BUS COMPANIES BEGINNING WITH THE LETTER “J”
(PLEASE NOTE: THE BADGES AND INFORMATION PRESENTED ON THIS SITE ARE FOR REFERENCE / EDUCATIONAL USE ONLY. WE DO NOT BUY, SELL OR TRADE TRANSIT BADGES! The purpose of this page is to share information about collecting transit badges. All photos and artwork displayed on this site are from personal collections and are used by permission of the owners, or are in the public domain. If requested, we credit badge photos to the owner. We gratefully welcome additional information and/or corrections, questions, comments, new badge entries and especially badge photos. Please don’t hesitate to contact us.)
J. H .T. CO. I have no information on this company. The badge measures 1¾” x 2½” and is die pressed with one threaded post.
JACKRABBIT TRANSPORTATION COMPANY was formed in 1922 in South Dakota. In 1925 Dan Hansen and his nephew, Lowell C. Hansen of Sioux Falls, purchased the company. In January 1947, Dan Hansen sold his interest in the company, leaving Lowell Hansen as sole owner. (Dan Hansen died in September 1949 of cancer.)
JACKSON-CAMP PARDEE STAGE LINE was operating out of Jackson, California in the late 1920s. D. A. Garibaldi was the owner.
JACKSON COOK’S STATION AUTO LINE was operating in the late 1920s out of Cook’s Station, California in the Sierra Nevada mountains. Enrico N. Cuneo was the agent. (He also operated Jackson & Volcano Auto Line and Jackson Rangers Station Auto Line.)
JACKSON COUNTY BUS LINE, INC. was operating in the mid 1920s in North Carolina. It operated from Sylva to Rich Mountain via Highway 106.
JACKSON-HOWELL BUS LINE was advertising in December 1921 in the Pinckney Dispatch and operated out of Jackons, Michigan. F. B. Palmer was the owner/operator. The company served Jackson, Munith, Stockbridge, Gregory, Pinckney and Howell, Michigan.
JACKSON-PLYMOUTH STAGE LINE was operating in the mid 1920s out of Jackson, California. Joseph J. Ratto was the owner.
JACKSON RANGERS STATION AUTO LINE was operating in the late 1920s out of Volcano, California. Enrico N. Cuneo was the owner. (He also operated the Jackson Cook’s Station Auto Line and Jackson & Volcano Auto Line.)
THE JACKSON & VOLCANO AUTO LINE This company’s existence creates an interesting puzzle. There are two companies with virtually identical names, the difference being “The” on this company. This company was operated by the White brothers, while Jackson & Volcano Auto Line was operated by Enrico N. Cuneo. Both operated out of Volcano, California and both at the same time. (Cuneo also operated Jackson Cook’s Station Auto Line, Jackson Rangers Station Auto Line and Jackson & Volcano Auto Line.)
JACKSON & VOLCANO AUTO LINE was operating in the late 1920s out of Volcano, California. Enrico N. Cuneo was the registered contact. (See above.)
JACKSONVILLE BUS LINE Otto M. Olsen (1889-1932) and his wife, Mabel U. Hansen Olsen (1891-1973), moved to Jacksonville, Illinois in 1921. That same year they started the Jacksonville Bus Line running from Jacksonville to Springfield. Beginning with a single bus, passengers were transported between Jacksonville and Springfield via the old unpaved state road. In 1924, they extended their route to Pittsfield and Quincy; in 1929, to St. Louis, and in 1932, to Pekin and Peoria. Later, they ran all the way to Chicago. After Otto died in 1932, Mabel, along with their son Kenneth, took over running the company as president and vice president. (Kenneth L. Olsen died in April, 1953.) In 1938 the company joined the Trailways Bus System. By 1953 the company’s 15 buses drove 414 route miles, traveling a total of 853,794 miles. In 1954, 212,456 passengers were carried. Mabel Olsen sold the business in 1972.
JACKSONVILLE COACH COMPANY In 1945 this company succeeded Motor Transit Co. (owned by National City Lines) providing local bus service in Jacksonville, Florida. It was owned by City Coach Lines, Inc. and ran until 1971. Service was then taken over by the Jacksonville Transportation Authority (JTA), which still runs buses in Jacksonville and surrounding communities.
JACKSONVILLE-SPRINGFIELD BUS COMPANY ran from Jacksonville to Springfield, Illinois in Oct. 1922.
JAHNS BUS COMPANY / H. E. JAHNS BUS COMPANY When the Goshen South Bend & Chicago Railroad Company streetcar operations in 1918 in LaPorte, Indiana. The company was sold to the Felder Bus Company in 1927, but continued operations under the name Jahns Bus Company.
JAMAICA BUSES INC. / JAMAICA BUS LINES / JAMAICA BUS COMPANY was a bus company in New York City, operating local service in Queens and express service to Manhattan. After the bankruptcy of the Long Island Electric Railway in 1926, the company’s trolley lines in Nassau County were disestablished, however the ones in Queens survived, and the company was reorganized as the Jamaica Central Railways. In 1930, the City of New York granted the company a bus franchise service named Jamaica Buses, a subsidiary of Jamaica Central Railways. Bus operation over all the former JCR trolley lines began on November 12, 1933; this coincided with the widening of Jamaica Avenue, and the removal of the trolley tracks on the former routes. The company was acquired by the stockholders of Green Bus Lines in April 1949 after financial troubles, but also continued to operate independently. The change in ownership took effect on April 13, 1949, with Green Lines paying $200,000. The company operated until January 30, 2006, when the Metropolitan Transit Authority took over its operations.
JAMESTOWN MOTOR BUS TRANSPORTATION COMPANY was formed in Jamestown, New York in 1922 by the Jamestown Street Railway Company as a cost cutting way of adding new service. The first buses were three Pierce-Arrow truck chassis with Kuhlman Car Company bus bodies. These buses provided service to the west side of Jamestown where there were no trolley tracks and eventually expanded service to Greenhurst, Kiantone and Ashville. The trolley company and its subsidiary bus company were sold in 1937. Jamestown Motor Bus Transportation Company continued running until 1962.
JAMES RIVER BUS LINE, INC. / JAMES RIVER TRANSPORTATION This company is still in operation and its history is posted on the company’s website. In 1918 William W. Briesmaster began operating a bus line from rural Virginia to Richmond, following the path of the James River through central Virginia (known as the James River Route). At some point Briesmaster sold the company to W. J. Sheppard, who operated a vehicle maintenance garage in Buckingham County. Sheppard changed the name to James River Bus Lines and continued operating the company until 1954 when he sold it to Irving C. Hammock and James H. Rand. These two men owned a Chrysler Plymouth Dodge automobile dealership and a company called Picket Service Company, which provided transportation between Richmond and the busy United States Army Base, Camp Picket. In 1954 James River Bus Lines’ main service consisted of three scheduled buses operating between Buckingham and Richmond, Virginia, two charter coaches for leisure trips and two Highway Post Office Mail vehicles. In 1954 the company applied to operate an expanded service: “For authority to operate as a common carrier, over a regular route, transporting: Passengers and their baggage, and mail, express and newspapers, in the same vehicle with passengers, between Sprouse’s Corner,Va., and Richmond, Va., from Sprouse’s Corner, over U. S. Highway 15 to Dixie, and thence over Virginia Highway 6 to Richmond, and return over the same route, serving all intermediate points. Applicant is authorized to conduct operations in Maryland; North Carolina, Pennsylvania, South Carolina, Virginia, West Virginia, and the District of Columbia.” James River Bus Company’s operations were moved to Richmond, Virginia. L. Woodrow “Woody” Story was hired as general manager to run the operation. On April 1, 1978, Story became owner and President of James River Bus Lines. His partner and wife, Anne Story, was Vice President and later Vice Chair until her passing in 2000. Today (2018) the company is operating as James River Transportation and celebrating its 90th year.
JEFFERSON HIGHWAY TRANSPORTATION COMPANY See Jefferson Transportation Company.
JEFFERSON LINES is operated by Jefferson Partners L.P., located in Minneapolis, Minnesota. The company is the second-largest bus company in the US that operates from fixed stations. Founded in 1919 during the early days of motorcoach travel, the company serves 13 states as of 2014: The company’s name originates in the Jefferson Highway, a north-south route in the early National Auto Trail system which once ran from Winnipeg in Manitoba, Canada, south to New Orleans, Louisiana. In 1966 Jefferson Lines bought Crown Coach, which was an affiliate of Greyhound Lines: “Friday, October 14, 1966: Louis N. Zelle, president of Jefferson Lines of Minneapolis, and Claude E. Brown, president of Crown Coach Company, Joplin, Mo., announced today that Jefferson Lines has concluded negotiations with the stockholders of Crown Coach Company, to acquire the Brown family interests in Crown. Greyhound Lines, a minority stockholder of Crown Coach, has been associated with the Brown family since 1930 and will continue the same association with the new owners.” By 1990, the company was believed to be the second-largest intercity bus company in the country after Continental Trailways was bought by Greyhound Lines. The badge measures 2 ¼” x 2 ½” and has one threaded post.
There are several additional badges found bearing the name “Jefferson Lines”. We may assume these are from the above company. Badge one colored in red, has a single threaded post. Badge two with one threaded post.
JEFFERSON LINES, INC. See Jefferson Transportation Company.
JEFFERSON TRANSIT (Jefferson County, Washington) had its beginning in 1980 with a federal grant and the formation of the Public Transportation Benefit Authority (PTBA) of Jefferson County. A temporary company named Jefferson County Transit began operations by leasing buses and drivers from Port Townsend’s Stevens Stage Lines. In November 1980 53% of voters approved a public transit system by self-imposing a 0.3 % sales tax. The following year, 1981, the renamed Jefferson Transit began operations. The new agency continued using Stevens Stage Line’s drivers and buses (including the company’s offices). In August 1981 Jefferson Transit bought Stevens Stage Lines and thus the two agencies legally merged. Jefferson Transit continues to operate a transit system for Jefferson County, Washington.
For a detailed history of Jefferson Transit, see Meet Me At The Bus Stop: 125 Years of Public Transit in Jefferson County, Washington.
JEFFERSON HIGHWAY TRANSPORTATION COMPANY / JEFFERSON TRANSPORTATION COMPANY This company began in September 1919 as Jefferson Highway Transportation Company in Minneapolis, Minn. On June 30, 1925 Edgar F. Zelle, who owned the Red Bus Line, bought the company; in 1929 he shortened the name to Jefferson Transportation Company. In 1968 the company merged with Crown Coach Company and a new company, known as Jefferson Lines, Inc., was born. However, Jefferson Transportation Company remained the principal owner. Edgar Zelle’s son, Louis Zelle, became president of Jefferson Transportation Company in the mid 1960s. In the early 1970s, the company changed its name to The Jefferson Company, which continued to operate Jefferson Lines, Inc. Edgar Zelle died in August 1978.
JEFFERSONVILLE BUS LINES operated bus service in Jeffersonville, Indiana at some point after 1932, when Public Service Co. of Indiana stopped running streetcars. According to Chicago Transit & Rail Fan’s webpage, it ran until 1950 when it was taken over by Bridge Transit Company. However, an October 22, 1959 article in the Louisville, Kentucky The Courier-Journal records “A buyer has been found for Jeffersonville Bus Lines and bus service will continue in Jeffersonville and Clarksville. This was wast the word yesterday from Charley Bush, a member of the Clark County Chamber of Commerce transportation committee. The owner, Mrs. Robert S. Brown, has said the line lost money last year. A week ago she put the firm up for sale. Service was to have stopped last night if a purchaser was not found.” Clearly it was in 1960, not 1950, when Bridge Transit took over Jeffersonville Bus Lines’ operations.
JERSEY CENTRAL TRANSPORTATION COMPANY ran in the late 1920s in Lakewood, New Jersey.
JERSEY CITY-KEANSBURG BUS COMPANY There is a Woodbridge, N. J. newspaper notice dated July 26, 1929 that the Public Utilities Commission dismissed Jersey City-Keansburg Bus Company application to operate six auto buses between Jersey City and Keansburg. The commission stated that the Pennsylvania and Central railroads opposed the application. I’m not sure if the company was already established by this date, or was trying to become established. However, it did start running buses, as this newspaper notice makes clear: “LONG BRANCH, N.J. TUESDAY, JULY 7, 1931 ORDER ISSUED AGAINST KEANSBURG BUS CO. Vice Chancellor Malcolm G. Buchanan today permanently restrained the Jersey City-Keansburg Bus Company from operating a fleet of motor buses between Journal Square, Jersey City, and Keansburg. The board of public utility commissioners, through John A. Bernhard, counsel, charged the operation was unlawful becat/e municipal consents had not been obtained and approved by the board. Thomas J. Armstrong, counsel to the company, objected to issue of the restraining order,’ maintaining the board should have brought its action before a criminal court.” I’m not sure if this company continued in service after 1931, but it’s my opinion that Pennsylvania and Central Railroads and their lackeys on the PUC were determined to kill the Jersey City-Keansburg Bus Company!
JERSEY CITY NUTLEY BUS CO. The Eighteenth Annual Report of the Board of Public Utility Commissioners for the State of New Jersey for the Year 1927 records that the Jersey City-Nutley Bus Company had applied to run a route between Nutley, N.J. to Jersey City, N.J. with a fleet of three buses. The number of buses listed for the company is 3. The badge is a pin back and measures 1 ½” x 1 ½”.
Jesse L Bartlett/Universal Auto Bus Service (NY) 1959
JERUSALEM AVENUE BUS LINE, INC. began running in 1926 in Nassau Co., New York. In 1968 it was bought by George Semke, who owned CBS Lines, Inc. and Harran Transportation Co, Inc. In 1973 the Metropolitan Suburban Bus Authority, commonly known as Long Island Bus, acquired the company.
JOHNSON BUS LINES, INC. This company was operating in Milford, Massachusetts in 1925 when it took over the Woonsocket line when the Milford, Attleboro & Woonsocket Line shut down. At that time the Johnson Bus Lines ran their motor buses to Bellingham, Franklin and Wrentham with a fleet of 10 White Motor Company buses. On December 31, 1928 the Milford, Framingham, Hopedale & Uxbridge Street Railway Company operated its last street car. Their routes were taken over by Milford-Framingham & Uxbridge Coach Company, which served the towns of Framingham, Hopkinton, Holliston. Medway, Hopedale, Mendon, Uxbridge, Grafton and Upton; and the Johnson Bus Lines Company, which provided service between Milford and Boston via Medway, and between Milford and Worcester via Grafton, Upton and Hopedale. By the 1950s the company was running between Boston and Milford, via Westwood, Medfield, Millis and Medway. In 1953 the company was sold to Peter C. Snell of Milford and his partner, George Sage. (The two men also owned Englander Coach Lines in Greenfield, Massachusetts, and, although the companies were separate, they often interchanged both buses and drivers when needed.) According to the DPU CPCN Review the company was sold in 1962 to The Short Line. In 1971 a consolidation of The Short Line and Interstate Busses Corp. created the Bonanza Bus Lines. The badge is made of brass and enamel, measures 2″, has a single threaded post and was made by AMERICAN RLWY SUPPLY CO. NY.
JOHNSON BUS LINES, INC. was founded by Max Johnson (1932-2007) in 1989 in Le Center, Minnesota. The company was sold to Palmer Bus Service in 2007.
JOHNSON CITY & CARNEGIE STREET RAILWAY COMPANY / JOHNSON CITY STREETCAR COMPANY / JOHNSON CITY TRACTION COMPANY / JOHNSON CITY TRANSIT COMPANY In 1888 John T. Wilder established a new town adjacent to Johnson City, Tennessee. Funded by the famed industrialist Andrew Carnegie, he named the place Carnegie, Tennessee—which in fact was a condition of Carnegie’s funding. Part of the town was located about one mile from the commercial district of Johnson City, which Wilder connected via a new streetcar line—the Johnson City & Carnegie Street Railway Company, running a total of four miles. In the late 1890s Samuel Cole Williams and Walter P. Brownlow formed Watauga Light and Power Company and the Johnson City Streetcar Company in Johnson City. According to several sources, both companies were taken over in 1902 by Johnson City Traction Company, however, the July 13, 1912 edition of the Electrical Review and Western Electrician seems to place the takeover at a much later date: “Johnson City, Tenn E.M. Runnels, of the Bristol Board of Trade, is negotiating with the recently organized Johnson City Traction Company for the construction of a 25-mile line connecting the two cities. The Johnson City company took over the street-railway system there.” (Emphasis added.) At any rate, the Johnson City Traction Company ran streetcars until 1930, after which they were replaced by motor buses. In 1934, David R. Patrick founded the Johnson City Transit Company, which took over transportation in Johnson City. The company continued under the management of his sons, Wade, Howard and Dana Patrick from 1941 until 1978. The company sold the Bluff City line to the Yellow Cab and Coach Company of Bristol, Virginia / Tennessee in 1945. After 1978 the city then began operating Johnson City Transit Service on scheduled routes through the major portions of Johnson City.
JOHNSON COUNTY LINES was a subsidiary of Continental Trailways and served Johnson County, Kansas with routes primarily on Antioch, Metcalf, Nall Avenue, and Mission Road. Originally acquired by Kansas City Area Transportation Authority, service transferred to Johnson County Transit. The badge has two threaded posts.
JOHNSTOWN PASS. RY. CO. / JOHNSTOWN PASSENGER RAILWAY / JOHNSTOWN TRACTION COMPANY was formed in 1882 to to provide horse rail car service in the Johnstown, Pennsylvania area. After the Flood of 1889, the system was electrified. By 1907, the company operated 110 trolleys over 31 miles of track. After a major accident in 1909, the company reorganized on February 23, 1910 as the Johnstown Traction Company. By 1943, the company was carrying over 17,000,000 passengers a year. Thereafter, ridership declined “due to the growth of the automobile industry.” On June 11, 1960, all rail operations were halted and converted to either trackless trolleys or buses. Trolley bus service continued until November 11, 1967. The Johnstown Traction Company continued operating buses until December 1, 1976, when service was provided under a lease agreement with the newly created Cambria County Transit Authority. The CCTA purchased all assets of the Johnstown Traction Company the following year and the company was dissolved. The badge is a pin back, made of nickel and measures 2⅜ ” x 2¼”.
JOHNSTOWN MOTOR BUS COMPANY ran from Johnstown to Windber, Pennsylvania. It was formed in June 1922. It was owned by H A Lawhead and S W Lawhead.
JOHNSVILLE STAGE LINE was operating in the late 1920s out of Blairsen, California. L. B. O’Rourke was the owner. (He also owned Quincy-La Porte Stage Line.)
JOLIET CITY LINES succeeded Chicago & Joliet Electric Railway Company in 1934 in Joliet, Illinois, which was the year the last streetcars ran in Joliet. The company was bought out by National City Lines in 1936 but retained the operating name Joliet City Lines. The company ceased operations in 1970 after a protracted strike. From the July 23, 1970 edition of the Alton Evening Telegraph from Alton, Illinois: “(AP)—The Illinois Commerce Commission granted Wednesday permission for Joliet City Lines to stop running its buses in the communities of Joliet, Rockdale, Lockport and Crest Hill. Buses actually stopped running in the four communities March 1 at the time of a strike by drivers seeking to increase hourly wages from $2.63 to $3.75. In a referendum Feb. 21, voters rejected a proposed tax to ‘finance a Joliet mass transit district. City Lines lost $7,311 in 1968 an 16,250 in 1969, officials said.” In 1970 the Joliet City Lines was replaced by the Joliet Mass Transit District, which ran buses until 1990. We don’t have a badge photo for Joliet City Lines, but there is one below for Joliet Mass Transit District. It is made of nickel-plated brass with painted features, and has two threaded posts; there is no makers mark.
JOLON STAGE LINE was operating out of Kings City, California in the mid 1920s.
A. J. JORDAN BUS COMPANY / JORDAN BUS COMPANY, INC. was an intercity company headquartered in Hugo, Oklahoma. In a history of the Armbruster & Company of Fort Smith, Arkansas, I found this note: “The first stretchout motor coach was built approximately in 1923 when Jordan Bus Company’s owner came to Tom Armbruster to ask if he could stretch out a touring car for his small but growing bus line. From then on, much of Armbruster production has been building buses and limousines.” In 1946 A. R. Jordan was the president and A. R. Jordan was general manager of the company. In 1952 the company was operating 54 buses over 596 route miles and serving Southern Oklahoma, Wichia Falls and Vernon, Texas.
JOS. BUZBY Seems to have been a motorized car from Seattle in the 1890s. The badge measures about 1 inch.
JOURNAL SQUARE-CLIFTON TRANSIT COMPANY, INC. was incorporated in Jersey City, New Jersey in September 1927. There is no further information on this company.
Junction City Transit Lines Company (KS) 1959
BUS COMPANIES BEGINNING WITH THE LETTER “K”
K.C. BUS COMPANY This company is something of a mystery. In 1922 it purchased four White Model 50 buses for operation in Minneapolis, Minnesota.
KALAMAZOO-BATTLE CREEK MARSHALL BUS LINE All the information remaining on this company seems to be schedules from 1924. Those mention daily service from the Laverne Hotel in Battle Creek, Michigan beginning at 7 a.m.
KALAMAZOO MOTOR COACH COMPANY See below entry.
KALAMAZOO TRANSPORTATION COMPANY / KALAMAZOO MOTOR COACH COMPANY This company’s history begins in Kalamazoo, Michigan with Michigan Electric Railway Company, which was reorganized in 1929 as Michigan Electric Shares Company. After the reorganization, that company abandoned service on all interurban railway lines serving Kalamazoo. Kalamazoo Transportation Company became a subsidiary of the company. This company operated until 1932 when its streetcars were discontinued. It was replaced by Kalamazoo Motor Coach Company. The Saturday, November 5, 1932 edition of the Marshall Evening Chronicle from Marshall, Michigan tells the story: “Buses Replace Cars In Kazoo Streets: Nov. 5—The Kalamazoo Motor Coach company was granted a temporary permit Friday to operate here. Service starting Sunday morning will replace street cars, sent to the barn Tuesday afternoon. The company said it would operate 23 busses. Thirty-nine street cars and nine busses have been seized by the city to satisfy delinquent taxes. All are the property of the Kalamazoo Transportation company.” Kalamazoo Motor Coach ran buses until 1936 before being taken over by Kalamazoo City Lines, which was a subsidiary of National City Lines. The badge is die pressed, has a single threaded post and measures 3½” x 1¾”.
KALISPELL-POLSON STAGES was operating in the late 1920s from Kalispell to Polson, Montana. J. H. Wining and C. P. Cowman were the owners. The company seems to have gone out of business after 1930.
KAMMES BUS SERVICE INC. was founded by Richard Kammes and operated out of his home from 1959 until 1981 when he sold the company. At that time he had a fleet of 120 buses. It was bought by Vancom Inc. of South Holland, Illinois and has a physical address in Wheaton, Illinois. The badge has two threaded posts and measures 3 ¼” x 2¼”. The badge pictured here seems to have an emblem missing from the circular area on the front.
KANKAKEE, JOLIET & PONTIAC BUS & TRANSFER LINE began operating between Joliet and Kankakee, Illinois in 1924. The company was renamed in 1927 to Illinois Roadway Lines.
KANKAKEE MOTOR COACH COMPANY The privately owned company succeeded Kankakee Electric Railway Co. in 1931, and ran streetcars and later buses serving the town of Kankakee, Illinois. (In 1956 the company owned 14 buses.) Kankakee Motor Coach Co. went out of business in 1959. On that topic, here’s an interesting story on page 3 of the February 20, 1959 edition of the Journal Gazette from Mattoon, Illinois: “The disappearance of Victor E Curtis, owner of the Kankakee Motor Coach Company; his wife, their two children, and three of the company’s buses was discovered Thursday. There was no notice the bus company planned to discontinue operations. However, Curtis, who. has operated the utility since Jan 1, 1958, had been in financial difficulties, and In controversy with the Illinois Commerce Commission. Riders In this northern Illinois city long have complained of poor service and faulty equipment. Hundreds of persons voiced their complaints Thursday as they waited impatiently in near zero weather for buses to take them to work. Police said they had no trace of the whereabouts of the Curtis family or the buses.” For the next 37 years Kankakee was without a public transit system. There are two badges known: the older badge is made of brass and is a pin back that measures 2¾” x 2⅛”. The newer badge measures 2½” x 2¼”, has a single threaded post and was made by FIFTH AVENUE UNIFORM COMPANY 19 SO. WELLS CHICAGO.
KCATA (Kansas City Area Transportation Autority) Kansas City, Missouri & Kansas. The badge measures about 1 1/2″ X 2 1/4″ with two threaded posts.
KANSAS CITY CLAY COUNTY & ST. JOSEPH AUTO TRANSIT COMPANY was a Missouri bus line operated by the Kansas City Clay County & St. Joseph Railway on some less profitable routes. It ran until 1934 when it was replaced by Interstate Transit Lines, which, in 1943, began operating as Overland Greyhound Lines.
KANSAS CITY & INDEPENDENCE STATE LINES was an intercity Missouri bus company running in the late 1930s into the early 1940s. In 1941 it was serving the Union Bus Terminal 917 McGee St. in Kansas City, Missouri.
KANSAS CITY KAW VALLEY & WESTERN RAILWAY COMPANY / KANSAS CITY KAW VALLEY & WESTERN RAILROAD COMPANY From the Kenneth Spencer Research Library at the University of Kansas: “The Kansas City, Kaw Valley & Western Railway was an interurban rail line with electric car service between downtown Kansas City, Missouri and Lawrence, Kansas. Under the direction of J.J. Heim and W.R. Taylor, superintendent, the line opened in 1914 between Kansas City and Bonner Springs, KS, and in 1916 the line was extended to Lawrence. The line had 75 passenger station stops, and trains left Kansas City hourly between 5:30 a.m. and 12:30 p.m. Passengers included Kansas City and Kaw Valley commuters, students at the University of Kansas, occasional shoppers, and others. Passenger service gradually declined during the 1920s, and by August 1935 the line was a year behind in paying employees. 1935 was the last year for interurban runs between Kansas City and City Park, and in the summer buses replaced the electric motorcars. Freight runs kept the line alive from the 1930s to 1961 (chiefly loads for Portland Cement Company).” In 1935 the line was renamed Kansas City Kaw Valley & Western Railroad Company. By the 1930s the company was running both passenger cars and buses. It is listed in the 1946-47 MTD as operating 10 passenger cars over 45 track miles and running buses over 35 route miles. In the 1954 MTD it is listed as Kansas City Kaw Valley & Western Railroad, Inc. and was running 8 buses over 83 route miles as Kaw Valley Stages. The company was still operating in 1956.
KANSAS CITY LEAVENWORTH BUS LINES, INC. K.C. Leavenworth Bus Lines, Inc. was an intercity bus operation serving Kansas City, Ft. Leavenworth, Leavenworth and Topeka, Kansas. It took over the route after Kansas City Leavenworth & Western Railway Co. discontinued streetcar service in 1924. In 1956 it was running 18 buses. The badge here measures 2 ⅝” x 2⅜” and had two threaded posts.
KANSAS CITY – LEAVENWORTH TRANSPORTATION COMPANY succeeded the Kansas City-Leavenworth, Western Transportation Company and ran intercity buses serving Ft. Leavenworth, Leavenworth, Wadsworth, Lansing, Wolcott, Bethel, Kansas City, McLouth, Oakaloosa, Merden and Topeka, Kansas. The company ran 18 buses over 99 route miles in 1946. It was still running in 1951 when it was sued for a bus accident.
KANSAS CITY – LEAVENWORTH, WESTERN TRANSPORTATION COMPANY See Kansas City – Leavenworth Transportation Company.
KANSAS CITY PUBLIC SERVICE COMPANY / KANSAS CITY TRANSIT, INC. The Metropolitan Street Railway Company was incorporated in 1886, and was the first company to successfully consolidate the street railway companies in Kansas City, mostly in the few years after 1895. In 1903, the Metropolian Street Railway Co. was sold to Kansas City Railway & Light Company, in 1914 sold to Kansas City Railway Company, and in 1925 sold to Kansas City Public Service Company. In 1960, the system was sold to Kansas City Transit, Inc., which operated the system until the public takeover in 1969 (Information from to Chicago Transit & Railfan.)
In 1954 the Kansas City Public Service Company was located at 728 Delaware Street, Kansas City, Missouri and ran 319 buses over 293 route miles, 157 trolley coaches over 97 route miles and 176 street cars over 108 track miles. The company served both Kansas City, Kansas and Kansas City, Missouri.
The Kansas City Area Transportation Authority (KCATA) is a public transit agency in metropolitan Kansas City. It operates the Metro Area Express (MAX) bus rapid transit service in Kansas City, Missouri, and 78 local bus routes in seven counties of Missouri and Kansas. The KCATA is a bi-state agency formed by an interstate compact between Kansas and Missouri in 1965–6. Operations began in 1969, when the KCATA took over bus routes previously run by the Kansas City Public Service Company.
The second badge pictured below measures 2″ x 3 ½ ” and has two threaded posts.
KANSAS CITY TRANSIT, INC. See entry above under Kansas City Public Service Company.
KANSAS POWER & LIGHT COMPANY succeeded Topeka Railway Company in 1926 and ran streetcars and buses in Topeka, Kansas until 1947 when it was succeeded by Topeka Transportation Company. The company discontinued streetcar service in 1937; in 1945 the company was running 52 buses over approx. 33 route miles. The badge is made of nickel with a clasp-pin, and measures 1¾”x¾”.
KANSAS TRAILS, INC. / KANSAS TRAILS BUS LINE / KANSAS TRAILWAYS / KANSAS TRAILS BUS SYSTEM There isn’t much information on this company. It was operational in the early 1940s and headquartered in Topeka, Kansas. The company joined the National Trailways Bus System in 1944 and is listed as Kansas Trailways in the 1946 MTD. That same year the company was advertising a new route and using the name “Kansas Trail Bus Line”. According to one source, the company left the Trailways association in 1950. On November 23, 1954 the Interstate Commerce Commission granted “a certificate of convenience and necessity to Kansas Trails, Inc., to extend its motor bus service from Osawatomie, Kansas, to Tulsa, Oklahoma, over U. S. Highway 169.” In the 1953 Russell’s Guide the company is listed as Kansas Trails / Kansas Trails Bus System and served Topeka, Iola, Parsons, Pittsburg, Coffeyville and Tulsa. There was a newspaper item from July 3, 1958 that noted “Robert Jordan purchased the Kansas Trails bus system that operated between Bonner Springs and Kansas City, Mo.”
KAW VALLEY STAGES was part of the THE KANSAS CITY, KAW VALLEY & WESTERN RAILROAD COMPANY based in Kansas City Kansas in the 1930s-1960s. In 1954 it ran 8 buses over 88 route miles, serving Kansas City, Missouri to Lawrence, Kansas.
KEETER’S BUS COMPANY was running in the early 1940s; Harry Ketter was the owner. It operated between Landis and Kannapolis, North Carolina.
KELLER BUS LINE, served Marksville, Eunice and Ville Plate, Louisiana. It was in business in the 1950s.
KELLY BUS COMPANY was an intercity bus company that ran between Baton Rouge, Louisiana to Scotlandville, which is a suburb of Baton Rouge. It was in business in the 1950s.
KENT & SON BUS LINE ran in Alexandria, MN. No dates or further information.
KENTON & COVINGTON BUS LINE served Covington, and Kenton County, Kentucky in the 1920s.
KENTUCKY BUS LINES, INC. / KENTUCKY TRAILWAYS This company’s history begins with two brothers, Albert Lee (1904-1979) and Robert Guthrie Chaudoin (1903-1982), who, in 1935, founded Chaudoin Bus Lines in Louisville, Kentucky. In the 1930s the company served Louisville, Central City and Paducah, Kentucky. A November 27, 1943 Louisville, Kentucky newspaper article announced that Chaudoin Bus Lines was sold to “the Bankers National Investment Corporation for $225,000. It was transferred to a new corporation known as the Kentucky Bus Lines, Inc. The property was owned by A. L. Chaudoin and R. G. Chaudoin, brothers who operated an intrastate line from Louisville. Running 13 buses to New Castle, Carrollton and Paducah via Shepherdsville.” The company joined the National Trailways Bus System in 1952 and remained until 1954. In 1972 the Louisville Transit Company acquired the company’s routes.
KENWOOD BUS CO. The only info I have on this badge comes from a Baltimore, Maryland newspaper in 1964, which simply mentions the company. However, judging from the style of bus on the badge, I’d guess it dates to the 1940s-1950s. The badge measures 2″ x 2 ½ “.
KERN COUNTY TRANSPORTATION COMPANY was operating in the early and late 1920s out of Bakersfield, California. C.C. Haworth was the manager. The company is mentioned in a March 8, 1927 newspaper story: “Pickwick Stages System has applied to the railroad commission for permission to lease to Kern County Transportation operative rights and properties for transportation of passengers and express matter between Bakersfield and Paso Robles, San Luis Obispo County, and intermediate points, and between Taft, Coalinga and Lost Hills and intermediate points, for a period of one year, and Kern County Transportation Company has applied to the commission for permission to operate said properties.” In May 1930 the company was sold to Pacific Greyhound Lines, Inc.
KERNVILLE STAGE COMPANY was operating in the mid 1920s out of Kernville, California. C.A. Hand and W.A. Fugitt were the registered contacts.
KERRVILLE-AUSTIN BUS LINE. The only information on this company comes from the below entry for the Kerrville Bus Company, Inc. It was founded before 1930 and was owned by Louis Moritz of Austin, who managed the newly acquired lines of the Kerrville Bus Company in 1930.
KERRVILLE BUS COMPANY, INC. was founded in 1928-1929 by brothers Hal “Boss” and Charlie Peterson in Kerrville, Texas. The company was the successor to Hill Country Bus Line and Horseshoe Stages.
There is a rather detailed account of the sale of Horseshoe Stages to Kerrville Bus Company in the September 18, 1930 edition of the Kerrville Mountain Sun from Kerrville, Texas: “The State Railroad Commission at a session in Austin Monday afternoon approved the transfer of 330 miles of bus lines held under franchise by H. H. Winn, Jr., to the Kerrville Bus Co., Inc., of which Hal Peterson is president and Charles V. Peterson is vice-president and treasurer. Included in the deal were the franchises and equipment of the Horseshoe Stages, operating between Austin and Houston, and two branch lines extending from Austin to Lampasas and from Brenham to Huntsville. In exchange for his holdings, Winn received an 1,800-acre farm owned by the Petersons and located about five miles south of Kerrville. Winn, who now lives in Austin, will move here within the next few days and take charge of the farm property. Louis Moritz, owner of the Kerrville-Austin Bus Line, will manage the newly acquired lines of the Kerrville Bus Company, maintaining headquarters in Austin. Officials of the Kerrville Bus Company announced Tuesday that schedules will be arranged to provide for direct connections between Kerrville and Houston, via Austin, thereby shortening the present distance between the two cities by 17 miles. The Kerrville Bus Co., Inc., has been operating first class bus service between San Antonio and Kerrville for the past four years. Acquisition of the new lines in Central Texas will increase the mileage covered by the firm to more than 400 miles. Hal Peterson will leave Saturday for Detroit, where he expects to purchase five 21-passenger buses, which will be added to present equipment on the various routes.” (You will note that the above article says that the Kerrville Bus Company had been operating for the past four years, or since 1926. However, the history of the present company states it was founded in 1929. The difference could be that in 1926 the Peterson brothers were operating an automobile “bus” between Kerrville and San Antonio, which caused a dispute with the Union Bus Company and got them brought before the Railroad Commission in 1927.) In 1953, Greyhound purchased a 40% interest in Kerrville Bus Company.
In 1956 the Kerrville Bus Company served Houston, Austin, San Antonio, Kerrville, Big Springs, Abilene, Victoria, Bryan and Pecos. It was running 60 buse over 1744 route miles. In 1966 it bought out Painter Bus Line, Inc. of Uvalde, Texas. The company is still in business operating out of San Antonio, Texas running charter buses.
KEWPIE STAGE COMPANY was operated by the Smith Brothers from Marysville, California in the mid 1920s.
KEY SYSTEM TRANSIT COMPANY / KEY SYSTEM TRANSIT LINES was a privately owned company that provided mass transit in the cities of Oakland, Berkeley, Alameda, Emeryville, Piedmont, San Leandro, Richmond, Albany and El Cerrito in the eastern San Francisco Bay Area from 1923 until 1946. The Key System consisted of local streetcar and bus lines in the East Bay, and commuter rail and bus lines connecting the East Bay to San Francisco by a ferry pier on San Francisco Bay, later via the lower deck of the Bay Bridge. At its height during the 1940s, the Key System had over 66 miles of track. The company was a wholly owned subsidiary of Railway Equipment & Reality Company, Ltd., which was organized in December 1929, and which was taken over by the infamous National City Lines in 1946. (See the entry for National City Lines on this webpage for more information.) When the takeover occurred, Key System Transit Company’s name was changed to Key System Transit Lines. The latter company ran until 1960 when it was sold to a newly formed public agency, AC Transit. The first badge was made by the Ed Jones & Co badge manufacturer in Oakland, California, has one threaded post and on pin post and measures 2 ½” x 2 ¼”. The second badge measures approx. 3″ x 2 ½” and has hallmarks on the back for Greenduck Co. Chicago.
KEYLINE TRANSIT took over Dubuque, Iowa city bus service from Interstate Power Company after 92.2 percent of voters approved a June 1973 measure for the city to acquire and operated a municipal bus system. KeyLine operated until 2011 when it was reorganized and renamed The Jule. (The transit system and city were both named after Julien DUBUQUE.) (More information can be found by clicking on this link.) The badge is made of plastic with two pin posts.
KING BROTHERS LINES, INC. was running in 1921 out of Cincinnati, Ohio. One of the brothers was Fred King, who served as the company president. In 1939 the intercity company served Lebanon, Toledo, Lima, Sidney, Troy, Piqua, Dayton, Franklin, Cincinnati, Ohio and Lexington and Louisville, Kentucky. The company ceased operations in 1948.
KING BROTHERS COMPANY, INC. began operations in 1921 between Franklin, Cincinnati, Dayton, and Xenia, and Portsmouth, Ohio. The company incorporated in 1928 and the following year was merged into the newly-formed Mason & Dixon Transit, Inc., although it continued to operate under its company name. A March 19, 1945 news item in the Piqua Daily Call from Piqua, Ohio, mentioned that “The Dayton and Western Ohio Airlines, Inc., is owned by three major intercity bus companies, the Cincinnati & Lake Erie Transportation Company, the King Brothers Company and the Ohio Bus Line Company.”
KING BROTHERS TRANSPORTATION COMPANY began operating in the early 1920s as an intercity bus company between Ft. Wayne and Richmond, Indiana. A November 1, 1928 newspaper article from Indianapolis, Indiana notes the sale of “certificate of convenience” from King Brothers Transportation Company to Willard Wooding, representing A.B.C. Coach Line, Inc. The company is advertised in the 1931 Williams Cincinnati Directory, but not in the Russell’s Official National Motor Coach Guide for 1939, so I’m assuming it ceased operations between those dates.
KING BUS COMPANY ran in the late 1920s from Dyersburg to Union City Tennessee.
KING COUNTY METRO, officially the King County Department of Transportation Metro Transit Division, or Metro for short, is the public transit authority of King County, Washington. It was formed by absorbing Seattle Transit System and the Metropolitan Transit Corporation (a private company serving suburban cities in King County) and began operations on January 1, 1973. Metro is the eighth-largest transit bus agency in the United States, carrying an average of 395,000 passengers each weekday on 215 routes. Metro employs 2,716 full-time and part-time operators and operates 1,540 buses. Metro is also contracted to operate and maintain Sound Transit’s Central Link light rail line and eight of the agency’s Sound Transit Express bus routes along with the Seattle Streetcar lines owned by the City of Seattle. (For more details, see Seattle Transit System. Click here for a concise timeline of Seattle’s transit history, covering a period between 1850 and 2000.)
KINGS COACH CO., INC. ran 11 buses in 1933 in Queens, New York City from 90th St. Crosstown.
KINGS RIVER TRANSPORTATION COMPANY was operating in the mid 1920s out of Fresno, California. It was a passenger and freight business and was operated by Ross Forsyth.
KINGSTON CITY COACH COMPANY, LTD. In 1893, the Kingston, Portsmouth and Cataraqui Street Railway inaugurated an electric street car service in Kingston, Ontario, Canada. This system lasted until 1930, by which time is was called the Kingston Street Railway. The March 1, 1930 edition of the Ottawa Citizen gives some details: “Kingston Minus Car service as a result of Fire, Lone car survives disastrous fire which is believed to have started from spontaneous combustion. Kingston’s street car service was wiped out by fire early today when all but one car was completely destroyed. With the exception of the lone car the city was without service. Believed to have originated from spontaneous combustion, the flames destroyed the barns and all contents and for a long time threatened many houses in the vicinity. More than 25 cars were destroyed and the damage will amount to more than $125,000. part of the loss is covered by insurance and the prospects are that Kingston will be without street car service for some time.” After the devastating loss, the Kingston Street Railway Company decided to cease operations, prompting the city to seek another transit service. The June 13, 1930 edition of the Ottawa Citizen reported the results of a special election: “Kingston electors favor bus system Vote 1,746 to 627 to grant ten year franchise to two companies: Kingston electors today decided to have a permanent bus system of transportation when they carried a bylaw giving the city council authority to grant a ten years franchise to the Kingston City Coach Company, Limited, and the Colonial Coach Lines Limited. The vote stood 1,746 for and 627 against the bylaw.” The Kingston City Coach Company, which was a subsidiary of Colonial Coach Lines, began operating in 1930 and continued until July 1962. It was succeeded by Kingston Transit. The badge pictured below is an early example, is unmarked, has two threaded posts and is made of brass with enamel inlay. There are two different designs for this badge. One made of solid brass, and the other a thin die-pressed example that has a makers mark. (NOTE: Normally, I don’t like “restored” badges. I think that the wear and tear is part of the badge’s history. However, I did a bit of restoration on this piece so its details would show better in a photo. I used some Avon “Ruby Slippers” enamel nail polish, which matched the ruby red of the badge almost perfectly. You may compare the results from the first to the second image.)
KINGSTON CITY TRANSPORTATION CORPORATION was a bus operation for the Kingston Consolidated Railroad Company in Kingston, New York. It started running in 1925 and continued until 1963 when it was replaced by the Urban Transit Corporation. In 1954 it operated 20 buses over 22.6 route miles.
KIRKLAND BUS LINE ran from Knoxville, Tennessee in the late 1920s Tennessee.
KIRK’S AUTO BUS SERVICE was operating in the mid 1920s out of Salisbury, North Carolina. It was owned and operated by A.B.C. Kirk, who also owned Kirk’s Motor Bus Lines, Inc.
KIRK’S MOTOR BUS LINES, INC. was operating out of Salisbury, North Carolina in the mid 1920s. It served Salisbury, Dukeville and East Spencer, N.C. It was owned and operated by A.B.C. Kirk, who also owned Kirk’s Auto Bus Service.
KLAMATH AUTO STAGE LINE There are two companies listed with this name in 1920s California records. One was located in Yreka, California with W.H. Shackelford and P. Colburn as operators. The second company was located Seiad Valley, California with C.C. Shinar being the registered contact. Since the two locations were 55 miles apart, this may well be the same company with two offices.
KLAMATH-WEED STAGE LINE was operating in the mid 1920s out of Klamath Falls, Oregon. M.R. Rohn was the registered contact.
KLUG BUS SERVICE was founded in 1957 by Lou Klug in Cincinnati, Ohio. It was purchased in 2015 and renamed Queen City Transportation. It runs school buses and charters.
KNOXVILLE TRANSIT LINE In 1938 the Tennessee Coach Company buys Knoxville’s public transportation system and changes its name to Knoxville Transit Lines. In 1967 the company was sold to the City of Knoxville, Tennessee. Its name was changed to Knoxville Transit Corporation. The badge is a single threaded post.
KOKOMO, INDIANAPOLIS TRANSIT LINE ran in Kokomo, Indiana in the mid 1920s.
KOKOMO-MUNCIE TRANSIT COMPANY was a freight company operating in Kokomo, Indian in 1920. In September 1925 it petitioned for a certificate of public convenience to operate a bus line from Kokomo to Muncie, Indian. There is no record of the outcome of that petition or if the company ever operated as an intercity bus company.
KROSS & MILTON BUS LINE ran in 1932 in Clay City, Indiana.
CHARLES KUPPINGER STAGE LINE was operating in the mid 1920s out of Lakeport, California.
BUS COMPANIES BEGINNING WITH THE LETTER “L”
LA CROSSE TRANSIT COMPANY was private company serving the city of La Crosse, Wisconsin. The La Crosse Public Library gives this history: “La Crosse’s first street car company was the La Crosse Street Railway Company, which began service on July 4, 1879. In June 1881, the City Street Railway Company was organized. The two companies merged in 1885 and were then known as the La Crosse City Railway Company. Horse drawn cars were replaced with electric trolley cars in 1890. On February 10, 1913, the Wisconsin Light and Power Company, under the direction of its president, Clement C. Smith, purchased the streetcar lines in La Crosse. The company continued operation of the streetcar lines and changed its name to the Mississippi Valley Public Service Company in 1926. Between the years 1929 and 1945, the Mississippi Valley Public Service Company gradually replaced the streetcars with motorized passenger buses. The company removed old tracks and ties on many streets as buses came into use. Old car barns at 601 N. 3rd Street were remodeled to accommodate the new buses. Ray M. Fey, his sons and Andrew G. Anderson purchased the Mississippi Valley Public Service Company on Jan. 1, 1949, and changed its name to the La Crosse Transportation Company. Privately owned bus companies such as the Mississippi Valley Public Service Company provided bus transportation in the city until 1975. In 1974, the city of La Crosse received a grant to purchase the bus transit system. As of Jan. 2, 1975, the La Crosse Transit Company became a public utility owned by the city of La Crosse.” The badge measures 2″ x 2½” and was made by Fifth Avenue Uniform Co. 19 So. Wells Chicago.
La MESA HEIGHTS STAGE LINE was operating in the mid 1920s out of San Diego, California. C.T. Lang was the registered contact.
L.B.K. LINES, INC. This company was advertising in January 12, 1933 as being formerly the Brownell Brothers, Incorporated. A 1953 newspaper article indicates that the Brownell brothers still controlled the L.B.K. Lines. The line ran between Troy, Waterford, Mechanicville, Stillwater, Schuylerville, Bound Lake, Ballston and Albany, New York. The company was running in the 1950s. (Tuesday July 3, 1928: The Saratoga City Council granted to Clayton and Frank Brownell, operating as the Brownell Brothers, a franchise to operate a bus line from Mechanicville to Saratoga Springs, by way of Ballston Spa.)
LAKE NORCONIAN STAGE LINE was operating in the late 1920s out of Norco, California. Rex B. Clark was the owner.
LAKE COUNTY AUTOMOBILE TRANSPORTATION COMPANY, INC. was operating out of Lakeport, California in the mid 1920s. George S. Held was the manager.
LAKE INDEPENDENCE STAGE was operating in the mid 1920s from Lake Independence via Hobart Mills near the California-Nevada state line. Mrs. G.W. Kenney was the owner/operator.
LAKE SHORE BUS COMPANY There is little to go on here. I found a record from the Public Service Commission of Wisconsin dated Sept. 23, 1937 for Gust H. Dean who was doing business as Lake Shore Bus Company. He was applying to abandon operation as a common motor carrier of passengers between Ashland and Hayward, Wisconsin. There does seem to be a school bus carrier with this name in the 1970s and 1980s. The badge was made by Hookfast, and has two threaded posts and measures 2⅛” x 2 ⅝”.
LAKE SHORE BUS LINE In 1939 John Kanthak, Jr. was the owner and was operating out of Harbor Beach, Michigan. The company ran a route from Harbor Beach to Austin to Bad Axe and Port Huron, Michigan. The company is not listed in the 1946 MTD.
LAKE SHORE BUS LINE City of Buffalo April 13, 1921 “We, the undersigned, who intend to do business under the name of Lake Shore Bus Line, hereby petition Your Honorable Body for a license permitting us to operate a bus line on the route hereinafter described within the limits of the City of Buffalo, New York, to wit: George Oaks, T.J. Lombardo, Joseph Pallatto, Salvatore D’Aurio and Philip Hamm doing business as Lake Shore Bus Line, shall not charge more than 7 cents for one way passage; shall operate at least 4 enclosed motor buses, each motor bus having a seating capacity of not less than twenty (20) passengers, not including the driver . . . to be operated along said route from 5 a.m. to 12 p.m. . . .“
LAKE SHORE BUS LINE of Toronto, Canada was running in 1922 and operating Pierce-Arrow Busses. It is mentioned in the 1927 Toronto city directory.
LAKE SHORE COACH COMPANY, INC. On April 19, 1923, Ohio’s Lake Shore Electric Railway incorporated a subsidiary known as the Lake Shore Coach Company. In his history of the Lake Shore Coach Co., Robert S. Korach writes: “For two years the charter gathered dust in some LSE filing cabinet, but in the summer of 1925 LSE actually got into the bus business. On September 6 of that year it replaced the one-car East Erie line in Lorain with two new White model 50-A buses with Kuhlman bodies. A second-hand 1922 White model 50 Kuhlman body bus was soon purchased as a backup. The buses were driven by motormen and conductors assigned to the South Lorain carbarn. . . . Lake Shore Coach Co. finally stepped out of the filing cabinet and into the spotlight on June 3, 1927 when LSC bought the Cleveland- Lorain-Sandusky Bus Co. and 13 vehicles — some of which were touring cars. Included with the larger vehicles was what could well have been the one-off bus product of the Clydesdale Motor Truck Co. of the hamlet of Clyde, located on the LSE south of Sandusky. . . . The Ohio PUC authorized the acquisition on July 11, 1927 and LSC began service between Cleveland and Sandusky on July 19.“
In August 1937 Lake Shore Coach Company created two new subsidiaries, Lorain Transit Company and Lake Shore Coach Lines, Inc. On May 31, 1939, Lorain Transit and Lake Shore Coach Lines were merged into Lake Shore Coach Company. On September 9, 1943 the company was acquired by Harry W. Arnold, who owned Ohio Rapid Transit, Inc., which was a holding company managing Arnold’s numerous bus companies. After his acquisition, Arnold formed another holding company named Lake Shore System, although Lake Shore Coach Company and the other Arnold companies retained their legal names and properties.
In May 1974 a strike by the company’s 50 drivers and mechanics put the company out of business. Its intercity operations from Columbus to Parkersburg, Wheeling and Chillicothe were taken over by existing Greyhound routes.
LAKE SHORE COACH LINES The history of this company starts on January 1, 1932 when the Detroit Common Council revoked the licence of Detroit Motorbus Company to operate buses in Detroit, Michigan. With their company forced out of business, a group of former Detroit Motorbus Company’s managers formed Lake Shore Coach Lines and acquired their former company’s eastern suburban bus routes along with 20 of its buses. (Starting with 52 buses, another group of former employees formed Dearborn Coach Company on February 18, 1932 to take over their former company’s western suburban routes.) Lake Shore Coach Lines served Harper Woods, St. Clair Shores, and the five Grosse Pointe communities with routes into downtown Detroit. The Michigan Public Utilities Commission approval of the new company became effective on March 24, 1932. (Interestingly, Detroit Transit History.info reports that “. . . by 1934 the company’s original management had been forced out and by 1939 the company was reported to be under the ownership of reputed Mafia Dons [i.e.], a mob boss or crime lord in charge of an organized crime enterprise.” The website goes on to note that “During Lake Shore Coach Lines’ nearly 40 years of operation, the company operated out of the former [Detroit Motorbus Company] Terminal Garage located at 11840 Edlie Street at Terminal (south of E. Jefferson) on Detroit’s east side.” Southeastern Michigan Transportation Authority acquired Lake Shore Coach Lines in 1971.
LAKE SHORE MOTOR COACH LINES was formerly Bamberger Transportation Company. Dale Barrett, who was the general manager of Salt Lake City Lines, bought the company on July 3, 1953 and changed the name to Lake Shore Motor Coach Lines, Inc. In 1954 it was running 15 buses over 76 route miles from Salt Lake City to Ogden. Currently the company runs charters out of Provo, Utah. The badge is a single post example made of nickel.
LAKE SHORE COACH LINES, INC. See LAKE SHORE COACH COMPANY, INC.
LAKE SHORE SYSTEM This company’s history starts in Ohio with a man named Harry W. Arnold, who started buying local city and intercity bus companies beginning in the 1930s. Among his acquisitions was Fairlick Stages in 1936, Lake Shore Coach Co. in 1943, Arcodel System in 1948 and Red Star Way in 1949. By the 1940s Arnold already owned Ohio Rapid Transit Company, Inc., which was a holding company operating out of Newark, Ohio to manage Arnold’s numerous bus companies.
According to info on chicagorailfan.com “Lake Shore Coach Co. operated in area between Cleveland and Toledo and had replaced Lake Shore Electric Railway. Arcodel System had been formed in October 1933, and Red Star Way had been incorporated in 1922. In 1949, Lake Shore Coach Co. routes swapped to Greyhound in exchange for Valley Greyhound Lines routes from Columbus to Chillicothe and Lancaster. In 1958, Lake Shore System name applied to all intercity bus companies. It ceased operations in 1974, with some remaining services integrated into existing Greyhound network.” The badge is a single threaded post example made by Fifth Avenue Uniform Co. 19 So. Wells Chicago.
LAKEPORT-UKIAH MOTOR LINE was operating in the mid 1920s out of Lakeport, California. J.R. Martin was the registered contact.
LAKESHORE TRANSIT RACINE, INC. In 1962 this company succeeded Racine Motor Coach Lines, Inc. operating buses in Racine, Wisconsin. (In 1939 the Milwaukee Electric Railway & Transport Company sold its Racine, Wisconsin routes to Racine Motor Coach Lines, Inc., which had been recently formed. The company was sold in 1947 to Chicago North Shore & Milwaukee Railroad, which continued operating under the Racine Motor Coach Lines name.) In 1962 Racine Motor Coach Lines was sold to Lakeshore Transit Racine, Inc., which operated service under that name. That company discontinued operations in 1968 and Flash City Transit took over bus operations in Racine. In 1975 Flash City Transit was acquired by Belle Urban System —or B.U.S. — and operated under contract by Taylor Enterprises, Inc., which was formed by the owner of Flash City Transit.
LAKEWOOD RAPID TRANSIT began operations in 1937 with service between Lakewood and downtown Cleveland. In 1954, the Cleveland Transit System acquired the Lakewood Rapid Transit Company. There are three different styles of badges. The first badge, at top, was obviously the first issued; it has two threaded posts and an example sold for $50 in 2007. The second badge, below left, was made by the The Excelsior Stamp Works Cleveland. The third style was also made by Excelsior.
LAMPSON STAGE LINE was operating in the mid 1920s in Geyserville, California. Everette Lampson was the owner/operator.
LANG TRANSPORTATION COMPANY/ LANG MOTOR BUS CORPORATION See Long Beach Transportation Company and B.&H. Transportation Company for the history of this company.
LANKERSHIM BOULEVARD-BURBANK MOTOR COACH LINE was operating out Burbank / Los Angeles, California in the late 1920s. The agents were the Auld brothers.
Lansing Suburban Lines (MI) 1959
LAS FLORES-TOPANGA CANYON STAGE LINE was operating in the late 1920s out of Santa Monica, California. Francis Brunner was the agent.
LAS VEGAS-TONOPAH & RENO STAGE LINES was operating out of Reno, Nevada’s Union Stage Depot in 1940.
LAUREL CANYON STAGE was operating in the mid 1920s out of Los Angeles, California. L.J. Sommer was the registered contact.
LAUREL VALLEY LINES was a bus company in Connellsville, PA. They were advertising in the Daily Courier newspaper in Nov. 1970. The badge has two threaded posts.
LAWNDALE BUS COMPANY / HUNT BUS LINE In the North Carolina Utilities Commission report for 1945-46, the Lawndale Bus Company held Certificate No. 549 and was owned by O. S. Hunt (Orphas Sherill Hunt, 1905-1996). Passenger routes were as follows: “Beginning at Lawndale; thence over an unnumbered highway to Caesar; thence over Highway No. 10 to Polkville; from Polkville over Highway No. 26 to Owen’s Service Station; thence over an unnumbered Highway to Double Shoals; thence back to Owen’s Service Station; thence down Highway No. 26 to Shelby from Shelby over Highway No. 18 to Fallston; from Fallston over Highway No. 180 to Lawndale.” In the 1952 MTD the company had been renamed by O. S. Hunt as Hunt Bus Line. In 1954 the company was running 6 buses over 60 route miles. Two years later, it was running 5 buses over 50 route miles. In 1964 the company was still in business. See entry for Hunt Bus Line for a badge photo issued by Hunt Bus Line.
LAWTON–FT. SILL BUS CO. This was a private company that began service in Lawton, Oklahoma in 1952 after the Lawton Railway & Lighting Co. discontinued streetcar service. The badge has two threaded posts.
LAYTONVILLE STAGE LINE was operating in the mid 1920s from Laytonville, California. Samuel Pinches was the owner and A. Harwood was the manager. (Harwood ran his own stage line— A. Harwood Stage Line—in conjunction with Laytonville Stages.)
LE BLANC & TAYLOR BUS LINE / ROBERT LE BLANC BUS LINE This company was founded by Robert Le Blanc and a partner named Taylor. It was operating in the late 1920s from Kalispell, Montana to Whitefish, Montana. By the mid 1930s the company was called Robert Le Blanc Whitefish-Kalispell Bus Line. The company was still in business in 1945, but seems to have disappeared after that date.
LEA BUS LINES was operating in the early 1940s out of Springfield, Missouri.
LEAKSVILLE-DANVILLE BUS LINE was operating in the mid 1920s from Leaksville, North Carolina to State Line on route to Danville, Virginia.
LEAKSVILLE-REIDSVILLE BUS LINE was operating in the mid 1920s from Spray, North Carolina.
LEAVENWORTH TRANSIT, INC. I could find nothing much on this company, other than it being mentioned in The Leavenworth Times, which was the daily newspaper published in Leavenworth, Kansas. The badge measures 2 ½” x 2 ¼”and has two threaded posts.
LEAVENWORTH TRANSPORTATION COMPANY I believe this was the Kansas City & Leavenworth Transportation Company, which issued tokens under the name “Leavenworth Transportation Co”. The company was formed in April 1938 and took over from the Kansas City, Leavenworth& Western Transportation Co., which ran streetcars. It is mentioned as one of the bus companies that used the Union Bus Terminal, 917 McGee St. in Kansas City in the 1940s. The badge measures 2½” x 2½” was made by “FIFTH AVENUE UNIFORM COMPANY 19 SO WELLS CHICAGO” and has one threaded post.
LEBANON-LANCASTER MOTOR COACH CO. This company was in business in Lebanon, Pennsylvania during the 1930s. The badge has a single threaded post.
LEE COACH LINE / LEE’S COACH LINE This company was operating in the 1930s in Florida and was founded, owned and operated by A. W. Lee. In July 1935 R. S. Coleman, who owned Coleman Motor Lines, appeared before the Florida Railroad Commission requesting that his certificate operation (operating between Tallahassee, East Point and Apalachicola over Road No. 10) be transferred to Lee Coach Lines. The request was approved. The 1936 Russell’s Sectional Bus Guide for Georgia-Florida shows Lee Coach Lines operated out of Marianna, Florida and served Marianna, Altha, Blountstown, Wewahitchka, Port St. Joe, Panama City and Apalachicola, Florida. In 1946 the company was operating 25 buses. Jon Hobijn, in his Trailways history, writes that Georgia Stages, Inc. purchased St. Andrews Bay Transportation Company in 1944, and that company had “acquired Lee’s Coach Line who ran from Tallahassee to Panama City via Blountstown and also by Apalachicola.” However, the 1946-47 MTD shows that the company was still owned and operated by A. W. Lee. I will leave it to the reader to make his/her own conclusion.
LEE’S AUTO STAGE LINE was operating in the mid 1920s out of San Bernardino, California. W.D. Lee was the owner.
LEGGETT BROTHERS STAGE COMPANY was operating a 20-mile route between Powers and Myrtle Point, Oregon in 1923.
LEHIGH VALLEY TRANSIT COMPANY This company’s origins begin in 1893 in Allentown, Pennsylvania when investor Albert Johnson combined a group of local streetcar lines into one company named the Allentown and Lehigh Valley Traction Company. Over the next several years Johnson continued to acquire local streetcar companies and, by 1901, placed them all under his newly-formed Philadelphia and Lehigh Valley Traction Company. By 1903 Johnson was dead and his company was in receivership. (Receivership: a court ordered plan wherein interest payments on bonds are suspended to allow a company to have the cash to continue to operate so eventually it will have enough income to resume payments on bonds.) In 1905, the assets of the Philadelphia and Lehigh Valley Traction Company were acquired by a new corporate entity: the Lehigh Valley Transit Company. In 1951 the company ended its 36-mile interurban rail service from Allentown to Philadelphia. In 1952 it ended its trolley service in Allentown. The company’s bus service continued in Allentown, Bethlehem and Easton, Pennsylvania until ceasing operations in 1972. At some point before the company’s demise, North Penn Bus Line took over some of the former Lehigh Valley Transit bus routes. The oval shaped badge is made of nickel-plated brass, is a pin back, measures 1⅞” x 1¼” and is marked GRAMMES ALLENTOWN PA.
LEICESTER BUS LINE was operating in the mid 1940s by Glenn Ray who purchased the operating rights from C. D. Noblett. (This may have been the same line as the Ashville-Leicester Bus Line which was operating out of Ashville, North Carolina in 1939.) The line ran out of Asheville, North Carolina. Routes: Between Leicester over County Home Road, Emma Road to Asheville city limits; thence with West Haywood to destination on Patton Avenue, Highway No. 63. Amended in 1946 to indued between Asheville, N. C. and the foot of Pisgah Mountain over Sand Hill and Pisgah Roads via Enka.
LEISTER BUS SERVICE seems to have been a one-man operation founded by Harvey D. Leister in Pleasant Valley, Maryland in the early 1930s. The service was strictly a charter service, which is notable in the few surviving newspaper ads, such as this one from June 22, 1949 in The Evening Sun from Hanover, Pennsylvania advertising “Teen Age Dances” in Westminster, Maryland: “At 7:30 P.M., Leister’s Bus will leave Union Street at Pennsylvania Avenue, to the Forks and continue out Main street to the Post Home.—FARES, 10¢” (Hanover was about 25 miles away from Pleasant Valley, and was apparently the area’s main news source.) Harvey D. Leister’s newspaper ad appeard in July 1950; he died June 12, 1951 in a Baltimore hospital at the age of 51: “He was a long-time operator of a chartered bus line service out of Pleasant Valley . . . ” The badge pictured here is likely unique.
LEMOORE MURRAY AUTO STAGE was operating in the mid 1920s out of Lemoore, California. John H. Heriford was the registered contact.
LEPPERT BUS LINES was founded by James W. Leppert (1904-1957) in Seymour, Indiana in 1927. He ran a route between Seymour and Salem until 1937. In 1932 he bought the city bus lines from the Public Service Company in Columbus, Indiana and established the Leppert Bus Lines of Columbus. Leppert Lines also operated in Peru, Wabash and Jeffersonville. In 1957 the company was operating in Columbus and Bloomington. (Leppert also ran the Columbus-Bloomberg Bus Lines from 1920 until 1932.) The badge is made of nickel-plated metal with one threaded post and measures 2⅝”.
LEVITTOWN BUS CORPORATION was a company that served Hempstead, Farmingdale, Hicksville, and Levittown in Nassau Co., New York. It was not listed in the 1954 MTD.
C.W. LEWIS AUTO TRUCK & STAGE LINE was operating in the mid 1920s out of Etna Mills, California. It was owned and operated by C. W. Lewis.
LEWIS HICKMAN, JR. BUS COMPANY By 1913 Lewis M. Hickman (1873 – 1944), the father of Lewis Hickman, Jr., was operating an auto-bus line from West Chester, Pennsylvania. This information was gleaned from the October 25, 1913 edition of The News Journal from Wilmington, Delaware (some 17 miles from West Chester): “Thrown From Car on the Concord Pike. Turning turtle, on the Concord turnpike near the Dutton farm, an automobile owned by Lewis M. Hickman of West Chester, Pa., was completely demolished. The chauffeur, Wesley Winans, who was driving, was thrown clear of the machine and escaped injury. He had taken a passenger to The Orchards. On the return trip he started at a rapid rate and on reaching the Dutton farm he turned the machine rapidly to let a team pass.” As to Lewis Hickman, Jr. (1904-1988), according to the October 27, 1945 edition of the Daily Local News, from West Chester, “Lewis Hickman, Jr. began transporting school children in 1920 near West Chester, Pennsylvania. He went on to build this into a charter bus company that operated until after World War II.” There is a problem with this reporting: Lewis Hickman, Jr. was born in September 1904, meaning he would have been around 15-16 years old in 1920. Since Pennsylvania had required all drivers have a valid drivers license beginning in 1909, and the absolute minimum age for obtaining a license was 18 years of age—with no exceptions—then Lewis, Jr. could not have been driving a school bus in 1920. It would seem that the Lewis Hickman who began transporting school children back in 1920 was Lewis, Sr. (who was already operating an autobus), and the Lewis Hickman who developed the company into a charter business was his son. In a separate article, the same local paper cited above offered more details: “Lewis Hickman Jr. operated a charter bus company from a garage located at Franklin and Washington Streets in 1945. He had been in the business of hauling school children since 1920. In 1945, he employed 18 drivers, both men and women.” The part about his employing 18 drivers is interesting in light of the March 11, 1943 edition of The Morning News from Wilmington, Delaware, in which Lewis Hickman ran this ad: “Notices 2 BUSES FOR HIRE LEWIS HICKMAN, JR. BUS COMPANY”. In 1945 Mr. Hickman was advertising he operated from Wilmington, Delaware to Philadelphia, Pennsylvania. In December 1945 Mr. Hickman was advertising: “BUSES TO HIRE By Day, Week or Mile LEWIS HICKMAN, JR. BUS CO. West Chester, Phone 1-4110.” As noted in the above article, sometime after World War II the Lewis Hickman, Jr. Bus Company ceased operations. It is not mentioned in any edition of the MTD. The badge is die-pressed, a pin & swivel clasp type that measures 2″ x 1¼” and is made of sterling silver.
LEWISTON-MINERSVILLE STAGE was operating in the mid 1920s out of Lewiston, California. Henrietta P. Conner was the owner.
LEWISTOWN TRANSPORTATION COMPANY / LEWISTOWN & REEDSVILLE ELECTRIC RAILWAY COMPANY The history of this company begins in 1923, when (according to the September 28, 1923 edition of the Harrisburg Telegraph, from Harrisburg, Pennsylvania) the Pennsylvania Public Service Commission heard a petition by the “Lewistown and Reedsville Traction Company has asked the commission to grant a similar certificate to the Lewistown Transportation Company [Lewistown ad Reedsville Electric Railway Co.] which will be a subsidiary of the former concern. The request is made for the purpose of operating buses on streets in Reedsville and adjacent towns where the construction of new tracks is unwarranted.” The petition was granted and the Lewistown Transportation Company was born. In 1945 the company was operating 34 buses over 53 route miles in local and suburban Lewistown, Pennsylvania. It served Lewistown, Burnham, Yeagertown, Reedsville, Juniata Terrace, Granville, McVeytown, Mt. Rock, Maitland, Lake Park and Strodes (“Successors to Lewistown ad Reedsville Electric Railway Co.”) The badge shown below is rather small in comparison to other badges of the day. It is made of nickel-plated brass, has a pin clasp and measures approx. 1⅞” x 1¼”.
LEWISVILLE BUS LINE ran in the late 1920s from Knoxville to Newport, Tennessee.
LEYDEN MOTOR COACH COMPANY was originally named River Forest-North West Motor Coach Company, which started business in 1926 in Franklin Park, a suburb of Chicago, Illinois. By 1930 the company was named Leyden Motor Coach Company. In 1931 it took over local street routes from Wilcox Transportation Company, which had gone out of business. The company was operating in 1954 with 34 buses. In 1963, West Towns Bus Co. acquired Leyden Motor Coach Co. The badge is a single threaded post and was made by FIFTH AVENUE UNIFORM COMPANY 19 SO. WELLS CHICAGO.
LIBERTY BUS LINE The Railroad Commission of California granted Sunset Surety Company a certificate to operate a passenger bus service between San Diego, California and Camp Kearny on November 24, 1917. The buses were ten six-cylinder fifty-horsepower Studebaker auto busses, having a seating capacity of sixteen passengers and were operated under the name of Liberty Bus Line. In 1927 the company was operated by R.W. Brannon.
LIBERTY BUS TRANSPORTATION CORPORATION, INC. ran 12 BUSES in the borough of Queens in New York City. It started in 1933 and operated on Woodhaven Blvd-Howard Beach before it was taken over by Green Bus Lines.
LIBERTY LINES TRANSIT, INC. operates the Bee-Line Bus System of Westchester County, New York. The company’s headquarters are located in Yonkers, New York. Liberty Lines began in 1953 with four vehicles. Through mergers, acquisitions and expansion, it has grown into into one of the largest privately-owned transportation companies in New York State. The company currently operates 330 vehicles, though many of these are owned by Westchester County. Liberty Lines carries 30 million passengers annually over 10 million miles. The company has about 690 employees. The badge is a pin back.
LIBERTY TRANSIT COMPANY was operating a city bus line in Anderson, Indiana in the early 1920s. In May 1925 it petitioned to expand its routes in the city. It was last mentioned in June 1938 when it took delivery of a new bus.
LICENSED COACH OPERATOR This is a generic badge—the type often used by small one-man operations. This die-pressed badge came from California, and measures 2¾” x 2½”. It is marked on the back “Crown Body Los Angeles”.
LIEDERBACH BUS COMPANY, INC. was incorporated in Minnesota in 1933 as an intercity operation. Liederbach also owned the Sioux Limited Lines, which was an interstate operation. Both companies were headquartered in Minneapolis, Minnesota. In the 1930s Liederbach Bus Company transported passengers from the Minnesota State Line at Hudson to the Illinois State Line; Minnesota from Illinois State Line via Marshfield, Oshkosh and Fond du Lac. In 1946 the company was operating 12 buses over 1166 route miles. In 1952 the Zephyr Lines acquired the Liederbach Bus Company.
LINCOLN PARK COACH COMPANY / LINCOLN PARK COACH LINE / LINCOLN PARK BUS COMPANY Lincoln Park, Michigan borders the cities of Detroit, Allen Park, Melvindale, Ecorse, Wyandotte, and Southgate. In 1925 Lincoln Park Coach Line began the town’s first bus service. (This company had its origins as a jitney operation dating to 1921.) Lincoln Park Coach Line went out of business in 1927 and was replaced two years later by a new company named Lincoln Park Bus Company. In 1933, this company was acquired by Dearborn Coach Company, which operated it as a subsidiary renamed Lincoln Park Coach Company. The background on this takeover starts on January 1, 1932 when the Detroit Common Council revoked the licence of Detroit Motorbus Company to operate buses in Detroit, Michigan. With their company forced out of business, a group of former Detroit Motorbus Company’s managers formed Lake Shore Coach Lines and acquired their former company’s eastern suburban bus routes. Starting with 52 buses, another group of former employees formed Dearborn Coach Company on February 18, 1932 to take over their former company’s western suburban routes. In 1933 Dearborn Coach Company took over Lincoln Park Bus Company, which it renamed Lincoln Park Coach Company. In 1946 new owners took over Dearborn Coach Company, and operated 132 buses over 222 route miles. In October 1950 the company, and its subsidiary, Lincoln Park Coach Company, were renamed Intertown Suburban Lines Corporation. (See Intertown Suburban Lines, Corporation for more information.)
LINCOLN TRAILS SYSTEM / LINCOLN TRAILWAYS Lincoln Trails System was an interstate company operating in Illinois, Indiana, Ohio, Pennsylvania, Maryland, D.C., New York and Massachusetts. The company joined the National Trailways Bus System in 1937 running 510 route miles. The 1939 Russell’s Guide shows Lincoln Trailways located at 441 East Ohio Street, Chicago, Illinois, with J. B. Wallace the general manager. At that time it served Chicago, Valpraiso and Fort Wayne, Indiana; Lima, Marion, Columbus, Zanesville, Cambridge and Wheeling, Ohio; Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, Baltimore, Maryland, Washington, D.C., Philadelphia, Pennsylvania, New York and Boston, Massachusetts. One source says the company operated until the 1940s. It is not listed in the 1940, 1941, 1946 or 1947 MTD.
LINCOLN TRANSIT COMPANY was in business by 1934 when it had an office located at 203 West 41st St. New York, New York. The company operated a commuter bus service from Atlantic City, New Jersey into New York City. In 1954 the company was operating 23 buses. It was still in business in February 1975 when a driver’s strike affected 4,000 daily commuters. There are two known badges: the oldest has single threaded post, is made of nickel and measures 2″; the second badge has a single threaded post and dates from the late 1960s-early 1970s.
LINCOLNTON BUS COMPANY was operated by J.R. Lewis out of Asheville, North Carolina in the 1940s. It ran between Gastonia and Lincolnton.
LINDEN COACH CORPORATION ran in 1933 in Queens, New York City on Linden Ave.
LINDENHURST BUS COMPANY was an affiliated company of Inter-County Motor Coach, Inc. on Long Island, N.Y. It operated from 1952 to 1986, and was running under contract with Suffolk County Transit.
LINNTON TRANSIT COMPANY Sherman Lovell and W. E. Young recieved a franchise in 1922 to operate buses between Linnton and Portland, Oregon. In 1924 they formed the Astoria Transit Company and secured a bid to run the city bus service. The company started with six 25-passenger Mack buses in June 1924. Two days later the streetcars stopped running in Astoria.
LIPTON’S BEE LINE was based in Kingston, New York. It was charter bus company doing business in the early 1950s. It is mentioned in August 1960 as having bid on a school contract to transport children in Rhinebeck, New York. In February 1970 the company was sold to the Eagle Bus Line, Inc. of Ellenville, New York.
LISHMAN COACH LINES, LTD. This company had its beginnings in 1916 when Arthur Lishman started a small service between Hamilton and Cayuga, Ontario, Canada, where the family lived for a time: “That early service developed after folks in Cayuga asked Arthur if he could give them a lift to Hamilton in the vehicle he used to deliver small parcels and freight. This set Arthur to thinking of new ways to make money, starting by bolting a couple of benches to the open back of his Model T delivery vehicle. Nice in summer, a bit frosty in winter so Arthur hooked up the exhaust fan from the engine to keep his passengers from turning into popsicles and with this, he had inadvertently launched what would become Lishman Coach lines. . . . Arthur sold that first business to Canada Coach Lines, moved the family to Elmira in 1928 and started a new bus service between Elmira and Kitchener.” (Arthur’s son Nelles, who would one day take over the business, recalled that his father built their own buses back then—with Nelles sewing the seat cushions.) The business moved to Kitchener in the late 1930s. Nelles Lishman and brother Ross Lishman took over the company in 1949. (Arthur Lishman died in 1949.) In 1974 Lishman Coach Lines merged with two other bus companies to become United Trails, Inc. At the time Lishman Coach Lines, Ltd. was serving the Waterloo Region, and Brantford, Guelph, Elora, Fergus, Acton and Milton.(In 1979 the Lishman brothers retired from the transportation industry. Nelles Lishman died in 2013 at age 96 years. Ross Lishman died in 1978 at age 62.) United Trails Incorporated ran from 1975 until 1997. The badge is made of solid brass, has two threaded posts and measures approx. 2½” x 2½”; the red enamel is not part of the original badge and was added at a later time.
LITCHFIELD-STANDISH STAGE LINE was operating in the mid 1920s out of Standish, California. Charles Bouchard was the registered contact.
LIVERMORE & ARROYO SANITARIUM STAGE COMPANY was operating in the mid 1920s out of Oakland, California.
LIVERMORE VALLEY STAGES was operating in the late 1920s out of Livermore, California. A. W. Schmitt was the agent.
LLOYD’S EL CAJON STAGE was operating in the mid 1920s out of El Cajon, California and ran between El Canjon to San Diego.
LLOYD’S TRANSPORTATION COMPANY was operating in the last 1910s and mid 1920s out of Santa Barbara, California. It was owned by A.A. Lloyd, who leased a four story building in Santa Barbara to use as a stage depot. It was managed by A. Spreitz.
LOCKPORT BUS LINES was founded in the city of Lockport, New York on December 20, 1936 by Ralph Weeks. It succeeded the International Bus Corporation of Buffalo. In addition to city service, it began an interurban route in 1940 by operating a route between Lockport and North Tonawanda and Lockport and Buffalo. Ralph Weeks sold the company to his son, Roger Weeks, in 1960. By 1962 the company was running 13 round trips daily between Lockport and Buffalo. The company lasted until March 15, 1975 when it was absorbed into the Niagara Frontier Transportation Authority, after being purchased for the amount of $103,000. The badge is die-pressed nickel plated brass with a singled threaded post and measures 2⅝” x 1¾”.
LOGAN AUTO TOURS operated a passenger motor bus line from Denver to various scenic points in Colorado in 1927.
LONE EAGLE COACH CO PARIS TO MT PLEASANT These two towns are in Tennessee and apparently this coach line ran between the two, which is a distance of 110 miles. That is all the information I could locate. I would guess that the company was around a long time ago, based on the badge style. The badge is a pin back and measures approx. 2″.
LONE PINE & KEELER AUTO STAGE LINE was operating in the mid 1920s out of Lone Pine, California. G.F. Marsh was the registered contact.
LONE STAR BUS LINE was incorporated in 1927 (running in Texas) along with Old Spanish Trail Bus Line (running in New Mexico) as the Bowen Motor Coach Company. (See that entry for more information.)
LONE STAR COACH LINE ran in the late 1920s serving LaFayette, Hartsville, Gallatin to Nashville, Tennessee.
LONE TRAIL BUS LINE, INC. was operating out of Walnut, North Carolina in the mid 1920s. It ran from Asheville, N. C, to Tenn.-N. C. State Line on route to Johnson City, Tenn., Highways Nos. 20 and 29.
LONG BEACH BUS COMPANY and LONG BEACH RAILWAY COMPANY was formed by Sen. William Reynolds in the 1910s. In 1926 Frank Frankel bought both companies for $200,000. In 1946 the company was incorporated and was operating out of Rockville Centre running 15 buses over 40 miles. The company was operated by Bee Line, Inc.
LONG BEACH CITY LINES, INC. See Long Beach Transportation Company.
LONG BEACH MOTOR BUS COMPANY See Long Beach Transportation Company.
LONG BEACH PUBLIC TRANSPORTATION COMPANY See Long Beach Transportation Company.
LONG BEACH TRANSPORTATION COMPANY James Nicholas Stroup, in his University of California at Riverside theses “Jitneys, Buses, and Public Transportation in Twentieth Century Los Angeles” (2015), writes “Pacific Electric lost its exclusive transportation rights and in November, 1916 the City of Long Beach awarded a franchise to a group of independent jitney operators who banded together to form the Long Beach Transportation Company. A 10-year contract allowed automobiles to provide the public transportation needs along Ocean Avenue and beyond.” The company’s prosperity was such that by the early 1920s its buses were transporting more than 4 million riders annually with a profit of $200,000 each year. With that kind of profit margin (equivalent to approx $2,600,000 in 2018 dollars), the greed factor took hold. Stroup writes: “In light of this profit, in 1926 the City of Long Beach seriously considered operating the bus system itself by purchasing Long Beach Transportation Company’s equipment with an $850,000 bond, but instead opted to grant a new bus franchise to Pacific Electric on the terms of a citywide 7-cent bus fare with transfer rights onto P.E. streetcars throughout Los Angeles County. Pacific Electric operated the buses in Long Beach with a renegotiated fare of 5 cents until 1940, when the Lang Transportation Company took over with a contingent of 90 buses to completely replace P.E. equipment in Long Beach, including the few remaining streetcar lines, which were torn up and re-deeded to the city.” The December 17, 1926 edition of the Los Angeles Times gives more insight: “Dec. 16. Some forty-four busses and equipment owned by the Long Beach Transportation Company, and operated for several years on the Atlantic-avenue and Fourth-street lines, were taken over today by the B. & H. Transportation Company, operators of several other bus lines in various parts of the city. The franchise of the Long Beach Transportation Company expired last midnight and was not renewed by the city. The new owners will operate the lines, with others, under special permits from the Council. Unless organized opposition develops and a referendum is demanded on the action of the Council last Friday, which voted to accept a city-wide transportation system offered by the Pacific Electric Company at a fare rate of seven cents and universal transfers, none but the busses and the street cars of the traction company will be in evidence In Long Beach soon after the first of the new year.” Because it still had 9 years left on its 15 year franchise with the city of Long Beach, the city’s other bus line, the B. & H. Transportation Company, was not caught up in this naked greed by the city fathers. (B.&H. had been operating on routes not covered by the Long Beach Transportation Company.)
At this point there is conflicting information about the next phase of transit service. According to Stroup’s theses, the city council granted their transit franchise to Pacific Electric Company, for which he cites newspaper articles of the period: the September 12, 1926 edition of the Los Angeles Times: “City May Buy Auto Bus Line,”F10; “Becoming Socialistic,” from the November 16, 1926 edition of the Los Angeles Times, I2; “Long Beach in Row on Busses,” from the December 11, 1926 edition of the Los Angeles Times, A5; and “Long Beach Will Get New Buses,” from the January 11 1940 edition of the Los Angeles Times,7. However, according to a history posted on Long Beach Transit’s website, the city council said “no thanks” to Pacific Electric. Instead its members went with an offer from Mike Lang, owner of Lang Transportation Company, which included Lang taking over B.&H. Transportation Company. (Based in Los Angeles, at that time Lang was one of California’s largest freight haulers.) According to the LBT’s history the offer was approved on September 30, 1927 and Lang started service on November 7 covering all the former routes of both Long Beach Transportation Company and B.&H.Transportation Company. In addition to operating buses under the Lang Transportation Company name, Lang also formed a subsidiary named Long Beach Motor Bus Company, which ran routes to Redondo Beach and Santa Monica from Long Beach.
The certainty is that Lang Transportation Company did take over B.&H. Transportation Company and its routes in 1926—including the equipment B.&H. had bought from the defunct Long Beach Transportation Company. It would seem that Long Beach Transit’s history may be confusing Lang’s 1926-1927 purchase of B.&H. with the entire bus system in Long Beach. Also, the LBT history doesn’t mention the greed of the Long Beach City Council, which was reported in the May 8, 1923 edition of the Los Angeles Times, article “Jitney Crisis in Long Beach”; “Long Beach Line Pays Huge Sum in Revenue”; instead, the LBT history says that the Long Beach Transportation Company’s lease was expiring and the company didn’t want to continue—which is highly unlikely since the company had posted record profits! Even more confusing in the LBT history is this statement: “After several years of negotiations, PE finally came to terms with Lang to sell all its Long Beach lines, remove the track, and convey its middle-of-the-street right of way to the city. By January 1940, Lang had taken over all the routes formerly run by Pacific Electric and had ordered 37 new buses to replace the PE streetcars. A year later, in February, 1941, Lang renewed its franchise for total city-wide service for another 12 ½ years.” The LBT history fails to explain Pacific Electric Company’s Long Beach service from 1926 until 1940 in its historical outline. In other words, Pacific Electric was operating a transit service in Long Beach and Lang Transportation Company didn’t gain control of all city routes until 1940, which is what Stroup stated in his theses! (This history is also backed by the Atwood-Coffee Catalogue‘s entry on Long Beach tokens.)
At any rate, the 1940 edition of MTD lists Lang Motor Bus Corporation as serving the city of Long Beach, with 86 buses operating over 101 route miles and Mike Lang as president of the company. As noted above, in February 1941 Lang renewed its franchise, which included city-wide service, for 12 ½ years. In June 1946 the company was sold to the infamous National City Lines for more than a million dollars. Under National City’s control, the routes inside of Long Beach were run by Long Beach City Lines, Inc., while those outside the city continued under Long Beach Motor Bus Company. Service began on July 1, 1946; the 1946 edition of MTD notes the company was running 147 buses over 168.5 route miles, with National City Lines as the holding company, E. Roy Fitzgerald president; however, the company name was still listed as Lang Motor Bus Corporation. In 1954, Long Beach City Lines, Inc. was operating 124 buses over 168.5 route miles. (Long Beach Motor Bus Company’s routes were included in those numbers.)
On March 15, 1963 Long Beach voters approved the formation of Long Beach Public Transportation Company. On Friday, August 30, 1963 the Long Beach City Lines and the Long Beach Motor Company were sold to Long Beach Public Transportation Company for $900,000. That company would become known as Long Beach Transit. The Long Beach City Transit badge measures approx. 3″ x 2 ½” and was made by made by Greenduck Co. Chicago. The Long Beach Public Transportation badge is a pin back example hallmarked “ENTENMANN LOS ANGELES I5″ with the badge number stamped on the back; it measures approx. 2″ x 2¼”.
LONG BEACH TRANSIT See Long Beach Transportation Company.
LONG BRANCH-KEANSBURG BUS COMPANY was running in the 1960s and was connected to the New York-Keansburg Bus Company, Inc. It appears to have been a school bus contractor, as the only record I find is from 1965 and mentions driver Frank Morris of West Keansburg, who was nominated for a safe driving award by 14 fifth grade pupils at Bayview School. (See New York-Keansburg Bus Company, Inc. for more information.)
LONG ISLAND BUS SERVICE From their website: “The Long Island Bus Service excels in transporting people short distances, within the cities and between their homes and Rail Road Stations. It is somewhat a part of the New York Metropolitan Transportation Authority for bus service throughout Nassau County and some stops along the western border of Suffolk County, and the eastern border of Queens on Long Island, New York. Long Island Bus provides convenient service to people who live or work in nearly 100 Long Island communities who board on buses and arrive at their destinations safely and comfortably.
“The Long Island Bus was founded in 1973 under the name Metropolitan Suburban Bus Authority by the combination of ten privately-chartered bus companies, including Bee-Line, Inc. (founded 1922) and its subsidiaries, Rockville Centre Bus Corp. (started 1927) Utilities Lines, Inc., (started 1926, under Bee Line since 1952), and Stage Coach Lines; Schenck Transportation Co (originally a Great Neck livery stable), Semke Bus Line, (started 1918) Jerusalem Ave Bus Line, Hempstead Bus Corp (started 1926), Roosevelt Bus Line, Branch Bus Corp. (started 1949), and Hendrickson Bus Corp. (started 1949, its only route from Glen Cove to Oyster Bay has been abandoned, but the name Hendrickson survives today as a charter carrier) Nassau Bus Line and Universal Auto Bus (organized 1921) had been acquired by Schenck in the 1960’s, Checker Bus Corp. had been reformulated into Stage Coach Lines in the 1960’s. Star Bus became Mid-Island Transit in 1966, and then became part of Stage Coach Lines.“
LOOKOUT MOUNTAIN & CICKAMAUGA SIGHTSEEING COMPANY began operations in June 1911 and was running in the late 1920s from Hamilton County, Tennessee.
Lorain City Lines (OH) 1959
LORAIN TRANSIT COMPANY See LAKE SHORE COACH COMPANY, INC.
LOS ANGELES METROPOLITAN TRANSIT AUTHORITY / MTA The Los Angeles Metropolitan Transit Authority (sometimes referred to as LAMTA or MTA I) was a public agency formed in 1951. During the MTA’s tenure, the last remaining rail transit lines in Los Angeles were abandoned and replaced with bus service, the last former Pacific Electric line in April 1961, and the last former Los Angeles Railway lines in 1963. The agency was taken over by the Southern California Rapid Transit District (RTD) on November 5, 1964. In turn, the RTD was merged into the Los Angeles County Metropolitan Transportation Authority in 1993. (This agency is often referred to as MTA II.) To date, I’ve yet to find a traditional metal MTA badge, however the company did issue 1¾” driver badges made of tin, paper and plastic. The MTA also issued gold-filled and solid 10k gold service pins.
LOS ANGELES MOTOR BUS COMPANY / LOS ANGELES MOTOR COACH COMPANY Los Angeles Motor Bus Company began operations in Los Angeles, California on August 1, 1923 as a joint venture between the Los Angles Railway Company and Pacific Electric Railway Company. The company was headquartered in the Pacific Electric Building, Los Angeles. On November 1, 1927 the name was changed to Los Angeles Motor Coach Company. Frank Van Vranken was the first general manager. The company was succeeded by Los Angeles Transit Lines in 1949.
LOS ANGELES PACIFIC COMPANY BALLOON ROUTE The following information was gleaned from the Electrical Railway Historical Association of Southern California, which in turn uses info from the October 30, 1909 issue of the Electric Railway Journal: “The Los Angeles Pacific Company is one of the large interurban electric properties on the Pacific Coast owned by the Harriman interests. It operates between Los Angeles, Hollywood, Colegrove, Sherman, Sawtelle, Soldiers’ Home, Port Los Angeles, Santa Monica, Ocean Park, Venice, Palms, Playa del Rey, Hermosa Beach, Redondo Beach and intermediate stations in California. This Road does a general passenger and freight business and also operates an express and mail service. The passenger business consists principally of an interurban traffic between Los Angeles and the above-mentioned towns and cities. Local passenger traffic in Los Angeles and the other cities served is an important item but does not compare in volume with the interurban traffic.”
“The Balloon Route Trolley Trip was the most famous trolley trip in the west. In its day, few tourists to Los Angeles missed riding the Balloon Route cars, chiefly because of the strenuous efforts of the man who, more than any other, was responsible for the remarkable run of public favor this trolley trip enjoyed. That man is Mr. C.M. Pierce, in his ninetieth year as this is being written (November, 1955) and still very active and in excellent health. The Pacific Electric Railway would later become part of the history of the Balloon Route Excursion. The route ran Santa Monica, Hollywood, Laurel Canon, Playa Del Rey, Santa Monica Canon, Sawtelle, Ocean Park, Colegrove, Sherman, Soldier’s Home, Brentwood Park, Palms, Venice, Hermosa Beach, Redondo Beach, Manhattan Beach, Westgate, Port Los Angeles.” The badge is extremely rare! It measures 2 ½” x 2″, has a pin and clasp fastener and is marked “PETTIBONE BRO. M.F.G. Co. CIN. O.”
LOS ANGELES RAILWAY COMPANY / LARy / LOS ANGELES RAILWAY MOTOR COACH / LOS ANGELES TRANSIT LINES According to the Metro Library and Archive Los Angeles Railway ran from 1895 until 1945 and is remember as operating the famous Yellow Cars of Los Angeles. The company’s streetcars were a familiar sight running down the center of LA streets from downtown to neighborhoods in about a six mile radius of downtown. There were about 642 miles of track at its peak in 1924. Henry E. Huntington ran the system until his death in 1927. In addition to streetcars, the company also operated buses under its subsidiary the Los Angeles Railway Motor Coach Company. These buses offered connects to the company’s Yellow Cars. The Huntington Estate later sold LARy to Los Angeles Transit Lines in 1945 to National City Lines, which operated the system as Los Angeles Transit Lines. In 1958 Los Angeles City Lines was taken over by the Los Angeles Metropolitan Transit Authority (MTA). The MTA ran trolley buses from 1947 and regular buses. It discontinued streetcars and trolley buses in 1963. In 1963 the MTA was changed into Southern California Rapid Transit District (RTD), which ran until 1993.
Los Angeles Railway Company badges are rare. Below is an example for a conductor made by Chipron Stamp Company in Los Angeles. It is made of nickel with a pin back.
There are several badge styles for Los Angeles Railway Motor Coach; typically the badges have two threaded posts and are marked “AMERICAN RAILWAY SUPPLY N. Y.” They measure approx. 2″ x 2″ with the supervisor badge measures approx. 2″ x 3″.
Los Angeles Transit Lines is one of those much-sought-after transit badges by collectors of all kinds. Their appearance at auction always excites a lot of interests and you “ain’t gonna” get this one cheap, unless someone ignorant of its value offers it as a “buy it now” for $25! The badge has two threaded posts, measures 2½” x 3″ and has hallmarks for Greenduck Co. Chicago. It has enamel that reflects the livery/color of the company’s streetcars and buses. The second photo below is of safety award pins given by Los Angeles Transit Lines.
ALSO SEE: METROPOLITAN COACH LINES
LOS ANGELES TRANSIT LINES (See the above entry for Los Angeles Railway.)
LOS ANGELES-TRONA STAGES, INC. was operating in the 1920s from Los Angeles, California to Trona, California. James R. Proper was the owner. In 1956 the company was operating 26 buses and served Los Angeles, Trona, Mojave, Muroc, Beechers, Randsburg, Johannesburg and San Bernardino. The company operated until 1958.
LOS BANOS-DOS PALOS-MERCED STAGE was operating in the mid 1920s out of Dos Palos, California. B. Hoyle was the registered contact.
LOS BANOS MERCED STAGE LINE was operating in the mid 1920s out of Merced, California. C.E. Stavros was the registered contact.
LOS FLORES-TOPANGA CANYONE STAGE LINE was operating in the mid 1920s out of Santa Monica, California. Francis Brunner was the registered contact.
LOUIE’S BUS LINE I have no information about this company. Maybe someone will know and tell the rest of us. The badge is marked on the thumb nuts “THE C. H. HANSON CO. CHICAGO”; it measures 2 ½ ” high, 2 ⅜”.
LOUIS A. FUOCO BUS LINE ran in Suffolk County, New York on Long Island from 1962 until 1996. It was based in East Patchogue and served Patchogue, East Patchogue, Hagerman, Bellport, South Haven, Mastic, Mastic Beach, Port Jefferson, Medford, Coram, Ridge, Calverton, and Riverhead.
LOUISVILLE TRANSIT COMPANY This company’s history starts with the Louisville City Railway Company, which has a history dating back to the Civil War and a mule car line. In 1890 Louisville City Railway changed its name to Louisville Railway Company. In 1923 the Louisville Railway Company formed a bus subsidiary Kentucky Carriers Inc. In 1948 the last streetcars ran in Louisville. In 1951 the last trolleybuses were discontinued and Louisville Railway Company changed its name to Louisville Transit Company. In 1953 Louisville Transit Company took over routes from Southeastern Greyhound Lines; in 1958 it acquired Buechel Bus Company; in 1972 it acquired Kentucky Bus Lines routes. The Transit Authority of River City (TARC) was created in 1971 after 1970 legislation authorized city and county governments to operate mass-transit systems using local funding. In 1974 voters approved a referendum allowing for an increased occupational tax to fund mass transit. Combined with a federal grant, this was enough for TARC to purchase the Louisville Transit Company, buy new buses, reduce fares, and extend new service lines. TARC bought the remaining mass transit companies in the area: Blue Motor Coach Lines (which served outlying areas) in 1976, and the Daisy Line (connecting New Albany and Louisville) in 1983. (See Transit Authority of River City for more information.) The below badge is made of plastic / celluloid.
LOUISIANA TRANSIT COMPANY was a bus company that connected New Orleans with Kenner and Harahan, Louisiana, which are both suburbs of New Orleans. In 1954 it was running 17 buses.
LOVELL BUS LINES INC. / WOBURN & READING BUS LINE This company begins in the early 1920s with Woburn & Reading Bus Line, which ran between Woburn and Reading, Massachusetts. In 1923 the company ran from Maynard to Acton and Maynard to Concord and Stow to Hudson. Either John Lovell owned the line, or he purchased it because in 1924 he changed the name to Lovell Bus Lines, Incorporated. The company was operating in the 1930s and 1940s in the area of Weymouth, Massachusetts. In 1953 it was sold to Middlesex & Boston Street Railway. In 1972 Middlesex & Boston Street Railway was acquired by the Massachusetts Bay Transportation Authority. There are three different badges. The first badge pictured was made by “R. WOODMAN BOSTON MASS”. The bottom badge is made of nickel-plated brass and measures 1¾” in diameter. (Note the safety pin was added at a later time.)
Lower Valley Bus Lines (TX) 1959
WILLIAM H. LUDDY & SON, INC. The company was founed by William H. Luddy and his son, William A. Luddy (1902-1976), in 1920 in East Bridgewater, Massachusetts. It was incorporated in 1962. It was dissolved in 1983. The company also owned and operated William H. Luddy Moving Company. W. H. LUDDY & SON’s bus operation served Brockton, East Bridgewater, Whitman, Abington and Quincy, Massachusetts. The badge is made of nickel-plated brass and has two threaded posts.
LUND COACH CO., INC. was incorporated February 15, 1932. Effective January 12, 1933 it ran in Queens, New York City to the Creedmore State Hospital.
LUDINGTON-BALDWIN LINE was operating in Michigan in the 1930s.
LYONSVILLE STAGE was operating in the mid 1920s out of Lyonsville and Red Bluff, California. Leander Myers and Frank Glassburner were the registered contacts.
LYNCHBURG TRANSIT COMPANY This company connection to the National Trailways Bus System is somewhat tenuous. By the mid 1940s Samuel A. Jessup and son Claude A. Jessup were a powerful force in the National Trailways Bus System, which was due to their ownership of Virginia Stage Lines, later Virginia Trailways—a company that grew into a 385-employee business with routes across most of Virginia and into North Carolina and Washington, D.C. In the mid 1940s the Jessup family bought the city transit companies in Roanoke, and Lynchburg, Virginia and Wilmington, North Carolina. They were Roanoke Railway & Electric Company and its holding company, Consolidated Electric & Gas Company, in Roanoke, Virginia; Safety Motor Transit Company, also under Consolidated Electric & Gas Company; Safeway Transit Company, which served Wilmington, North Carolina; and eventually they controlled Safeway Trails, Inc., which joined Trailways in 1938 as Safeway Trailways.
Lynchburg Transit Company was controlled by Samuel A. Jessup as president, Claude A. Jessup as vice president, with F. G. McGee as general manager. (Consolidated Electric & Gas Company was the holding company.) The company ran 48 buses over 125 route miles. This agency was connected to Jessup’s Virginia Trailways, which accounts for the company badge displaying the Trailways logo. The badge measures 2⅔” x 2⅝” and has two threaded posts. Hallmarked “Highway Outfitting Company – NYC.”
LYNNFIELD COMMUNITY BUS COMPANY, INC. was granted a franchise in 1921 to operate in North Saugus, Massachusetts. It was a rival to the Eastern Massachusetts Street Railway.
Copyright © 2019 TRANSITBADGES.COM. All Rights Reserved. You may freely quote from this page with the proviso that TRANSITBADGES.COM is credited.