BUS COMPANIES BEGINNING WITH THE LETTER “G”
(PLEASE NOTE: THE BADGES AND INFORMATION PRESENTED ON THIS SITE ARE FOR REFERENCE / EDUCATIONAL USE ONLY. WE DO NOT BUY, SELL OR TRADE TRANSIT BADGES! The purpose of this page is to share information about collecting transit badges. All photos and artwork displayed on this site are from personal collections and are used by permission of the owners, or are in the public domain. If requested, we credit badge photos to the owner. We gratefully welcome additional information and/or corrections, questions, comments, new badge entries and especially badge photos. Please don’t hesitate to contact us.)
G & F Bus Corporation (NJ) 1959
GR MOTOR COACH COMPANY See Grand Rapids Motor Coach Company.
GADSDEN TRANSIT, INC. In 1954 this agency took over city bus service from Crescent Motors, which was a private company—and subsidiary of Crescent Stages, Inc. which operated local buses in Anniston and Huntsville, Alabama. There isn’t much to offer in the way of history of Gadsden Transit, except in 1956 it was running 23 buses, and this bit of news in The Bulletin for July 1, 1963: “The Gadsden Transit Company has promised to begin total desegregation of its buses. City officials promised to bring about the withdrawal of state troopers and Negro leaders have suspended demonstrations in the hope of further progress.” At some point the company was taken over by the city of Gadsden and renamed Gadsden Transit Services. The badge has two threaded posts.
GARBERVILLE-EUREKA STAGE LINE was operating in the San Francisco Bay, California area in 1922.
GARDEN HIGHWAY TRANSIT COMPANY was operating in the mid 1920s out of the Union Stage Depot in Sacramento, California. C. C. Cochran was the registered contact.
GARDEN STATE BUS LINES was founded in 1935 in New Jersey. By the 1950s it was operated by DeCamp Bus Lines, and was running 19 buses from Clifton to Paterson to Jersey City, N.J. On October 7, 1953 it ceased operations.
GARDENA MUNICIPAL BUS LINES In 1940 Pacific Electric Railway discontinued streetcar service in Gardena, California and Gardena Municipal Bus Lines began offering service. It has continued until the present time as “G-Trans.” The badge measures approx. 2″ x 2″ and has a single threaded post.
GARDNERVILLE TRANSPORTATION COMPANY was an interstate bus company operating in 1924 out of Gardenerville, Nevada and running into California. H.G. and L.N. Anderson were the owners/operators, with H.G. Anderson general manager.
GARFIELD HTS COACH LINES was a subsidiary of Cleveland Southeastern Bus Co., which in 1932 succeeded Northern Ohio Traction & Light interurban line between Cleveland and Bedford, which was abandoned at that time. On July 1, 1947 it began running between Cleveland, Ohio and the residential community of Garfield Heights was inaugurated on July 1, 1947, under the name of Garfield Heights Coach Lines, Inc. The company was absorbed by GCRTA in 1982. The company had badges made. Below is a patch worn by drivers.
GARY RAILWAYS started out as an offshoot of the Chicago – New York Electric Air Line Railroad before becoming Gary Railways. It began running city trolley lines in Gary, Indiana in 1908 (as Gary & Interurban Railway Co.) and ceased operations in 1947. It started using the name “Gary Street Railway Co.” in 1917 and “Gary Railways Co.” in 1925. The company also owned what it considered interurbans: trolley lines to nearby towns, largely on side-of-road right-of-way. Some were acquired by absorbing small companies, including the Hobart line which had opened with a gas-electric car. Expansive bus routes were spun off to the Shore Line Motor Coach Company, jointly owned by Gary Railways and the South Shore Line. Gary Railways went out of business in 1956 and was succeeded by Gary Transit.
GATEWAY BUS LINE, INC. was operating in December 1927 in Wareham, Massachusetts and was owned by George P. Dole. It succeeded the New Bedford & Onset Street Railway. In 1946 the company was operating 18 buses over 26 route miles. In 1956 the company ran 9 buses over 26 route miles and served Mattapoisett, Marion, Wareham, Onset, Buzzards Bay and Camp Edwards in Bourne. According to one source, the company went out of business in the 1970s.
GEM STATE TRANSIT COMPANY was another company acquired by Union Pacific Stages, Inc., and operated as a subsidiary. In 1929 it ran routes between Salt Lake City and Portland, with routes to Yakima and Spokane branching off at Boise and The Dalles.
GENERAL OMNIBUS CORPORATION was a bus operator in the borough of Queens in New York City. It operated the Q37 bus route before it was taken over by Green Bus Lines.
GENESEE BUS LINES On April 27, 1931 Russell S. and Gerald J. Webster and Charles Weisenburg were given consent to operate a bus service between the Village of East Aurora and Buffalo, New York and the Village of Wellsville, New York “and other points including Perry, Silver Springs, Rock Glen, Warsaw, Varysburg, Wales Center, East Aurora and other intermediate points.” The company also operated within East Aurora. In 1956 the company ran 15 buses over 217 route miles. In 1966 the company was acquired by Grand Island Transit Corporation.
GENEVA-PENN YAN TRANSPORTATION COMPANY, INC. On February 16, 1916 a certificate of operation was granted to John J. Neil to operate a bus line in Geneva, New York. In July 1917 Neil transferred his certificate to Geneva-Penn Yan Transportation Company, Inc. The line operated between Geneva and Penn Yan and Bath, New York. In 1954 the company ran 3 buses under the management of Norman J. Carpenter. It was not listed as being in business in the 1956 MTD.
GENEVA-PENN YAN-BATH BUS LINES was an intercity bus company that ran out of Bath, New York. In 1939 Carl Mallory was its president and general manager. The line operated between Geneva and Penn Yan and from Penn Yan to Bath, New York. According to one source it ceased operations in 1953.
GEORGETOWN-PLACERVILLE STAGE was operating out of Georgetown, California in1924. Lester Heindel was the owner/operator.
GEORGIA-FLORIDA COACHES, INC. / GEORGIA-FLORIDA TRAILWAYS The company was incorporated in Florida on March 11, 1941. The founder was J. Harley Garner, who was headquartered in Douglas, Georgia. According to Jon Hobijn, the company was formed “by purchasing a route from Service Coach Line from Augusta to McRae, Georgia, and a second route from McRae, Georgia to Lake City, Florida owned by Atlantic Stages of Savannah. . . . By 1948, the company had been sold to Charlotte’s Queen City Trailways, operating headquarters were moved to Augusta [Georgia].” A note of interest is that the 1946 report of Florida Railroad Commission mentions the company as both Georgia-Florida Coaches, Inc. and Georgia Florida Stage Line, both at Box 193, Douglass. Georgia. In 1956 the company was operating 4 buses over 426 route miles. The state of Florida’s corporation records show that Georgia-Florida Coaches, Inc. was voluntarily dissolved on November 9, 1976.
GEORGIA-FLORIDA MOTOR LINES, INC. was an interstate company operating in the 1920s and incorporated on August 26, 1929. It served both Georgia and Florida. In 1929 “a Certificate of Public Convenience and Necessity was issued to the Georgia-Florida Motor Lines, Inc., to operate on State Road No. 4, five seven passenger sedan automobiles that it had on 19th of April 1927 operated between Jacksonville and Miami; that upon petition filed by the Georgia-Florida Motor Lines, Inc., and after a protest by the petitioner and a hearing, the Georgia-Florida Motor Lines, Inc., were authorized to substitute four twenty-five passenger busses for the seven passenger sedans theretofore operated over State Road No. 4, between Jacksonville and Miami.” The company was dissolved on December 14, 1936.
GEORGIA POWER COMPANY (This company ran streetcar operations in more than one Georgia city. For more info, see the next entry.) In 1871 Atlanta Street Railroad Company began operating its horse-drawn streetcars in Atlanta, Georgia. In 1891 this company was succeeded by Atlanta Consolidated Street Railway Company. In 1899 the Atlanta Railway & Power Company took over operations, and in 1901 Georgia Railway & Electric Company took over. By 1911 it was Georgia Railway & Power Company. In 1929 the name was shortened to Georgia Power Company. In 1946 Georgia Power Company was running 116 passenger coaches over 303 route miles, 107 Trolley coaches over 26 route miles, and 75 buses over 123 route miles. The company stopped streetcar service in April 1949 and the system relied on trolley coaches, which had been running since 1937, and diesel buses. (Trolley coaches were phased out starting in 1963.)
In May 1950 Georgia Power Company drivers went on strike and during the five-week-long work stoppage, the company sought a buyer for its transit business. “In response to this, Atlanta businessmen Clement Evans, Granger Hansell and Inman Brandon, along with Leland Anderson of Columbus, Georgia, formed the Atlanta Transit Company and purchased the transportation properties on June 23, 1950, just over a month into the strike. More than 1,300 employees signed on to the new company and ended their strike. Anderson became the president of the ATC, and in September 1950 a Georgia Power vice president, Jackson Dick, joined to become the chairman of the board.” (Source: Wikepedia.) In 1951 Atlanta Transit Company acquired Suburban Coach Company and formed a subsidiary known as Metropolitan Transit System. In 1954 the company was running 116 buses over 105 route miles and 453 trolley coaches over 136 route miles. By 1956 the name had been changed to Atlanta Transit System, Inc. The company was taken over in 1972 by the publicly owned Metropolitan Atlanta Rapid Transit Authority, or MARTA. The badge is made of nickel and has a single threaded post.
GEORGIA POWER COMPANY took over streetcar operation in Augusta, Georgia in 1928 from Augusta Aiken Railway & Electric Company. The company discontinued streetcar operations in 1937, replacing them with buses. In 1946 the Georgia Power Company was running 48 buses over 26 route miles. Georgia Power Company sold its Augusta, Georgia transit operations to Augusta Coach Company on November 30, 1949. (See above entry for badge information.)
GEORGIA STAGES, INC. See Ader Coach Lines.
GEORGIA-TENNESSEE COACHES, INC. / GEORGIA-TENNESSEE TRAILWAYS In December 1946 Tom M. Lambert and George T. Morris bought out W. T. Thomas Bus Line, which was founded in 1915 and ran from Chattanooga, Tennessee to Atlanta, Georgia. After the company changed hands, they incorporated it as Georgia-Tennessee Coaches, Inc. According to one source it joined National Trailways as Georgia-Tennessee Trailways from 1949 until 1952. Jon Hobijn picks up the history on his webpage: “Tennessee Coach purchased Georgia-Tennessee Coaches in 1957 securing a direct route for Tennessee Coach between Chattanooga and Atlanta . . . In August 1960, Kraemer and Burke, the two major stock holders negotiated an agreement to sell Tennessee Coach to Continental Tennessee Lines, Virginia Stage Lines and Smoky Mountain Stages for $2,400,000, with each company owning a one-third interest. On December 21, 1961, the ICC approved the transaction and in the decision recognized the desire of the three purchasing carriers to maintain the identity of Tennessee Coach as being more important than the Commission’s standing policy of merging the rights of acquired carriers into those of their purchasers. Tennessee Coach Company passed into history and the new company, Tennessee Trailways, Inc., was born.”
GIBBS BUS LINE was an interstate bus company operating in the late 1920s between Martin, Tennessee, Wickliffe, Kentucky and Cairo, Illinois. The following is from a record of the Kentucky Court of Appeals, dated February 17, 1931: “The Smith Motor Coach Company obtained from the commissioner of motor transportation of Kentucky a certificate authorizing it to operate a line of motor-busses between Fulton, Ky., and Wickliffe, Ky., some time in 1931. Later that company assigned the certificate, with the approval of the commissioner of motor transportation, to W.H. McNeally, who conducts the operation under the assumed name of Shorty’s Bus Line. Later the Gibbs Bus Line, a Tennessee corporation, made application for a certificate to operate a motorbus line between Fulton and Wickliffe over the same route covered by the certificate previously granted to the Smith Motor Coach Company. The application was favorably considered and a certificate granted to the Gibbs Bus Line Company in 1930.” The company became part of Tri-State Trailways in 1939.
GIBSON LINES was founded by Beverly Gibson, who served as the general manager. It operated. The company was operated by California-Nevada Stages, Inc. as an intercity operations serving 45 cities and towns and two military field. It ran over 1210 route miles with 85 buses. In California it ran between Chico, Sacramento, Lodi, Stockton, Oakland and San Francisco in 1946.The company joined National Trailways in 1948 and remained until 1969, which is the year the company ceased operations.
GIG HARBOR-TACOMA TRANSPORTATION COMPANY See BREMERTON – TACOMA STAGES, INC.
GILROY HOT SPRINGS STAGE was operating out of Gilroy, California in 1924. A. Crabb was the owner.
GLACIER PARK TRANSPORTATION COMPANY was formed in 1914 to operate tours within Glacier National Park in Montana. It was formed by several investors, one of whom was Walter White, who was part owner of the White Motor Company. Another was Roe Emery, whose money had been made in the hotel industry. By the mid 1930s the company was operating Glacier National Park’s famous red-bus, many of which are still in operations today. Two years later White and Emery founded the Rocky Mountain Transportation Company, which operated tour buses in the Rocky Mountain National Park. (See Rocky Mountain Transportation Company for more info; click this link to read a history of Glacier National Park’s red buses.)
GLEN BURNIE COACH LINES, INC. This company was a charter bus line that ran out of Glen Burnie, Maryland. The earliest mention of the company was in February 1948 when the owners applied to the Interstate Commerce Commission to operate a charter operation. In 1952 the company ran this ad: “Buses For Any Purpose Glen Burnie Coach Lines, Inc. CHARTER SERVICE Courteous Operators Deluxe Coaches 2 Creta Hwy., N.W. Glen Burnie 8, Md.” By 1970 the company was operating school buses for the state of Maryland, transporting over 9,000 students. Ellis D. Dudney was the president. I can find no mention of the company after 1974. The badge is made of metal with enamel and has two threaded posts.
GLENDALE CITY LINES ran buses in Glendale (Los Angeles), California from 1941 until 1962. The badge was made by Fifth Avenue Uniform Co. 19 So. Wells Chicago, measures 2 ½” x 2 ½” and has two threaded post.
GLENVIEW BUS COMPANY was an intercity bus company founded in Glenview, Illinois in 1939 when it was granted a certificate of convenience by the Illinois Commerce Commission. The company was owned and operated by R.J. and Margaret Nehmzow. In 1956 it was serving Wheeling, Northbrook, Glenview, Wilmette, Evanston, Illinois with 17 buses. The company was still in business in the 1970s.
GLOUSTER-ATHENS AUTO BUS LINE This company was mentioned in the Athens Messenger for Thursday, March 06, 1924. The buses ran in Corning-Glouster-Athens, Ohio and connected to Zane Transit Lines and Ohio Trailways. It ceased operations in 1954.
GLOUCESTER AUTO BUS COMPANY After street cars stopped running in 1920, in March 1921 the city council of Gloucester, Massachusetts granted a franchise to Morris Katz to operate a bus system, who operated as the Gloucester Auto Bus Company. Since state law didn’t allow a franchise for a longer period than one year, 1922 the franchise was renewed with the city council noting that the “. . . service we are getting from the bus company is the best we have ever known. It is safe, dependable, reasonable in price, and always amenable to our control. The citizens are pleased with it and the company gives every indication of being satisfied to continue the operation.” In 1946 the company was intercity and served Gloucester, Manchester, Rockport and Essex, Massachusetts and operated 16 buses over 40 route miles. The company operated until 1966 and was replaced by Cape Ann Transit.
GOLD SEAL TRANSIT COMPANY was founded and managed by H. O. Barnes in Lexington, Kentucky. The company was operating in the early 1920s as an intercity line with REO buses, and serving Lexington, Louisville, Shelbyville, Lawrenceburg, Harrodsburg and Danville, Kentucky. In February 1929 the company sought permission to operate between Danville and Corbin, Kentucky, which was opposed by Consolidated Coach Corporation. In 1929 it was merged into the newly-formed Mason & Dixon Transit, Inc., which took over several other bus companies in southern Ohio and northern Kentucky. The company continued operating under its own name.
GOLD STAR LINES BUS COMPANY was operating from Cleveland, Ohio to Akron, Canton and Wheeling, Ohio in 1932. (The only information on this company comes from a surviving schedule.)
GOLDEN EAGLE BARKER STAGE LINE was operating in the San Francisco Bay, California area in 1922.
GOLDEN GATE STAGES was operating out of Santa Rosa, California in the mid 1920s. Joseph Miller was the president and general manager.
GOLDEN STATE AUTO TOURS STAGE LINE / GOLDEN STATE AUTO TOURS CORPORATION was founded by Harry L. Weisbaum in Southern California in the late 1910s. Essentially it was a tour company with added services of taxi and charters that operated from the Rosslyn Hotel 455 So. Main Street, Los Angeles. By 1917 the company had incorporated: “The Golden State Auto Tours Corporation, with headquarters in Los Angeles, operates between Los Angeles and San Bernardino, Los Angeles and San Jacinto and Los Angeles and Lancaster. This is a corporation owning and operating six cars in the auto stage business, but owning nine other cars . . . in February 1917.” In 1918 the company advertised “We operate new King Eight and Hupmobile 7-Passenger Cars and LEAVE-EVERY TWO HOURS 8:30, 10:30 a.m., 12:30, 2:30, 4:30, 6:30 p.m. All our passengers protected by indemnity insurance.” One of the tours offered by Golden State Auto Tours concluded with a meal in the Universal Studios cafeteria, and “a chance to have lunch with your favorite movie [star].” By the early 1920s the company was operating buses.
GOLETA BUS & MESSENGER SERVICE was operating out of Santa Barbara, California in 1924. H.A. Spreitz was the operator. It served the town of Goleta, California and Santa Barbara County.
GOOD BROS. BUS LINE ran a intrastate bus service in Indiana in the 1920s-1930s. It was based in Waveland, Indiana. This April 27, 1930 edition of the Indianapolis Star from Indianapolis, Indiana, reports: “Interstate service, that is, service between states, is handled here by the Greyhound lines, Swallow Coach Company and the Colonial stages. Intrastate service (service within the borders of the state of Indiana) is cared for locally by the Indiana Motor Transit Company, Good Bros. Bus Company, Rockville & Clinton Bus Company, White Swan Lines, Indiana Safety Coach Company, Indianapolis & Southeastern Bus Company, Interstate Public Service Company.” In 1925 the company was running a route from Crawfordsville to Indianapolis by way of North Salem and Danville.
In 1925 Good Bros. Bus Line suffered through a horrific accident, as related in the June 29, 1923 edition of the Waveland Independent from Waveland, Montgomery County, Indiana: “On Tuesday evening last just after the Independent was off the press occurred the most horrifying of accidents that has touched Waveland in years. The Good Bros. bus which leaves Crawfordsville at 5:55 was a few minutes later struck at the Grant Avenue crossing of the Big Four by a freight train from the east and totally demolished. It is a miracle that all the passengers were not instantly killed. The driver, Richard Glaze had slowed down for the crossing as is his custom but not seeing or hearing any train started on. Rev. JB Johnson, pastor of the ME Church here was sitting on the west side of the bus–the seats run length wise and saw the train. He called out and the driver ‘stepped on the gas’ but did not clear the track, the bus being struck back of the center and thrown across the bank. The top and wheels were torn off. Miss Ruth Hodgkin was sitting on the east side of the bus. When she heard the alarm, she sprang up screamed and ran to the rear of the bus. She was instantly killed, her body being cut entirely in two. Rev JB Johnson was badly injured about the pelvic region at first reported fatally. EM Hobbs, a fertilizer drummer from Indianapolis had several broken ribs. Miss Glady Evans was seated just back of the driver escaped with severe bruises. The driver was not seriously injured. The Grant Avenue crossing is a death-trap and has been the scene of many accidents. The view both ways is obstructed. A watchman is maintained by the Big Four but he goes off duty at 5:30 just at the time when the auto traffic is heaviest. The obstructions are such that the train whistle is often not heard over the car noise, especially from the east. It is certainly up to the city of Crawfordsville and the Big Four to make this crossing safe as it is the way from the south. Safety gates might solve the problem. A bell would not. An all time watchman who would keep awake is needed. Coroner Griffith exonerates the drivers and the train crew but censures the Big Four for maintaining and the city of Crawfordsville for permitting such a dangerous crossing.“
GOODYEAR HEIGHT MOTOR BUS LINE was founded, owned and operated by Goodyear Tire & Rubber Company in Akron, Ohio as an auxiliary to the local street railway system. The bus line provided transportation for Goodyear’s employees between the factory and the 2 1/2 miles to Goodyear Heights. Goodyear Heights was developed by the Goodyear Company for its employees to provide housing closer to the factory. The motor bus service was established in September 1915 and charged 3 cents. It was still operating in the 1920s.
GOSHEN BUS LINE According to a 1946 Kingston, Tennessee Rotary Club publication, this company began operations in 1938, running one bus to Rogersville, via Buren, and carried approximately 5,000 passengers monthly.
GOULD BUS LINES / FRANK L. GOULD BUS LINES ran an intercity bus service between Rochester, Oswego and Watertown, New York. The company is not listed in the 1939 Russell’s Guide, but was advertising its schedule in a May 22, 1943 Rochester newspaper and again in 1945. One source says the company ceased operations in 1952; it is not listed in the 1954 MTD. A bus driver for the company was Lynn W. Phillips of Pulaski, Oswego County, New York.
GRAND ISLAND TRANSIT CORPORATION In the 1930s until the 1950s this company was located at 200 W. Mohawk St., Buffalo, New York. In 1955 it was running from the Greyhound Terminal and Hotel Statler in downtown Buffalo to Niagra Falls every half hour. The cost was $1.10 per round trip. The began operating in 1936 and linked both Buffalo and Niagra Falls with Grand Island. It is still in business as a charter bus company.
GRAND ISLE BUS LINE served Raceland, Lockport, Larose, Golden Meadow and Grand Isle, Louisiana. Was listed in the 1954 ed. of MTD running one bus. Owned by Evans A. Breaux.
GRAND RAPIDS-FREMONT BUS LINES was operating out of Fremont, Michigan in the 1920s. According to the book Everyday Klansfold: White Protestant Life and the KKK in 1920s Michigan: “The city of Fremont was home to a considerable number of small Klannish businesses . . . the Grand Rapids-Fremont Bus Line [was owned] by four Klansmen.” One source notes that the company may have been taken over, or its routes absorbed, by the Decker Bus Line.
GRAND RAPIDS, GRAND HAVEN & MUSKEGON RAILWAY COMPANY began operations in 1902 offering passenger service between Grand Rapids, Grand Haven and Muskegon, Michigan. In 1924 the company was running 23 passenger cars over 52 route miles.
GR MOTOR COACH COMPANY / GRAND RAPIDS MOTOR COACH COMPANY In 1938 Grand Rapids Railroad Company, which had been operating public transit in Grand Rapids, Michigan, was renamed Grand Rapids Motor Coach Company. In 1946 the company was running 66 buses over 162 route miles. In 1954 Grand Rapids Motor Coach Co. was sold to City Coach Lines Inc., and renamed Grand Rapids City Coach Lines. In 1963 the privately-owned company became the publicly owned Grand Rapids Transit Authority. This name was changed in 1978 to the Grand Rapids Area Transit Authority. Today the company is known as Interurban Transit Partnership. The badge has one threaded post and measures 1 ⅞” x 2 ¼”.
GRAND RAPIDS RAILROAD COMPANY, INC. In 1924 the Grand Rapids Railway Company became a subsidiary of Union Railway Gas & Electric Company operating streetcars in Grand Rapids, Michigan. In 1924 the company was running 68 passenger cars over 144 route miles. In 1927 the company was reorganized as Grand Rapids Railroad Company, Inc. In 1935 the company ran its last streetcars in Grand Rapids replacing the car with buses. In 1938 the company was renamed Grand Rapids Motor Coach Company.
GRANDELL BUS LINE ran between Indianapolis to West Harrison, Indiana in 1924. It was owned by partners John Shorie, Harold Grandell and C. A. Tengblad. For a complete history of this company see Indianapolis-Cincinnati Bus Company.
GRANDVILLE-WYOMING TRANSIT COMPANY ran a bus line between Grandville and Wyoming, Michigan. The company was doing business in March 1933 when it issued transit tokens. In 1954 it was running 10 buses over 15 route miles. It ceased operations on December 31, 1962 and its service was taken over by Grand Rapids City Coach Lines on January 1, 1963.
GRANITE CITY BUS COMPANY, INC. was operating out of Mount Airy, North Carolina in the mid 1920s.
GRAVILLE-STERLING CITY AUTO LINE was operating in the mid 1920s from the Hotel Butte in Chico, California. Eckles and Johnson were the registered contacts.
GRAY COACH LINES was an inter-city bus line based in Toronto, Ontario that ran from 1927 to 1991. In addition, Gray Coach operated sightseeing tour service in and around Toronto, eventually in association with Gray Line tours. The badge measures 1¾” x 1 ½”.
THE GRAY LINE In March 1910, a young restaurateur by the name of Louis Bush refurbished an old Mack Truck chassis, painted it blue and gray and began offering sightseeing tours around the city of Washington, D.C. By 1926, Gray Line had expanded to other booming cities including New York, Chicago, Detroit, New Orleans, Los Angeles, San Francisco, as well as internationally to Toronto and Havana. With peacetime following World War II, Harry J. Dooley, a former Gray Line employee, acquired the company and helped re-establish Gray Line Chicago. Dooley soon became president of Gray Line and is today considered the father of the sightseeing industry. The badge is die pressed single threaded and made of nickel.
GRAY MOTOR STAGE LINE, INC. was another of those companies that somewhat figures into The Greyhound Corporation’s pedigree. In the July 28, 1922 Janesville Daily Gazette from Janesville, Wisconsin, we find this notice: “A new motor bus line between Janesville and Watertown will start running Saturday. It will be known as the Gray Motor Stage line, with two 12-passeager buses, each making three trips daily, picking up passengers, here at the Myers and Grand hotels. Stops will be made at Milton, Whitewater, Fort Atkinson, Johnson Creek and Watertown. the trip taking two hours. Two Hibblng, Minn. men are partners in the line. They are S. R. Sundstrum, manager, and R. A. L. Bogan.“
Ralph A.L. Bogan was one of the three original owners of the Mesaba Transportation Company, which was formed on December 17, 1915 and which would one day became The Greyhound Corporation.
On January 6, 1923 the Janesville Daily Gazette reported that Bogan, along with partner Swan Sundstrom, had bought one of Fageol Motors big buses for his Gray Motor Stage Line, which was operating in Wisconsin:
“Gray Motor Stage Line Adds $9,000 Bus Attractive Car, Well-Equipped, Makes First Run to Water town. Because of constantly increasing business, the Gray Motor Stage Lines have added a new bus, which arrived from Oakland, Cal., Wednesday and has been put into operation, on the motor route between Janesville and Watertown, making three trips a day. The bus is designed for comfort, safety, and is attractive in appearance. Costing $8,000 at the Oakland factory of Fageol-Scott-Motors Company, and $9.000 by the time it reached here, the bus is an immense and beautiful car with a wheel-base of 218 inches and a 70-inch axle length. It has capacity for 23 people and is outfitted with leather seats, each holding four people. The interior is upholstered in brown leather, has electric lights and a heater, which, with the heavy springs, give the comfort of a railroad car. It is equipped with plate glass windows. The outside is done in light blue, with a streak of white about the body. The center of gravity is so low that it is said the bus can make a right angle corner, loaded, at 45 miles per hour, with safety. . . . The new bus has been christened the ‘Blue Goose’. It made its first run Thursday night. Others similar will be added to the line later, Swan Sundstrom, one of the partners says.”
Dr. D. B. Rushing, in his Bluehounds and Redhounds the History of Greyhound and Trailways, notes that Bogan had used “Blue Goose Lines” as a trade name for his Gray Motor Stage Line as early as 1923. This is revealing since Bogan used the name “Blue Goose Lines” for a second company—the Detroit-Toledo Transportation Company. This company was purchased in 1924 by the Detroit United Railway Company, and eventually the DURC would use both the name and image of Bogan’s Blue Goose Lines for its entire intercity bus system. (See entries for Blue Goose Lines and Eastern Michigan Motorbuses, Inc. and how they evolved into Great Lakes Greyhound Lines.)
GRAY LINE MOTOR TOURS COMPANY / GRAY LINE, INC. was operating in the late 1920s out of San Francisco and Los Angeles, California. E.B. Brown was the president and John A. Boyd as secretary. Gray Line, Inc. was operating out of Los Angeles, with Frank O. Long as manager and John A. Boyd was the secretary. This company was part of The Gray Line, which is outlined in a separate entry.
GREAT FALLS CITY LINES ran service in Great Falls, Montana from 1939 through 1959. The badge has two threaded posts. The poor quality photo here is the best we could find for this listing.
GREAT EASTERN BUS SYSTEM / GREAT EASTERN BUS LINES was operating in the 1920’s and 1930s running from the Atlantic Coast to the West Coast, specializing in long distance travel. The February 21, 1927 edition of the Arizona Republic from Phoenix, Arizona carried a story that C. F. Murdock, president of the Great Eastern Bus Lines, had announced his company would be introducing a nine-day cross-country trip at a fare half that charged by the railroads. The buses would be equipped with kitchenettes to serve lunch to the passengers, and would stop at night scheduled cities along the route. A 1933 bus schedule notes that the company’s general offices were located in Cleveland Ohio. According to a June 16, 1935 newspaper account in the Detroit Free Press from Detroit, Michigan, Ralph A.L. Bogan, who was an original founder of The Greyhound Corporation, Inc., took over as president of the company in March 1935. The company was around in 1936-37, but is missing from the 1939 edition of Russell’s Guide, nor is it listed in the MTD for 1942 or subsequent editions. As for the Internet, there is surprisingly little information for a company that, according to the December 10, 1935 edition of the Brooklyn Daily Eagle from Brooklyn, New York, was the one of the largest bus companies in the nation: “Ralph A. L. Bogan. president of the Great Eastern Bus System, one of the country’s largest bus operators, has just announced a series of special holiday excursions to all points in the United States, effective Dec. 12.”
With such a large network of bus routes, and given the company’s seemingly sudden disappearance from the late 1930s corporate bus company scene, one might assume it was swallowed up by Greyhound—especially given Bogan’s connection to the firm. In fact, Bogan served The Greyhound Corporation as a director and executive vice president from 1940 until 1957—just three years after he was last reported serving as Great Eastern Bus System’s president, and about the time Great Eastern Bus System seems to have disappeared from the corporate map.
GREAT LAKES TRANSIT CORPORATION In 1958 Great Lakes Greyhound Lines sold its Detroit, Michigan suburban bus operation to American Transit Corporation, and it was renamed Great Lakes Transit Corporation. The compnay operated service into the northern and downriver Detroit suburbs including Wyandotte, Trenton, Southfield, Birmingham, Roseville, Pontiac and Mt. Clemens. The company was taken over by the Southeastern Michigan Transportation Authority on April 1, 1974. The badge was made by GREENDUCK CO. CHICAGO; measures 3″ x 2½” and has two threaded posts.
GREAT LAKES MOTOR BUS COMPANY In 1931 Robert J. Wynn and George C. Weiler organized this company to operate between Sault Ste. Marie and Detriot, Michigan, with side routes between Alpena and Gaylord, Gaylord and Petoskey and Mackinaw City, and Bay City to Mt. Pleasant and Prudenville. In 1936 the owners sold their company to Eastern Michigan Motorbuses, aka, “Blue Goose Lines.”
GREAT SMOKY MOUNTAIN TRANSIT COMPANY operated in the 1940s inside the Great Smoky Mountains National Park, and between Knoxville and Sevierville and Gatlinburg, Tennessee to points in North Carolina.
GREAT SOUTHERN COACHES, INC. This interstate company was registered on February 14, 1940 in Malden, Missouri with W. H. Clinginsmith as the agent. By 1942 the company was operating out of Jonesboro, Arkansas. The company sold some of its operating rights to Northeast Arkansas Bus Line in 1942. In 1946 the owner is listed as W. H. Johnson, with the general manager as Stuart Johnson; the company operated 19 buses over 478 route miles. In 1954 the company acquired Mathis Bus Lines / Mathis Trailways, which was also located in Jonesboro. Between 1954 and 1956 the company incorporated. In 1956 Great Southern Coaches, Inc. operated 25 buses over 665 route miles and the president was W. S. Ramsey, and the general manager was Ernest Farabee. It serviced St. Louis, Cape Giradeau, Sikeston and Maiden, Missouri; and Newport and Jonesboro, Arkansas. The company was still operating in the 1980s and, according to one source, lasted until 1990. (NOTE: Red River Trailways lists Great Southern Coaches in its company pedigree in 1947, which creates a problem. The only company of that name and date was the above Great Southern Coaches / Great Southern Coaches, Inc. I have not been able to make the connection between this company and Red River Trailways. Red River Trailways’ parent company is Great Southern Coaches of Arkansas, Inc., but that company’s info says it was founded in December 2000 and began operations in 2001, which doesn’t match Great Southern Coaches, Inc. The only info that might connect the two companies is that W. S. Ramsey was president of Great Southern Coaches, Inc. in 1956 and a Peter D Ramsey is the president of Great Southern Coaches of Arkansas in 2018. More info is needed.)
GREATER RICHMOND TRANSIT COMPANY The Greater Richmond Transit Company, known locally as GRTC Transit System, is a local government-owned public service company which operates an urban-suburban bus line based in Richmond, Virginia. GRTC primarily serves the independent city of Richmond and a very small portion of the adjacent counties of Henrico and Chesterfield with a fleet of over 175 diesel-powered and CNG-powered transit buses operating approximately 42 routes. A timeline of the company’s history is provided by Wikepedia:
In 1860, Richmond Railway was organized, beginning operations in August. The service was forced to stop for nearly 2 years during the Civil War.
In 1866, Joseph Jackson, Jr., acquired control and resumed operations.
In 1881, it was sold to Richmond City Railway Company.
In 1887, The Richmond City Council adopted an ordinance granting a franchise to the Richmond Union Passenger Railway Company to operate a street railway system. Ground was broken for laying rail.
In 1888, Frank Sprague installed a complete system of electric streetcars in Richmond, Virginia. This was the first large scale and successful use of electricity to run a city’s entire system of streetcars. Operation of streetcars continued until they were totally replaced by buses in 1949.
In 1925, Virginia Railway and Power company bought the transit system.
In 1944, the Securities and Exchange Commission directed Virginia Electric and Power company to confine its activities to the electricity business.
In 1944, the Richmond transit bus system (and a similar one in Norfolk) was purchased by Virginia Transit Company, which became part of the United Transit Company the next year. After World War II, public transit systems in the United States became unprofitable, and most were eventually converted to government-owned and funded operations. This trend included Virginia Transit Company operations in Richmond and Norfolk.
In 1947, the Main Street and Westhampton streetcar lines are motorized. Virginia Transit Company began conversion to motor buses.
In 1949, Buses replace electric trolleys. On November 25, 1949, ten streetcars make the last run.
In 1962, American Transportation Enterprises, Inc., acquired controlling interest in United Transit Company.
In 1972, federal, state and local funds were used to purchase the assets of the Virginia Transit Company, and a new public service company was set up, Greater Richmond Transit Company (GRTC), which was wholly owned by the City of Richmond. A one-half interest was later purchased by Chesterfield County in the late 1980s. Henrico County declined to purchase a portion at that time. The badge below is made of gold-plated polished metal and mounts to a hat via the two holes. It measures 3 ¼”.
GREELEY TRANSPORTATION COMPANY The company, largely owned by Isaac James, was in operation before 1925 running “auto-buses” between Greeley, Colorado to Colorado Springs, Colorado, via Denver. In 1925 it became embroiled in a legal dispute with the Colorado State Public Utilities Commission, which claimed the company was operating without a permit. The case was dragged through the courts and eventually went before the Colorado State Supreme Court. I’ve not found a record of the outcome, but since Greeley Transportation Company later took their case to a Federal district court, the Supreme Court must have ruled against them. On March 27, 1928 the Federal court also ruled against them and thereafter we find the company applying to the Colorado State Public Utilities Commission to run a route in the city of Greeley, Colorado. The application was approved on November 24, 1928. From that date Greeley Transportation Company operated a local bus service in the city of Greeley. As to that operation, here’s an interesting snippet from the local newspaper, the Greeley Daily Tribune, dated May 13, 1942: “Greeley Transportation company bus drivers are notified to ‘discontinue the practice or visiting with passengers’ while driving buses, in a resolution passed Tuesday night by the city council. The resolution also declares that the ‘city will not tolerate negligence and carelessness on the part of bus drivers, and ordered Manager W. Woodward to appear before the council next Tuesday night to explain what system is used tor licensing his bus drivers.’ The resolution declared that the council ‘has recently received several complaints from passengers and also from motorist of the city relative to the careless manner in which buses of said company are being operated by some of the drivers and that most of the complaints concern the practice of bus drivers visiting with passengers sitting in the front seats.’ . . . The bus company has been asked to put up signs warning passengers against visiting with drivers. Drivers Lack Licenses, Chief Says: Chief of Police C. C. Hunter told the council that the bus company hires college students, some of whom are known not to even have operator’s licenses to say nothing of chauffeur’s licenses and urged some system whereby prospective drivers should be examined before being placed in charge of a bus.” The company was out of business by 1953.
GREEN BUS LINES, INCORPORATED (also known as “Green Lines”) was incorporated on April 3, 1925 by William Cooper (1895-1985) to run a bus service in New York City. In 1936 it turned over its operating franchises in Manhattan to New York City Omnibus Co. and Comprehensive Omnibus Corporation in exchange for franchises in Queens. The company also acquired several previously-operating Queens bus companies: Liberty Bus Transportation, Bilow Bus Line, Richmond Hill Bus Line, S&F Transportation, Argus Line Transportation Corporation, Long Island Coach Company, General Omnibus Corporation, Midland Coach Corporation, and Courier Bus Company. In 1943, Green Bus Lines took over the Manhattan & Queens Bus Corporation. At the end of its corporate life it was operating routes in Queens, and an express route to Manhattan. It was taken over in 2006 by the city-operated MTA Bus Company (a subsidiary of the Metropolitan Transportation Authority). I’m guessing with such a long history, Green Bus Lines has a number of different badges. The badge shown here has a single threaded post and a pin post and measures approx 2 ¼” x 2″. (Also see NEW YORK CITY OMNIBUS CORPORATION.)
GREENSBORO-FAYETTEVILLE BUS LINE, INC. / GREENSBORO-FAYETTEVILLE TRAILWAYS Greensboro-Fayetteville Bus Line was around in the late 1920s. According to the records of the North Carolina Corporation Commission for 1927-1928, the company was headquartered in Asheboro, North Carolina with H. G. Pugh president and J. A. York secretary. The company ran routes from Sanford to Rockingham, Greensboro to Fayetteville, via Aberdeen and Asheboro; Durham to Fayetteville, via Chapel Hill, Pittsboro, Sanford, Jonesboro and Fort Bragg, and Greensboro to Asheboro. In August 1939 the company was sued for $1,250 by Ellen Harris, a black passenger on a Durham bus, who claimed she was “brutally treated” by the driver after she sat next to a white passenger. She was forcibly removed by two police officers. Although she won her case, the bus company appealed all the way to the North Carolina Supreme Court, which upheld Harris’s suit. The 1939 Russell’s Guide places the company’s routes under Queen City Coach Company, Inc. According to one source, the company joined the National Trailways Bus System in the 1940s and operated as Greensboro-Fayetteville Trailways. That same source says the company was taken over by Queen City Coach / Queen City Trailways in the 1940s. However, the 1939 Russell’s Guide entry would indicate that it was a part of Queen City Coach by 1939. It is not listed in the 1941, 1942 MTD, but, in a 1944 ad, the company is advertised as Queen City Trailways and Greensboro-Fayetteville Trailways “Owned and Operated By Queen City Coach Company. The company is listed in the 1946 MTD without any mention of Greensboro-Fayetteville Trailways. In a 1947 ad, the company is called Greensboro-Fayetteville Trailways, headquarters at 220 Person St. Fayetteville, North Carolina. It is not listed in the 1952 nor 1954 editions of the MTD.
GREENSBURG CITY LINES, INC. On Monday, February 2, 1953 the Pennsylvania Public Utility Commission authorized the incorporation of the Greensburg City Lines, Inc., which purchased the Greensburg area operating rights of the Penn Transit Company of McKeesport for around $39,000. The new line provided a more centralized bus service in the Greensburg area. One of the principal incorporators of the new line was Carl A. McKeesport, owner of the Ridge Lines Bus Company operating in the McKeesport-Liberty borough, Port Vue area in Allegheny county. In 1960 the company was operating 13 buses over 9 route miles. In February 1961 the company was sold to the McIlwain School Bus Lines, Inc., which was owned by Robert A. McIlwain of Johnstown, Pennsylvania. Henry M. Stairs, who had been managing Greensbury City Lines, retired. On May 27, 1967 the company went out of business for failing to pay its taxes. Jeanette Coach Lines was given the operating franchise by the Public Utilitiy Commission to provide bus service for the Greensburg area. The badge has two threaded posts.
Greenville City Coach Lines (SC) 1959
GREENVILLE & RICHMOND BUS LINE was running in Greenville, Ohio in 1925.
GREENVILLE TRANSPORTATION COMPANY / GREENVILLE-DAYTON TRANSPORTATION COMPANY / GREENVILLE-DAYTON TRAILWAYS was and intercity bus company operating out of Greenville, Ohio. It would appear that the company started with the name Greenville Transportation Company in the early 1920s. That was the name when it applied for a permit to operate between Greenville, Hamilton and Defiance, Ohio in September 1925. George Decker was the president at that time. A little over two years later that same route was being advertised by Dayton-Greenville Transportation Company, which indicates a name change between those years and likely because a major route to Dayton was added to the schedule. The company is listed in the 1939 Russell’s Guide and operated from the “Union Bus Terminal in Greenville, Ohio K. E. Mitchell, manager; served Fort Wayne, Indiana, to Greenville, Ohio to Dayton, Ohio.” Ben Kramer and C. J. Villeneuve, who owned De Luxe Motor Stages and Empire Trailways, bought the company in 1943. In 1946 the company was operating 21 buses over 245 route miles and S. Reifler was the manager. The company joined the National Trailways Bus System in 1947 and remained one year, until 1948. By 1956 C. J. Villeneuve was running the company and was operating 14 buses over 245 route miles. According to one source, the company went out of business in 1966.
GREGORY BUS LINE, INC. The company was mentioned in a newspaper article in 1928 running a service from Memphis to Collerville, Tennessee. The badge is a pin back and is marked: W. J. COOLEY MAKER MEMPHIS, TENN”.
GREY GOOSE BUS LINES is a subsidiary of Greyhound Bus Lines that operates in Manitoba, Canada. History: 1924-1934 Brown Brothers Bus Line; John (Jack) Smith started a bus service between Winnipeg and Carman, Canada. 1934-1961 Grey Goose Bus Lines Limited; The partnership of Gary M. Lewis, Elmer Clay, William R. Lewis, Albert J. Todd, and Alfred Hurshman was incorporated as Grey Goose Bus Lines Limited. 1961-1997; Grey Goose Bus Lines (Manitoba) Limited; CEO, Abram J. Thiessen/Bernard Thiessen. The badge has two threaded posts and measures approx. 2 ½ ” x 1 ½ “.
GRIDLEY AUTO BUS COMPANY was operating out of Gridley, California in 1924. Nora Hancock was the general manager.
GROTON-CORTLAND & AUBURN BUS The only information here is that the company was owned by Fay I. Giddings, and is mentioned as having been in business in 1946 in Ithaca, New York.
GROVE CITY BUS LINES, INC. was founded by Brenton B. Holter and Dallas L. Shull in Grove City, Pennsylvania on February 18, 1957. They incorporated on November 21, 1961. It was an intercity operation, serving points in Pennsylvania and Warren and Youngstown, Ohio. The company also operated school buses. In 1984 Brenton Holter separated the school bus service and incorporated as Brenton B. Holter, Inc.. Holter sold Grove City Bus Lines. On March 20, 1986 Grover City Bus Lines Company was incorporated with Robert V. Goebel as president. In 1992 his daughter, Karen H. Schell assumed the business after his death. In 1999, Student Transportation of America, Inc. acquired Holter School Enterprises, Inc. The badge is nickel plated with two threaded posts. It measures 2 ½” x 2 ½”.
GUADALUPE BETTERAVIA STAGE COMPANY was operating in1924 out of Guadalupe, California. A.G. Chapman was the owner/operator.
GULF TRANSPORT COMPANY The company was around in 1911. In 1946 it was an intercity company operating out of Mobile, Alabama. It is mentioned in a Texas newspaper in 1949 as operating a bus service in Baytown, Texas. By 1954 it was operating 36 buses and operating between St. Louis, Mo. and Mobile. The first badge has two threaded posts and measures 2¾” in length. The second badge is a single threaded post and measures approx. 2″ by 2 ½ “.
GULFPORT & MISSISSIPPI COAST TRACTION COMPANY (See Municipal Transit Lines.)
BUS COMPANIES BEGINNING WITH THE LETTER “H”
H. & A. AUTO LINE was operating auto-buses in 1924 out of Los Angeles, California. F. J. Rice was the owner. The company’s investors were C.F. Haguewood and T.H. Adams, hence the name of the company.
HCBDA See HUNTERDON CENTRAL BUS DRIVERS ASSOCIATION
H. & F. TRANSPORTATION COMPANY This was a charter bus company, mostly supplying school bus service in Albuquerque, N. M. It was running in the mid 1970s. The badge is a single threaded post type with a single threaded post, die pressed.
HRC See HARRISBURG RAILWAY COMPANY.
HALF MOON BAY STAGE LINE was operating in the late 1920s out of Half Moon Bay, California. W. J. Azevedo was the owner. (The company was also operating a draying company.) The owner also operated Azevedos Auto Stage Line from Half Moon Bay to San Mateo, California.
HRC / See HARRISBURG RAILWAY COMPANY,
HAMBURG BUS COMPANY was a bus subsidiary of the Hamburg Railway Company, Inc., and was founded in 1925 to operate in the southern suburbs of Erie County, New York. (The Hamburg Railway Company was incorporated in 1895.) Interestingly, the company is listed in the 1946 MTD not as Hamburg Bus Company, but Hamburg Railways Company, and was running 30 buses over 116 route miles. That same year the company was purchased by the Buffalo Transit Company, and served Hamburg, Ebenezer, West Seneca, Blasdell, and Gardenville.
HAMILTON BUS CORPORATION was founded in 1929 in Manhattan, New York City, and operated one line (the Houston Street-Avenue C bus route) from 1933 until 1935. The company and its route was taken over by the Triangle Bus Corporation in 1935.
HAMILTON CITY-CHICO STAGE LINE was operating in 1924 out of Hamilton City, California. Martin and Rosebrook were the owners/operators.
HAMILTON CITY LINES There were several different companies using this name in the transit history of Hamilton, Ohio. The first was operated from 1933-1946 by Cincinnati & Lake Erie Railroad Co. A different company by that name ran from 1946 until 1959 when it was succeeded by Hamilton Transit Lines, which ran for one year only: 1960. There was no transit service in Hamilton from 1960-1961, when St. John Transportation Company of Dayton, Ohio started running buses under the name Hamilton City Lines. This ran from 1961 until 1973 when it was succeeded by The Bus Company, which ran until 1996.
HAMILTON TRANSIT COMPANY I’m not sure if this is the same entity as Hamilton Transit Lines, which is mentioned above. In the Ohio newspaper, Hamilton Daily News Journal of Dec. 7, 1955, the local transit company is called Hamilton Transit Company and was issuing tokens. The only tokens listed in the Atwood-Coffee Catalogue is for Hamilton Transit Lines, which was running buses in the 1950s in Hamilton, Ohio. The badge measures1 ⅞” x 2 ¾” and is die struck with two threaded posts.
HAMMAN STAGE LINE was operating a 38-mile route between Salem and Mill City, Oregon in 1923.
HAMMOND-THREE RIVERS AUTO LINE was operating in 1924 out of Three Rivers, California. E.J. Briggs was the operator.
HANFORD-CORCORAN-TULARE-LINDSY AUTO STAGE ROUTES was operating out of Hanford, California in 1924. C.J. Graham was the operator.
HANNIBAL TRANSPORTATION COMPANY, INC. was incorporated in Hannibal, Missouri in ca. 1925 with the following officers: P.W. Fletcher, president; Carl D. Sultzman, vice president; D.H. Hafner Jr., secretary; S.O. Osterhoust, treasurer; and Fred W. Hogg, manager. (In 1925 Percy W. Fletcher would help found the Missouri Transit Company, Inc.) The company ran 18 buses over 27 route miles in 1946. It was still running in 1956 with 8 buses over 20 route miles.
HANSEN MOTOR TRANSIT COMPANY There seems to be no information on this company other than it operated in Michigan in the 1930s. (It is listed in the WPA Guide to Michigan.)
HARFORD MOTOR COACH COMPANY, INC. / HARFORD MOTOR COACH TOURS In 1954 this intercity company was operating out of Baltimore, Maryland with 4 buses. It was owned by partners John A. and Frank L. Rossi. In 1956 it had a fleet of 14 buses. The company was still in business in 1974, and an online search reports the company as still active, although there is no business address. The badge looks to date from the 1950s, is nickel-plated and has two threaded posts. Some badges are marked MODERN STAMPING COMPANY BALTIMORE MD. on the reverse.
HARRAN TRANSPORTATION COMPANY, INC. I’ve found some bits and pieces of conflicting information on this company. One says it was founded in 1968 and “. . . is a mid-sized organization in the bus charter service companies industry located in Coram, NY. It has 200 full time employees.” A notice in the The New York Times for Feb. 15, 1987 stated that the company ran 250 buses and had been operating the Merrick, Long Island bus terminal for the past 30 years, which means it was doing business in 1957. It does seem certain that after leaving Merrick, L.I., the company relocated to West Babylon. Another Internet account says this about the company’s demise: “The 88 year old Harran Transportation Company, known in later years as a premiere luxury service provider to the Casinos of Atlantic City from Long Island, abruptly closed its doors just days before Christmas in 2006 abandoning both long time drivers and loyal customers.” If it was 80 years old in 2006, that would place the company’s founding to 1918. So, there you have it!
HRC / HARRISBURG RAILWAY COMPANY, Harrisburg, Pennsylvania. The following is an excerpt from the September 24, 1938 edition of the Harrisburg Telegraph from Harrisburg, Pennsylvania: “The Harrisburg City Passenger Railway Company was incorporated April 1, 1873 to open the first public service within the city — horse cars. In the next few years, other lines opened — the East Harrisburg, the Citizen’s Transit, the Central Pennsylvania, the Harrisburg Traction Company and the Harrisburg Railway Company. In later years, the latter corporation operated all the lines under lease. . . . The Transit Company of Harrisburg, organized in 1933 as a bus line owned by the Harrisburg Railways Company, put its first twenty-two buses in operation here April 22, 1934, on the Riverside Reservoir line.”
The following info is from Wikipedia: 1895: The Harrisburg Traction Company was formed by a merger of the Harrisburg City Railway and the Citizen Passenger Railway Company. 1913: Harrisburg Traction Company formed Harrisburg Railways Company. 1933: Ten buses purchased to convert three streetcar lines to bus service. 1937: Harrisburg Traction Company changed its name to Harrisburg Railways Company. 1939: The last Harrisburg Railways Trolley was operated on July 16, 1939 on the Middletown line some 74 years after the introduction of horse drawn trolley service and 66 years after the introduction of electric powered trolley service in Harrisburg. 1955 Harrisburg Railways Company became a subsidiary of American Transportation Enterprises, a management firm based in Cincinnati, Ohio. 1973: Harrisburg Railways Company transferred its assets to Capital Area Transit. The badge has two threaded posts and was made by Fifth Avenue Uniform Co. 19 So. Wells Chicago.
HART BROTHERS STAGE LINE was owned by Frank S. and Kenneth D. Hart. Starting in 1922 they ran a bus service between Quilcene and Port Townsend, Washington.
HART BUS LINES, INC. was operating in 1929 in Saugus, Massachusetts. It served Saugus, Maiden, Revere, Melrose, Winthrop and Boston with some 30 buses over approx. 75 route miles. It was bought out in the 1940s by Rapid Transit, Inc.
HART MOTORCOACH COMPANY, named after its founder and owner, Franklin L. Hart, the company ran interstate buses in the 1920s out of Boston, Massachusetts. An ad for the company reads: “Harts’ Reliable Red Lines Over the Famous Mohawk Trail DAILY 14th year, Beginning Monday, May 24, 1926 Boston, Mass and Albany, N.Y. Connecting at Rindge, N.H. for Petersboro and Fitchburg, Mass. Offices at Dorchester, Boston, Mass.“
In 1925 the company’s owner, Franklin L. Hart, found himself in conflict with the city of Fitchburg, Massachusetts—a conflict promoted by the local railroad executives from the Boston & Maine Transportation Company. The April 16, 1925 edition of the Fitchburg Sentinel from Fitchburg, Massachusett carried the story: “Mr. Hart said after the conflict yesterday that he would be able to continue business the trip from Boston to Keene. Hart said yesterday that the Hart Motorcoach Company has no intention of eliminating its business of picking up passengers here for Boston or other points in the state. We are picking up passengers today and will continue to do so, said Hart. You can inform the public that we prepared to convey them to Boston or any point along our route. Arrests may result if the company will continue to do business, the chief of police said. He stated he had no intention of entering into an argument with Mr Hart. The chief said he had outlined his plan in to Mr. Hart and his representatives and is prepared to have the courts determine whether the bus company had a right to pick up passengers here.”
A followup story is found in the August 15, 1925 edition: “The Suburban Bus Lines’ operation will be in competition with that of the Hart Motorcoach Co., which now runs busses between Boston and Keene, N. H. The Hart Co. has been in difficulties on many occasions because it has been unable to obtain permits from the Fitchburg city council, it has also had trouble in Ayer for the same reason. Operators of the Hart busses have been arrested because no permits were issued allowing them to operate. Another auto bus line from this city to Boston will be in operation Monday by the Suburban Bus Lines, Inc., Thomas L. McCormick announced today. It will technically be operated between Lunenburg and Boston, but the present Fltchburg-Lunenburg busses will connect in that town with the Boston machines. Mr. McCormick said that he has obtained a permit from the Lunenburg selectmen to operate the line. By starting from Lunenburg, it will not be necessary for him to obtain a license in Fitchburg. “
HARTER STAGES This company ran in the early 1920s from Santa Cruz to Watsonville, Salinas and Monterey, California. No further info.
A. HARWOOD STAGE LINE was operating in the mid 1920s out of Laytonville, California. It ran a route to Mendocino. The owner was A. Harwood, who also managed Laytonville Stage Line. Harwood Stage Line and Laytonville Stage Line ran in conjunction with one another. The company was still operating in 1928.
HASTINGS BUS LINE was operated by J.C. Hastings in the mid 1940s out of Durham, North Carolina. Routes: From Durham to Camp Butner over U. S. Highway No. 15.
HASTINGS BUS LINE, INC. was operating in 1954 in Hastings, Nebraska. Curtis Smith was the manager and operated 8 buses over 5 route miles.
HEGEWOOD BROTHERS BUS LINE ran in the 1930s from Chattanooga, Tennessee to Lafayette, Georgia.
HEMEON BROTHERS MOTOR COACH SERVICE, INC. / HEMEON MOTOR COACH SERVICE, INC. Presumably this company was founded by the Hemeon brothers. In the mid 1930s it was operating as a local and an intercity bus company out of Beverly, Massachusetts and running two routes from Beverly to Essex via Wenham and Hamilton, and another to Manchester via Highway 127. In 1946 the company ran 4 buses over 17.5 route miles. The company was still operating in 1952, by which time it was a subsidiary of Michaud Bus Lines, Inc., of Salem, Massachusetts. It is not listed in the 1954 MTD.
HEMPSTEAD BUS CORP. started running buses in 1926 and served the Long Island, N.Y. communities of Hempstead, Mineola, Garden City, Freeport, Lynbrook, Baldwin, Hicksville and Levittown. It was absorbed by the Long Island Bus Service.
G. K. HENARD BUS LINE In May of 1925 Barker & Johnson Bus Line began operating a bus route from Whitville to Pikeville, Tennessee. On April 26, 1929, Barker & Johnson sold their Pikeville route to G.K. Henard Bus Line for $7,000. The bus line was still operational in 1932.
HENARD BUS COMPANY ran in the late 1920s from Mountain City, North Carolina to the Virginia State Line.
HENDERSON BUS LINE began operating in February 1946 from Henderson, North Carolina; it was owned and operated by H.D. McLean.
HENDRICK HUDSON BUS LINES, INC. was running in Hudson, New York in the 1940s as an intercity bus company. In 1956 the company was running from Hudson to Chatham, N.Y. with 6 buses over 18 miles. The company is still active in 2018 in Hudson, N.Y.
HENDRICKSON BUS COMPANY In 1945 the company was headquartered in Bayville, Long Island, New York and “Mr. Henderson” was listed as its owner. In 1950, Ernest Schenk, who operated his own large transit company in Floral Park (Schneck Transportation Co.), purchased the company and Huntington Coach Corporation. It is listed in the 1952 MTD as serving Oyster Bay, Bayville, Glen Cove, Glenhead, Greenvale, Locust Valley and Seacliff on Long Island, New York. In 1955 the company ran 20 buses over 45 route miles, which is the same year Schneck sold both the Huntington Coach Corp. and Henrdickson Bus Company. Huntington Coach Corp. is still in business and lists Roy K. Davis Bus Inc., Huntington Coach LLC, and Hendrickson Bus Company as part of their “family” of companies.
HEPLE TRANSPORTATION COMPANY was founded by Ralph L. Heple in Santa Cruz, California and took over city bus operations from Auto Transit Company in 1929. Heple died in January 1935 and the company was operated by his widow, Mrs. Ora B. Heple. The company was taken over by Santa Cruz Transit Company in 1946, which operated city bus service until 1970.
HERMITAGE BUS LINE ran in the late 1920s from Sparta to Rockwood, Tennessee.
HIAWASSEE DAM BUS LINE was owned/operated by Donald H. Allen in the mid 1940s. It ran in conjunction with Smoky Mountain Stages, Inc. between Ranger and Murphy, North Carolina.
HIAWATHA MOTOR COACHES The company had a building near the Kansas Avenue bridge in Topeka, Kansas. They issued a schedule in 1954. No other information.
HIAWATHA TRAILS, INC. In the 1930s this company used the bus depot in St. Ignace, Michigan and ran a route from St. Ignace to Calumet. In the late 1930s it became embroiled in a dispute with Great Lakes Bus Company over the route. This story is told in the November 12, 1937 edition of the Escanaba Daily Press from Escanaba, Michigan: “Situation Complicated — Complicated because of the presence of three companies in this dispute; the situation is this: Hiawatha Trails operated a bus line from St. Ignace to Calumet for several months, surrendering the route to the Great Lakes Bus company in September for $10,000 . . . The Great Lakes company, which took over the route and had been operating on it since September on a temporary permit, now seeks a permanent franchise. Hiawatha Trails is fighting the Great Lakes application and is seeking to reinstate its franchise so that the company can be sold to Northland Greyhound Lines, Inc. E C. Bevan, attorney for Hiawatha Trails, Inc., and the Northland Greyhound Lines, sought to show that the Great Lakes Bus company did not act in good faith in its relations with Hiawatha Trails . . . He charged that tho Great Lakes company, by failing to pay its obligations to Hiawatha Trails, hastened the collapse of the latter company so that it could take over the franchise for the St. Ignaco-Calumet route. ‘They paid $ 10,000 to Hiawatha Trails so they would relinquish the route,’ Bevan asserted. B. M. Brady, attorney for the Great Lakes and Eastern Michigan Lines, denied the allegations, asserting that Bevan’s charges were immaterial to tho case and could not be substantiated. He declared that the Great Lakes company refused to pay certain monies to the Hiawatha company, because tho latter owed even larger amounts to the Great Lakes company. In the heated examination and cross-examination that marked yesterday’s hearing, hardly a question went unchallenged. Many remarks were stricken from the record and much testimony was accepted only conditionally by Commissioner Donnelly.” The May 31, 1938 edition of the same newspaper gives an update: “About 30 Upper Peninsula witnesses are scheduled to be heard, and a few took the stand yesterday, among them . . . [r]epresentatives of the Hiawatha Trails bus line and the Gray Transportation Co., two lines involved in the extension sought by Greyhound, were among the witnesses. Arthur Schrum of Menominee, manager of the Gray line, stated that his company had been offered $20,000 by Greyhound for their route. He said that his company had been operating at a loss for three years. Gerald J. Wyatt, trustee of the Hiawatha Trails line, said that his company had lost $11,000 In less than two years, and that $6,250 had been offered them by Greyhound.“
The court battles were finally settled in April-May 1939 when Northland Greyhound acquired Hiawatha Trails, Inc., along with Sioux Limited Lines, Northwestern Motor Bus Company and Gray Transportation Company, Inc., and absorbed them into their operations
HIBBING TRANSPORTATION COMPANY (See MESABA TRANSPORTATION COMPANY)
HICKMAN, LEWIS JR. See LEWIS HICKMAN, JR. BUS COMPANY.
HICKS & ROGERS TRANSIT COMPANY was operating in the late 1920s out of Stockton, California. George W. Hicks was the owner.
HIGH STREET BUS COMPANY was based in Fort Wayne, Indiana in the mid 1920s. In 1926 the company posted revenues at $2,387 and expenses of $2,387; there is no further mention of the company on the Net after 1926.
HIGHLAND TRANSPORTATION COMPANY was operating in the late 1920s out of San Pedro, California. Guy C. Lyons was the registered contact.
HIGHLANDS INN STAGE was operating in 1924 out of Monterey, California. C. Smith was the owner.
HIGHWAY BUS LINES began running buses in 1941 in the Franklin Park, Illinois area, which was a suburb of Chicago.
HIGHWAY MOTOR TRANSIT COMPANY was operating in the mid 1920s between Raleigh, North Carolina and Wilmington by Goldsboro and over Highway No. 20.
HIGHWAY MOTORBUS COMPANY began operation in 1922 with intercity bus service from Detroit to Ann Arbor and Jackson along Michigan Ave., and from Detroit to Lansing and Grand Rapids along Grand River Blvd. In 1924 Highway Motorbus Co. became a subsidiary of Detroit United Railway Company. On September 17, 1928 the Highway Motorbus Company was acquired by Eastern Michigan Motor Buses.
HIGHWAY MOTOR COACH LINE The Windsor, Essex & Lake Shore Rapid Railway Company was incorporated in 1901 and was controlled by the Dominion Traction & Lighting Company. This Interurban line became active on September 19, 1907 and introduced a regional bus service by 1925 as “Highway Motor Coach Line”. It would be acquired by local municipalities: City of Windsor, towns of Kingsville, Leamington and Essex and the townships of Sandwich West, Sandwich East and Sandwich South, Ontario, Canada.
HILL BUS LINE was founded by George E. Hill and operated between Bad Axe and Saginaw, Michigan in the 1930s and into the 1940s. It is listed in the 1939 Russell’s Guide.
HILL’S BUS LINE was operated in the mid 1940s by F.P. and Hattie J. Hill out of Ahoskie, North Carolina. Route: from Ahoskie to Powellsville over N. C. 97, thence to Colerain over N. C. 350, thence over N. C. 45 to Midway on U. S. 17, thence over an unnumbered road from Midway to Merry Hill; from Colerain over N. C. 45 via Harrellsville to Winton, thence over U. S. 158 via Mapleton to Murfreesboro, Tennessee.
HILLSBORO-CHAPEL HILL BUS LINE was operating in the mid 1920s out of Hillsboro, North Carolina. It ran between Chapel Hill to Virginia State Line via Hillsboro and Yanceyville, Highway No. 14;
HILLTOP BUS LINES ran a service between Rochester and Zelienople, Pennsylvania and a local line between Beaver Falls and Rochester. According to one source the company was founded in 1930; however, according to an obituary for Samuel Simon, who died on January 1, 1966, he was a cofounder of the company in 1925 and continued as such until 1939. In 1947 Harry D. Eckles, “trading as Hilltop Bus line, Rochester, PA” was sued for $1,500 in a Salem, Ohio court.
HINER’S RED BALL LINES, INC. was founded in the 1910s by Ward B. Hiner. The company operated as an intercity bus line in Indiana. In May 1925 Hiner opened the newly-constructed The Red Ball Bus Terminal in Indianapolis, Indiana. Hiner sold his bus company to Hoosier Motor Stage Company before October 1925. An interesting story was reported in the January 23, 1925 edition of the Indianapolis Star from Indianapolis: “Senator Hill after it was made known that the commission had served notice on W. B. Hiner, president of the Red Ball Transit Company and Hiner’s Red Ball Lines, Inc., that it will arrest drivers of his busses if they carry passengers across the Ohio line. The Governor’s investigation was launched following a concurrent resolution introduced in the Senate yesterday by Senator Rowland H. Hill of Carthage. Driver’s to be Arrested. Senator Hill explained that the resolution was occasioned by the report that Mr. Hines had received a telegram from the Ohio commission that bus drivers would be arrested if they bring three basket ball teams into Ohio, today. The company is under contract to carry the teams. The telegram explained that the action would be illegal. Senator Hill declared that arrest of bus drivers for crossing the state line into Ohio would be a violation of the interstate commerce clause of the constitution. The resolution asked that proper state officials take such steps for retaliation for this ‘unfriendly act’ as will seem to them to be necessary and that the state police should be directed to arrest all owners or operators of all Ohio commercial trucks and busses coming into Indiana.” (Unfortunately, we don’t know how this drama played out!)
There are two more newspaper articles about the company; one is from the August 26, 1925 edition of the Logansport Pharos-Tribune from Logansport, Indiana: “A tourist automobile bus equipped with all modem conveniences, to be placed upon the market within the next sixty days, was announced by Ward B. Hiner, former owner of the Red Ball Bus Terminal Co., and Hiner’s Red Ball Lines Inc., today. The plant of the Red Ball lines at Frankfort will be enlarged and a large force of men employed to manufacture the busses. The factory will be under the management of Robert Hiner, a son. The cars which are to be used in sight-seeing trips across the country, will be equipped with a shower bath, 6 sleeping bunks, kitchenette, and an observation platform. Eastern agencies will take the busses as fast as they are manufactured it is announced.”
Another mention is to be found in the October 3, 1925 edition of the Indianapolis News from Indianapolis: “MATTER MAY GO TO COURT In an order written by Frank Wampler, commissioner, the public service commission Friday afternoon refused to grant a rehearing of the cases in which Hiner’s Red Ball Lines, Inc. received certificates of public convenience and necessity to run bus lines from Indianapolis to Richmond and to Lafayette. The Terra Haute, Indianapolis & Eastern Traction Company sought the rehearing in the Lafayette case, and the Indiana Motor Transit Company, a subsidiary of the traction company, asked for the reopening of the Richmond case. These two companies resisted the first attempts of the Hiner concern to get the permits. Since the permits were granted Mr. Wampler has been visited repeatedly by Carl Mote, representative of Insull utility holdings, who during recent weeks has been representing or advising the T. H., I. & E. T. C. interests in matters before the commission . . . Since the permits were granted the Hiner Company has been taken over by the Hoosier Motor Stage Company. The commission granted bus certificates to the following: Newcastle Transit Company, Newcastle to Greensburg; B. P. Shearon, Michigan City to Indiana-Michigan; Howard K. Swlaher, Logan Indianapolis: Dow Kaiser to Vevay, and Fred C Phillips . . . The commission authorized Danville-Lafayette Motor sale of the Danville-Lafayette Motor Bus Company line to the Danville-Lafayette Bus Company for $8,000.”
As noted above, Hiner’s Red Ball Line was purchased by the Hoosier Motor Stage Company, after which the company was renamed Indiana Red Ball Lines, Inc. By the beginning of 1926, both Indiana Red Ball Lines and Hoosier Motor Stage Company were in receivership. The fate of the company was announced in the February 12, 1926 edition of the Logansport Pharos-Tribune from Logansport, Indiana: “The public service commission, this afternoon, began drafting an order sanctioning the sales of the Hoosier Stage Lines, Inc., and the Indiana Red Ball Lines, Inc., to competing traction companies and to a private bus company. The commission’s approval of the proposed deals was given at a conference today with Fred B. Johnson, attorney for both the Red Ball and Hoosier stage companies. It marks the exit from the Indiana motor bus field of the Red Ball and Hoosier lines, two of the foremost motor transportation concerns in the state.”
The Union Traction Company of Anderson, Indiana bought the buses and other equipment of the Hoosier Motor Stage Company, as well as their bus station leases. The ultimate fate of Hiner’s Red Ball Lines/Indiana Red Ball Lines is reveled in the March 6, 1926 issue of the Electric Railway Journal: “Abandonment of Bus Line Sought. — In the first 27 days that the Indiana Motor Transit Company, a subsidiary of the Terre Haute, Indianapolis & Eastern Traction Company, operated a bus line between Indianapolis and Crawfordsville the gross earnings were $124 and the net loss was $508, according to evidence given the Public Service Commission in an effort to abandon the line. An unusual aspect of the case is that the company bought the line late in February from the Indiana Red Ball Lines, Inc., successor to Hiner’s Red Ball Lines, Inc. No one opposed the request for abandonment.“
HOLBROOK & SHULER TRANSPORTATION COMPANY was operating out of Bell, California in 1924. Charles B. Holbrook and Vernon H. Shuler were the owners.
HOLLAND-SYLVANIA LINES introduces bus service to suburbs west and northwest of Toledo, Ohio in 1939. In 1957 Community Traction Co. acquires Holland-Sylvania Lines. In 1971 Community Traction Co. becomes publicly owned Toledo Area Regional Transit Authority. The badge measures approx. 2¼” x 2 ½”; has two threaded posts.
HOLLYWOOD-BURBANK AUTO LINE was operating in 1924 out of Burbank, California. John B. Auld was the owner.
HOLT-LANSING LINES was an intercity bus company that was running in the 1930s between Holt and Lansing, Michigan. The only info on this company is a bus schedule from 1931.
HOLTZ TRANSPORTATION COMPANY was operating in East Liverpool, Ohio in the early 1950s. By the early 1960s the company was out of business. (See VALLEY MOTOR TRANSIT COMPANY and TRI-STATE TRANSIT COMPANY.)
HOME STAGE LINE was operating in 1924 out of Taft, California. C.E. Sansome was the operator.
HOME TRANSIT was a bus company owned by the New Albany & Louisville Electric Railway in 1934. It served New Albany, Indiana and Louisville, Ky. It also ran in Jeffersonville, Indiana from 1973 until 1976, where it succeeded Bridge Transit Co.
HONOLULU RAPID TRANSIT COMPANY, LTD. was founded on June 6, 1898 in Honolulu, Hawaii, which was the same day that Hawaii was annexed by the United States. The company started streetcar operations in Honolulu in 1901, motor buses continually from 1925 onward and trolley buses from 1937-1957. In 1940 the company ran 60 cars and 30 trolley coaches over 22 route miles; it discontinued streetcars on July 1, 1941. In 1940 it was running 91 buses over 88 route miles. The following year the company was running trackless trolleys and buses over 130 route miles. By 1947 it was running 215 buses over 248 route miles. In 1955 there was a hostile takeover of the company by local billionaire Harry Weinberg. On February 25, 1971 the Honolulu city council approved a contract for Mass Transit Lines to take over operations of Honolulu Rapid Transit. The new concern was renamed TheBus. Below is an early streetcar badge and measures 4½” x 1⅜”.
HOOD COACH LINES, INC. began interstate operations in 1929-1930 running a bus route between Atlanta and Columbus, Georgia. The company sold its route between Montgomery, Alabama and Atlanta to Old South Lines in 1934; it sold off other routes to Consolidated Coach Corporation and Union Bus Company. (Consolidated Coach became Southeastern Greyhound Lines in 1931.) The company went out of business after selling of its last operating routes.
HOOD RIVER-PARKDALE STAGES was operating a 13-mile route between Hood River and Parkdale, Oregon in 1923.
HOOSIER MOTOR STAGE COMPANY / HOOSIER STAGE COMPANY, INC. The April 12, 1925 edition of the Huntington Press from Huntington, Indiana reported that Marion Motor Bus Corporation’s “Golden Star” line running between Fort Wayne and Indianapolis had been combined with a route of the Hoosier Stage Line of Indianapolis. The joint venture saw the companies ordering new buses: “Several new cars will be. added which will be equipped with all the latest ‘ safety devices, including Westinghouse air cushion shock absorbers. The company also emphasizes the fact that every passenger who rides on the cars is adequately insured.” In the October 3, 1925 edition of the Indianapolis News it was announced that Hoosier Motor Stage Company had purchased Hiner’s Red Ball Lines from owner Ward B. Hiner. (The name was changed to Indiana Red Ball Lines, Inc.) The Hoosier Stage Company, Inc. was advertising in the
The July 18, 1925 edition of the Indianapolis Star from Indianapolis, Indiana announced the next phase of the company’s history: “MARION, Ind., July 17. Announcement is made in this city that the Fort Wayne division of the Marion Motor Bus Corporation and the Hoosier Stage lines, incorporated, of Indianapolis, have been consolidated, making a direct through service between Indianapolis and Fort Wayne, through Marion. The through service will be inaugurated Sunday morning, when seven new motor parlor cars will be placed in operation. It is said the Hoosier Stage lines will direct the operation of the Indianapolis, Marlon & Fort Wayne lines, and the name, it is said, will be changed to the ‘White Swan’ lines.” Since
In the September 18, 1925 edition of the Alexandria Times-Tribune from Alexandria, Indiana carried an ad for the new service: “White Swan-Stands for Service Comfort, low rates. Quick service and absolute safety are yours when you ride in the new parlor cars of the White Swan lines. The finest bus line in the country, operated by a company with moral and financial responsibility. To Indianapolis – $1.20 One Way $1.85 Round Trip To Fort Wayne $2.10 One Way. HOOSIER STAGE LINES INC.”
The fate of the company was announced in the February 12, 1926 edition of the Logansport Pharos-Tribune from Logansport, Indiana: “The public service commission, this afternoon, began drafting an order sanctioning the sales of the Hoosier Stage Lines, Inc., and the Indiana Red Ball Lines, Inc., to competing traction companies and to a private bus company. The commission’s approval of the proposed deals was given at a conference today with Fred B. Johnson, attorney for both the Red Ball and Hoosier stage companies. It marks the exit from the Indiana motor bus field of the Red Ball and Hoosier lines, two of the foremost motor transportation concerns in the state.”
More details are found in the March 1926 edition of the Electric Railway Journal: “Union Traction Company of Indiana, Anderson, Ind., has been granted the petition recently made by Arthur W. Brady, receiver for the company, for authority to buy bus equipment of the Hoosier State Lines at a price of approximately $135,000. The petition was granted by the judge of the Circuit Court at Anderson, where receivership proceedings had originally been brought. There are at present sixteen buses on the Hoosier Lines and it is expected that additional equipment will be purchased from Mack Trucks, Inc. Mr. Brady stated that leases on bus stations used by the Hoosier Stage will be sought, and that several other details will require attention before the final transfer of the bus equipment is made.”
HORNELL ALLEGANY TRANSPORTATION COMPANY, INC. was founded in 1914 by Neil McGreevy in Hornell, New York. It is mentioned in a public record when McGreevy filed a complaint in September 1915 with the New York Public Service Commission against Lewis S. Beyea for operating a bus line over the same route as HATC. In 1930, McGreevy was quoted in a newspaper article that the company had been in business “more than fifteen years.” In 1946 the intercity company was serving Hornell, Almond, Alfred, Andover, Wellsville, Scio, Belmount, Friendship, Cuba and Olean, New York with 4 buses over 71 route miles.
HORNELL MOTOR COACH COMPANY was a private bus company that succeeded the Hornell Traction Company, which ran streetcars from 1909 until August 1, 1926. According to one source Hornell Motor Coach Company took over in 1926 and ran until 1955, when it was running 12 buses. (It is mentioned in a 1944 newspaper article and is listed in the 1946, 1952 & 1956 editions of MTD—keeping in mind that the information for the 1956 edition of MTD was gathered in 1955, which means this last edition of MTD doesn’t contradict it going out of business in 1955.)
Horrell Transportation Company (Pittsburgh PA) 1959
HORACE F. WOOD AUTO LIVERY COMPANY Horace F. Wood operated a 3rd generation business on monument circle downtown Indianapolis. He lived from 1857 until 1940. The badge was made by Fifth Avenue Uniform Co. 19 So. Wells Chicago and has a single threaded post.
HORNBROOK-COPCO STAGE LINE was operating in 1924 out of Copco Lake, California. Owners were Daggett and Moore.
HORNBROOK-HAMBURG-HAPPY CAMP AUTO LINE was operating in 1924 out of Hornbrook, California. L.H. Newton was the operator.
HORNITOS-MERCED FALLS AUTO LINE was operating in 1924 out of Hornitos, California. William E. Arthur was the owner/operator.
HORSESHOE STAGES operated an intercity bus line between Austin and Houson, Texas in the 1920s. It also operated two branch lines extending from Austin to Lampasas and from Brenham to Huntsville. It was owned by H. H. Winn, Jr. who traded the company in 1930 to Hal Peterson and Charles V. Peterson of the Kerrville Bus Company, Inc. for a 1,800 acre farm located near Kerrville. Horseshoe Stages went out of business in 1930 when their routes were absorbed by Kerrville Bus Company.
HOT SPRINGS STREET RAILWAY COMPANY ran in Hot Springs, Arkansas from 1913 until 1963. When streetcars were discontinued in 1938, the company ran buses. On July 1, 1966 the Hot Springs Street Railway was sold to Spa Transit, Inc.
HOYLE’S BUS TRANSFER was operating in the mid 1920s in Gastonia, North Carolina. It was owned by J.M. Hoyle and ran from Gastonia to Cramerton via Lowell, McAdenville and Ranlo, Highway No. 20.
Hotard Bus Lines – connected New Orleans with Reserve LA.
HUDSON BUS LINES / HUDSON BUS LINES, INC. It should be noted that there are two Hudson Bus Lines companies, both owned by the same man. The first was founded by Kenneth Hudson in the 1930s in Medford, Massachusetts. In the 1940s Hudson bought Canton & Blue Hill Bus Line, Inc., which he operated as a subsidiary. The second company was founded by Kenneth Hudson when he incorporated under the name Hudson Bus Lines, Inc. on June 29, 1951. In 1954 this company was headquartered in East Weymouth, Massachusetts and served Abington, Braintree, Hingham, Rockland, Weymouth and Whitman with 21 buses over 51 route miles. Kenneth Hudson was listed as president. That same year Kenneth Hudson was listed as owner of the original Hudson Bus Lines, which was still operating out of Medford (note there is no “Inc.” on the company name), with 105 buses over 75 route miles; this company served Abington, Braintree, Hingham, Rockland, Weymouth, Boston, Medford, Arlington, Stoneham, Lawrence, Methuen, Lowell, Haverhill, Wakefield and Peabody, Massachusetts. The 1954 MTD noted that this company controlled Canton & Blue Hill Bus Line, Inc. In the 1980s the Massachusetts Bay Transportation Authority had subsidy agreements with Hudson Bus Lines for various routes in the Boston area. In the early 1990s the company began discontinuing its routes, which were absorbed by the Massachusetts Bay Transportation Authority. Hudson Bus Lines was dissolved on August 31, 1998. The badge is made of nickel plated metal, is die pressed and has a pin post and single threaded post.
HUDSON TOURING CAR LINE was operating in the mid 1920s from Brevard to South Carolina State Line, Highway No. 284 on route to Greenville, S. C.
HUDSON TRANSIT LINES THE SHORT LINE also HUDSON TRANSIT SHORT LINE “Short Line” is a brand name for three different Coach USA companies, Hudson Transit Lines, Hudson Transit Corporation, and Chenango Valley Bus Lines that provide local, commuter and intercity bus service in lower New York State, primarily along the Route 17 and Southern Tier corridor. There are two different badges with almost the same name. I’m not sure if the badges below are for two different companies, or an earlier and later badge for the same company.
HUDSON TRANSPORTATION COMPANY, INC. In 1930 this company took over transit service in Glens Falls, New York from Hudson Valley Railway Co., which had discontinued its streetcar service. In 1946 the company was running 31 buses over 40 route miles as a city bus line. In the November 28, 1952 edition of the Times Record from Troy, New York we find this: “Transfer Hearing is scheduled by the State Public Service Commission Monday at 10 a.m, in Albany on a petition for transfer of a certificate of convenience and necessity for bus operation in the Glens Falls area from the Hudson Transportation Co., Inc., to the Adirondack Transit Line, Inc. The first named corporation now operates buses from Glens Falls, Hudson Falls, Fort Edward, Saratoga Springs and South Glens Falls. An associated petition on which a hearing will be held relates to the application of the L.B.K. Lines, Inc., and the Hudson Transportation Lines, Inc. A third petition is made by the Hudson Transportation Co., Inc., for consent to lease a garage to the Adirondack Transit Lines, Inc.” Despite the above, in 1954 the Hudson Transportation Company was listed in MTD as an intercity line serving Glens Falls, Hudson Falls, Wilton, Saratoga Springs, Schenectady and Albany, New York running 29 buses over 68 route miles. However, in the 1956 edition of the MTD the company was gone and the Adirondack Transit Company was listed as an intercity company located in Glens Falls. The badge measures 2 ⅜”x 2⅛”.
HUNT BUS LINE / LAWNDALE BUS LINE In the North Carolina Utilities Commission report for 1945-46, the Lawndale Bus Company held Certificate No. 549 and was owned by O. S. Hunt (Orphas Sherill Hunt, 1905-1996). Passenger routes were as follows: “Beginning at Lawndale; thence over an unnumbered highway to Caesar; thence over Highway No. 10 to Polkville; from Polkville over Highway No. 26 to Owen’s Service Station; thence over an unnumbered Highway to Double Shoals; thence back to Owen’s Service Station; thence down Highway No. 26 to Shelby from Shelby over Highway No. 18 to Fallston; from Fallston over Highway No. 180 to Lawndale.” In the 1952 MTD the company had been renamed by O. S. Hunt as Hunt Bus Line. In 1954 the company was running 6 buses over 60 route miles. Two years later, it was running 5 buses over 50 route miles. In 1964 the company was still in business. The badge is nickle-plated brass.
HUNTERDON CENTRAL BUS DRIVERS ASSOCIATION HCBDA is a unionized association of drivers who provides bus service for the Hunterdon Central Regional High School in Flemington, New Jersey. The drivers are employees of the Hunterdon Central Regional High School Board of Education. Hunterdon Central Regional High School is “a comprehensive, four-year public high school, and regional school district that serves students from five municipalities in east central Hunterdon County, New Jersey. Students hail from Delaware Township, East Amwell Township, Flemington Borough, Raritan Township and Readington Township.” The badge has two threaded posts; hallmarked: “THE WHITEHEAD HOAG CO. NEWARK NEW JERSEY”; measures approx. 1 ¾ x 2 ¼.
HUNTINGTON COACH CORPORATION was incorporated in September 1927 in Huntington, New York. From the company’s website we get more info: “Founded in 1927 by the Dempsey family of Huntington, Huntington Coach began operating as a public transit company, serving the town of Huntington. During World War II, the company transported workers to local factories. In 1950, Ernest Schenk, who operated his own large transit company in Floral Park [Schneck Transportation Co.], purchased the company from the Dempsey family for his son, who wished to enter the transportation business. This idea didn’t pan out, and in 1955, Mr.Schenk sold both Huntington Coach and it’s sister company, Hendrickson Bus (another small transit company, also founded in 1927, that he had purchased from the Hendrickson family in 1950), to Mr. James Clifford (a former driver and labor leader at Schenk Transportation) and his wife, Dorothy Clifford. At the time of this purchase, Huntington Coach operated fifteen transit buses for the town of Huntington, and Hendrickson Bus operated fifteen transit buses and two buses transporting school children for the Bayville-Brookville-Locust Valley Schools.
“In 1956, Mr.Clifford contracted with the Cold Spring Harbor School District, and the Oyster Bay, East Norwich School District, beginning the company’s transition to School Bus transportation. Two years later, in 1958, Huntington School District was added. Later, Glen Cove (1964), Harborfields (1974), South Huntington (1977), Syosset (1988), Elwood (1989), the Suffolk County Special Needs Pre-School Program (1993) and Manhasset (2005) followed.“
HUNTSVILLE TRANSIT COMPANY According to EDEN OF THE SOUTH A Chronology of Huntsville, Alabama, Huntsville Transit Company went out of business in 1977 after “more than forty years of service.” That would place the company’s founding in 1936 or so. However, Chicago Transit & Railfan Web Site lists Huntsville Transit Company’s founding after 1961, with Crescent Motors running buses in Huntsville from 1939 until 1961. (Crescent Motors was a subsidiary of Crescent Stages, Inc. and operated transit systems in Huntsville, Anniston and Gadsden, Alabama during the 1930s, 1940s & 1950s.) In the 1946 edition of MTD Crescent Motors was listed as operating buses in Huntsville, whereas by 1954 MTD was showing Crescent Motors had changed the operating name to Huntsville Transit, Inc., while listing the operating officers of Crescent Motors. This is somewhat telling since Crescent Motors supposedly went out of business in 1954-1955. In the 1956 edition of MTD Huntsville Transit, Inc. was shown as running 14 buses over 21 route miles in leaving Huntsville Transit. However, the general manager was W. P. Acker, who was the president Crescent Motors and Crescent Stages, Inc.
HURON SHORE BUS LINE Not much info on this company other than it was owned and operated by Albert Rivet in Alpena, Michigan in the 1930s and 1940s and ran between Alpena and East Twas, Michigan. It was taken over by Great Lakes Greyhound in 1945. This ad in the September 28, 1945 edition of the Detroit Free Press from Detroit, Michigan, is the only mention of the former company on the Net: “Beginning October 1st For your greater convenience, Greyhound offers improved service stepping up schedules over the route formerly served by the Huron Shore Bus Line. 3 Through Trips Daily to ALPENA HARRISVILLE GREENBUSH OSCODA and points between.”
HUTCHINSON BUS & CAB COMPANY was founded by Howard L. and James O. McVay in Hutchinson, Kansas in January 1945. The company started with five new 27-passenger Ford buses. In 1953 the company operated an ambulance service in Hutchinson and Reno Counties. In 1954 the company was operating 16 buses over 15 route miles. The badge measures 2¼” x 2 1/16″, is made of metal with one threaded post, and was made by FIFTH AVENUE UNIFORM COMPANY.
HYDE HUB CITY LINES / HYDE CITY BUS COMPANY V. Heathman’s Aberdeen Bus Service was running in Aberdeen, South Dakota in the 1930s-1940s; this company was succeeded by Hyde Hub City Lines, which was owned by D.B. Hyde, who also owned Rapid Traction Company in Rapid City, South Dakota. In 1946 Hyde was operating 8 buses over 8 route miles. At some point by the early 1950s the company name was changed to Hyde City Bus Company and was running 3 buses over 10 route miles. By 1956 the company was out of business.
BUS COMPANIES BEGINNING WITH THE LETTER “I”
I.R.T.CO. INTERBOROUGH RAPID TRANSIT CO. was the private operator of the original underground New York City Subway line that opened in 1904, as well as earlier elevated railways and additional rapid transit lines in New York City. The IRT was purchased by the City in June 1940. The former IRT lines (the numbered routes in the current subway system) are now the A Division or IRT Division of the Subway. The badge measures 2″ in diameter and was made by Henry Moss & Co. Bklyn N.Y.
I.U. BUS LINE There’s not much information on this intercity Indiana company. The 1939 Russell’s Guide gives this info: “Ives Hendricks manager. Bloomington to Terre Haute / Brazil to Bloomfield” The company advertised: “the only direct service between Bloomington and Terre Haute”. According to one source the company was taken over by Indiana Stages.
I – V COACH LINES Indianapolis & Vincennes Coach Lines operated from 1930’s thru the 1970’s. The badge has two threaded posts and measures 2 ⅝” x 2 ⅜”.
ILLIANA TRANSPORTATION COMPANY was operated by James W. Miller from Gary, Indiana through Western Indiana and Eastern Illinois in 1922. The company was owned by Blue Bus Line.
ILLINI SWALLOW LINES had its beginnings in 1924 as Illini Coach Co., operating in Illinois, and in 1925 as Swallow Coach Lines, operating in Indiana. Illini Swallow Lines continued to operate main route from Indianapolis to Peoria, later extended to Davenport, until 2000, when route transferred to Burlington Trailways. A few years later, Illini Swallow Lines charter operations was acquired by Star Of America Motor Coach Services. The badge has one threaded post and measures 2½”
ILLINOIS HIGHWAY TRANSPORTATION COMPANY, INC. / ILLINOIS HIGHWAY LINES began operations in 1927 by the Mehl family. The original route for this company was from Peoria to Decatur, Illinois. In 1946 the company operated 21 buses over 147 route miles. It served Peoria, Creve, Couer, Pekin, Delavan, Lincoln, Mt. Pulaski, Latham, Decatur, Maroa, Clinton, Heyworth and Bloomington, Illinois. By 1957 the company was operating 34 buses over 325 route miles. In 1950 the company began using the name Illinois Highway Lines, and used both company names on into the 1970s. It ceased operations in 1972. The badge was made by FIFTH AVENUE UNIFORM COMPANY, 19 SO WELLS, CHICAGO; it has a single threaded post.
Illinois Roadway Lines ran in 1927 in Kankakee, Ill.
IMLAY CITY-BAD AXE BUS LINE operated between Bad Axe and Detroit, Michigan. It was owned by W. L. Perry and was running in the 1930s and 1940s. It served Lum, North Branch, Clifford, Marlette, Kingston, Wilmot, Deford, Cass City, Gagetown and Owendale. According to one source in 1947 it was bought out by Great Lakes Greyhound, however it is not listed in the 1946 MTD.
IMPERIAL BEACH STAGE & EXPRESS LINE was operating in the mid 1920s out of Imperial Beach, California. G.J. Nixon was the operator.
IMPERIAL STAGE COMPANY, LTD. ran in 1927 out of Seattle, Washington. The line ran as far south as Portland, Oregon.
INDEPENDENCE HOTEL STAGE LINE was operating out of Independence, California in the mid 1920s. H. Levy was the owner.
INDEPENDENCE MONMOUTH STAGE was running a route between Independence and Monmouth, Oregon in 1923.
INDEPENDENT BUS LINES was operating in the mid 1940s out of Winston-Salem, North Carolina. It was owned/operated by John L. and wife Emma J. Gilmer, Powell and wife Daisy V. Gilmer as a partnership. It was affiliated with Atlantic Greyhound Corporation.
INDEPENDENT STAGE was operating a 21-mile route between Portland and Scappoose, Oregon in 1923.
INDIAN COACH LINES was an intercity bus company, which, according to an ad from 1932, ran from “coast to coast”. For certain the company was operating in Illinois, Pennsylvania, New York and New Jersey in the early 1930s through the mid 1930s. There’s not much info on this company, other than a few brief newspaper ads. One item of note was a Friday, January 25, 1935 news item wherein it was reported that “more than a score of persons” were poisoned from carbon monoxide gas on board an Indian Coach Lines bus en route from New York to Chicago, with one of the victims dying. (The driver was 36-year-old Morris Posnak of Bayonne, N.J.) The company is not listed in the 1939 Russell’s Guide. The badge is die pressed and has one threaded post.
INDIAN TRAIL LINE / INDIAN TRAILS BUS LINES, INC. See OWOSSO-FLINT BUS LINES, INC.
INDIAN TRAIL STAGES, INC. was an interstate bus company that was incorporated in 1922 and headquartered in Owosso, Michigan. The route was between Saginaw to Flint, and from Flint to Bay City, Michigan. The company is mentioned in the Hammond Times for December 16, 1933: “UNION BUS DEPOT 5036 HOHMAN AVE. [Hammond, Indiana] We Are Agents for the Following Bus Lines: Indian Trail Stages, Indian Transit Lines, Indian Coach Lines, Safeway Lines, Southern Limited Lines, Reindeer Lines, De Luxe Motor Stages, Golden Eagle Lines, Nevins Lines, Jacksonville Bus Lines, Slue Motor Lines, Missouri Transit, Omaha Rapid Transit, Interstate Lines, Crandie Stages, Chicago Northwestern, Liederback Bus Lines, White Star Lines, Santa Fe Trails, Missouri Pacific. BUS INFORMATION: if you are traveling north, east, south or west, you can get your bus at the UNION BUS TERMINAL, 3036 Hohman Avenue. For ticket information and reservations, phone Hammond 6800. Travel by Bus—It’s cheaper.”
INDIANA BUS LINE COMPANY was running out of Clinton, Indiana in the late 1910s–early 1920s. It is mentioned in newspapers from 1920 and 1921. The December 8, 1922 edition of the Brazil Daily Times from Brazil, Indiana, carried a story about the company buying a new bus: “The Stunkard Bros. Buggy Company, builders of auto bodies and school wagons, put out on the street today the first of a new style motor passenger bus for the Indiana Bus Line Company of Clinton. The principal feature in which this bus differs from others that the company has been building is that it has an end door. Heretofore the company has had no requests for busses with end doors but the bus companies are coining to see that it is advisable to have end doors and it will likely be adopted on all future busses. The new bus has a seating capacity of 20 passengers with seats running the long way of the car. The Stunkard Company has also built a number of busses with cross seats on one side which are favored by some of the bus companies. The Stunkard Company has just started work on a new bus for the Terre Haute-Sullivan-Clinton line which will be one of the finest busses ever run on an Indiana road. It is to have several new features over the other busses and is to be upholstered in genuine leather.” The Indiana Bus Line Company was still running in 1926 when it posted year-end earnings.
INDIANA MOTOR BUS COMPANY was based in Plymouth, Indiana and began operations in 1921, running a route between South Bend and Peru. (The company was later based in South Bend, Indiana.) One of the founders was Edmund Jeffirs of Plymouth, Indiana. In 1926, Indiana Motor Bus acquired Red Ball Bus Lines, giving them a route from South Bend via Logansport to Indianapolis. In 1939, Indiana Motor Bus acquired the Fort Wayne-North Manchester Bus Line, giving them a route from Fort Wayne via Rochester to Winamac. In 1943 it operated 35 buses serving 67 communities in northern Indiana. In 1948, Indiana Motor Bus acquired a route to Chicago from Short Way Lines. (That route had been acquired in 1942 from Bluebird Coach Lines, which primarily operated between Chicago and Joliet.) From 1984-1988 the company was affiliated with United Limo, operating between Elkhart and O’Hare Airport. In 1990 the company merged with ABC Coach Lines, forming American Buslines. The company operated until 1996. There are two known badges: the older of the two is die pressed with a pin swivel lock. The second badge is nickel with two threaded posts and has no maker’s mark.
INDIANA MOTOR TRANSIT COMPANY In 1907 the Terre Haute, Indianapolis & Eastern Traction Company was founded in Indianapolis, Indiana as a consolidation of several interurban street railway companies. The company was headquartered in Indianapolis, Indiana. By the mid 1920s Indiana Motor Transit Company was formed as a bus subsidiary. (It was mentioned by name in several 1925 newspaper articles.) In February 15, 1926 an article was reporting this news item: “The largest deal contemplated is that by which the Indiana Motor Transit company, a subsidiary of the Terre Haute, Indianapolis and Eastern Traction Company would receive control of the lines from Indianapolis to Richmond, Lafayette, Crawfordsville, and Martinsville. The purchase price would be $15,000 exclusive of equipment. The Indianapolis Rockville Red Ball line would be sold to the Platter and Baldwin Company now operating a line from Indianapolis to Clinton.” After entering into receivership in 1930, the Terre Haute, Indianapolis & Eastern Traction Company was sold at auction on June 23, 1931 to Indiana Railroad; Indiana Motor Transit Company continued as a subsidiary of the new company. (Also see the entry for Midwest Transit Company from Lebanon, Indiana.)
INDIANA RAILROAD SYSTEM / INDIANA RAILROAD was an interurban rail service that also included bus service connecting cities in Indiana. (See Indiana Motor Transit Company.) It was created on July 2, 1930 when Midland Utilities (owned by Samuel Insull) purchased the Union Traction Company of Indiana and transferred ownership to the new company. (The new company combined the operations of the five major interurban systems in central Indiana into one entity.) The company ran buses to augment their passenger rail service. In 1946 the company was operating 146 buses over 520 route miles. Indiana Railroad closed down in 1941. The badge has one threaded post, measures approx. 2⅛” x 2″ and was made by Fifth Avenue Uniform Company, 19 So. Wells, Chicago.
INDIANA RED BALL LINES, INC. See Hiner’s Red Ball Lines and Hoosier Motor Stage Company, Inc.
INDIANA SAFETY COACH, INC. was operating as an Indiana intercity bus line in the 1920s. It operated out of Marion, Indiana. The stock market crash of 1929 brought about the downfall of the company, as it did many other bus lines throughout the nation. By the following year the company was in receivership. The August 28, 1931 edition of the Alexandria Times-Tribune from Alexandria, Indiana detailed the company’s demise: “Four bus line franchises and other assets of the Indiana Safety Coach Corporation were sold to the Eastern Public Service Corporation for $20,000 with approval of Judge Oren W. Dickey In the Grant superior court at Marlon. The sale was transacted by the First National Bank as receiver for the corporation . . . Bus franchises from Muncle to Peru, Marlon to Warsaw and Port Wayne to Indianapolis were among the assets which brought a price $5,000 in excess of the appraised value. The Marlon to Hartford City franchise will be sold later. Before the sale is final, approval must be given by the Indiana public service commission.“
The above newspaper article raises a question since the Eastern Public Service Corporation already owned and operated this company as a subsidiary, which is noted in this April 30, 1928 Indianapolis advert: “ALL-STEEL PARLOR COACHES EQUIPPED WITH BALLOON TIRES AND AIR BRAKES $3.60 ONE WAY $6.50 ROUND TRIP TO FT. WAYNE LEAVE UNION BUS STATION 125 W. Market Riley 2235 INDIANA SAFETY COACH CORP. Subsidiary Eastern Public Service Corp.” Perhaps this ties into the reason Eastern Public Service Corp. changed its name by the end of 1931 to United Utilities, Inc.
INDIANA SCENIC BUS LINES was incorporated in 1948 and dissolved in 1970. There’s not much info out there, except this bit from the September 14, 1957 edition of the Tipton Daily Tribune from Tipton, Indiana: “The hearing date for the Indiana Scenic bus line was announced late Friday by the PSC in the wake of a complaint from scenic Brown county. It seems that the bus line, franchised to run from Indianapolis to Nashville, the Brown county seat, doesn’t quite get that far. Instead the bus runs from Morgantown to Indianapolis and back. It’s a 13-mile walk for’anyone wanting to go on from Morgantown to Nashville. Ray I. Allen, a maintenance man for the Indiana Motor Vehicle Department, owns and operates the Scenic Bus Line. He said he chopped off the Morgantown-Nashville part of the run a year or so ago because he couldn’t afford the added distance. But since Allen lives in Morgantown and works in Indianapolis, he has to make a round-trip between those two points each day, so he has continued hauling passengers on his way to and from his job. The PSC, once the matter was called to its attention, took a dim view of these economies. It commanded Allen to appear Oct. 2 and show cause why he should not be deprived of his franchise. The PSC also is checking to see if other persons than Allen have been issued certificates of convenience and necessity for running buses to Morgantown and Nashville.” The badge is a pin back.
INDIANA STAGES, INC. was an intercity bus line that operated from Terre Haute-Bloomington-Sullivan and Columbus, Indiana. One source says it was formerly the I.U. Bus Line and was sold in 1949 to Central Illinois Coach Lines. There is little info on the Net, except this excerpt from the April 28, 1949 edition of the Kokomo Tribune from Kokomo, Indiana: “The awards were presented by Arthur M. Thurston, superintendent of the Indiana state police, at a meeting of the Indiana Bus Association last night. The Evansvllle Coach Lines, the Vincennes Transit Corporation and the Danville Bus Lines were cited for safety on city routes. Intercity awards were presented to Capitol Greyhound Lines of Cincinnati, Indianapolis-Vincennes Coach Company of Vincennes, and Indiana Stages. Inc., of Bloomington.”
INDIANAPOLIS-CINCINNATI BUS COMPANY, INC. was operating as an intercity bus line between Indianapolis, Indiana and Cincinnati, Ohio in the mid 1920s. The founding of this company is tied to the Grandell Bus Line, although the circumstances are somewhat confusing. To begin, in October 1925 the Indianapolis-Cincinnati Bus Company sought approval to operate between the Ohio cities of Cincinnati to Milleville. In April 1926 it sought a certificate to operate between Metamora and Batesville, Indiana.
The January 23, 1926 edition of the Indianapolis Star from Indianapolis, Indiana reported that the “Grandell bus line, holder of a certificate for a route between Indianapolis and Cincinnati, has been incorporated as the Indianapolis-Cincinnati Bus Company, and a transfer of the certificate to the new corporation was authorized.” How this transfer came about is this:
In May1925 Grandell Bus Line, operated by partners Harold Grandell, John Shorie and C.A. Tengblad, sought a 90-certificate to operate eight buses between Indianapolis, Indiana to Cincinnati, Ohio. The Indianapolis & Cincinnati Traction Company opposed the certificate. On July 25, 1925 the Indianapolis Star reported: “Commission Orders Grandell Company to Quit Service. Holding that busses operated by the Grandell Bus Line between Indianapolis and Cincinnati had violated the state speed law, and that the busses are not suitable for carrying passengers, the public service commission yesterday denied applications for the company for permission to operate both for certificates under the ninety-day clause and under the provision of the bus law providing for beginning operators. As a result, the company will be forced to stop operation as soon as it receives the orders issued yesterday. The applications of the company were opposed by the Indianapolis & Cincinnati Traction Company at a recent hearing before the commission.” In the September 22, 1925 edition of the Indianapolis Star this story was reported: “A permanent injunction against the public service commission was filed yesterday in Marion Circuit court, asking that the commission be restrained from enforcing its order of July 24, when a permit was denied to the Grandell Bus line. The suit was filed by John Shorie, Harold Grandell and C. A. Tengblad, partners operating under the name of the Grandell bus line. The bus line is operated at this time from Indianapolis to Cincinnati, Ohio, according to the petition. The complaint sets out that the line operated from Jan. 3 to May 22 between Indianapolis and West Harrison, and that since March 10 the service has been extended to Cincinnati. In a hearing before the commission, on a petition for a permit to operate, the permit was refused July 9 and also refused at a rehearing July 24, according to the petition. The objector to the permit was C. L,. Henry, receiver for the Indianapolis & Cincinnati Traction Company.” The next round in this drama was reported in the May 19, 1926 edition of the Cincinnati Enquirer from Cincinnati, Ohio: “Transfer of Certificate Sought on Cincinnati-Indianapolis Route. County Prosecuting Attorney Bell received a notice from State Public Utilities Commission that the application by H. J. Grandell and John Shorie. doing business as Grandell Bus Line, and of the Indianapolis-Cincinnatl Bus Company, a transfer of the certificate to the Indianapolis-Cincinnati Bus Company.”
The question here is if H.J. Grandell and partners were also owners of the Cincinnati Bus Company? The various bits and pieces seem to paint that picture.
The December 10, 1926 edition of the Journal News from Hamilton, Ohio reported that the Indianapolis Cincinnati Bus Company and the Greyhound Lines, Inc. filed “a joint application with the Public Utilities Commission of Ohio, in which the Indianapolis Cincinnati Bus Company requests authority to sell and Greyhound Lines, Inc., requests authority to buy the company.”
In June 1927 Greyhound Lines, Inc. of Indiana took over Indianapolis-Cincinnati Bus Company. The June 8, 1927 edition of the Indianapolis Star reported that the Indianapolis-Cincinnati Bus Company had filed papers for dissolution of the company.
INDIANAPOLIS-ROCKVILLE-CLINTON BUS LINE The earliest mention of this company is found in the Electric Railway Journal, Volume 69 January to June, 1927: “W. L. PLATTER, of Platter & Baldwin, Rockville, Indiana, owners of the Indianapolis- Rockville- Clinton Bus Line knows busses and the value of proper equipment. Daily observation of various types of busses entering and leaving the great Indianapolis terminal enables him to determine the relative value of motor busses.” As the company name indicates, the original route this line was Indianapolis-Rockville-Clinton, Indiana. According to one source the Indianapolis-Rockville-Clinton Bus Line operated until 1958
INDIANAPOLIS & SOUTHEASTERN BUS COMPANY / INDIANAPOLIS & SOUTHEASTERN STAGES was owned and operated by the Indianapolis & Southeastern Railroad Co. to provide service to routes not served by its rails. In 1932 the company replaced its streetcars with buses and used the name Indianapolis & Southeastern Railroad Company, Indianapolis & Southeastern Bus Company and, at a later date, Indianapolis & Southeastern Stages. In 1938 the company joined the National Trailways System and changed its name to Indianapolis & Southeastern Trailways. (See the May 26, 1935 edition of the Indianapolis Star, obituary for Charles T. Dehore, former president of the I&S RR Co.) (Note: a 1998 newspaper article mentions Indianapolis & Southeastern Stages in the history of Indianapolis & Southeastern Trailways. It is also listed in the 1956 MTD as a company name for Indianapolis & Southeastern Trailways. See Indianapolis & Southeastern Trailways for more detailed info.
INDIANAPOLIS STREET RAILWAY COMPANY bought the Citizens’ Street Railroad Company in Indianapolis, Indiana in 1899. In 1924 the company started augmenting their service with buses. The company went into receivership in 1930, along with the Terre Haute, Indidanapolis & Eastern Traction Company, which had wholly owned the company since 1920. The company continued to operate until 1932 when the Indianapolis Railways, Inc. purchased the system. That company began using trackless trolleys and ran its last streetcars in January 1953. That same year the system was renamed Indianapolis Transit System. The badge is made of Bakelite and measures 3″ x 1⅝”.
INDIANAPOLIS TRANSIT SYSTEM / INDIANAPOLIS RAILWAYS, INC. The history of this company starts in Indianapolis, Indiana in 1932 when the Indianapolis Railways, Inc. bought out the bankrupt Indianapolis Street Railway Company. The company was first transit company anywhere to use trackless trolleys; it ran its last streetcars in Indianapolis in January 1953. That same year the system was renamed Indianapolis Transit System. That company operated buses until 1975 when it was taken over by Indianapolis Public Transportation Corporation. There are two different colored badges, but both have two threaded posts and measures approx. 2 ½ ” x 3″; they both have hallmarks for Greenduck Co. Chicago. (NOTE: I have seen three examples of the blue colored badges all numbered “000”, which might indicate this color was never issued as a regular badge, i.e., salesman samples.)
INDUSTRIAL BUS LINES, INC., was an intercity company servicing E. St. Louis, Cahokia, Fairview, O’Fallon, Illinois and St. Louis, Missouri. It operated out of Caseyville, Illinois in the mid-1950s and early 1960s. By the 1950s the company owned and operated Caseyville Bus Lines, Inc., which ran a city service in Caseyville and surrounding areas. In 1956 the two companies ran 11 buses over 27 route miles, with Oliver C. Anderson servicing as president. (Anderson also owned and operated the Central and Southern Trucking.) By 1960 the companies were operating 35 buses over 30 route miles.
INGALLS AUTO-BUS LINE, INC. / INGALLS BUS LINE, INC. / INGALLS MOTOR BUS LINE, INC. / GRANT INGALLS MOTOR BUS LINE, INC. This company was founded by Grant Ingalls from Cuba, New York. In most records it is referred to as “Ingalls Bus Line”. The company is first mentioned on May 13, 1914 in a local newspaper, the Times Herald, from Olean, New York. In September 1916 the company was granted a certificate to operate between Olean and Cuba, New York. The company is mentioned in a local newspaper on March 7, 1931 disputing with Allegheny Motor Coach Company over franchise rights carrying passengers between Wellsville and Olean, New York. Another newspaper account from 1936 notes the company “has ceased operations”.
INGLEWOOD CITY LINES operated city buses in Inglewood (L.A. County), California from 1942 until 1967 when it was taken over by the Southern California Rapid Transit District. The badge has two threaded posts, measures approx.: 2 ¾” x 2 ½” and was made by Greenduck Co., Chicago.
INGLEWOOD TRANSIT LINE was operating in the late 1920s out of Inglewood, California. Thomas R. Carpenter was the registered contact/agent.
INLAND STAGES was operating out of Reno, Nevada’s Union Stage Depot in 1940.
INTER-CAROLINAS MOTOR BUS COMPANY, INC. was operating out of Gastonia, North Carolina in the mid 1920s. It serviced Shelby, Morganton, Charlotte, Gastonia, Cherryville, Bessemer City, the State Line at Fort Mill, South Carolina and Spartanburg, South Carolina.
INTER-CITIES COACH LINES was operating in the 1920s out of Cincinnati, Ohio. The line ran between Hayton, Piqua, Sidney and Troy, Ohio, and the Covington Interurban Bus Terminal in Covington, Kentucky. In 1929 it was merged into the newly-formed Mason & Dixon Transit, Inc., which took over several other bus companies in southern Ohio and northern Kentucky. The company continued operating under its own name.
INTER-COUNTY MOTOR COACH, INC., which is still based in the Village of Babylon on Long Island, New York, has been operating since 1922. Affiliated companies included Babylon Transit operating from 1937 until around 1986, and Lindenhurst Bus Company, which operated from 1952 to 1986, both companies running in their final years under contract with Suffolk County Transit.
INTER TRANSIT COMPANY took over from Grand Rapids Street Railroad Company in 1920, and operated buses in Marshfield, WI in the 1950s. The badge is a die pressed, single post example.
INTERBOROUGH RAPID TRANSIT COMPANY (IRT) the private operator of the original underground New York City Subway line that was founded on May 6, 1902, by August Belmont, Jr. and opened in 1904. The IRT was purchased by New York City in June 1940.
INTERCITY SAFETY COACH COMPANY ran in the 1920s and 1930s between Peru and Indianapolis, Indiana.
INTERMOUNTAIN TRANSPORTATION COMPANY / INTER MOUNTAIN TRANSPORTATION COMPANY was founded in 1917 in Anaconda, Montana by Norwegian immigrant Emil Torgerson with a second-hand, seven-passenger touring car. Torgerson ran a route between Anaconda and Butte for a fare of 80 cents. “In 1921, Torgerson built a bus body on a lengthened out Pierce Arrow 66-inch chassis. Equipped with side door entrances, the bus carried twenty people.” Torgerson’s bus routes were later expanded to Phillipsburg, Drummond, Missoula, Polson, Kalispell, Dillon, Idaho Falls, Butte and Great Falls. By the late 1940s the company was serving Montana, Idaho and North Dakota with 52 buses over 1915 route miles. It also controlled United Transit Company, which operated buses in Missoula, Montana.
INTERMOUNTAIN TRANSPORTATION COMPANY was a Montana – Rockies mountain bus line. It stated business in 2004 and is now out of business. The badge measures ¾ of an inch in width.
INTERNATIONAL BUS COMPANY / INTERNATIONAL RAILWAY COMPANY The International Railway Company (IRC) was created in 1902 to unify a number of smaller agencies into a single agency in Western New York State and a southern portion of the Province of Ontario. On August 15, 1923 the IRC formed a bus subsidiary, International Bus Company, to carry passengers in Buffalo and between Buffalo and Niagara Falls. In addition to conventional buses, the company also operated double-deck buses with open tops. The fares were 10¢. Operations of the Niagara Gray Bus Line from Niagara Falls to Lewiston, Youngtown, and Fort Niagara were acquired and merged into the IRC system on June 16, 1936. In 1939 the system operated 262 streetcars and 436 buses. In 1947 the Niagara Frontier Transit Commission was created to reorganize the IRC, and create a new agency: the Niagara Frontier Transit System. In 1949 the International Railway Company filed bankruptcy/reorganization and in 1950 the company surrendered all its assets to the Niagara Frontier Transit System. The International Bus Company badge is made of die-pressed brass, has one threaded post and one pin post. (The badge is identical to the badge of the Niagara Frontier Transit System, which was made by BASTIAN BROS CO ROCHESTER NY. )
INTERSTATE BUS COMPANY was owned by Thomas Magnuson, who ran buses between Dayton, Ohio and Lexington, Ky. in 1927. He was involved in a federal law suit against C.C.C. Line and Red Dot Coach Line. The two Kentucky companies sought to keep him from crossing the Ohio River to conduct transportation business. (He won the case.)
INTERSTATE BUS LINE ran from Binghamton, New York to Scranton, Pennsylvania in the early 1920s.
INTERSTATE BUS LINES, INC. ran a bus in 1927 carrying passengers, parcels and small packages from Greeley, Colorado, north to Wyoming state line. It also operated intrastate between Nunn and Colorado-Wyoming state line.
INTERSTATE BUSSES CORPORATION “Peter Carmine Picknelly, emigrated from Italy with his family when he was just 7 years old, settling in East Orange, NJ. His love for transportation began when he became a private chauffeur in the early 1900’s. In 1920, he ventured out on his own to start his first small transit company, Orange Valley Bus Company, in East Orange, NJ. Five years later, Peter and three other jitney operators pooled their resources, relocated to New England and opened a larger transportation service in Hartford, CT, named Interstate Busses Corporation. Once this company was successfully established, Peter sold his interest in Interstate Busses to his partners in 1932, and opened his own independent bus line in Springfield, MA in the spring of 1933. He named his new company ‘Peter Pan Bus Lines’ after his children’s favorite bedtime story, ‘Peter Pan’ by Sir James M. Barrie.” (Info from Peter Pan Bus Line’s website.) This company originally ran a bus route between Providence and Hartford, but added a route from Providence to Albany via Springfield in its early years. In 1958 the company was sold to George Sage. On September 2, 1970 all the company’s intrastate service in Massachusetts was sold to The Short Line. On October 2, 1970 the name of the Short Line was changed to Bonanza Bus Lines. (There is one item of note in this company’s history, which was that its fight with Holyoke Street Railway reached the U.S. Supreme Court; the high court ruled on the case on January 3, 1927. Essentially Interstate Busses Corp. had resisted the Massachusetts law requiring certificates for intrastate operation. On having its drivers arrested at the instigation of defendant’s employees for operating intrastate without the certificate, the appellant sought from the United States District Court an injunction against the enforcement of the Massachusetts act. The injunction was denied, whereupon the bus company appealed to the Supreme Court. The Supreme Court upheld the lower court’s decision.) The badge is made of brass with enamel inlay, has two threaded posts and was made by A.A. WHITE INC. PROV R.I. It is titled for a porter, but driver badges are identical.
INTERSTATE COACH COMPANY was owned by Union Pacific Stages (itself a subsidiary of Union Pacific Railroad) and operated as an interstate bus line. The company was operated as a separate company and in 1929 served a direct Portland, Oregon to Spokane, Washington route. (This company should not be confused with Interstate Transit Lines, another of Union Pacific’s bus companies.)
INTERSTATE MOTOR TRANSIT COMPANY was operating a 346-mile route between Portland and the California State Line in 1923.
INTERSTATE MOTOR TRANSIT COMPANY ran in 1927 in Portsmouth, Ohio.
INTERSTATE POWER COMPANY “The company began as early as 1913 when a group of Chicago financiers began consolidating small utility companies as part of the Utilities Development Corporation. In 1924 the corporation acquired the DUBUQUE ELECTRIC COMPANY, then the sole remaining provider of electricity to Dubuque with subsidiaries supplying power to East Dubuque and Dyersville.” In 1925 the company introduced the first bus routes. In 1932 the company discontinued streetcar operations and replaced all routes with buses. “On June 26, 1973 Dubuque citizens by 92.2 percent voted ‘yes’ to the proposition that the city should acquire and operate a municipal bus transit system.” The new city-owned bus line was named KeyLine and operated until 2011 when it was reorganized and renamed The Jule. (More information can be found by clicking on this link.) The badge is nickel-plated metal with two threaded posts. The second badge is for KeyLine and is made of plastic with two pin posts.
INTERSTATE PUBLIC SERVICE COMPANY was Indiana’s largest utility and provided trolleys and train transportation in the early 1900s. It started with Samuel Insull, and associate of Thomas Edison, who was instrumental in organizing the United Gas & Electric Company of New Albany to provide light, water and power for street railways in New Albany and Jeffersonville, Indiana. The company was renamed Interstate Public Service Company in 1912. In 1919 the company bought out Louisville Traction Company. Over the coming years the company expanded until by 1923 its interurban streetcar trade peaked at 10 million passengers. As was the case with most other streetcar/railway companies of the era, Interstate Public Service Company operated a fleet of buses to service routes not accessible by rail. The company’s bus service operated under the name Interstate Public Service Company. The following history is from FundingUniverse website: “When J. N. Shannahan replaced Samuel Insull as chairman of the company in 1931, the utility changed its name to the Public Service Company of Indiana; the following year, it merged with the Indiana Electric Corporation. Despite the acquisitions and growth in revenues and electricity service, interurban rails, the service that allowed Interstate to grow in its early years, created problems for the company. With the advent of the automobile, railway travel became less appealing. Business travel and activity diminished during the Great Depression. In 1933 the number of riders dropped to three million and transportation accounted for less than 5 percent of the firm’s total revenues; with electricity accounting for more than 75 percent, Public Service petitioned the regulatory commission to abandon or curtail its interurban service. In 1934 the firm ceased reporting revenues from its railways and motor coach services, though a passenger car continued to run as late as 1941. Between 1933 and 1941 losses from interurban operations virtually eradicated the firm’s equity capital and after 1933 the firm ceased paying dividends.“
INTERSTATE STAGES, INC. was formed in 1925 and ran between Chicago, Illinois and Detroit, Michigan via South Bend, Indiana, and Detoit to Fort Wayne, Indiana. On October 15, 1926 Motor Transit Corporation bought a controlling interest in the company. Interstate Stages used the brand name of the Oriole Lines and had named its coaches as the Oriole Flyers. In 1929 the Safety Motor Coach Lines took over both the Interstate Stages and the Southwestern Michigan Motor Coach Company.
INTERSTATE TRANSIT LINES was formed in 1923 and ran between Omaha, Nebraska and Nebraska City, Nebraska—a distance of 54 miles. By 1929 the company was the largest bus operator in several states. (It traveled as far north as Minneapolis-St. Paul, and south to Kansas City, Missouri.) On July 1, 1929 the Chicago & North Western Railroad and the Union Pacific Railroad acquired Interstate Transit Lines, the two companies operating as “a single unit in the territory of the two railroads.” (In 1927 the Union Pacific had formed Union Pacific Stages as a bus subsidiary.) Aside from Interstate Transit Lines, the UP bought out several more bus companies on July 1, 1929, as noted in the July 1929 issue of Railway Age: “The Union Pacific has purchased and began the operation on July 1 of the motor coach services of the Interstate Transit Lines, the Cornhusker Stage Lines and the Queen City Coach Lines. These three lines now operate a total of 80 motor coaches in Union Pacific territory, particularly in Nebraska. The Interstate Transit Lines have services extending from Omaha, Neb., to Sioux City, la., Lincoln, Neb., to Fremont and Wahoo, Kansas City, Mo., and Fairmont, Minn., from Lincoln to” Fremont, Grand Island and Nebraska City, and from Fremont to Norfolk, Neb., and Dodge. The Cornhusker Lines operate from Lincoln, Hastings and Fremont to Nebraska points, while the Queen City Lines operate from Beatrice, Neb., to other Nebraska points. The present organization of each of the lines will be retained and Russell J. Walsh, Oliver W. Townsend and E. J. Delchant, formerly owners respectively of the Interstate, the Cornhusker and the Queen City Lines, will each be retained as president and general manager.”
Volume 91, of the December 1931 issue of Railway Age picks up the story of Interstate Transit Lines’ growth: “In May, 1930, Interstate Transit Lines acquired the Sioux Falls Traction System bus line which had a network of routes between Sioux City, Iowa and Sioux Falls, S.D. . . . Early this year a system of local motor coach lines in the vicinity of Des Moines, Iowa, was acquired through the purchase of the Ft. Dodge, Des Moines & Southern Transportation Co. The 550 miles of lines acquired intersect the main line between Chicago and Omaha at several points, and provide feeders to the main line. Thirty-six motor coaches were involved in this purchase.” In 1943 the two bus companies, Interstate Transit Lines and Union Pacific Stages, began operating under the name Overland Greyhound Lines. On October 1, 1952 The Greyhound Corporation bought out Interstate Transit Lines and Union Pacific Stages for cash and stock. Both companies were liquidated and their assets were absorbed by Overland Greyhound Lines. (For more information, see the entry below.)
INTERSTATE TRANSIT LINES (the same company as above) ran buses in Ames, Iowa from from Feb. 24, 1931 until 1944. It succeeded Fort Dodge, Des Moines & Southern Railroad Company, which had been running in Ames since 1907. The company was owned by the Chicago & North Western Railroad and the Union Pacific Railroad. On September 15, 1944 the operation in Ames was sold to Robert Walker, who changed the name of the company to Midwest Transit Lines.
INTERTOWN SUBURBAN LINES, CORPORATION On January 1, 1932 the licences of Detroit Motorbus Company was revoked to operate buses in Detroit, Michigan, which forced the company to shut down. Dearborn Coach Company took over the former company’s routes on February 18, 1932 with 52 buses. The company also operated in Lincoln Park with a subsidiary named Lincoln Park Coach Company. In 1946 new owners took over Dearborn Coach Company, operating 132 buses over 222 route miles. In October 1950 the company (and its subsidiary, Lincoln Park Coach Company) was renamed Intertown Suburban Lines, Corporation. By 1956 David Broderick was running the company with 139 buses over 1,142 route miles and serving Detroit, Allen Park, Dearborn, Ecorse, Garden City, Inkster, Lincoln Park, Melvindale, New Boston, Norwayne, Romulius, South Wayne, Taylor Township and Wayne, Michigan. “Intertown—much like its predecessor had since 1941—continued to be plagued by a number of union employee strikes. These strikes were so numerous that the City of Dearborn had threatened to launch its own city-owned bus company to replace the Intertown service.” In March 1960, Intertown Suburban was bought out and became a subsidiary of American Transit Corporation. “On August 1, 1961, drivers and maintenance workers from Local 1265 of the Amalgamated Association of Street, Electric Railway and Motor Coach Employees of America (now, ATU) struck the company for the last time. After 64 days, and no agreement reached, the company announced that it will be ceasing operations. On December 31, 1961, Intertown Suburban Lines would officially go out of business. . . . In early 1962, Bert Jasper — former president of Intertown Suburban — managed to gather together ten investors; obtain the proper approvals; purchase back some of the buses; and formed Metropolitan Transit, Inc. . . . service would resume on February 19, 1962, with 60 buses.” Southeastern Michigan Transportation Authority took over Metro Transit, Inc. on January 1, 1974. (Information from Detroit Transit History webpage.)
The badge shown below is supposedly the right badge for this company, although note that “Suburban” is not part of the company name. It is made of nickel with blue enamel inlay, has two threaded posts and measures measures 2″ x 2″.
INTERURBAN AUTOCAR COMPANY was operating a 15-mile route between Medford and Ashland, Oregon in 1923.
INTERURBAN MOTOR COMPANY ran between the cities of Ithaca and Cortland, New York. The company was granted a certificate of operation on January 3, 1917 from the City of Ithaca, and on March 8, 1917 from the City of Cortland. The owner of the company was J. Dolph Ross and its president was Clyde Manning.
INTERURBAN TRANSPORTATION COMPANY / INTERURBAN TRAILWAYS During World War I, Morgan Walker, Sr. organized a taxi service with an eight-seat REO auto to transport soldiers from Camp Beauregard in Pineville, Louisiana to nearby Alexandria. In 1920 Walker founded the Interurban Transportation Company, based in Alexandria. Eventually its route included Baton Rouge to Shreveport via Alexandria, from Baton Rouge to Beaumont, Texas, and from Little Rock, Arkansas, to Lake Charles via Alexandria. In 1942 the company bought out Butler’s Bus Line, which operated out of Alexandria, Louisiana. In 1945 the company was merged with Bordelon Lines, Inc. / Bordelon Trailways which was headquartered in New Orleans, Louisiana, and Tri-State Transit Company / Tri-State Trailways, based in Shreveport, Louisiana. The new firm, named Southern Bus Lines, used the brand name of Southern Trailways and was headed by Morgan W. Walker: “In 1949 the Transcontinental Bus System (using the brand name, trade name, or service name of the Continental Trailways) bought the relatively new (recently consolidated) Southern Bus Lines (the Southern Trailways) and renamed it as the Continental Southern Lines.” (See Dr. D. B. “Doc” Rushing’s Bluehounds and Redhounds the History of Greyhound and Trailways.)
INVERNESS AUTO STAGE & GARAGE COMPANY was operating out of Inverness, California in the mid 1920s. The operators were Schreiber and J.R. Reeves.
IRON MOUNTAIN-KINGSFORD TRANSIT LINES served Iron Mountain, Michigan in the 1940s-1950s.
ISABELLA-ONYX STAGE was operating out of Isabella, California in the mid 1920s. Peter Larsen was the operator.
ISLAND COACH LINES was founded by Nicholas Semke as the Semke Bus Lines, Inc. Under that name it ran buses in Nassau Co., Long Island, New York and was mentioned in 1930 in a court case. Its corporation name was Nicholas Semke, Inc., and was later renamed Island Coach Lines, Inc. It served the towns of Hempstead, Rockville Centre, Oceanside, Westbury and Baldwin. It bought out by Hempstead Bus Corp. in 1970.
ISLE TRANSPORTATION COMPANY was formed in 1946 by former ex-Staten Island Coach Company employees after Staten Island Coach Company went bankrupt. The company operated buses in the borough of Richmond in New York City, New York. Isle Transportation Company went bankrupt in 1947, and New York City took over the buses on Feb. 23 of that year.
Copyright © 2019 TRANSITBADGES.COM. All Rights Reserved. You may freely quote from this page with the proviso that TRANSITBADGES.COM is credited.