Samuel Insull acquired the bankrupt Lake Shore in 1925 and reorganized it as the Chicago South Shore and South Bend Railroad, which it remains today.” (Quoted from Wikepedia.) (Samuel Insull, 1959-1938, was based in Chicago and accumulated a vast fortune in the 1920s, principally from the acquisition of public utilities and railroads, which he purchased through his various companies.)
CHICAGO SURFACE LINES The Chicago Surface Lines (CSL) was the operator of the street railway system of Chicago, Illinois, from the years 1913 to 1947. The firm is a predecessor of today’s publicly owned Chicago Transit Authority. The below badge is marked HEEREN BROS CO W.C. PATENTED PITTSBURG PA, two clips fasteners.
CHICAGO SURFACE LINES Three later badges: the first badge is die pressed with two threaded posts and measures approx. 3″ x 2″. The second badge is die pressed, measures 2 ¼” x 2 ½” with two threaded posts. A later badge was made of plastic and measured 3″ x 1 ⅞”.
CHICAGO TRANSIT AUTHORITY / CTA is the operator of mass transit in Chicago, Illinois, and some of its surrounding suburbs, including the trains of the Chicago “L” and CTA bus service. “The CTA is an Illinois independent governmental agency that started operations on October 1, 1947 upon the purchase and combination of the transportation assets of the Chicago Rapid Transit Company and the Chicago Surface Lines streetcar system. In 1952, CTA purchased the assets of the Chicago Motor Coach Company, which was under the control of Yellow Cab Company founder John D. Hertz, resulting in a fully unified system. Today, the CTA is one of the three service boards financially supported by the Regional Transportation Authority.” (Source: Wikipedia.) There are a number of different badges issued by the CTA. The first shown here is die pressed, with two threaded posts and made by BASTIAN BROS CO ROCHESTER NY and measures approx. 4″x 3½”.
Below: this badge is made of nickel, is die pressed and has two threaded posts with no makers mark.
Below: this badge is made of brass, has two threaded posts and measures 3¾” in length.
Below: this badge is made of nickel, is die pressed, measures approx. 2″x 2⅞”and has two threaded posts.
Below: this badge is made of plastic and measures 3½” x 2″.
CHICO-BUTTE CITY-PRINCETON STAGE ran in 1924 in Chico, California.
CHICO de SABLE STAGE LINE ran in 1924 out of Chico, California. W.A. Bailey was the owner/operator.
CHICO-HAMILTON STAGE was founded in Chico, California, by “Gasoline” Jack Houk prior to 1914. Houk ran several different stage lines, including Chico-Hamilton Stage and Chico-Westwood Stage running mostly larger automobiles, such as a seven-passenger Studebaker, which he used on the Chico-Westwood Stage line. In 1924 the line was operating out of the Union Stage Depot in Chico, California. F.B. Smith was the manager. (There are some very nice photos of these early stage lines on the Net!)
CHICO-PARADISE-STERLING CITY STAGE COMPANY ran in 1924 inn Chico, California. Ira E. Thatcher, owner; A.A. Johnson, manager.
CHICO-RED BLUFF AUTO STAGE ran in 1924 in Chico, California. M. Bernardo, operator.
CHICO-WESTWOOD STAGE (see Chico-Hamilton Stage) In 1913 a round trip ticket was $11 and a one way ticket $6.
CHICO-WILLOWS STAGE (see Chico-Hamilton Stage.)
CHILCOOT-DOWNIEVILLE STAGE LINE was running in 1924 out of Chilcoot, California. Frank Word and William Spaletta, Jr. were the owners/operators.
CHILDREN’S BUS SERVICE INC. (CBS) of Brooklyn, New York. CBS, established by a number of smaller operators in 1919 in an effort to gain long term contracts with the New York City Board of Education encompassing service in the five boroughs. It remained the mainstay until the summer of 1965 when overwhelming financial burdens forced the company out of business. Die pressed, single threaded post, measures 2 ½” X 1¾”.
CHINESE-GROVELAND STAGE LINE was operating in the mid 1920s out of Big Oak Flat, California. Ernest Caplinger was the registered contact.
CHEYENNE MOUNTAIN COMPANY ran an “automobile bus” sightseeing service between Colorado Springs and points in the Pikes Peak Region in 1928.
CIENEGA AUTO STAGE LINE ran in 1924 in Hollister, California. A.H. Elliott, owner
CINCINNATI BUS CO. in 1928 was serving New Richmond, Columbia, California, Coney Island (Cincinnati), Brokamp, Seven Mile, Nine Mile and Blairville, Ohio.
CINCINNATI, FRANKLIN AND MONROE BUS LINE (operated by the King Brothers) ran in the Cincinnati, Ohio, area in 1928 from Government Square to Broadway, to Reading Rd., to Reading, West Chester, Monroe and Franklin.
CINCINNATI-HAMILTON BUS CO. was running in the Cincinnati, Ohio, area in the 1920s and 1930s. It served Avondale, Bond Hill, Carthage, Hartwell, Wyoming, Glendale, Springdale, Stockton and Hamilton.
CINCINNATI INTERURBAN CO. The company was in business in the late 1800s, early 1900s in Cincinnati, Ohio. The badge is hallmarked “GREG C. WRIGHT & SONS 12 & 114 LONGWORTH ST CINCINNATI” It has a pin back and measures 2″ W x 2″.
CINCINNATI & LAKE ERIE BUS COMPANY / CINCINNATI & LAKE ERIE TRANSPORTATION COMPANY According to one source, this company was founded in 1922 as Dayton & Columbus Transportation, which was a subsidiary of the Indiana Columbus & Eastern Traction Company. The company was renamed the Cincinnati & Lake Erie Bus Company in 1930 after the formation of the Cincinnati & Lake Erie Railroad. The company is mentioned in the August 10, 1932, edition of The Piqua Daily Call from Piqua, Ohio: “According to on announcement made public yesterday by O. E, Howland, receiver for the Dayton & Troy Electric Railway company, the Common Pleas Court of Montgomery County has authorized the suspension of interurban railway operations over its entire route . . . in order that there will bo no inconvenience or interruption in service to Dayton and Troy passengers, the Commission has ordered the Cincinnati & Lake Erie Bus Company to operate motor conch service over the route of the Dayton & Troy, such service beginning Thursday, August 11 . . . The Cincinnati & Lake Erie Bus Company will operate on practically the same schedule as the Dayton & Troy. Comfortable, large coaches with a seating capacity of 33 will be operated.” In 1939 the bus company was renamed the Cincinnati & Lake Erie Transportation Company when Cincinnati & Lake Erie Railroad railway discontinued rail service. From 1940 through 1944 the company was a member of the National Trailways Bus System as Cincinnati & Lake Erie Trailways. In 1949, Great Lakes Greyhound Lines of Indiana acquired Cincinnati & Lake Erie Transportation Company.
CINCINNATI-LOUISVILLE LINES There’s really no information on this company other than it ran buses into Detroit, Michigan, to the Greyhound Bus Depot in the late 1930s.
C.N.&C.RY. / CINCINNATI NEWPORT & COVINGTON RAILWAY (Known as the Green Line) ran streetcars and later buses in Covington/Newport, Kentucky, connecting to Cincinnati, Ohio. We get insight into this company from Moody’s Manual of Investments: American and Foreign, edited by John Sherman Porter – 1922 – Corporations: “Cincinnati, Newport & Covington Railway Company incorporated July 16, 1892 under Ohio laws. Owns entire capital stock of the South Covington & Cincinnati Street Ry., the Cincinnati, West Covington & Ludlow Street Ry., and the Newport Electric Street Ry. The South Covington & Cincinnati Street Ry. leases the Cincinnati, Covington & Rosedale St. Ry., the Cincinnati, West Covington & Ludlow St. Ry., Newport Electric Str. Ry., and the Covington & Latonia Ry. Co. It also owns the entire captical stock and operates the Cincinnati, Covington & Erlanger Street Ry. . . . The lines all connect Cincinnati with Newport, Covington, Dayton, Clifton, Fort Mitchell, South Gate, Latonia Race Track, Bellevue, Ludlow, Latonia, Bromley and Fort Tomas, embracing 66 miles of track.”
In 1907 the C. N. & C. RY. became a subsidiary of the Columbia Gas & Electric Company. (“Columbia Gas & Electric Company incorporated Sept. 10, 1906 in West Virginia, leased for 45 years—with option to renew for another 45 years—from April 1, 1907 the properties of the Cincinnati, Newport & Covington Light & Traction Co., Cincinnati, Newport & Covington Ry., South Covington & Cincinnati Street Railway and Union Light, Heat & Power.“)
The C. N. & C. RY. first operated buses in 1936. After the Ohio River Great Flood of 1937 the company was able to acquire most of the independent bus companies in the region. The only holdouts were Dixie Traction Co., Cold Spring Bus Co., and Black Diamond Stages. All three companies are mentioned in this February 9, 1937 edition of The Cincinnati Enquirer from Cincinnati, Ohio: “Improved bus service to North Fort Thomas Avenue and Highland Avenue in Fort Thomas was promised last night by P. G. Vondersmith, General Manager of the Cincinnati, Newport, and Covington Railway Company, and F. W. Dempsey, General Manager of the Dixie Traction Company, at a meeting of the Board of Council and several hundred interested citizens at the Fort Thomas City Building. The meeting was called by Mayor L. L. Ross to obtain improved bus service in the two sections of the city. E. J. and W. J. Murphy of the Black Diamond Stages, which operates from Ross to Cincinnati through Fort Thomas, and Paul Schwerling, President of the Cold Springs Bus Company, which operates buses from Cold Springs to Cincinnati by way of Fort Thomas, attended.” (The C.N.&C. RY. purchased the Dixie Traction Company in 1939, and ran it as a subsidiary. On July 25, 1940 the Dixie Traction Company purchased the Cold Springs Bus Company, thus both became part of the C.N.&C. RY. On February 14, 1940 the C.N. & C. RY. purchased Black Diamond Stages.)
The C.N. & C. RY. was sold to Allen & Company in 1944. The company ran it’s last streetcar on July 2, 1950. The Cincinnati Newport & Covington Railway Co. was renamed Cincinnati Newport & Covington Transportation Company in 1956. This company lasted until 1972.
THE CINCINNATI STREET RAILWAY COMPANY / CINCINNATI TRANSIT COMPANY This company was formed in 1880 after a consolidation/purchase of most all the street railroad properties in Cincinnati, Ohio. (This included the Cincinnati Street Railroad Company, which was a horsecar line that started operating on September 14, 1859. (See the entry for The Cincinnati Traction Company.) Conversion from streetcars to trolley buses & buses began in 1936, with the last streetcar ride in 1951. After the last streetcars ran, the name was changed in 1952 to Cincinnati Transit Company. The first badge pictured has no maker’s mark and is die-pressed with one threaded post. You will notice it also features a bus as well as a streetcar. The second badge pictured was made by Whitehead & Hoag Co. Newark N.J. (some later badges are marked W&H CO.) of brass/nickel, measures 2″ x 2½” with one threaded post and one pin post. (Note: some badges have a nickel finish, some have a brass finish.)
THE CINCINNATI TRACTION COMPANY By 1896 The Cincinnati Street Railway Company owned most all of the street railroad properties in Cincinnati, Ohio, which was accomplished by consolidation or purchase. (The only parts not consolidated were the lines in northern Kentucky, and the Vine Street line north of the zoo.) On February 21, 1901, The Cincinnati Street Railway leased all of its property to the newly-formed The Cincinnati Traction Company: “When The Cincinnati Traction Company was organized the Constitution of Ohio provided for stockholders’ double liability, and those who were instrumental in organizing The Cincinnati Traction Company and leasing the property of The Cincinnati Street Railway Company did not care to organize a company that would be subject to this provision. It was finally agreed that a company with a capitalization of $2,000,000. should be organized under the Ohio laws to take the lease . . . This resulted in the organization of the Union Traction Company of New Jersey, which acquired ownership of 19,989 shares of the capital stock of The Cincinnati Traction Company out of a total of 20,000 shares.” After a change in the law, in 1905 The Ohio Traction Company was organized under the laws of Ohio and took over the Union Traction Company of New Jersey and thus assumed control of The Cincinnati Traction Company. At this time W. Kelsey Schoepf was the president. The company also owned and operated a large car building operation, the Cincinnati Car Company, which was incorporated in 1902. At some point The Cincinnati Street Railway Company took over streetcar operations in Cincinnati, which continued until 1952 when streetcars were scraped. (See the previous entry.)
CITIZENS AUTO STAGE COMPANY, INC. was in business in 1916 in Tucson, Arizona. Allan B. Jaynes was listed as the contact, although his position is not stated. The June 25, 1921, edition of the Arizona Republic from Phoenix, Arizona, gives some company history: “The corporation commission yesterday granted the Marmon Short Line, which operates between Nogales and Tucson, permission to sell its rights and equipment to the Citizens Auto Stage company. The Citizens Auto Stage company also was authorized to operate between Tucson and Twin Buttes.” In the mid 1920s Frank Davies was listed as the owner and operating out of Nevada City, California. On March 21, 1942, the company was allowed to purchase “certain operating rights of Arizona Express, Inc., approved and authorized, subject to condition. H. A. Dalton and Beryl E. Wilson for applicant.” In 1946 the company was headquartered in Tuscon, Arizona running 4 buses between Tucson and Nogales over 67 route miles with Tom Morgan as president, and H. A. Dalton as general manager. It is mentioned in the October 23, 1947, edition of the Tucson Daily Citizen from Tucson, Arizona: “Determination Of Rights Citizens Auto Stage company petition for determination of whether its rights between Tucson and Nogales include picking up and letting off passengers inside Nogales, and if not for an Â·mended certificate permitting this service. Tom Morgan, doing business as the Nogales-Blsbee Stage company petition for determination of whether It can pick up and let off passengers inside Nogales, and if not for an amended certificate permitting the service. The latter two’are in conflict.” In 1956 it was operating 15 buses over 134 route miles. (The company also owned Nogales-Bisbee Stage Company, which was located at the same address with the same manager and staff.)
Citizens Auto Stage Company was carrying passengers in the 1960s-1970; it is still operating today, although it is now a freight trucking company: “Longevity in Tucson – What’s the secret to success?” Inside Tucson Business June 27, 2014, “Four moving and freight companies that opened between 1907 and 1926 – Citizens Transfer & Storage, Citizens Auto Stage Company, Horizon Moving Systems and Ralph’s Transfer – are still hitting the road.”
CITIZENS AUTO STAGE COMPANY was running in 1924 in Nevada City, California. Frank Davies was the owner/operator. The company was still operating on February 27, 1934 when it was mentioned in a court case.
CITIZENS COACH COMPANY Transit services in Lock Rock, Arkansas, go back to City Electric Street Railway (1885-1901) and then to the Little Rock Railway & Electric Company, which ran from 1901 until 1925. This company was then taken over by the Arkansas Power & Light Company, which ran streetcars. It formed a subsidiary called Capital Transportation, which ran from 1935 until 1950 when it was sold to a group of local investors. From 1952 until 1956 Capital Transit Company ran buses in Little Rock. Citizens Coach Company was formed on February 28, 1956, as a compromise between local government officials in Little Rock and North Little Rock and national union leaders of the Amalgamated Association of Street, Electric Railway, and Motor Coach Employees of America. This company went under in 1962 and was succeeded by Twin City Transit (a subsidiary of the St. John Transportation Company) on September 25, 1962. This company ran until 1972 when it was taken over by Central Arkansas Transit Authority. In 2015 Rock Region Metropolitan Transit Authority (Rock Region Metro) took over public transit in Little Rock, North Little Rock, Cammack Village, Maumelle, Sherwood, and Jacksonville, Arkansas.
CITIZENS MOTOR COACH CO. INC. ALTON, ILL In 1936 this company assumed operation of local buses in Alton, Illinois. Their badges were personalized with the name of the operator. The badge is a die pressed, single threaded post.
CITIZENS TRACTION COMPANY ran in Oil City, Pennsylvania, from 1902 until 1946. It succeeded Franklin Electric Street Railway and ran streetcars until 1928, and afterwards, buses.
CITIES TRANSIT ran buses in Bradenton and Sarasota, Florida (the Sarasota metropolitan area). It ran from 1945 until 1976.
CITY BUS COMPANY / CITY BUS COMPANY, INC. This is one of those bus company names for which it is all but impossible to connect with a transit badge. Without some provenance attached to the badge, such as the original owner and the company he/she drove for, it is anyone’s guess as to the badge’s origin. Between 1936 and 1956, the various editions of the MTD lists the following companies named City Bus Company (some of these companies have no info recorded other than the name and the city/town in which it was located):
CITY BUS COMPANY Gulf Port, Mississippi was operating in 1936.
CITY BUS COMPANY Kokomo, Indiana In 1940 this company was operating 14 buses over 30 route miles, and was controlled by Cross Transit Corp.
CITY BUS COMPANY Hendersonvlle, North Carolina. This company was operated in the 1940s by John L. Ley in the town of Hendersonville.
CITY BUS COMPANY Huntington, Ind. No info other than it was operating in 1946.
CITY BUS COMPANY Dyersburg, Tenn was operating 4 buses over 25 route miles in 1946.
CITY BUS COMPANY Ponca City, Oklahoma. No info other than it was operating in 1954.
CITY BUS COMPANY South Haven Michigan. Was operating 1 bus over 10 route miles in 1954.
CITY BUS COMPANY Bismarck, North Dakota was owned by Ross A. Carman and Oscar J. Nybakken in 1954.
CITY BUS COMPANY Oklahoma City, Oklahoma was operating 155 buses over 118 route miles in 1954.
CITY BUS COMPANY Abingdon, Virginia. W. B. Henry was the general manager in 1954.
CITY BUS COMPANY Pittsburg, Kansas. Charlie Jones was the owner operating 7 buses in 1954.
CITY BUS COMPANY Eufaula, Alabama. Cecil Poss was the owner, operating 2 buses over 13 route miles in 1956.
CITY BUS COMPANY, Inc. Pikeville, Kentucky. L. H. Childers was the general manager operating 4 buses over 40 route miles in 1956.
CITY BUS COMPANY San Angelo, Texas was operating 21 buses over 77 route miles in 1956.
The badge shown here is a typical generic style with one threaded post and made by THE C. H. HANSON CO. CHICAGO (marked on the thumb nut).
CITY BUS COMPANY The Oklahoma Railway Company operated streetcars in Oklahoma City, Oklahoma, from 1904 until 1946. In November 1946 the intercity Oklahoma Transportation Company bought the assets and took over the management of the bankrupt Oklahoma Railway Company, which was running 125 buses over 162 route miles. The owners and management of the Oklahoma Transportation Company then formed the City Bus Company to assume city operations in Oklahoma City and to become the holding company for both businesses. Streetcars were discontinued in 1946. The Central Oklahoma Transportation and Parking Authority was established on February 1, 1966, by the Oklahoma City Council to replace City Bus Company after the company announced it would discontinue city service. Their fleet of 18 buses were leased to the new company, which was named Central Oklahoma Transportation and Parking Authority (COTPA). In 1975 the company was renamed to MassTrans. In 1992 it was renamed METRO Transit, and 2013 was renamed EMBARK. In 1977 Oklahoma Transportation Company was absorbed by Mid-Continent Coaches and Southwest Coaches. The badge here is made of nickel with no type of securing device on the back.
CITY BUS LINE was running in Clinton, Indiana, in 1926.
CITY BUS LINES As with the name “City Bus Company,” it’s hard to trace a company with such a generic name as City Bus Lines, let alone assign it to a transit badge. In 1940 this particular company was operating a city bus company in Sylacauga, Alabama. It was operated by N. A. Arnold and Cecil Cleveland. In August 1940 the company was advertising 10¢ fares for adults and 5¢ fare for school children. In March 1941 its routes were Sylacauga to Childersburn, via State Highway No. 91, then on State Highway 76 to Kymulga. The company placed ads during the 1950s which simply said “GO BY BUS City Bus Line”. In 1956 the company was running 8 buses and served the city of Sylacauga and intercity to Sycamore, Wetumpka and Montgomery, Alabama. It was still in operating in the early 1960s.
CITY BUS LINES Glenn E. Watson owned Transit Investment Company of Columbia, Missouri, which operated six city bus companies in the 1940s, 1950s and 1960s: Sedalia City Bus Lines, Inc., in Sedalia, Missouri; Jefferson City Lines, Inc., in Jefferson City, Missouri; Columbia City Bus Lines, Inc., in Columbia, Missouri; Inter City Bus Lines, Inc., in Mission, Kansas; Owensboro City Bus Lines, Inc., in Owensboro, Kentucky; and Elm City Bus Lines, Inc., in Jacksonville, Illinois. Watson used the same fare tokens and badges for most of these companies that were simply marked “CITY BUS LINES,” thereby saving the expense of having separate tokens and badges made. See the companies mentioned above for more information. The badge is made of brass and enamel, measures 2″ and has a single threaded post.
CITY BUS LINES, INC. operated out of Hickory, North Carolina in the 1940s with several routes. From Hickory, N. C., to Conover, N. C., to Millersville; thence to Taylorsville and return the same route, a distance of approximately 34 miles each way. From the City of Hickory to Hildebran. From Hickory to Brookford. The badge measures 2½” x 2″ and was made by FIFTH AVENUE UNIFORM CO. 19 SO. WELLS CHICAGO.
CITY COACH LINES See Charlotte City Coach Lines, Inc.
CITY OF EUCLID TRANSIT SYSTEM is a municipally owned system that has been in continual operation since 1935. Being a suburb of Cleveland, Ohio, it has buses that connect to that system.
THE CITY RAILWAY COMPANY On Oct 15 1894 City Railway Company of Dayton, Ohio, was formed from the Dayton Street Rail Road, Fifth Street Railway, Green Line Railway, and the Red Line. In 1946 the company was running 55 electric passenger cars over 28 route miles along with 45 trolley buses over 29 route miles and 11 gas-powered buses over 23 route miles. The last streetcar line operating in Dayton, was City Railway Company’s route 1-Third Street, which was converted to trolley buses on September 28, 1947. In 1952 the company was running 6 buses over 122 route miles, and 164 trolley buses over 71 route miles. On November 1, 1955, City Railway Company merged with Dayton & Xenia Railway Company, forming City Transit Company. In 1972 City Transit Company became the publicly owned Miami Valley Regional Transit Authority, which, in 2003, was renamed Greater Dayton Regional Transit Authority. (For more history, see the listings under The Oakwood Street Railway Company, People’s Railway Company/People’s Transit Company and Dayton & Xenia Railway Company.) The badge measures approx. 2″ x 1¼” and has a single pin back.
CITY RAPID TRANSIT COMPANY ran in Newark, Ohio from 1926 until 1964. It succeeded Southern Ohio Public Service Company, which had ran for one year and succeeded the Columbus Newark & Zanesville Electric Railway (1904-1925). On February 24, 1964, The Times Recorder from Zanesville, Ohio, reported: “City Rapid Transit Company has moved to discontinue its franchise and sell its facilities, including the buses. The situation at Newark parallels that which arose in Zanesville two years ago.” After the company closed, City Rapid Transit Lines took over bus operations in Newark.
CITY TRANSFER was a city bus service in Port Townsend, Washington, which was owned and operated by Sam McGee. Founded in the 1890s as a taxi/jitney service, it ran its first bus from downtown Port Townsend to Fort Worden (now a state park) on Monday morning, January 18, 1915. This was the first bus service in Port Townsend. McGee sold the bus service to his employee John J. Lafferty in 1918. Lafferty renamed the business J.J. Lafferty Stage Lines / Lafferty Stage Line.
CITY TRANSFER COMPANY was running in Vincennes, Indiana, in 1926.
THE CITY TRANSIT COMPANY “Dayton at one time had five street railway companies, but mergers over the years have resulted in one company. The present City Transit Company was formed in 1955 through a merger of the City Railway Company (incorporated in 1893) and the Dayton & Xenia Railway. City Transit took over the Oakwood Street Railway and Dayton Suburban Lines in 1956, consolidating all major transit companies into a single operation.” (Article “Whatever Happened To The Clean, Quiet Trolley Coach?” Ohio Brass Company’s Transit Observer Spring Issue 1970, vol 42 no. 1) In 1972 City Transit Company became the publicly owned Miami Valley Regional Transit Authority, which, in 2003, was renamed Greater Dayton Regional Transit Authority. (For more history, see the listings under The Oakwood Street Railway Company, People’s Railway Company/People’s Transit Company and Dayton & Xenia Railway Company. The badge shown below has one single threaded post and measures 2 ¾” x 1⅝”.
CITY TRANSIT COMPANY, INC. There are numerous “City Transit Company, Inc.” companies in US transit history. What that means for the transit badge collector is that it’s nearly impossible to attribute a “City Transit Company” badge to the correct transit company. The only sure way is to have some kind of insight as to the origins of the badge, i.e., it’s original owner and the company he/she drove for. Below are some companies doing business under this name:In New York City in 1921 Austen P. Fox was granted a franchise to operate his City Transit Company, Inc. as a city-wide 5¢ bus service.
There was a City Transit Company, Inc. operating in Logansport, Indiana in the 1930s. In November of 1933 it was granted a fare increase from 5¢ to 7¢.
CITY TRANSIT COMPANY was operating in the mid 1920s out of Modesto, California. J. A. Turgeon was the registered contact.
In the 1946 edition of MTD, under the listing for CITY TRANSIT COMPANY, INC., we find companies by this name operating in Ft. Mill, SC; Kingsport, TN; and Logansport, IN. In the 1956 edition of MTD we find this company name in Bainbridge, GA; Jonesboro, AR., Elkin, NC; High Point, NC; New Bern, NC; Dayton, Ohio; Camden, SC; Buckhannon, W.; Gainsville, FL; Mason City, Iowa; Big Springs, TX, and Bedford, VA.
CITY TRANSIT COMPANY operated out of New Bern, North Carolina, and in 1956 ran 6 buses over 30.5 route miles. It was controlled by Seashore Transportation Company.
CITY TRANSIT, INC. The company was granted a twenty-year franchise to run a regular bus service in the city of Pomona, California, on September 2, 1924. It has the distinction of being the first bus company in the state of California to supplant streetcar service with bus service. (Pacific Electric Railway had ceased operations in Pomona that same year.) The company was owned/operated by Joseph K. Hawkins. Apparently the twenty year franchise didn’t survive more than two years; by 1926 only Motor Transit Company was listed as serving Pomona, California.
CITY TRANSIT SYSTEM took over from Council Bluffs Transit Company of Council Bluffs, Iowa, in 1957 and ran until 1971.
CITY TRANSPORTATION COMPANY was founded in 1927 by Roy L. Seals (1895-1954) in Kingsport, Tennessee, when he was given a franchise to operate local bus service in Kingsport. A July 14, 1927, newspaper report gives some information on this: “Roy Seals, trading under the firm, name and style of ‘CITY TRANSPORTATION COMPANY,’ is hereby granted an exclusive franchise, not only as against any other person, firm, partnership or corporation, but as against the city itself, for the period of five years from the date of the final passage of this ordinance, to establish, maintain and operate motor street buses on, over, through and upon the city streets, and alleys (if necessary) of the City of Kingsport, Tennessee . . . Attest: J. W. Harrison Mayor.” (Roy Seals was also the founder, owner and operator of Seals Coach Lines, which was an intercity bus company operating out of Kingsport, Tennessee.) In 1942 the company operated 29 buses and carried some 325,000 passengers each month, covering streets and avenues in the city proper and into the suburbs to Hall’s Cross Roads, Church Hill and Surgoinsville. Roy Seals is not mentioned in the 1946 MTD in connection with City Transportation Company. At that time the company was operating 36 buses over 222 route miles, with M. E. Dishner serving as general manager. In 1956 it operated 18 buses over 165 route miles. (Note: the date of this company’s founding differs from that offered in the Kingston Rotary Club’s 1937 / 1946 publication, “Kingsport, the planned industrial city“, which gives background material on the town’s businesses. That publication lists 1942 as the date that the company began operations. However, numerous Kingsport newspaper accounts from the 1920s-1930 and 1940s proves a different date.) The badge is nickel-plated brass and has one threaded post.
CLALLAM TRANSIT SYSTEM The Clallam County Public Transportation Benefit Area (PTBA) was formed on July 24, 1979. CTS began operations in October of 1980. The agency started service with a fleet of twelve 22-passenger vehicles operating on ten routes. The three municipalities within the service area (Forks, Port Angeles, and Sequim, Washington) and Clallam County, Washington. In Sequim it connects to Jefferson Transit, which serves Jefferson County. Pin back, metal, paper and mylar.
CLARK’S SACRAMENTO-PLYMOUTH AUTO STAGE LINE ran in 1924 in Sacramento, California. S. E. Clark was the owner/operator.
CLEARWATER TRANSIT ran buses in Clearwater, Florida, from 1959 until 1973. It was taken over by the Central Pinellas Transit Authority in 1973. In 1984 (CPTA) merged with the ST. PETERSBURG MUNICIPAL TRANSIT SYSTEM to create the Pinellas Suncoast Transit Authority.
CLELLAND BUS LINES, INC. / CLELLAND BUS LINES, INC. / CLELLAND BUS COMPANY In 1935 Clelland Bus Lines, Inc. was operating between Warrior and Birmingham, Alabama. In August 1940 James Baxter Clelland (1902-1973) was granted permission to operate between his Clelland Bus Lines, Inc. from “the crest of Shades Mountain into the city” of Birmingham, Alabama. Prior to this date he was granted a permit for the same route by the Alabama Public Service Commission. J. B. Clelland was also the co-owner and manager of the Watkins Drug Company in North Birmingham. (The store was the Greyhound Bus Agency and the terminal for the Clelland Bus Line.) In November 1942 the Alabama State Public Service Commission granted a permit for the company to operate as a common carrier between Bessemer and New Iron Ore Mine of Woodward Iron Company at Pine Mine. In 1946 this company was located at 2900 N. 27th Street in Birmingham, Alabama. In 1954 the company was an intercity line serving Birmingham, Lewisburg, Warrior, Cleveland, Cilderburg, Boothton, Mt. Olive, Alabama. It ran 42 buses over 630 route miles.
CLEVELAND-AKRON BUS COMPANY was co-founded in 1919 by a Cleveland, Ohio, lawyer named Clark McConnell, who also helped found two other companies—Cleveland-Ashtabula-Conneaut Bus Company, and the Cleveland-Elyria-Toledo Bus Company. A charter member of the Northern Ohio Motor Stage Owner’s Association, the company ran between Cleveland and Akron, Ohio.
CLEVELAND-ASHTABULA-CONNEAUT BUS COMPANY was co-founded in 1923 by a Cleveland, Ohio, lawyer named Clark McConnell; the line ran about 71 miles from Cleveland to Conneaut (both in Ohio), reaching to the east-northeast on the way toward Erie, Pennsylvania, and Buffalo, New York. McConnell also helped to found the Cleveland-Akron Bus Company and the Cleveland-Elyria-Toledo Bus Company.
CLEVELAND-ELYRIA-TOLEDO BUS COMPANY was co-founded in 1919 by a Cleveland, Ohio, lawyer named Clark McConnell, who also helped found two other companies—Cleveland-Ashtabula-Conneaut Bus Company, and the Cleveland-Akron Bus Company. Despite its name, this company did not serve Toledo, but ran only between Cleveland and Norwalk, Ohio, which was beyond Elyria but short of Toledo. It was a charter member of the Northern Ohio Motor Stage Owner’s Association.
C. I. R. R. CO. RAPID TRANSIT was Cleveland [Ohio] Interurban Railroad (CIRR) and initially was operated by the Cleveland Railway, which operated the streetcar line on Fairmount Boulevard. The company became Shaker Rapid Transit and then was absorbed by Cleveland RTA.
CLEVELAND-LORAIN BUS COMPANY There’s little info on this company. It is mentioned in the January 1922 edition of the National Taxicab and Motorbus Journal (Dowst Brothers Company, Chicago, Ill.): “The Northern Ohio Motor Stage Owner’s Association was formed to co-operate with all municipalities through which busses pass and has stood for law enforcement, careful driving and safety of its patrons. It also keeps busses in perfect condition at all times. The lines vie with one another in the matter of courtesy and comfort of passengers. Officers of the association and their business connections are: Ralph W. Sanborn, president, Sanborn, Rich & McConnell, attorneys and secretary-treasure Cleveland-Akron Bus Company; F.H. Greiger, vice president, Cleveland-Youngstown Bus Company; M.A. Stein, treasurer, Service Motor Transport Company; C.H. Prelan, secretary. Trustees include the above and H.A. Hall, Cleveland-Elyria Auto Service Company; H.H. Moore, Cleveland-Akron Bus Company; H.G. Kraus, Cleveland Ashtabula Bus Company; W.H. Dunn, Cleveland-Lorain Bus Company.”
CLEVELAND-MAHONING VALLEY COACH LINE, INC. was operating in 1926 in Ohio. That’s the year when the company sought permission from the public utilities commission to “issue interchangeable milage books” with five other bus companies: the companies were the Cleveland-Ashtabula-Conneaut Bus Co., Cleveland-Elyria-Toledo Bus Co., Warren-Salem Bus Co., Pennsylvania-Ohio Coach Lines Co., and the Akron-Youngstown Bus Co. By 1931 the company had been bought out by Penn-Ohio, Coach Lines, as noted in the February 4, 1931, edition of the New Castle News from New Castle, Pennsylvania: “Permission has been granted to the Penn-Ohio Coach lines formerly known as the Cleveland-Mahoning Valley Coach company to’ purchase certificates.“
CLEVELAND-PITTSBURGH MOTOR STAGES, INC. ran out of Cleveland, Ohio, in the 1920s as an interstate company operating between Cleveland and Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania. The earliest mention of the company is in 1922 and the latest I’ve found was 1929.
CLEVELAND TRANSIT SYSTEM Bus service began in Cleveland, Ohio, in 1925 when the Motor Coach Division of Cleveland Railway started running a bus in the downtown loop. On April 28, 1942 Cleveland Transit System was formed by the city of Cleveland under the direction of a three-man commission and succeeded Cleveland Railroad Company, which had operated since 1910. Streetcar service was discontinued in 1954; thereafter the company operated only buses and trolley buses. By 1974 the company was losing millions operating a fleet of 706 buses and 116 rapid cars, which covered some 22 million vehicle miles annually. On December 30, 1974, the Cuyahoga County Commissioners and the Cleveland City Council established the Greater Cleveland Regional Transit Authority, more commonly known as RTA. The badge is made of nickel with two threaded posts on the tips.
CLEVELAND-WARREN-YOUNGSTOWN STAGE COMPANY, INC. ran in Ohio in the early 1920s. As its name says, it connected the cities of Cleveland, Warren and Youngstown. This company’s president was Ralph W. Sanborn, who founded, or was connected to a number of early bus companies.
CLOVERDALE-ELK NAVARRO STAGE ran in 1924 in Cloverdale, California. The registered contacts were Ledford and Hulbert.
CLOVERDALE GEYSER STAGE ran in 1924 in Cloverdale, California. Natalie Bacci was the registered contact.
CLYDE PASSENGER EXPRESS was founded in 1914 in Miami, Florida. It ran some 32 mile southward to Homestead, Florida. In 1919 it was merged with White Star Auto Line and the two were renamed Florida Motor Transportation Company.
COALINGA-PASO ROBLES AUTO STAGE ran in 1924 out of Coalinga, California. Beni J. Byles was the operator.
COAST AUTO LINES ran a 20-mile route from Marshfield to Coquille, Oregon, in 1923. The company also served Myrtle Point, Roseburg and Brookings.
COAST CITIES COACHES, INC. began operations in 1931 as a successor to Coast Cities Railway Company, which ceased operations in 1931. The company was an intercity service headquartered in Neptune City, New Jersey, and serviced the Jersey Shore coastal region of New Jersey. (Geographically, this area encompasses about 141 miles of oceanfront in Middlesex, Monmouth, Ocean, Atlantic, and Cape May counties.) In 1946 the company operated 77 buses over 196 route miles. At some point in the early 1940s the company’s owners bought out Pillion & Shibla Bus Company, which also operated out of Neptune City. (This company continued operating under its own name with the management team of Coast Cities Coaches overseeing its operations.) In 1969 the company applied to discontinue its operations, but the application was denied by the Public Utilities Commission, which forced it to take subsidies. Ten years later the company was in dire financial trouble. In November 1979 it closed down operations, which is noted in this November 14, 1979, edition of the Asbury Park Press from Asbury Park, New Jersey: “Financially-troubled Coast Cities Coaches Inc. is going out of business this week, but a substitute carrier will continue to provide daily bus service for 2,000 riders in 16 Shore area communities. The state Commuter Operating Agency, as part of a plan to allow Coast Cities to cease operations, terminated its $530,000-a-year subsidy contract with the carrier yesterday. The plan permits Monmouth Bus Lines Inc. a newly-created subsidiary of the Middlesex Bus Company, East Brunswick Township, to assume control of Coast Cities seven bus routes in Monmouth and Ocean counties. The new company will also gain possession of 12 state-owned buses leased to Coast Cities for $1 a year. No service disruption, fare changes or schedule revisions are anticipated under the changeover, according to an assistant commissioner in the state Department of Transportation.” Monmouth Bus Lines Inc. ceased operations in 1992 and bus service was operated under contract for New Jersey Transit by Connex/TCT Transit.
COAST LINE STAGES, INC. was operating in the mid 1920s out of Fort Bragg, California. W.W. Allen and J. Olinsky were the registered contacts.
COASTAL COACHES, INC. The beginning of the company was announced in The Galveston Daily News, from Galveston, Texas in their Thursday, April 24, 1930: “COASTAL COACHES, Inc. Announce a New Motor Coach Service PORT ARTHUR TO GALVESTON Beginning FRIDAY, April 25th Motor Bus Service Port Arthur to Galveston by way of the Point Bolivar-Galveston. Ferry will be inaugurated with three busses a day each way.” The owner’s name is provided in The Galveston Daily News‘ November 9, 1986 edition in a column titled “Looking Back 50 Years Ago”: “Controlling interest in Coastal Coaches, Inc., which operated bus service between here and Beaumont and Port Arthur, has been sold to G. W. Hyde of Cleburne and W. F. Fite of Henderson, according to an announcement of A. L. Burge, who established the service here in April, 1930.” So, the company was founded in Galveston, Texas by A. L. Burge in 1930, who sold it in 1986 to George W. Hyde and W. F. Fite. The November 8, 1936, edition of the Galveston Daily News, gives some more details: “Mr. Hyde, new president of [Coastal Coaches, Inc.], was formerly president and general manager of Airline Motor Coaches, which maintains service in East Texas between Houston and Shreveport, between Nacogdoches, Henderson and Shreveport and between Henderson and Tyler. He still has an interest in that company.” In 1946 Coastal Coaches, Inc. still was operating out of Galveston, with 8 buses over 130 route miles, W. P. Fite was general manager. In 1960 the company was sold to Texas Bus Lines, which is still operational in the charter bus business.
COASTAL STAGES, INC. / COASTAL TRAILWAYS In June 1942 J. Ernest Cannon was a driver for Capital Motor Lines, which ran into Florala, Alabama. That year he purchased the Wise Motor Lines, which operated two buses from Florala to Fort Walton, Florida. In 1948 the company ran buses from Florala to Fort Walton and Panama City, Florida, and Samson, Elba, Brantley, DeFuniak Springs, Geneva, Laurel Hill, Crestview and Montgomery, Alabama. In 1948 the company built its own bus terminal in Florla. In 1960 it was also operating from Georgiana to Ft. Walton Beach, Florida, and served Eglin Air Force Base. The company was registered as a corporation in Montgomery, Alabama, on December 17, 1949, to transport passengers and freight. The incorporators were Homa C. Cathern (1910-1971), Nina Cauthen and Raymond Srygley, who was the husband of Myrtice Cauthen, Homa’s sister. In the 1954 MTD Homa C. Cauthen was listed as president, and J. E. Cannon was vice president and general manager.
Coastal Stages, Inc. joined the National Trailways Bus System in 1957 as Coastal Trailways and remained until 1966: “In 1964, [Maurice E.] Moore reached agreement to purchase the bulk of the Trailways carriers operating on the east coast, however final approval from the ICC and DOJ wouldn’t come until 1966.” The companies involved in Moore’s purchased included Coastal Stages, Inc.
By January 1969 the company was under the control of Hal J. Love, the son of Lonnie Adam Love, Sr. Love also controlled Continental Queen City Lines, Smokey Mountain Stages, Georgia-Florida Coaches, Sarolina Scenic Stages and Southeastern Motor Lines.
On October 9, 1980, Coastal Stages filed an application with the South Carolina Public Service Commission for a Class C. Charter Service Certificate for transportation of passengers between points and places in Charleston, Dorchester, Berkeley, Georgetown, Horry, Orangeburg, Richland, Sumter, Clarendon, Williamsburg, Florence, Jasper and Aiken Counties “and from points and places in these counties to points and places in South Carolina.”
COASTSIDE TRANSPORTATION COMPANY was operating in the mid 1910s out of San Francisco, California, as both a freight and passenger service. The following is a brief history of the company, which came from a post on the Net: “I Asked Railroad Historian John Schmale Posted on March 6, 2009 by June Morrall: Where did the Auto Stage pick passengers up on the Coastside? The Ocean Shore Auto Stage company’s route was from Tunitas, in San Mateo County, to Swanton in Santa Cruz County. The franchise for the route was granted to them by the State Railroad Commission to connect the railheads and bridge the 26 mile ‘Gap.’ The buses (two 12- passenger ‘Stanley Steamer Mountain Wagons’ with convertible tops) ran to San Francisco only when the Ocean Shore Railroad was shut down by mud slides and washouts, which was fairly often. When the two Steamers operated to San Francisco and towns other than their assigned route they were really in violation of their franchise. However, the Railroad Commission looked the other way. Beginning in about 1914 several auto jitney and bus lines began competing with the Ocean Shore Railroad including the ‘Coastside Transportation Company’ and the ‘Red Star Stage Line’ which operated along the coast in San Mateo County. They used conventional gas-powered vehicles and served Moss Beach, Marine View, Salada, Vallemar, Rockaway, San Pedro, Montara, Half Moon Bay, and other towns. The Coastside Transportation Company had its northern terminal in San Francisco. The Red Star line traveled along Market Street in San Francisco and went as far as Pescadero.” In 1925 the company contacts were Edward Seretto, L. A. Mattei and E. Michel. By November 1933 the company had filed bankruptcy and was out of business, however a company by the same name was doing business out of Santa Cruz in 1936.
C. D’A. & S.RY. (COEUR D’ALENE & SPOKANE RAILWAY) The Coeur d’Alene & Spokane Railway Company was started in 1902 by lumberman F.A. Blackwell and banker William Dollar and planned an electric interurban railway between the two growing Idaho and Washington towns. On December 28, 1903, the first electric line train arrived in Coeur d’Alene and was greeted by hundreds of people. Made of aluminum by American Ry. Supply Company, New York; measures 3 ¼” x 1 ⅛”.
COLD SPRINGS BUS COMPANY was formed in 1931 running a four mile route between Cold Springs, Ky., and Ft. Mitchell, Ky. The company is mentioned in this February 9, 1937, edition of The Cincinnati Enquirer from Cincinnati, Ohio: ·”Improved bus service to North Fort Thomas Avenue and Highland Avenue in Fort Thomas was promised last night by P. G. Vondersmith, General Manager of the Cincinnati, Newport, and Covington Railway Company, and F. W. Dempsey, General Manager of the Dixie Traction Company, at a meeting of the Board of Council and several hundred interested citizens at the Fort Thomas City Building. The meeting was called by Mayor L. L. Ross to obtain improved bus service in the two sections of the city. E. J. and W. J. Murphy of the Black Diamond Stages, which operates from Ross to Cincinnati through Fort Thomas, and Paul Schwerling, President of the Cold Springs Bus Company, which operates buses from Cold Springs to Cincinnati by way of Fort Thomas, attended.” The Cold Springs Bus Company was bought out by the Dixie Traction Company on July 25, 1940.
COLBURN MOTOR TOURS TRAILWAYS / COLBURN MOTOR TOURS, INC. There’s little info on this company. It was around in ca. 1940, since there was a 4-page booklet written about it that year. By then it was a member of the National Trailways Bus System, and served the Pike’s Peak Region of Colorado. In 1955 Colburn Motor Tours, Inc. bought a new Flxible bus for its operation and was headquartered in Colorado Springs, Colorado. It is not listed in any of the MTD editions or Russell’s Guides I have here. The company did issue a Trailways badge.
COLEMAN MOTOR LINES / R. S. COLEMAN BUS COMPANY The history of this company starts in the 1910s or early 1920s. The R. S. Coleman Bus Company was advertising its schedule in September 1921 in the Thomasville Daily Times from Thomasville, Georgia: Leaves Tifton at 8:15 a.m., Omega, Crossland, Norman Park, Moultrie, Murphy, Coolidge and arrives in Thomasville at 12 noon. On September 30, 1930, the company, which was then known as Coleman Motor Lines, was granted a certificate by the Florida Railroad Commission to carry “passengers, mail and express by motor vehicle between Tallahassee, East Point and Apalachicola over Road No. 10.” In July 1935 R. S. Coleman appeared before the Florida Railroad Commission requesting that the aforementioned certificate be transferred to Lee Coach Lines, which was then running a route between Marianne and Apalachicola and Panama City, Florida. The request was approved. In October 1935 R. S. Coleman again appeared before the Florida Railroad Commission. At that time it was noted that Coleman “operates the Coleman Motor Lines between Tallahassee and the Florida-Georgia State Line over Road No. 10. This line also operates to Thomasvllle, Georgia, and from Thomasville, Georgia, to Dothan, Alabama, and from Dothan. Alabama, to Tifton, Georgia, and thence to Waycross, Georgia.” Coleman wanted a certificate to operate between Marianna to the Georgia-Florida state line. The request was denied. Coleman Motor Lines is not listed in the 1936 Russell’s Sectional Bus Guide for Georgia-Florida, however, Lee Coach Lines’ schedule is listed. Jon Hobijn, in his Trailways history, writes “In 1939, Georgia Stages [,Inc.] purchased Coleman Motor Lines whose principle route ran from Dothan, Alabama to Waycross, GA via Bainbridge and Valdosta. . . . After the purchase, R. S. Coleman became Georgia Stages’ traffic manager.”
COLFAX-FOREST HILL STAGE LINE ran in 1924 in Forest Hill, California. M.C. Langstaff, operator.
COLONIAL ATLANTIC-PACIFIC STAGES See Cornhusker Stage Lines.
COLONIAL COACH LINES, LTD. was incorporated on January 7, 1928, running buses between Renfrew, Ottawa, Morrisburg and Kingston, Ontario, Canada. In 1930 the company was purchased by the Provincial Transport Company (la Compagnie de Transport-Provincial), which had been incorporated in November 1928 and acquired 31 bus lines in the Montreal area in June 1929. Colonial continued operating under its own name and expanded during the 1930s and 1940s, acquiring many other operators, including the Kingston City Coach Company, Toronto–Montreal Road Coach Line, the J. Gill Bus Line, Collacutt Coach Lines, Kawartha Lakes Coach Lines and Pony Bus Lines Ltd. In 1946 the company operated 27 buses over 582 route miles and was operating out of Ottawa. In 1969, after 40 years of operation, all of Provincial Transport Enterprises’ subsidiaries were unified under the Voyageur name. At the same time, Colonial Coach Lines was renamed Voyageur Colonial, Ltd. Since 1998 Voyageur Colonial Bus Lines has been owned by Greyhound, and the Voyageur brand has essentially disappeared as Greyhound has renewed its fleet. (Information from Wikipedia.) The badge pictured here is from the late 1920s, or early 1930s, is made of brass and enamel, marked “Scully Montreal”, has two threaded posts, and measures 2 ⅝” X 2 ⅜”.
COLONIAL STAGE COMPANY / COLONIAL SHORT LINE SYSTEM was one of the nation’s first transcontinental bus lines. It was organized in Cincinnati, Ohio, in 1926. One researcher believes this company was started after buying out Baker Bus Line. That this company was indeed a transcontinental bus line is borne out in this newspaper item from the Wilmington News-Journal from Wilmington, Ohio, dated November 1, 1929: “STARTS LONG TRIP ON BUS Edward E. Pope, Thursday at 11 P.M., started on a journey of nearly 3,000 miles, all of which will be traveled on busses of the Colonial Stage Company. Mr. Pope, a former resident of this city, now residing in Seattle, Wash., has been visiting his father, William Pope, here, for several days. He purchased his bus ticket at the local station of the bus company, the White House Restaurant. The bus fare paid by Mr. Pope was $71.65.” (Keep in mind that in 1929 roads in America were still somewhat primitive—especially in the western states, where they were still essentially wagon trials. Coupled with the onset of winter, Mr. Pope’s journey would have been one of peril!)
COLORADO MOTOR WAY, INC. ran in 1927 in Colorado.
COLORADO SPRINGS SIGHTSEEING COMPANY operated a passenger bus line from Colorado Springs, Colorado, to various places in the state. It ran thirty routes in 1927-1928.
COLTHARP BUS LINES was founded by Oliver Coltharp in Kansas City, Missouri. In 1946 the company served the KC suburbs of Fairway, Southridge Mission, Prairie Village.
COLUMBIA BUS LINE, INC. There’s no info on this company other than it was operating in 1928 in Tennessee.
COLUMBIA & CENTERVILLE BUS LINE There’s no info on this company other than it was operating in 1928 in Tennessee.
COLUMBIA CITY BUS LINES, INC. was founded by Floyd Estelle Watson (1884-1950) in the 1930s. Watson also founded the Transit Investment Company, which acted as a holding company for his various business ventures. The officers of the holding company were Watson, his wife Cecil Fern Page Watson (1890-1994) and their son, Floyd Estelle Watson (Feb. 17, 1909-Feb. 15, 1974). In 1949 Transit Investment Company included Inter City Lines, Inc. in Mission, Kansas, Columbus City Bus Lines, Inc. and Elm City Bus Lines, Inc. in Jacksonville, Illinois. (See the Kansas City Times from Kansas City Missouri, December 7, 1949, pp. 1-2. The company remained active until the mid 1960s.) After the death of his father, Glenn E. Watson took over the running of the company. He expanded to add Sedalia City Bus Lines, Inc., in Sedalia, Missouri, Jefferson City Lines, Inc. in Jefferson City, Missouri, and Owensboro City Bus Lines, Inc., in Owensboro, Kentucky.
The company used copper tokens marked “City Bus Lines,” which worked for both Watson’s Columbia and Owensboro companies, with his patrons being none the wiser! (See The Atwood-Coffee Catalogue of United States and Canadian Transportation Tokens, Vol. 2, p. 216.)
In August 1947 Watson revealed the company had operated at a net loss of $2,353 for the year and requested a fare hike from 5 cents to 10 cents per ride, or 7 tokens for 50 cents.
On February 7, 1965, Watson sold Columbia City Bus Lines, which had been operating at a substantial loss. The badge is marked “City Bus Lines,” has a single threaded post, measures 2″ and is made of brass and enamel. The design was used in most of Watson’s bus companies as a cost-cutting measure. cap badge used by Glenn Watson in most of his bus companies.
COLUMBIA GORGE MOTOR COACH COMPANY, INC. was incorporated in 1926 and owned by Motor Transit Corporation, which was then the parent company of Greyhound Lines. Its service was confined to the Boise-Spokane corridor and from The Dalles to Bend, Oregon. Its competitor was Union Pacific Stages, which had acquired a foothold in the region by buying out several bus companies, including Blue Mountain Transportation Company and Interstate Coach Company. In 1932 Columbia Gorge Motor Coach Company was dissolved and Mt. Hood Stages, Inc. took over their routes.
COLUMBIA PACIFIC NITE COACH CORPORATION This company starts with Charles F. Wren (1885-1944), who was a principle owner of Pickwick Motor Coach Works. In 1932 the coach works filed bankruptcy and Wren created a new company—the Columbia Pacific Nite Coach Corporation, running a bus line from Los Angeles to Chicago through Salt Lake City, Utah. However, in less than three years time this company filed bankruptcy and the route was taken over by the Burlington Line on December 24, 1934. Not to be defeated, that same year Charles Wren founded All American Bus Lines, which was incorporated in September of 1935 in Delaware, although the company’s operations were located at 506 S. Wabash Ave., Chicago, Illinois. Wren died in 1944; in 1946 the company was reorganized and renamed American Buslines. Shorly after, it joined the Trailways System, where it was known as American Trailways. In 1953 the company was sold to Transcontinental Bus System/Continental Trailways.
COLUMBIA RAILWAY GAS & ELECTRIC CO Ran in Columbia, South Carolina, from 1905 until 1925. Two threaded posts, measures 2 ½” x 2 ¼”.
COLUMBIA STAGE LINE ran in 1924 in Columbia, California. George M. Trask, operator.
COLUMBIA STAGES was operating a 126-mile route from Portland to Hood River, Oregon, in 1923. It also served Seaside, Oregon.
COLUMBUS-CELINA COACH LINES / COLUMBUS-CELINA COACH COMPANY Frank A. Cluff entered the transportation field in 1922 as a mechanic’s helper with the Columbus & Zanesville Transportation Company, in Columbus, Ohio. Four years later he went to work with the Buckeye Stages, Inc. In 1937 Cluff and another mechanic bought three buses and started the Columbus – Celina Coach Company. Within a few years Frank Cluff was the sole owner of the company. The line operated a route between Columbus and Celina and served Kenton, Marysville and Bellefontaine, Ohio. In later years it ran a suburban route outside of Columbus “with routes west to General Motors Ternstedt plant and southeast to Lockbourne Air Force Base.” Frank Cluff also owned and operated Columbus – Marysville Bus Company. In 1946 the Columbus-Celina Coach Company ran 16 buses over 145 route miles. After Frank Cluff’s death in May 1950, both the Columbus-Celina Coach Company and Columbus-Marysville Bus Company were operated by his Frank Cluff’s wife, Hazel Cluff and son, John Cluff, who acted as general manager. In 1956 the company operated 35 buses over 172 route miles. In 1967 was merged into Columbus Suburban Coach Lines. In 1970, this line was sold to Lincoln Village Transit Company, which (according to Chicago Transit & Railfan), in July 1970, finally sold the line to Central Ohio Transit Authority / Columbus Transit Company.
COLUMBUS-MARYSVILLE BUS LINE was founded in 1922 by Grant E. Herriott (1867-1929) and operated between Columbus and Marysville, Ohio. In May 1929 Herriott shot himself at his home in Plain City, Ohio due to declining health. (According the May 29, 1929 newspaper account, “Taking an automatic pistol yesterday, [Herriott] placed the gun to his head and pulled the trigger.” The company continued to operate with Fred E. Davis (1896-1950) as owner and president. In 1946 the company operated 5 buses. Sometime after this date Frank A. Cluff, who already owned and operated Columbus-Celina Coach Company, bought the company but kept the two businesses separate. (Frank Cluff died in May 1950, one month after the death of Fred E. Davis.) In 1956 Hazel Cluff, Frank’s widow, was the president of the company. In 1965 the route was sold to Lake Shore System, which ceased operations in 1974. (See Columbus-Celina Coach Company for more information.)
COLUMBUS TRANSIT COMPANY was formed in 1949 from the Columbus & Southern Ohio Electric Co., to operate a transit system in Columbus, Ohio. The company was absorbed in 1971 when it became the publicly owned Central Ohio Transit Authority. The first badge pictured below is made of nickel plated brass and is obviously was designed after the old company’s hat badges; the second badge is obviously a newer design with a pin/clasp; the third badge would seem to be the newest, and measures 3 ½” x 1 ½” and has two threaded posts with a small logo on the back.
COLUMN-GRIMES AUTO STAGE ran in 1924 in Colusa, California. W.A. Gilett, operator.
COMMUNITY BUS LINES, INC. was operating as a city bus line in Waterville, Maine, in the 1940s—1960s. It was still operating in 1968. It operated 12 buses over 16 route miles. The president and general manager was A. T. Duplessie. The badge was made by Fifth Avenue Uniform Company, Chicago, is made of brass and enamel with one threaded post.
COMMUNITY MOTOR BUS COMPANY, INC. was incorporated in Illinois on November 1, 1923, by the former manager of the Superior Bus Company, who left that company in October 1923. The company operated between Belleville and Nashville, Illinois. When the Community Motor Bus Company was granted a certificate of convenience and necessity to operate motor buses between Belleville and Nashville, Illinois, in 1924, it was contested by rival company Superior Bus Company. After two court appeals, in February 1926 the Illinois Supreme Court finally found in favor of the Superior Bus Company.
COMPREHENSIVE OMNIBUS CORPORATION ran service in Manhattan, New York City. It was an affiliate of East Side Omnibus Corporation, organized in 1933. It operated three routes, all crosstown, two of which were taken over from Green Bus Lines when GBL was given franchises in Queens. “Comprehensive and East Side Omnibus were coordinated in their transfer policy with New York City Omnibus Co., all three companies exchanging transfers among their routes, even though Comprehensive and East Side were entirely independent in ownership from NYCO. Both Comprehensive and East Side went bankrupt in 1948, and their routes were taken over by New York City, operated by the Board of Transportation (which later became a State operation, the New York City Transit Authority).“
CONCORD-AVON STAGE LINE / CONCORD TRANSIT COMPANY ran in 1924 in Concord, California. W.V. Hogan, operator.
CONCOURSE BUS LINES, INC. was incorporated in 1921 by Major Emit Leindorf, deputy police commissioner in charge of motor transport under Mayor Hylan, in the Bronx, New York City. The company operated on the Grand Concourse as part of Hylan’s “emergency bus lines”. The Third Avenue Railway obtained an injunction against the operation on early March 1923. The Concourse service was one of only two of Hylan’s lines unaffected by a July 1923 injunction, since they had franchises, but were discontinued by September 1924 due to the failure of the five-cent fare to pay the costs. The franchises were reassigned to the Fifth Avenue Coach Company, which began operating the routes on October 11, 1924, for ten cents.
CONESTOGA TRANSPORTATION CO. Conestoga Traction Company, later Conestoga Transportation Company, was an American regional interurban trolley that operated seven routes 1899 to 1946 radiating spoke-like from Lancaster, Pennsylvania, to numerous neighboring farm villages and towns. It ran side-of-road trolleys through Amish farm country to Coatesville, Strasburg/Quarryville, Pequea, Columbia/Marietta, Elizabethtown, Manheim/Lititz, and Ephrata/Adamstown/Terre Hill. Conestoga Traction abandoned most of its lines in 1932. The Lancaster-Ephrata line was still running in 1946 having been ordered by the Federal Government to do so because of World War II transportation needs. After 1931 the company was called Conestoga Transportation Company and ran until 1976. Two badges are shown below.
THE CONNECTICUT COMPANY was the primary electric street railway company in the state of Connecticut, operating both city and rural trolleys and freight service. It was controlled by the New York, New Haven & Hartford Railroad (New Haven), which also controlled most steam railroads in the state. After 1936, when one of its major leases was dissolved, it continued operating streetcars and, increasingly, buses in certain Connecticut cities until 1976, when its assets were purchased by the state government. There are four known badges. An early version that is blue with white lettering, or some are white with black lettering; they are similar in design to the later versions. It was made by N. BROS. CO. PITTSBURGH, PA. and measures 4 ¼” x 2″ The next two are almost identical: the older one has mounting holes on either side of the badge to affix it to a hat. The newer badges have two threaded posts. The newer badge, which is pictured below, measures 3⅝” x 1⅝” and was made by Shephard and Company, Newark, NJ. The second badge below is nickel-plated brass, has a singled threaded post and a pin post, and is marked on the reverse “MAIER-LAVATY QUALITY BUILT UNIFROMS CHICAGO”
CONOVER-NEWTON BUS LINE was operating out of Newton, North Carolina, in the mid 1940s. It ran between Conover and Newton over U. S. Highway 321.
CONSOLIDATED BUS LINE, INC. was founded in Smithville, Tennessee, in 1938. It operated to Nashville via Whitwell in Sequatchie Valley, McMinnville and Smithville, Tennessee. With Interstate Commerce Commission approval, in August 1947 Central Bus Lines took over the routes and operations of Consolidated Bus Lines, and the combined operations formed Central Trailways. In 1947 the company served Chattanooga, Crossville, Jamestown, Nashville, Cookeville, Lebanon, McMinnville, Tullahoma, Celina and Gallatin, Tennessee with 60 buses over 722 route miles. In 1953 Continental Southern Lines bought Crescent Stages / Crescent Trailways, and renamed the companies Continental Crescent Lines; on March 1, 1954, with Tennessee Utilities Commission approval, Continental Southern Lines acquired Central Trailways and renamed it Continental Tennessee Lines, Inc., which continued as a Trailways member company. Dr. D.B. “Doc” Rushing writes: “In 1960 the Tennessee Coach Company [was] sold to a new firm (created specifically to buy the TCC), named as the Tennessee Trailways, Inc., owned in three equal shares by three other Trailways member companies. The investors were the Virginia Stage Lines (the Virginia Trailways), the Smoky Mountain Stages (the Smoky Mountain Trailways), and the Continental Tennessee Lines (which ran in part between Nashville and Knoxville along US-70N via Lebanon, Carthage, Cookeville, Crossville, and Rockwood). That last company [Continental Tennessee Lines, Inc.] was in turn a wholly owned subsidiary of the Continental Southern Lines, based in Alexandria, Louisiana. The two latter firms were members of the Transcontinental Bus System, which used the trade name of the Continental Trailways.” *Chicago Transit & Railfan confuses this Consolidated with Consolidated Bus Lines “formed 1926 by J. E. Craft”.
CONSOLIDATED BUS LINE, INC. / CONSOLIDATED TRAILWAYS was founded by James Elliott “Jack” Craft, a native of Breathitt County, Kentucky. “Craft migrated to the coalfields of West Virginia to find work in the mines. After working long enough to repay the coal company his transportation expenses, he worked at different locations throughout the southern coalfields. It was in McDowell County that he fell in love with the great invention of that time, the automobile. Capitalizing on that interest, he started by driving coal company executives on their rounds and in 1921 established a Welch taxi service with a single Model-T Ford. After this proved profitable, he expanded into providing bus service to various coalfield towns. As his business grew Craft acquired other small bus lines, establishing Consolidated in January 1934. Consolidated Bus Lines, with offices in Bluefield, served southern West Virginia, eastern Kentucky, and southwestern Virginia during the middle part of the 20th century. Consolidated provided an essential service to the busy coalfields, and later became part of a national bus line. Its 1,200-mile system extended from Huntington to Roanoke, Virginia, and provided service to cities and towns such as Charleston, Logan, Welch (its busiest hub), Mullens, Princeton, Williamson, East Rainelle, Beckley, and Pineville; as well as Grundy and Richlands, Virginia, and Pikeville, Kentucky. By 1953, Consolidated Bus Lines employed 337 individuals and operated about 100 buses. In 1952 alone, these buses traveled 5,873,468 miles and carried 7,881,663 passengers. On August 1, 1956, Craft sold his business to Virginia Stage Lines, a Trailways affiliate. Bus service was discontinued in most of southern West Virginia by the early 1970s.” (Information from: Beanblossom, Robert “Consolidated Bus Lines.” e-WV: The West Virginia Encyclopedia. 30 January 2012. Web. 21 August 2018.) In 1954 the company joined Trailways as Consolidated Trailways; in 1956 it merged into Virginia Stage Lines / Virginia Trailways, and that company sold in 1966 to Transcontinental Bus System / Continental Trailways.
CONSOLIDATED BUS LINES In the late 1910s both the Pitcher Bus Line and Consolidated Bus Lines paralleled the rail line of the New York Central and the Rochester, Lockport & Buffalo Railway in Rochester, New York. Both companies ceased operations on a portion of their route after the R.L & B. Railway obtained an injunction in 1921. (Info from Bus Transportation‘s January 14, 1922 issue.) No further info known.
CONSOLIDATED BUS LINES, INC. This company’s history begins with Harvey F. Moore (1894-1963) and his Winston-Salem-High Point Motor Lines, which he founded in circa 1924 using a nine-passenger Studebaker operating between High Point and Winston-Salem, North Carolina. By the 1940s the company was known as Moore Suburban Transit Company and its franchise included the “intersection of N. C. Highway No. 301 near High Point over N. C. Highway No. 68 to Friendship and return; from Greensboro over High Point Road U. S. 70 and 29 to Groomtown Road; thence over Groomtown Road to Freeman Mill Road; thence over Freeman Mill Road to Pinecroft Road; thence over Pinecroft Road to High Point Road; thence over High Point Road to Greensboro.” During World War II the Moore formed Suburban Bus Lines in Greensboro, North Carolina, which served both Greensboro and portions of High Point, North Carolina. In 1953 Moore and Wallace A. Kennedy took over Duke Power Company‘s bus systems in High Point and Salisbury and formed the Consolidated Bus Lines. (Suburban Bus Lines continued operating but under control of Consolidated Bus Lines.) When Harvey Moore died in 1963, his wife, Myrtle Hines Moore took over as president of both Consolidated Bus Lines in High Point and Salisbury and Suburban Bus Lines in Greensboro. After her death in 1965, the company was taken over by Moore’s sons, Lindsay F. Moore and Sam G. Moore. That same year they founded Moore Bros. Transportation Company as a charter coach company. (The company ran 14 buses serving North Carolina, South Carolina Georgia, Florida, Virginia, Washington, D.C., and Maryland.) According to one source, Consolidated Bus Lines ceased operations in 1975.
CONSOLIDATED COACH LINES / CONSOLIDATED COACH CORPORATION, INC. / CCC LINES was granted a charter in October 1926 in Lexington, Kentucky. With a capital of $1,500,000 the incorporators were Guy Alexander Huguelet, J. E. Kittrell, R. S. Webb and Floyd G. Clay. Regarding the company’s founding, in a 1927 speech, J. E. Kittrell, president of Consolidated Coach Corp., stated: “Six years ago this concern was started with a- single bus and a single driver. Today it is capitalized at $1,500,000, has 1,320 miles of lines within the State, carries 3,000 passengers each day and has a payroll of $500,000 a year. We believe our concern, though still an infant, is destined te play a significant part in the commercial development of the State.” (Page 3 of the Friday, June 10, 1927 The Courier-Journal from Louisville, Kentucky.)
The origin of the name, Consolidated Coach Lines, isn’t hard to figure since it was formed by consolidating five bus companies running in and around Lexington, where the new company made its headquarters. By 1928 CCC was the fourth largest interurban motor coach line in the United States, operating over 1,500 route miles with a fleet of 150 coaches. In 1928 the company served Ashland, Cincinnati, Lexington, Corbin, Louisville, Somerset, Bowling Green, Owensboro and Nashville. In the coming years, using the same buy-out and consolidating formula, CCC spread further south and southeast. Among those absorbed companies was The Greyhound Lines of Georgia. That company had started in 1928 as a subsidiary of the Motor Transit Corporation and ran between Chattanooga and Jacksonville. (In 1929 the Motor Transit Corporation was renamed The Greyhound Corporation.) The Greyhound Lines of Georgia was renamed Southeastern Greyhound Lines and in 1931 was sold to the Consolidated Coach Corporation, which continued to operate the company under the name “Southeastern Greyhound Lines.” Page 7 of the Friday, September 11, 1931, edition of The Atlanta Constitution from Atlanta, Georgia, reported: “Coach Company to Unify System. The Consolidated Coach Corporation, which recently acquired the Southeastern Greyhound Lines, operating between Atlanta, Jacksonville and Chattanooga, will unify its system, and identify all of its branches under the name of the Southeastern Greyhound Lines, according to J. P. Pope, vice president. The new chain will cover 5,222 miles, the 250 busses serving Kentucky, Tennessee, Alabama, Georgia and Florida.”
In fact, Consolidated Coach Corp. used the Southeastern Greyhound Lines name for all their buses, including the use of the Greyhound running dog logo, paint scheme and advertising. However, under the name “Southeastern Greyhound Lines” they included “Consolidated Coach Corp.” in small letters. After the merger, the Southeastern Greyhound advertised “With all the dependability of Consolidated Coach Corporation, Inc., Southeastern Greyhound Lines, Inc., Union Transfer Company, Inc. and Alabama Bus Company, Inc. operating under one unified travel system, better service is possible.” In 1950 The Greyhound Corporation purchased 100% of Southeastern Greyhound Lines, and thus the Consolidated Coach Company ceased to be a corporate entity. Below is a 1928 ad for the Kentucky State Fair. The badge is likely from the early days of Consolidated Coach Lines. It is made of nickel, measures 1 ¾” and has a pin back. (NOTE: it is not known if CCC stopped using these badges after they began operating under the name Southeastern Greyhound Lines in 1931. If so, then this badge dates at or before that year. See the entry for Southeastern Greyhound Lines under Greyhound badges for more information.)
CONST AUTO LINES ran in 1924 in Coquille, Oregon. G.W. Bryant, operator.
CONST LINE STAGE, INC. ran in 1924 in Fort Bragg, California.
CONTRA COSTA TRANSIT COMPANY was operating in the mid 1920s out of San Francisco, California. It appears to have been a subsidiary of the San Francisco-Sacramento Railroad Company.
CONWAY BROTHERS ran a passenger bus service in 1927-1928 from Colorado Springs to various places in Colorado. The company had forty routes.
COOKEVILLE-SPARTA BUS COMPANY There’s no info on this company other than it was operating in 1928 in Tennessee.
CO-OPERATIVE BUS COMPANY is a now defunct company that formed in Ohio in 1935. The die struck badge measures 2 ¼” x 1 ½” with one threaded post.
COOPERATIVE TRANSIT COMPANY was an employed-owned cooperative that began operating in Wheeling, West Virginia, in 1933 after the bankrupt Wheeling Traction Company ceased operations. In 1946 the company operated intercity over 36 miles of tracks with 61 cars, and ran operated 61 buses over 87 route miles. The last streetcars of Cooperative Transit Company rolled into the barn for the last time on April 14, 1948, and the company’s conversion to buses was complete. In 1956 it served Wheeling, Moundsville, Wellsburg, E. Steubenville, Bellaire, Shadyside, Barton, Bridgeport, Martins Ferry, Rayland and Brilliant, W. Virginia, and Steubenville, Ohio with 119 buses over 192 route miles. The company was replaced by the Wheeling Transportation Authority in 1974-1975.
COPESTAKE BUS SERVICE, INC. was incorporated in Maryland on October 7, 1980. It was based in Hampstead, Maryland. The company is currently out of business. The badge has a single threaded post and was made by HOOKFAST PROVIDENCE R.I. (marked on thumbnut).
COPPER COUNTRY BUS LINE Frederick G. Orr (1922-1989) moved moved to Marquette, Michigan, in 1949 where he owned & operated the Marquette Transit Lines. In 1952 he moved Laurium, Michigan where he owned & operated the Copper Country Bus Line. The company was sold to G.T. Murphy by 1954 and ran 5 buses over 28 route miles. In 1956 the number of route miles had dropped to 12. The company served Laurium, Ahmeek, Lake Linden, Hubbell and Mohawk, Michigan
COPPER RANGE MOTOR BUS COMPANY The Copper Range Company Records MS-080 gives the background on this company: “The Copper Range Company (1899-1977) operated copper mines in Houghton County’s South Range and in Ontonagon County. The second largest mining company in the Copper Country (after Calumet & Hecla), the Copper Range Company was the only one to survive the 1960s. In addition to mining, it owned and operated the Copper Range Railroad (1899-1973) and the Copper Range Motor Bus Company (1925-1955). . . . The Copper Range Motor Bus Company was organized in 1925 as a subsidiary of the Copper Range Railroad Company. It operated a passenger and small freight service in Houghton and Ontonagon counties. At the end of 1929, it became a direct subsidiary of the Copper Range Company. Operations ended in mid-1955 and the Copper Range Motor Bus Company was dissolved later that year.” In 1946 the company ran 6 buses over 37 route miles. In 1954 it served Calument, Franklin, Hancock, Lake Linden, Hubbel, Dollar Bay, Ripley, Houghton, Atlantic, South Range and Painesdale, Michigan, with 7 buses over 74 route miles. It is not mentioned in the 1956 edition of the MTD, so one may assume had ceased operations by that date.
COPPEROPOLIS & MILTON AUTO STAGE ran out of Copperopolis, California, in 1924. Joseph Deschamp, operator.
CORAL GABLES RAPID TRANSIT CORP. “In the early 1920’s, George Merrick decided to build a city west of Miami which was named Coral Gables. He formed the Coral Gables Utilities Corporation to oversee the building of this town. But he needed a way to get people from Miami into Coral Gables, so he started a trolley system, Coral Gables Rapid Transit Corp., and on April 30, 1925, the first CGRT pink interurban ran into Miami. Persons interested in buying land in Coral Gables were given tokens (FL 130 A) which they could use on the interurban. Merrick arranged with Miami Beach Railway for the daily operation of his line, and its cars were placed in the City of Miami barn at night.” (Excerpt from the October 1982 issue of the Fare Box, which is published by the American Vecturist Association.) The Coral Gables Rapid Transit Corp. ceased operations in 1927.
CORAL GABLES MUNICIPAL TRANSIT SYSTEM took over operation of the Coral Gables Rapid Transit Corp. in Coral Gables, Florida, in 1927 and ran until 1975.
CORAM BUS SERVICE ran in Suffolk County, New York, on Long Island from 1958-1992 and primarily operated school buses. It also offered passenger transit routes in the Town of Brookhaven towards locations as far west as Commack and East Northport, and as far east as Riverhead.
CORNHUSKER STAGE LINES Oliver William Townsend was born December 22, 1893, in Pauline, Nebraska; he died November 1955 in New Orleans, Louisiana, at the age of 62 years, where he had been serving as chairman of the board of Teche Greyhound Line. Townsend began in the bus industry in 1924 and founded the Cornhusker Stage Line, which was based in Hastings, Nebraska. The company ran a route between Hastings and Lincoln. In 1927 Townsend bought out the Platte Valley Coach Lines of Columbus, Nebraska and merged its routes with Cornhusker Stage Lines. Later that year he joined with other independent bus companies to form YellowaY Lines. (Note the upper case “Y” at the end of YellowaY.) Under the YellowaY name Townsend ran routes across Nebraska between Chicago, Illinois, and Denver, Colorado. In 1928 Townsend sold some of his operating rights to the newly formed American Motor Transportation Company, based in Oakland, California. This company went on to buy out most of the other independent YellowaY member firms, and operated them as the YellowaY-Pioneer System. On September 11, 1928, this company made history when a Yelloway-Pioneer System bus completed the first regularly scheduled coast-to-coast bus trip in the USA, running from Los Angeles to New York City.
In 1929 the Motor Transit Corporation (which became The Greyhound Corporation later that year) bought the Yelloway-Pioneer System for $6.4 million. The February 15, 1929, edition of The Daily Notes from Canonsburg, Pennsylvania reported the story: “Consolidation of the Yelloway lines and ‘the Greyhound lines, bus companies, with a combined investment of more than $12,000,000, was announced here today by O. S. Caesar, president of the Motor Transit corporation, and W. F. Travis, president of the American Motor Transportation company. Tho two lines will be united under the name of the American Motor Transit corporation, to form the largest long distance bus transportation system in the country, officials said.”
As noted above, Oliver Townsend sold some of his Cornhusker Stage Lines operation to American Motor Transportation Company while holding onto a significant share of the company. What he did with the remaining routes is noted in the the July 1929 issue of Railway Age: “The Union Pacific has purchased and began the operation on July 1 of the motor coach services of the Interstate Transit Lines, the Cornhusker Stage Lines and the Queen City Coach Lines. These three lines now operate a total of 80 motor coaches in Union Pacific territory, particularly in Nebraska. The Interstate Transit Lines have services extending from Omaha, Neb., to Sioux City, la., Lincoln, Neb., to Fremont and Wahoo, Kansas City, Mo., and Fairmont, Minn., from Lincoln to” Fremont, Grand Island and Nebraska City, and from Fremont to Norfolk, Neb., and Dodge. The Cornhusker Lines operate from Lincoln, Hastings and Fremont to Nebraska points, while the Queen City Lines operate from Beatrice, Neb., to other Nebraska points. The present organization of each of the lines will be retained and Russell J. Walsh, Oliver W. Townsend and E. J. Delchant, formerly owners respectively of the Interstate, the Cornhusker and the Queen City Lines, will each be retained as president and general manager.” (By the time Oliver Townsend had made his deal with Interstate, he had formed another bus company, which he named Atlantic-Pacific Stages, which ran between Saint Louis, Missouri, and Los Angeles, California, via Kansas City, on the state line between Kansas and Missouri, Denver, Colorado, and Albuquerque, New Mexico. In 1930 Townsend sold this company to the Interstate Transit, Inc., which was a different company from the Interstate Transit Lines, despite the almost identical names. This company was renamed Colonial Atlantic-Pacific Stages; it went out of business in 1932, a victim of the Great Depression. During the years 1931-1932 Townsend was the regional manager of Colonial Atlantic-Pacific Stages and lived in Philadelphia. From there he moved to New Orleans, Louisiana and bought a controlling interest in Teche Lines, which later became Teche Greyhound Lines.)
CORNING BUS LINE, INC. ran city buses in Corning, New York, from 1930 through the 1950s. It succeeded the Corning & Painted Post Street Railway, which ran from 1894 until 1930. Not much info to be found; in 1950 the company was granted a city bus franchise for ten years in Corning. In 1952 Bernard Greenberg was the manager. The name of one driver has survived: Charles R. Harder (1925-2012) of Gouverneur, New York.
CORNING-PASKENTA AUTO SERVICE was operating in the late 1920s out of Paskenta, California. Noah Brenahm was the registered contact.
CORONA-WOODSIDE COACH CO., INC. ran in 1933 in Queens, New York City, on Corona-Jackson Hts.
CORONADO-IMPERIAL BEACH STAGE LINE was running in 1924 in Imperial Beach, California. Glen Mathews was the operator/owner.
CORTLAND COUNTY BUS LINES, INC. began running in 1928 in Cortland, New York, and replaced Cortland County Traction Company, which was operated by the Mohawk-Hudson Power Co. The company was still running in 1960, as it was listed as a member of the Cortland Chamber of Commerce.
CORTLAND TRACTION COMPANY In 1895 the Cortland and Homer Traction Company built a 5-mile line from Cortland to McGrawville, New York. At the same time, a line built north from Cortland to Homer (4 miles) in 1885 was electrified. In 1901 the road was reorganized as the Cortland County Traction Company and extended its service to Little York Lake and Preble, New York, giving it a total of 11 miles of track. The company operated mainly in street railway fashion, but it interchanged freight cars at McGraw (formerly McGrawville) with the Lackawanna. City service in Cortland was abandoned in 1928, the Preble line in 1929, and the McGraw line in 1931. The Cortland Traction Company was replaced by CORTLAND COUNTY BUS LINES, INC. (Info from The Electric Interurban Railways in America by George Woodman Hilton, John Fitzgerald Due, Stanford University Press, Stanford, California, 1960.) The badge appears to be made of nickel and measures 1 ¾” with a pin back.
CORYDON BUS LINE ran from the 1930s into the 1950s connecting Corydon, Indiana, with New Albany and Jeffersonville.
COSTELLO BUS LINES was operating in 1947 between North Conway and Laconia, New Hampshire.
COTTONWOOD & SHINGLETON STAGE COMPANY ran in 1924 in Cottonwood, California. H.A. and J.M. Cleland, owner/operators.
COTTRELL BUS LINES No information on this one. Measures 2-½ ” x 1¾” with single threaded post.
COULTERVILLE-KINSLEY AUTO LINE ran in 1924 Coulterville, California. Philip Noce, operator.
COUNCIL BLUFFS TRANSIT CO. took over from Omaha & Council Bluffs Street Railway Co., and operated buses in Council Bluffs, Iowa, from 1948 thru 1957. It was succeeded by City Transit Lines. This badge measures 2″, has a single threaded post and was made by FIFTH AVENUE UNIFORM COMPANY 19 SO. WELLS CHICAGO.
COURIER BUS COMPANY was founded in Feb. 1935 as a bus operator in the borough of Queens in New York City. It operated the Q41 bus route before it was taken over by Green Bus Lines.
COURTLAND-NORWICH-ONEONTA BUS LINE was owned by Lynn D. McKee and was running in the 1940s. It was an intercity operation serving Courtland, Norwich and Oneonta, New York, with one bus over 90 route miles. It was in business until 1978.
COVELO STAGE LINE ran in 1924 out of Covelo, California; W. H. Goforth was the owner/operator.
COVEY’S FREIGHT & PASSENGER SERVICE was operating in the mid 1920s out of Redding, California, running to Shasta, California. It was owned and operated by David E. Covey.
COVINGTON-CINCINNATI & DETROIT BUS COMPANY was an intercity line operating in the 1920s out of Covington, Kentucky. Its route was from Covington to Cincinnati, Ohio, to Detroit, Michigan.
COXSACKIE & ALBANY AUTO-BUS COMPANY, INC. The history of this company either starts with the history of Mountain View Coach Lines, Inc. MOUNTAIN VIEW COACH LINES, INC. was formed in the mid 1910s and ran automobiles (auto-buses) from Coxsakie to Albany, New York. It was founded by Henry J. Albright. In addition to this company, in 1916 Henry Albright also owned and operated Coxsackie & Albany Auto Bus, Inc.: “Albany (N.Y.) The following petition was received and ordered filed: To the Honorable, the Common Council of the City of Albany: The petition of Coxsackie and Albany Auto Bus, Inc., respectfully shows: That your petitioner is a domestic corporation created and existing under and by virtue of the Transportation Corporations Law of the State of New York, with its principle business office in the village of Coxsckie, Greene County, New York. . . . That the said motor vehicle or bus line proposes to carry passengers from Coxsackie and intermedite points into the city of Albany and from the city of Albany to Coxsckie nd intermediate points and is not intended to carry local passengers within the city of Albany. Dated Coxsackie, N.Y., February 7, 1916. Coxsackie & Albany Auto Bus, Inc. Henry J. Albright, President.” A Coxsackie & Albany Auto Bus, Inc. schedule dated June 30, 1930 gives this route information: Catskill-Albany had stops at Athens, (Hudson by Ferry), Coxsackie, New Baltimore, Coeymans, Selkirk, Cedar Hill; Catskill-Cairo had stops at Round Top, Purling, Leeds, Jefferson, and Dayboat Landing. There is no information about Coxsackie & Albany Auto Bus, Inc. after 1930.
Henry Albright died in May, 1956: From the May 14, 1956, edition of The Kingston Daily Freeman from Kingston, New York: “Henry J. Albright, 68, of Coxsackie, retired president of the Mountain View Coach Lines and a vice-president of the Coxsackie National Bank, died Sunday at Albany Hospital after a three- month illness. Born in New Baltimore, he was a lifelong resident of Greene county, and established his business in Coxsackie in 1916. He retired two years ago and his son, Frank Albright, succeeded him as president of the bus line. . . . He is survived by his wife, Frances Bedell Albright; two sons, Frank and Ervine Albright; two brothers and seven grandchildren survive.” (Note: the date of Mountain View Coach Lines‘ founding differs from a history of Greene County, which suggests a date before 1915.)
COZY CAB & BUS COMPANY was an interstate service formed in Fall River, Massachusetts, on December 28, 1938. In 1954 the company ran 12 buses over 128 route miles. It served Fall River, New Bedford, Somerset, Swansea ad Fairhaven, Mass; and Tiverton and Little Compton, Rhode Island. It took over city bus service in Fall River from Short Line after 1969. The company is still in business. The badge appears to be out of the 1950s and made of nickel.
CREAM & CRIMSON COACHES Affiliate of American Trailways (from Indiana) measures 2 ½” x 2 ½” with two threaded posts.
CRESCENT BAY STAGE COMPANY This company was running a bus route from Manhattan Beach to San Pedro, California, in the late 1910s. No further information.
CRESCENT BUS LINE CO. ran in Princeton, Indiana, in 1926.
CRESCENT MILLS-SENECA STAGE LINE was operating in Greenville, California, in 1924. It was owned/operated by I.N. Short.
CRESCENT MOTORS, INC. was a private company operating local buses in Anniston, Gadsden and Huntsville, Alabama. A subsidiary of Crescent Stages, Inc., a January 8, 1932 article in the Anniston Star called it “a new company recently given a franchise to operate a transportation system in Anniston and Oxford.” It began running buses in Gadsden in 1934 and in Huntsville in 1939. Granted a 25-year franchise by the Gadsden City Council, Crescent Motors ran five buses in that city. By 1947 the company was running a total of 100 buses in its system and 75 taxi cabs. Supposedly the company went out of business in 1954; however, the succeeding transit companies in Anniston, Gadsden and Huntsville were under the control of W. P. Acker, who had been the president of Crescent Stages and Crescent Motors. (Also see Crescent Trailways.)
CRESCENT STAGES, INC. / CRESCENT MOTORS, INC. / CRESCENT TRANSIT, INC. / CRESCENT TRAILWAYS According to Greyhound historian Dr. D. B. “Doc” Rushing, Crescent Stages was in operation by 1928 and was originally named Dixie Stage Lines: “completely separate and different from both the Dixie Coaches and the Dixie GL [Dixie Greyhound Lines], based in Anniston (previously sometimes called the “Crescent City”), running on routes which eventually reached from Anniston, Alabama, to Chattanooga, to Rome and Columbus, both in Georgia, and to Birmingham, Montgomery, and Huntsville, all three in Alabama, then in 1947 northward from Huntsville to Nashville (when Crescent bought the Lewisburg Bus Lines, which had run between Nashville and Huntsville via Lewisburg, Shelbyville, and Fayetteville). The Crescent Stages had joined the National Trailways association in 1939 (and thus had become known also as the Crescent Trailways).” A 1939 ad stated: “Crescent Stages, a sister corporation, operate large, comfortable Clipper Buses from Anniston and Gadsden to Montgomery, Birmingham, Huntsville, Opelika, Rome, Ga., and intermediate points over paved routes that provide the ultimate in comfortable, economic transportation. Crescent Stages travel swiftly over 1,500,000 miles every year, affording its thousands of passengers a clean, convenient, quick and safe method of transportation. Every bus, every passenger is insured, every driver bonded for your protection.” Both the 1939 and 1943 Russell’s Guide shows the company as a Trailways member, but lists it as Crescent Stages, Inc. The 1946 MTD lists two companies owned and operated by Crescent Stages: Crescent Motors, Inc., which ran city bus service in Anniston, Gadsden and Huntsville, Alabama, with 100 buses and 75 cabs; and Crescent Transit, Inc. running local city bus service in Fairfield and Bessemer, Alabama, with 33 buses. All three companies were located in Anniston and all had the same officers (L. B. Liles was the president). It is not until the early 1950s that Crescent Trailways is listed as a subsidiary of Crescent Stages, Inc. in the MTD. In 1952 the company purchased Service Stages, Inc. / Service Stages Trailways. Trailways historian Jon Hobijn writes: “Continental Crescent Lines was incorporated in Delaware in 1952, a wholly owned subsidiary of Continental Southern Lines, for the purpose of purchasing Crescent Stages, a member of the Trailways association. Crescent’s routes stretched from Nashville, TN on the north through Huntsville and Birmingham to Montgomery, AL; from Montgomery to Columbus, GA; from Chattanooga, TN to Montgomery; and with the 1952 purchase of Service Stages, from Birmingham to Atlanta, GA.” In 1953 Crescent Trailways was sold to Transcontinental Bus System / Continental Trailways.
CRESCENT TRANSIT, INC. was a subsidiary of Crescent Stages, Inc. running local bus service in Bessemer, Alabama, with 33 buses in 1946.
CRISPELL BROTHERS, INC. / CRISPELL CHARTER SERVICE, INC. was owned by brothers Harry and Leslie Crispell from Slaterville, New York. The brothers started back in the 1910s with Crispell Brothers Transporation Lines in Slaterville and, according to Patricia A. Brhel’s book Images of America, “. . . started out with teams of horses and gradually worked up to large delivery vehicles and buses, taking everything from eggs to people as far as New York City before it sold the fleet and set up shop as truck and auto repairmen.” (Note: in the 1960s-1970s the brothers were still advertising their bus services at the same time advertising automotive repair at their shop.) Crispell Brothers operated their bus service between Ithaca-Caroline, New York, from 1953-1958. However, they also operated a route in the city of Caroline in the 1930s and ended the service in 1972. Their charter service was still operating in 1969. The brothers also owned Finger Lakes Coach Lines, which was located in South Aurora and which ran for about two years.
CROWN COACH LINES was a Greyhound subcontractor operating from Joplin, Missouri, from 1930 until 1966: “Friday, October 14, 1966: Louis N. Zelle, president of Jefferson Lines of Minneapolis, and Claude E. Brown, president of Crown Coach Company, Joplin, Mo., announced today that Jefferson Lines has concluded negotiations with the stockholders of Crown Coach Company, to acquire the Brown family interests in Crown. Greyhound Lines, a minority stockholder of Crown Coach, has been associated with the Brown family since 1930 and will continue the same association with the new owners.” The badge measures approx. 3″ which is ½” more than the other Type 1 Greyhound badges. (Also, it’s worth mentioning that I’ve seen about a half dozen of these badges and none had a number stamped onto it.)
CROWN STAGE LINE was running in the late 1910s-1920s out of Santa Ana, California. A.B. Watson was the owner/operator. There is a mention of the company in the May 25, 1917 edition of the Los Angeles Herald: “3 JITNEY BUS LINES ASK RATE INCREASE Applications of three stage lines for permission to raise their rates for the transportation of passengers between Anaheim. Fullerton. Orange, Santa Ana and Los Angeles, on the plea that the present fares are unprofitable, were heard today by Railroad Commissioners D. Loveland and E. O. Edgerton . . . The Valley Stage Line, the White Bus Line and the Crown Stage Line are the three complainants. The Valley Stage Line operates buses between Anaheim, Fullerton, Los Angeles and intermediate points. This line carries on a joint tariff with the Crown Stage Line, which runs between Anaheim, Orange and Santa Ana. The White Bus Line has a number of buses operating between Anaheim, Fullerton, Los Angeles and intermediate points and also connects with the Crown Line. The White Bus Line and the Valley Line are competitors and both say that they are losing money at the present rates. The companies ask that the fare from Anaheim to Los Angeles be raised from $l to $1.25, from Fullerton to Los Angeles from $l to $1.15, from Orange to Los Angeles from $l to $1.40. The increased rates are asked on round trip fares. The companies also asked that they be allowed to file prices on ten-ride commutation books.” By 1920 the company had purchased Valley Stage Line, as this May 7, 1920, complaint filed with the Railroad Commission makes clear: “Respondent A.B. Watson, under the name of Crown Stages, operates a local passenger service between Santa Ana and Los Angeles, the operative rights between Santa Ana and Anaheim and intermediate points having been acquired by virtue of operations prior to May 1, 1917, and those between Anaheim and Los Angeles by purchase of the rights of the Valley Stage Line.“
CROWN TRANSIT LINES, INC. This company started as Illinois Transit Lines, Inc., which began operating in 1935. (This company took over operations from Central Illinois Traction Company.) In 1954 Illinois Transit Lines took over routes north of Springfield, Illinois, from Illinois Greyhound Lines. In 1958 the name was changed to Crown Transit Lines, Inc. In July 1965 the company, doing business in Springfield, Illinois, as Crown Tours, applied for a license to engage as an interstate carrier for passengers and their baggage, for charter and special operations. Crown Transit Lines, Inc., continued until 1984. After 1984 the company still offered service under the name Crown Travels. It closed in 1989. The badge is made of brass and has two threaded posts. (NOTE: It appears that the badge once had some kind of design in the middle, which is now missing.)
CRUSH BUS LINES, INC. was incorporated in June 1925, which was accomplished by the consolidation of eight bus companies. Unfortunately the newspaper notice failed to give the names of the companies merged: Bluefield Daily Telegraph from Bluefield, West Virginia: “EIGHT BUS LINES OUT OF ROANOKE IN A MERGER Richmond, June 2. (AP)—-What is said to have been the largest consolidation of motor bus lines in the history of Virginia was consummated here today when the state corporation commission issued a charter to the Crush Bus Lines, Inc., of Fincastle. The new company has arranged for a merger of eight lines now operating from Roanoke.” Two years later the company was a subsidiary of the Eastern Public Service Corporation. The company’s station was in Roanoke, Virginia and was running a route between Roanoke and Lynchburg, Virginia, and E.S. Wheeler was the manager. The company was still operating in 1932.
CRYSTAL WHITE COACH LINES ran in 1931 in Lafayette, Ind.
CULVER CITY BUS LINE was founded in 1928 in Culver City, California, and is still in operation. The badge has two threaded posts and measures 2 ½” x 2″; it is hallmarked on back.
CUMBERLAND & WESTERNPORT TRANSIT COMPANY was organized to take over the property of the Cumberland & Westernport Electric Railway (inaugurated on July 4, 1891) and receiver discharged on October 1, 1927. In the 1930s it was located in Frostburg, Maryland, and ran intercity routes that connected Cumberland, Westernport, Eckhart, Piedmont, Frostburg, Keyser, Midland, Dawson, Lonaconing, Rawlings, Moscow, Creasaptown, Barton, Franklin and Mt. Savage. In 1946 it served Cumberland, Westernburg, Frostburg, Mt. Savage, and Amcelle, Maryland, with 23 buses over 38 route miles. In the 1920s its motto was “The Dependable Motor Coach Service with Courtesy Convenience Responsibility. The company was listed in the 1954 MTD and was not listed in the 1956 directory.
CUTLER-BADGER STAGE LINE was operating in 1924 out o Cutler, California. R. Venard was the owner/operator.
CUYAMA VALLEY SCENIC STAGE LINE ran in 1924 in Arroyo Grande, California. O.P. Hazard, operator.
Copyright © 2019 TRANSITBADGES.COM. All Rights Reserved. You may freely quote from this page with the proviso that TRANSITBADGES.COM is credited.