BADGES ISSUED BY TRANSIT COMPANIES BEGINNING WITH THE LETTER “S”
(PLEASE NOTE: THE BADGES AND INFORMATION PRESENTED ON THIS SITE ARE PRESENTED FOR REFERENCE / EDUCATIONAL USE ONLY. WE DO NOT BUY, SELL OR TRADE TRANSIT BADGES! The purpose of this page is to share information about collecting transit badges. All photos and artwork displayed on this site are from personal collections and are used by permission of the owners, or are in the public domain. If requested, we credit badge photos to the owner. We gratefully welcome additional information and/or corrections, questions, comments, new badge entries and especially badge photos. Please don’t hesitate to contact us.)
S&C BUSES, INC. was a bus operator in the borough of Queens in New York City in 1933. It operated one bus route from Jamaica-Bayside West, which is now operated by the New York City Transit Authority and designated Q31.
S&F TRANSPORTATION was a bus operator in the borough of Queens in New York City. The company was originally organized as B&L Transportation. It operated the Q7 bus route before it was taken over by Green Bus Lines
S. M. T. EASTERN LIMITED / LTD. A Canadian bus line in business since 1937, S. M. T. was a New Brunswick company that held a permit from the New Brunswick Motor Carrier Board that entitled it to carry passengers from Saint Stephen, New Brunswick via Saint John to the Nova Scotia border. That being so, there is still not much info to be found. One researcher believes that the initials “S. M. T.” may have stood for “Scotia Motor Transport”. The company featured in a 1951 lawsuit brought by Mackenzie Coach Lines’ owner, Israel Winner, who operated a bus service between Nova Scotia and Boston, Massachusetts in the States. The matter was settled in the Supreme Court of Canada. In 1954 the company was operating 101 buses over 3773 route miles and K. C. Irving was the president. In 1995 the company acquired Acadien Lines Ltd. and Nova Charter Services Ltd. In March 2004, Acadien Lines joined with Quebec-based Groupe Orléans Express, allowing complete coverage of eastern Canada. The badge below is die-pressed and has one threaded post.
SACANDAGA VALLEY TRANSPORTATION COMPANY located in upstate New York, ran in the 1920s. It was still running in 1928. January to June, 1928
SACRAMENTO-BRODERICK-WESTGATE STAGE was operating out of West Sacramento, California, in the late 1920s. Victoria Misetich was the owner.
SACRAMENTO-FAIR OAKS STAGE LINE was operating in the mid 1920s out of Fair Oaks, California. George R. Zurfluh was the registered contact.
SACRAMENTO-FOLSOM TRAVELERS’ STAGE was operating in the late 1920s from Folsom to Sacramento, California. R. O. Douglass was the owner. (This company maybe connected to TRAVELERS STAGE, which was operating in the late 1920s from Folsom to Sacramento, California.)
SACRAMENTO-JACKSON AUTO STAGE LINE was operating in the mid 1920s out of Santa Rosa, California. A. Dunham was the registered contact.
SACRAMENTO-PLYMOUTH STAGE was operating in the mid 1920s out of Sacramento, California. The registered contact was Talbot and Seeley.
SAFE BUS INC. The history of this North Carolina company is cited from the Winston-Salem Journal for June 16, 2013: “In 1926, there were at least 22 black men operating 35 jitneys that provided transportation to African-American residents in Winston-Salem. R.J. Reynolds Tobacco Co. operated huge tobacco plant in the city’s downtown near black neighborhoods. The jitneys were small buses that carried passengers. ‘The business bred greed among those trying to pick up people to transport to work and it created some perilous moments for those using the service,’ according to the company’s history on the Winston-Salem Transit Authority’s website. ‘Each jitney owner had a designated area that he served,’ the company’s history said. ‘If someone else came along and picked up passengers standing on a corner usually covered by someone else, it made some dangerous confrontations between the jitney owners.’ Thirteen of the jitney owners contributed $100,000 to begin the Safe Bus Co. Inc. that served the black community during the Jim Crow segregation era in the city and throughout the South. The company was formed out of necessity. Safe Bus initially began with 35 buses, and it eventually expanded to 42 buses. The state of North Carolina granted a charter to the company on May 24, 1926, and its buses operated on the streets in the city’s eastern and northeastern sections. The fare was 5 cents, and most of its routes were short in populated areas. The company survived through decades until the Winston-Salem Transit Authority took it over in 1972.” An article in Wikipeida fills in more details: “In May 1955, Duke Power was released from its franchise to provide public transportation service in Winston-Salem, and a nonexclusive franchise was granted to Winston-Salem City Coach Lines, Inc., a subsidiary of City Coach Lines of Jacksonville, Florida. Safe Bus Company became the sole public transportation provider for Winston-Salem residents in 1968 when Winston-Salem experienced the loss of a transit system after City Coach Lines closed down and drove its buses out of town after a ten-month strike by its workers. The Winston-Salem Transit Authority was created as a result of the transit troubles. In November 1968, Safe Bus entered into a franchise agreement with the Winston-Salem Transit Authority under which Safe Bus assumed the responsibility of providing service in the areas formerly served by City Coach Lines.” When the Safe Bus Company failed in 1972 due to financial problems, a special referendum was passed by voters and, with the help of a federal grant, the city of Winston-Salem, North Carolina purchased the assets of the Safe Bus Company. Afterwards, the Winston-Salem Transportation Authority assumed transit operations. There are two known badges. The badge on the right was made by MAIER-LAVATY COMPANY CHICAGO and measures about 2 ½” tall.
SAFETY MOTOR COACH LINES was founded by Edwin Ekstrom, who was one of those who figure in the pedigree of the The Greyhound Corporation. (Ekstrom was an investor and participant in the Mesaba Transportation Company, which replaced the Hibbing Transportation Company, founded by Carl Eric Wickman, Ralph Bogan and other pioneers of The Greyhound Corporation. (Click here for a detailed history of Edwin Ekstrom and the early Greyhound company.)
In 1923 Ekstrom acquired a controlling interest in the Eastern Wisconsin Transportation Company, which ran between Madison and Fond du Lac, Wisconsin. In 1924 Carl Eric Wickman backed Edwin Ekstrom in founding the Safety Motor Coach Lines. His first two buses were Fageol Safety Coaches, which was the reason for Ekstrom’s choice of company names. They ran between Muskegon and Grand Rapids, Michigan, and, in the coming months, expanded into nearby Illinois and Indiana. It was Ekstrom who first used the name “Greyhound” which he painted on the sides of his gray Fageol Safety Coaches. This followed by his used of a running greyhound dog logo superimposed on a ring and the words “Greyhounds of the Highway”. (In time, the logo became part of the Greyhound Lines and was used by all Greyhound operating companies as late as the 1980s.) In October 1926 Ekstrom and partners, including Carl Eric Wickman, formed the Motor Transit Corporation, a holding company which acquired Safety Motor Coach Lines along with Interstate Stages, Inc., YellowaY of Michigan and Southwestern Michigan Motor Coach Co. All the newly-acquired companies were consolidated into Safety Motor Coach Lines. In 1930 the Motor Transit Corp. changed its name to The Greyhound Corporation, and Safety Motor Coach Lines was renamed Eastern Greyhound Lines of Michigan.
SAFETY TRANSIT LINE, INC. In 1928 permission was granted to the Safety Transit Line, operating from Raleigh, N.C. to Richmond, and back, to take on passengers at stops in between. Later the route was expanded to operate between Raleigh, North Carolina and Weldon and between Pranklinton and Rocky Mount by Louisburg, Spring Hope, N.C. and Nashville, Tennessee.
SAFEWAY COACH COMPANY, INC. was formed in 1933 to operate between Rocky Mount and Jacksonville, North Carolina through Kinston, North Carolina. George W. Springle was its president. The company was sold in 1940 to Carolina Coach Company.
SAFEWAY TRANSIT COMPANY operated streetcars in Wilmington, North Carolina in the 1930s. Streetcars were discontinued in 1940 and replaced by buses. In the 1940s the company was bought out by Samuel Jessup and son Claude A. Jessup, who owned a number of other transit companies and were a powerful force within the National Trailways Bus System. In 1954 the company operated 30 buses over 89 route miles. In 1967 Wilmington City Lines, Inc., a subsidiary of Continental Trailways, merged with the Jessup-owned Virginia Trailways and took over city bus service in Wilmington. Wilmington City Lines was in turn taken over in 1974 by Wilmington Transit Authority.
SAFEWAY TRANSPORT, INC. was a school bus company operating out of Brookfield, Wisconsin. In 1969 the company was operating a subsidiary, Muskego Transport Company. In the 1970s and 1980s the companies were owned by Miles M. Laubenheimer of Sun Prairie, Wisconsin. He sold the companies in 1983. The badge is die-pressed and has a single threaded post.
SAGINAW-PORT HURON BUS LINE was in operation in 1934 in Saginaw, Michigan. Its route was between Saginaw and Port Huron and was an official mail carrier for the U.S. Post Office. In the 1930s the company ran Ford buses, but had purchased new Flixible Clippers by the late 1940s. In 1956 the company was managed by Mervin C. Keaner and was running 5 buses.
ST. ANDREWS BAY TRANSPORTATION, INC. / BAY LINE TRAILWAYS This company’s history begins with the Atlanta & St. Andrews Bay Railway, or the Bay Line, as it was known locally, when it was incorporated on February 14, 1906, by A. B. Steele. The line ran between Dothan, Alabama and Panama City, Florida. By 1927 the railroad had 82 miles of track and eight miles of branch lines and sidings; by that time Minor C. Keith owned the railroad. That same year Harry P. Edwards was hired as vice president and general manager. Prior to his hiring, Edwards had experimented with converting buses to rail vehicles, i.e., replacing rubber tires with steel flanged wheels to run on rails. (Edwards obtained patents for this innovation and founded Edwards Railway Motor Company in Sanford, North Carolina. In 1922 the company began manufacturing steel bodied rail cars using internal combustion engines.) The Bay Line ran these type buses on their rails in November 1929. They measured 54-57 feet long and carried about 30 passengers, plus 25 feet allocated for baggage, and were dubbed as “doodlebugs” by the company’s passengers. “To improve service, the A&SAB also provided ‘free taxi service at Dothan and Panama City to take passengers to and from their trains and their hotels and home.’” According to Florida corporation records, St. Andrews Bay Transportation Company filed as a Domestic for Profit Corporation in the State of Florida on Tuesday, July 15, 1930. It was formed as a subsidiary of the Atlanta & St. Andrews Bay Railway, which ran buses and a truck line from Panama City to Marianna to Pensacola and through to Dothan. In 1931 the Atlanta & St. Andrews Bay Railway was sold to the St. Andrews Bay Holding Company, a subsidiary of the International Paper Company. Beginning in April 1941 the bus line became part of the National Trailways Bus System as Bay Line Trailways. (NOTE: there are two conflicting dates on this event: one is that the company joined Trailways in 1939, and the other in 1941.) In 1944 Georgia Stages, Inc. bought out St. Andrews Bay Transportation Company. (St. Andrews Bay Transportation Company had just bought out Lee’s Coach Line, which ran in Florida from Tallahassee to Panama City.) Jon Hobijn writes: “In 1946, Georgia Stages President Fred Mills changed the company name to Modern Coach Corporation, and from then on the company was known as Modern Trailways. . . . Modern Coach Corp. was acquired by Tamiami Trail Tours in 1956, extending Tamiami’s system main line to 825 miles stretching from Atlanta to Miami.”
ST. CLAIR COMPANY BUS LINE/ ST. CLAIR BUS COMPANY was established in 1921 and ran throughout Southern Illinois with several REO buses. The company was absorbed by the Belleville-St. Louis Coach Company in 1940.
ST. JOHN TRANSIT took over bus operations from City Transit Limited in 1979, serving Saint John, New Brunswick, Canada. The company is the largest public transit system in the province in terms of both mileage and passengers. Ridership on Saint John Transit’s system is about 2.5 million passengers per year and growing. The badge is a single threaded post type, with no manufacturer’s name.
ST. JOHN TRANSPORTATION COMPANY, owned by Roland St. John, was headquartered in Dayton, Ohio, in 1974. It operated a transit service for students between Dayton and Wright Universty. It also operated other transit services, such as Hamilton City Lines in Hamilton, Ohio and the Terre Haute Transit Co. in Indiana.
St. Joseph Power & Light Company (MO) 1959
ST. LOUIS BUS COMPANY was formed in St. Louis, Missouri, in 1924 as a subsidiary of the United Railway Company. It ran from Natural Bridge Avenue, between Klngshighway and the city limits. Immediately they were in dispute with the Peoples Motorbus Company for running “virtually identical routes”. The company was still running in the late 1940s.
ST. LOUIS COUNTY BUS COMPANY / ST. LOUIS COUNTY TRANSIT COMPANY was operating in the 1940s in St. Louis County, Missouri. It was headquartered in Wellston, Missouri. Arthur F. Bangert was the general manager. In 1940 it served 25,000 people daily. In 1946 the company was renamed St. Louis County Transit. It was acquired in 1963 by Bi-State Transit.
ST. LOUIS PUBLIC SERVICE COMPANY / ST. LOUIS PUBLIC SERVICE CITY TRANSIT In 1898 United Railways Company of St. Louis began operating streetcars in St. Louis, Missouri, and ran until 1927. In 1927 St. Louis Public Service Company took over operations and ran until 1940 when the company was purchased by National City Lines. The company continued under the name St. Louis Public Service City Transit until 1963 when Bi-State Development Agency (BSDA) acquired all transit facilities in the City of St. Louis, St. Louis County, and the Illinois counties of St. Clair and Madison in order to operate them as a coordinated, single system. That year BSDA officially took over the operations and assets of the various transit facilities it purchased from the region’s 15 private firms. In 1966 streetcars were discontinued. The first badge, which is the older of the two, is die pressed with a single threaded post. The second badge measures 2 ¼” x 2 ½” with two threaded posts and is hallmarked Medal Arts Co. Rochester N.Y. Here’s an interesting link if you want more information: A concise history of ST. LOUIS TRANSIT ROUTES
ST. LOUIS, RED BUD & CHESTER MOTOR BUS & SERVICE CORPORATION / ST. LOUIS, RED BUD & CHESTER BUS LINE began operations in 1924 with a route from Waterloo to Chester, Illinois. In 1936 its timetable, which gave the company’s name as St. Louis, Red Bud & Chester Motor Bus & Service Corporation, advertised: “Through service between St. Louis, Mo., Dupo, Ill., Columbia, Ill., Waterloo, Ill., Red Bud, Ill., Chester, Ill. and Intermediate Points”. W.H. Burkhardt was the general manager. According to Chicago Transit and Railfan, the route was sold in 1940 to Gulf Transport Co., and in 1944 to Belleville-Red Bud Coach Co.
ST. PETERSBURG MUNICIPAL TRANSIT SYSTEM / MUNICIPAL TRANSIT This company began as St. Petersburg Municipal Railway in 1919 operating streetcars to Gulfport, Florida, and 8 buses operating several routes throughout the St. Petersburg, Florida area. In 1949 the company discontinued streetcars and became the St. Petersburg Municipal Transit System, operating buses over the former streetcar routes. (It was known as Municipal Transit System.) In 1956 this city-owned and operated company ran 80 buses over 272 route miles and served St. Petersburg, Gulfport, Bay Pines and Pinellas Park. In 1970 the Central Pinellas Transit Authority (CPTA) was formed, serving the Clearwater area and northern Pinellas. In October 1984 the St. Petersburg Municipal Transit System and the Central Pinellas Transit Authority merged to create the Pinellas Suncoast Transit Authority. The badge has a single threaded post and was made by FIFTH AVENUE UNIFORM COMPANY 19 SO. WELLS CHICAGO.
SALEM-McMINNVILLE STAGE LINE was operating in 1923 from Salem to McMinnville, Oregon, over a 31-mile route.
SALINAS TRANSIT COMPANY / SALINAS CITY LINES began operating in Salinas, California after Robb Transportation Company ceased operations in 1953. The company provided bus service to Salinas and the Alisal area in Monterey County. This privately-owned company held on longer than most private transit companies in the U.S., but finally ceased operations in 1976. The service was taken over by the city of Salinas, who then operated the Salinas Transit System. Monterey-Salinas Transit was formed in 1981 when the Salinas Transit System merged with Monterey Peninsula Transit.
SALT LAKE CITY LINES In 1925 Utah Light & Traction Company began providing streetcar and bus service in Salt Lake City, Utah. In 1944 the operations were taken over by National City Lines, which, true to form, abandoned streetcar service in place of buses. On February 27, 1946, the company received Public Utilities Commission approval to purchase the stock, equipment, and interests of the Airways Motor Coach Lines. Salt Lake City Lines ceased operations in 1968 and its routes were taken over by Utah Transit Authority on August 10, 1970. The badge was made by FIFTH AVENUE UNIFORM COMPANY 19 SO. WELLS CHICAGO and measures 2 ½” x 2 ½”. The service pin is made of sterling and marked B.B. Co.
San Antonio Transit System (TX) 1959
SAN BENITO-TRES PINOS STAGE LINE was operating in the mid 1920s out of San Benito, California. H.B. Leonard was the registered contact.
SAN BERNARDINO MOUNTAIN STAGE LINE was operating in 1913 into the early 1920s running from San Bernardino, California to a number of resorts in the San Bernardino Mountains. It was managed by Kirk R. Philips. In the early times the company was operating White trucks as buses. In 1914 the company had a ticket agreement with Pacific Electric Railroad. There is a mention of it in The Arrowhead Magazine: “a publication of the Salt Lake route”, which was “devoted almost entirely to the beauties of the San Bernardino mountains. The feature story is by C. A. Henderson, of the San Bernardino Mountain stage line. Mr. Henderson tells in his inimitable style of a complete trip around tho famous ‘101 Miles on the Rim of tha World,’ on one of the mountain stage trucks.” A 1920 newspaper article capitalized on this route: “The San Bernardino Mountain Stage Line is another spectacular route, including the famous ‘rim o the world’ drive and other points of surpassing scenic interest among mountains and lakes and forests.” The company was still operational in 1923.
SAN DIEGO SIGHT-SEEING COMPANY operated buses out of San Diego, California, after being granted a certificate by the Railroad Commision on November 24, 1917. In 1918 it was operating out of the U.S. Grant Hotel lobby in San Diego. No further info.
SAN DIEGO-TECATE AUTO LINE / AUTO SERVICE was operating in the mid 1920s out Lemon Grove, California. Hubert Mills was the owner. J.H. Cottrell was the registered contact.
SAN DIEGO ELECTRIC RAILWAY, INC. was incorporated in 1891 by John D. Spreckels to operate streetcars in San Diego, California. In January 1892 the company purchased the San Diego Street Car Company, and in 1895 the company bought the operational franchises and properties of the Citizens Traction Company. The company put its first motor buses in operation in 1921. In 1946 the company began to phase out streetcar lines and replace them with buses. The company was sold on July 26, 1948 to Jesse Haugh’s Western Transit Company for $5.5 million. In 1948 the name was changed to the San Diego Transit System. That company was purchased by the City of San Diego in 1967 and survives today as the San Diego Metropolitan Transit System, or simply Metropolitan Transit System.
SAN DIEGO TRANSIT SYSTEM The San Diego Electric Railway Company, was founded in 1891 by John D. Spreckels. In 1949 the last rail service was discontinued, making San Diego the first major city in California to convert to an all-bus system. In 1948 Jesse Haugh purchased the system from Spreckels and renamed it the San Diego Transit System. The company was purchased by the City of San Diego in 1967 and survives today as the San Diego Metropolitan Transit System, or simply Metropolitan Transit System. (See the above entry for more details.) The badge measures 1¾” x 3 ½” and has a single threaded post.
SAN FRANCISCO MUNICIPAL RAILWAY / SF MUNI / MUNI is the public transit system for the city and county of San Francisco, California. Muni is short for the “Municipal” in “San Francisco Municipal Railway” and is not an acronym. The Muni metro is often called “the train” or “the streetcar.” Most San Francisco natives use ‘Muni’ when speaking about the system (Metro & buses) in general. Below is a cloth patch from the 1970s.
SAN FRANCISCO MUNICIPAL RAILWAY These badges were issued to motormen and conductors on the cable cars and street railway through 1930. Gary Hurn writes: “This exact style badge is on display at the San Francisco Cable Car Museum on Washington Street in San Francisco. . . . This badge was a creation by THE ALBERT S SAMUELS COMPANY JEWELERS (1920-1940 era) . . . SAMUELS had retail jewelry stores on Market St. and in the Fairmont Hotel on Knob Hill in San Francisco.. . . This is the real item as used by the Muni employee cable car operator / gripman.” If you want more info on these famous icons, the read Wikepedia‘s history of San Francisco’s cable cars. The badge measures approx. 2 ¾” x 1 ¾”.
SAN GABRIEL CANYON STAGE LINE was operating in the late 1920s out of Azusa, California. A. L. Meier and J. E. Williamson were the owners.
SAN GERONIMO-NICASIO STAGE was operating in Nicasio, California, in the mid 1920s. James Rusconi was the registered contact.
SAN JACINTO BUS COMPANY In July 1911, Mark Logan, W. W. Lynch and N. A. Brown formed the company to serve their new development called San Jacinto Heights, which lay to the west of the business district of Amarillo, Texas. The company was taken over by the Amarillo Bus Company in 1946.
SAN JUAN CAPISTRANO STAGE LINE was operating in the mid 1920s out of San Juan Capistrano, California. H.V. Iredell was the registered contact.
SAN JUAN-SARGENT STAGE LINE was operating in the mid 1920s out of San Jaun, California. M.J. Regan was the registered contact.
SAN JOSE CITY LINES ran in Jose, California, from 1939 until 1973. This is a sterling pin back safety award.
SAN LUCAS-LOCKWOOD STAGE LINE was operating in the mid 1920s out of Lockwood, California. James M. Pieratt was the registered contact.
SAN LUIS AVILA-PISMO PIONEER STAGES was operating in the mid 1920s out of San Luis Obispo, California. Antone Motto was the owner.
SAN LUIS OBISPO-AVILA AUTO SERVICE was operating out of San Luis Obispo, California, in the mid 1920s.
SAN LUIS OBISPO-CAMBRIA STAGE was operating in the mid 1920s out of San Luis Obispo, California. D.S. Roz was the registered contact.
SAN LUIS OBISPO-SAN SIMEON STAGE LINE was operating in the mid 1920s out of San Luis Obispo, California. Ben Tonini was the registered contact.
SAN LUIS OBISPO-SIMMLER STAGE LINE was operating in the mid 1920s out of Pozo, California. V.M. Torres was the registered contact.
SAN MIGUEL-STONE CANYON AUTO STAGE was operating in the mid 1920s out of San Miguel, California. O. G. Williams was the registered contact.
SAN PASQUAL VALLEY STAGE & TRUCK LINE was operating in the mid 1920s out of Escondido, California. James Orr and J.W. Stoft were the registered contacts.
SAN QUENTIN STAGE COMPANY ran between Point Richmond and Point San Quentin, California, and between San Rafael and San Quentin Prison in the late 1910s. In 1915 the company offices were located at Fifth and B Streets, Santa Rosa, California and Joseph Miller was the president of the company. It was still operating in the mid 1920s.
SAN RAFAEL BUS SERVICE was operating in the mid 1920s out of San Rafael, California. Emory E. Gilman was the registered contact.
SAN RAFAEL & SONOMA VALLEY AUTO STAGE LINE was operating out of San Rafael and Sonoma, California, in 1919. J.A. Valente and F.C. Stuermer were the owners.
SANFORD BUS LINES, INC. was operating in the mid 1940s out of Sanford, North Carolina. Routes: from Sanford over U. S. 421 to the Cumnock community; from Sanford to Colon; from Sanford over U. S. 421 via Jonesboro to Seminole; from Jonesboro over N. C. 78 to Tramway; from Tramway over U. S. Highway 1 to Cameron; thence over an unnumbered highway to Carthage.
THE SANITARIUM-ST. HELENA STAGE was operating in the mid 1920s from the California Medical Missionary and Benevolent Society in Sanitarium, California, which is an unincorporated community in Napa County, California.
SANOT TRANSPORTATION COMPANY Having searched the Internet, newspapers.com and numerous reference books, I’ve yet to locate any mention of this company. Going by the design of the bus, it would seem date to the 1950s. Perhaps it’s an older salesman sample. Information welcome. The badge has two threaded posts ad appears to be nickel-plated brass.
SANTA ANA TRANSIT CORPORATION was one of several smaller bus companies that succeeded Pacific Electric Railway in Orange County, California. In the early 1960s it operated five bus routes in Orange County. There is almost no information on this company’s history. At some point in the early 1960s it became part of, or was succeeded by the American Transit Corporation and was combined with other small agencies to form the subsidiary South Coast Transit Corporation. (At the time American Transit Corporation owned some 31 other transit agencies.) On June 4 1963, South Coast Transit Corporation filed an application with the California Public Utilities Commission to increase fares; the application gives some insight into the operation at that time: “[South Coast Transit Corporation] is an intercity passenger bus and express service in Orange County between Santa Ana and Laguna Beach, a distance of about 23 miles, through intermediate cities or communities of Costa Mesa, Newport Beech, Balboa Island, and Corona del Mar, and also furnishes service between Santa Ana and Balboa.” (The application was denied on Feb. 18, 1964.) In August 1972 the company was part of a merger of various Orange County transit agencies, which formed the Orange County Transit District. In 1991 the Orange County Transit District was combined with seven separate Orange County agencies to create the Orange County Transportation Authority. The badge was made by GREENDUCK CO. CHICAGO; measures 3″ x 2½” and has two threaded posts. (Also see South Coast Transit.)
SANTA FE TRAIL SYSTEM / SANTA FE TRAIL TRANSPORTATION COMPANY The following excerpt is from Jon’s Trailways History Corner “Of the five founding members of the National Trailways Bus System, by far the largest member was Santa Fe Trail Transportation with a main line stretching from Chicago to Los Angeles, 2,240 miles, an operation in California stretching 529 miles from San Diego to San Francisco including 19 round trips a day between San Diego and L.A. and 14 round trips a day from L.A. to San Francisco, a 716 mile north-south line from Salt Lake City to Phoenix, 684 miles from Kansas City to Denver, and. . . . believe it or not, I still haven’t mentioned all the major routes. However that wasn’t the case in the early 20’s though, before the railroad had anything to do with it.
“In 1924, what would grow to be the Santa Fe System consisted of only a few short bus routes radiating out of Wichita, Kansas, operating with enlarged passenger cars. In order to survive and prosper, the companies all pulled together and pooled their resources as one company, Southern Kansas Stage Lines. Gradually, they began to prosper. Blue Bird Bus Lines from Wichita to Kansas City was purchased and in 1930, Kansas City to Tulsa was purchased from Rapid Auto Transit and from Wardway Lines came Tulsa to Muskogee, Ft. Smith, Fayetteville and Oklahoma City.
“In 1933, routes were extended east from Kansas City to Chicago and St. Louis when Blue Motor Coach was bought and Santa Fe Trail Stages acquisition extended the operation 1,459 miles west from Wichita to Los Angeles via Tucumcari and Albuquerque. Additional routes in Kansas and Nebraska and extending to Denver came from Cardinal Stage Lines.
“In 1935 the name of the company was changed from Southern Kansas Stage Lines to Santa Fe Trail Transportation Company and later that year the AT&SF Railroad bought an interest in the company, acquiring a portion of the stock, marking the first time the railroad had any involvement with the bus line.” The badge is a single threaded post type.
SANTA MARIA-GUADALUPE STAGE was operating in the mid 1920s out of Santa Maria, California. It ran to Santa Barbara. Harry Harper was the registered contact.
SANTA MONICA MOUNTAIN COACH COMPANY was operating in Los Angeles County, California, in the mid 1920s. No further info.
SANTA MONICA MUNICIPAL BUS LINES / SANTA MONICA BIG BLUE BUS / SANTA MONICA’S BIG BLUE BUS (The following info is gleaned from the website of Santa Monica’s Big Blue Bus, the current public transit service in Santa Monica, California.) In the early 1900s, the Pacific Electric Railroad ran trolley lines between Downtown Los Angeles and neighboring cities. During a recession in 1914, a group of unemployed automobile owners began using their cars to compete with the railway in Santa Monica. These drivers charged riders five cents and were called “jitneys”, a common name at the time. In 1921, as the population of Santa Monica doubled, business boomed and the jitney drivers incorporated as Bay Cities Transit Company. In 1928, the City of Santa Monica launched its own bus line and over 16,000 passengers rode the new buses the first week. They chose a blue color scheme for their buses and called their service Santa Monica Municipal Bus Lines. By 1947 the regular bus rate was 10 cents, but costs kept rising and both the City of Santa Monica and the Bay Cities Transit lines were losing money. In 1950, Bay Cities Transit was bought out by Santa Monica Municipal Bus Lines, now commonly known as the Big Blue Bus. The agency’s name was officially changed to “Santa Monica’s Big Blue Bus” in 1999. There are probably several different badges out there; the badge pictured below is a pin back and marked on the back “H.S. Co. LA. CA.” It measures approx.: 2″ x 1 ½”.
SANTA ROSA-PETALUMA-SAUSALITO AUTO STAGE COMPANY was operating in the late 1910s out of Santa Rosa, California; W.H. Curtis was the general manager. In 1921-1922 the company was operating from offices in Santa Rosa and San Francisco, California. Its buses served Santa Rosa, Petaluma, Sausalito and San Francisco. The president and general manager was Joseph Miller.
SANTA YNEZ VALLEY EXPRESS & PASSENGER LINE was operating in the mid 1920s out of Solvang, California. The company also was an express freight line. Soren Sorensen was the registered contact.
SASKATOON TRANSIT SYSTEM had its beginning in 1913 when the Saskatoon Municipal Railway began operating a fleet of streetcars in the city of Saskatoon, Saskatchewan, Canada. In 1931 the first gas powered buses were put into operation. Six 36-passenger Brill trolley buses were put into service in an effort to modernize the transit system. In 1949 the Saskatoon Municipal Railway was renamed the Saskatoon Transit System. The last streetcars ran in 1951, leaving electric trolley buses to service the system. In 1959 12 diesel powered buses were purchased from Canadian Car Company. In 1962 these were supplemented with 4 GM coaches. By 1969 the system was operating 29 trolley coaches and 48 diesel buses. The last trolley ran in 1974. In 2013 the system celebrated 100 years of service. The badge has a single threaded post and a single pin post. It measures 3″ x 1⅞”.
SAUGUS TRANSIT See Service Bus Lines, Inc.
SAUSALITO-STINSON BEACH & BOLINAS STAGE LINES was operating in the mid 1920s out of Sausalito, California. W.H. Caltoft was the registered contact.
SAVANNAH ELECTRIC & POWER COMPANY succeeded Savannah Electric Company in 1921 operating streetcars in Savannah, Georgia, and surrounding communities. The company ran until 1945, which is the year streetcars were discontinued. (At that time the company was running 18 streetcars over 18 miles of tracks.) In 1945 the Savannah Transit Company took over operations and began running buses. In 1946 the company ran 90 buses over 66 route miles. The badge pictured below is stamped “sterling” on the back; there are some badges made of nickel.
SAVANNAH TRANSIT AUTHORITY In July 1961, the Savannah Transit Authority (STA) was created by Georgia state legislation to take over for the privately-owned Savannah Transit Company. The badge has two threaded posts.
SAVANNAH TRANSIT COMPANY succeeded Savannah Electric & Power Company in 1945 operating streetcars and buses in Savannah, Georgia, and surrounding communities of Thunderbolt and Garden City. In 1946 it was operating 90 buses over 66 route miles. In 1956 the company was operating 72 buses over 61 route miles. In July 1961, the Savannah Transit Authority (STA) was created by state legislation to take over for the privately-owned Savannah Transit Company. The badge is made of nickel and has two threaded posts.
Scarsdale Bus Company (NY) 1959
SCENIC AUTO STAGE was operating in the mid 1920s out of La Honda, California, to San Mateo. R.W. Woodham, George J. Carr were the registered contacts.
SCENIC STAGE LINE was doing business in Illinois in 1953. It ran a passenger service in Illinois and out of state. It was bought 1970 by R.C. Smith Transportation and currently operates out of Chicago as a charter bus service. The badge has two threaded posts.
SCHAPPI BUS LINE, INC. ran in the late 1910s. The company was founded by brothers Henry Schappi and Ernest A. Schappi. In 1927 the company ran a route between Chicago, Illinois, and Hammond, Indiana; another between Calumet City, Ill., and Hammond; and one from Calumet City through Hammond to East Chicago, Ind. Still running in the 1950s.
SCHENCK TRANSPORTATION CO., INC. was founded by Howard E. Schenck and was running in the early 1930s on Long Island, New York. In 1946 it was located at 372 Jericho Turnpike in Floral Park, Long Island, New York and was running 66 buses over 48 route miles on Long Island. In 1955 it was running 82 buses over 87 route miles.
SCHENECTADY TRANSPORTATION CORP. ran buses in Schenectady and Albany, New York, from 1952 until 1970 when it was replaced by the Schenectady Transit System. In 1956 the corporation ran 60 buses over 78 route miles. The badge measures 2⅜” x 2⅝” and has two threaded posts.
Schneider Bus Line (Kansas City MO) 1959
SCHUMACHER BUS LINES was founded in 1916 in Timmins, Ontario (Canada). “Commuter bus services in the Timmins area were operated by John Dalton from about 1926. Another early company, Hamilton and Dwyer, operated an hourly service from Timmins to Schumacher with a fleet of two buses. The ancestry of those enterprises is carried on today under the banner of Schumacher Bus Lines Ltd, operating out of the Dwyer building on First Avenue, with school bus and bus charter services, and Dalton’s Bus Line Ltd, on Dalton Road, providing similar services. Timmins, in 1975, was the last of Northern Ontario’s five major cities to get public transit, which previously had been a privately run service subsidized by the city.” The badge measures 2½ ” x 2 ¾” , has two threaded posts and was made by SCULLY LTD MONTREAL.
SCHUPPERT BUS LINE was operating in the late 1910s out of Corydon, Indiana. In 1922 the line ran from Corydon to New Albany. In November 1944 the company was sold to the Beaird Firm; at that time it was operating 17 buses and serving southern Indiana.
SCOFIELD BUS LINE / SCHOFIELD BUS LINE There is some conflicting info about this company, starting with the difference in surname spelling. In early records the name is spelled “Schofield” and later it is “Scofield”. Schofield Bus Line was operating in the mid-1920s as an interstate bus line in Missouri. In August 1926 one of its Studebaker buses was involved in an accident with a team of mules, which the bus tried to pass on the highway. In 1929 there was a newspaper article about F. H. Scofield “who started a bus bus business years ago, which grew until it became one of the largest in Southeast Missouri” selling his business to the Missouri Pacific Railroad Company. After that date we find the same F. H. Scofield operating Scofield Bus Line out of Poplar Bluff, Missouri and who also owned and operated the Poplar Bluff City Lines, operating out of the same city. (In 1954 that company ran 10 buses over 626 city route miles, and 480 intercity route miles.) In 1939 the “Frisco Transportation Company a subsidiary of the St. Louis San Francisco, has applied to the Interstate Commerce Commission for authority to purchase the motor carrier operation of F. H. Scofield, doing business as the Scofield Bus Line, in Poplar Bluff, Mo.” Either that sale didn’t go through, or Mr. Scofield was retained as general manager after the sale. Either way, the company was still operating in the late 1950s.
SCOTT BAR-FORT JONES-YREKA STAGE LINE was operating in the mid 1920s out of Scott Bar, California. M.O. Payne was the registered contact.
SCOTT-NICKELS BUS COMPANY was founded in March 1940 and went out of business in 1958. It was headquartered in Williamson, West Virginia, and, in 1954, ran 21 buses, serving McVeigh and Stone in Ky., and Matewan, W.V. Catherine Nickels was president. As to the spelling, I found three newspaper accounts, all from the 1950s, which spell the name “Scott-Nichols” Bus Company. One was an article from Monroe, Louisiana for 1951 when 28 drivers went on strike over a driver being fired for not wearing a regulation uniform, which was mandated as a dress shirt and tie. (He wore a “sports shirt”.) Another was from Danville, Ky., back in 1946 and also involves striking drivers. The third is an obit for Charles West in South Williamson, W.V., who died at age 82 on April 26, 2011. He was a retired driver for the “Scott Nichols Bus Company”. However, the correct spelling is “Scott-Nickels Bus Company.” The badge is a single threaded post type made by FIFTH AVENUE UNIFORM COMPANY 19 SO. WELLS CHICAGO.
SCOTT STAGE COMPANY was operating in the mid 1920s out of Susanville, California. It ran to Lassen, California. It was owned by George S. Scott.
SCOTT STAGE COMPANY was operating in the 1930s from Rock Springs, Wyoming. It ran to and from Rock Springs to Pineville, Wyoming. The company was owned and operated by Walter Scott, who also owned Pinedale Cash Store.
SCOTT VALLEY AUTO STAGE was operating in the mid 1920s out of Yreka, California. George F. Hellmuth was the registered contact.
SCOTT’S AUTO STAGE was operating in 1916 out of Susanville, California. It was owned by George S. Scott and was still operating in the mid 1920s.
SCRANTON BUS COMPANY / SCRANTON TRANSIT COMPANY The Scranton Bus Company was a subsidiary of the Scranton Railway Company and was formed in 1924 to operate buses in Scranton, Pennsylvania. By 1931 the company was operating 31 buses. On August 7, 1934 the Public Service Commission approved the organization of the Scranton Transit Company as successor to the Scranton Railway Company, with Harry H. Dartt as president. The company ran the last streetcar on December 18, 1954. In 1972 it was succeeded by the County of Lackawanna Transit System.
SEALS COACH LINES was founded by Roy L. Seals (1895-1954) in the mid-late 1920s in Kingsport, Tennessee. The company started as a charter line, but by 1930 was running four daily intercity round trips to Appalachia and Johnson City. In 1927 Roy Seals was given a franchise to operate local bus service in Kingsport. A July 14, 1927, newspaper report gives some information on this: “Roy Seals, trading under the firm, name and style of ‘CITY TRANSPORTATION COMPANY,’ is hereby granted an exclusive franchise, not only as against any other person, firm, partnership or corporation, but as against the city itself, for the period of five years from the date of the final passage of this ordinance, to establish, maintain and operate motor street buses on, over, through and upon the city streets, and alleys (if necessary) of the City of Kingsport, Tennessee . . . Attest: J. W. Harrison Mayor.” By Seals Coach Lines had consolidated their intercity schedule with Daniel Boone Stages and Virginia-Lee Lines and was serving Johnson City, Kingsport, and Norton, Tennessee, and Middlesboro, Kentucky. There is no mention of the company after 1935, when was listed as delinquent in back taxes in the amount of $5.90. Moreover, Roy Seals is not mentioned in the 1946 MTD in connection with City Transportation Company.
SEASHORE TRANSPORTATION COMPANY began operations in 1925 in New Bern, North Carolina. In the 1920s it purchased routes from Washington-Oriental Bus Company; in 1939 it bought out Whitehurst Bus Line. By 1946 the company grew to service 17 North Carolina counties with 127 buses operating over 609 route miles. The company was still operating in the 1950s with reduced service. By 1956 it controlled City Transit Company, which operated out of New Bern with 6 buses over 30.5 route miles.
SEATTLE-RENTON STAGE LINE, INC. was operating in the early 1930s out of Seattle, Washington.
SEATTLE TRANSIT SYSTEM In 1902, voters in the City of West Seattle, Washington, approved the first municipally-owned streetcar line in the United States. The streetcar line was later sold to private investors, but the City of Seattle assumed ownership of its own streetcar network in 1918 upon the purchase of Puget Sound Traction, Light, and Power Company‘s system. In 1936 the Seattle municipal railway system was operating 410 streetcars on 26 electric routes and three cable car lines with a total of 231 miles of track. The city also operates 60 gasoline-powered buses on 18 routes, but the entire system continues to operate at a loss. The Overlake Transit Service extended its routes to Medina, Bellevue and the south end of Lake Sammamish. In 1938 the financial situation of the municipal railway system is desperate and its employees are paid with nickels and dimes straight from the fare boxes. In 1939 North Coast Transportation Company shuts down Seattle-Everett interurban. Seattle secures a $10.2 million federal loan to pay off debts, replace streetcars and organize a new entity, the Seattle Transit System, under the management of independent Seattle Transportation Commission. The conversion to buses and trackless trolleys begins immediately and plans are made to purchase 235 trolley buses and 102 motor coaches. In 1941 the final streetcars run in Seattle. In 1973 the City’s public transportation system was absorbed into the Municipality of Metropolitan Seattle (METRO). (Info from King County Government About Metro. See Overlake Transit System and King County Metro for more information.)
There are two badges known for Seattle Transit System. One is made of die pressed metal and is stamped on the back “UNION MADE I.J.W.U.” and measures 2″ x 3¾” with two threaded posts. The other is made of celluloid.
SEATTLE METRO see King County Metro.
SEAWAY COACH LINES, INC. was incorporated on June 21, 1953, in Titusville, Pennsylvania, as an intercity bus company. The company was owned by M. I. Loker and Pauline Loker, a partnership d.b.a. Seaway Coach Lines in Erie, Pennsylvania. On July 26, 1967, the company acquired the operating rights of E. G. Pifer and David Pifer, a partnership, doing business as LeBoeuf Bus Lines, Mill Village, Erie County, Pa. In 1973, Blue Bird Coach Lines acquired Seaway Coach Lines, adding service between Erie and Scranton, Pennsylvania, including points in between the two terminals. This service continued for a few years and was made a franchise run, eventually stopping altogether. There is no mention of the company after 1974. The badge is nickel plated with one threaded post and two pin posts. It measures approx. 1 ¾” high by 2 ½”.
SEEING NEW YORK OBSERVATION COACHES was founded by Henry J. Mayham in New York City on June 15, 1902. They were New York City’s first sightseeing buses. By the time Mayham began his New York City business, he had already founded tour bus companies in Salt Lake City, Charleston, Los Angeles and Boston. The large buses hard-rubber tired buses could seat 44 people. There were two daily trips, covering 12 miles of Manhattan for $1.50. “Besides a driver for the bus, the company sent along a guard, an announcer with megaphone and a representative to see that everything went right. At first the buses were horse drawn, but with the growing popularity of motorized vehicles, the company soon abandoned horses and went to self-propelled vehicles.”
SELIGMAN BROTHERS BUS LINE operated out of Pine Bluff, Arkansas, in 1922. The company ran a route from Pine Bluff to Altheimer, Arkansas.
SEMKE BUS LINE, INC. was founded in 1918. Its corporate name was Nicholas Semke, Inc., which may have been the name of its founder. The company operated out of Hampstead, Long Island, New York. In 1946 it operated 10 buses over 30 route miles, with R. William Semke as president and Fred Semke as treasurer. In 1954 the company was operating 17 buses over 44 route miles. It served the towns of Hempstead, Rockville Centre, Oceanside, Westbury and Baldwin, Long Island. In August 1970 the company, then owned by Alfred Krapata, halted service for lack of funds. Subsequently, the bankrupt company was taken over by Hempstead Bus Corporation, Schenck Transportation Company, Stage Coach Lines and Rockville Centre Bus Company. The badge is made of nickel-plated metal with one threaded post and measures 2¼” x 1¼”.
SEQUOIA NATIONAL PARK STAGE COMPANY was operating in the mid 1920s out of Lemon Cove, California. E. L. Askin was the general manager.
SERVICE BUS LINES, INC. Was operating in the 1920s out of Revere, Massachusetts. In 1946 the company was owned by Alfonso Reberto and operated 14 buses over 15 route miles. In 1972 the company took over Malden Bus Lines and Saugus Transit, which were operated as subsidiaries. In February 1975 the company’s routes were taken over by the Massachusetts Bay Transportation Authority.
SERVICE COACH LINES, INC. / SERVICE COACH TRAILWAYS / SERVICE TRAILWAYS Service Coach Lines was founded in the 1930s by George T. Morris in Dublin, Georgia. Initially the company ran an east-west route from Macon to Savannah, Georgia and made a connection with Atlantic Greyhound. In 1946 the company was operating 35 buses. In 1948 the company joined the National Trailways Bus System as Service Coach Trailways. In 1956 the company was sold to Tamiami Trailways, Carolina Trailways and Virginia Trailways. Thereafter, the company ran between Augusta, Georgia and Jacksonville, Florida, Sylvania to Jacksonville, Waycross to Savanna, Georgia, and Waycross to Brunswick, Georgia. Service Coach Trailways lasted until 1975.
SERVICE MOTOR BUS COMPANY, INC. was operated by Charles A. Orr and Samuel D. Gunn, and ran from the De Kalb Hotel, in De Kalb, Illinois, beginning in October 1922. It operated over the Lincoln Highway between Dixon and DeKalb. In March 1927, the company’s officers filed for dissolution of corporation. (Note: the company was somehow connected to the Reo Motor Bus Company, Inc., which also operated out of DeKalb and whose manager was O. W. Orr. One of its incorporators was Charles A. Orr. The company was still in business in 1928.)
SEYMOUR-BEFORD BUS LINE was founded by C. E. Cummings in Norman Station, Indiana. The company was operational in the mid 1920s. In 1927 Cummings was advertising in a local paper offering to sell the company with equipment. Apparently he found no takers because in a July 14, 1939, local paper a new schedule was printed along with the notice that a new owner, Agnes Hildreth, who also owned the Checker Cab Company, had bought Seymour-Bedford Bus Line from C. E. Cummings. The company is not listed in the 1946 MTD.
Shafer Coach Lines (Pittsburgh PA) 1959
SHAFER’S BUS LINE / ROBERT T. SHAFER & SONS, INC. was founded in Johnson City, New York, Robert T. Shafer, Sr. (1911-2001) in 1947 as a school bus company. In the mid 1950s Shafer was granted intrastate authority to operate passenger buses from Broome County to any point in New York State. In 1960 the company bought Endicott-West Endicott Bus Lines. In 1970 the company purchased Southern Tier Stanges, Inc. This purchased added intercity bus service from Binghamton to Owego, and Ithaca, new York and from Binghamton, New York to Montrose, Pennsylvania. Robert T. Shafer retired in 1979 leaving sons Robert T. Shafer, Jr., and Larry A. Shafer, Sr. in charge. The company is still family owned and operating as Shafer’s Tour & Charter out of Endicott, New York.
SHAFTER STAGE LINE was operating in the mid 1920s out of Shafter, California. E.M. Burner was the registered contact.
SHAKER HEIGHTS RAPID TRANSIT On September 6, 1944, the City of Shaker Heights (Ohio) took over the financially struggling Cleveland Interurban Railroad lines and began operating them as Shaker Heights Rapid Transit. In September 1979, the Greater Cleveland Regional Transit Authority adopted a new designation for the rapid transit lines. The old Cleveland Transit System became the Red Line and the Shaker Rapid Transit lines became the Green and Blue Lines.
S. & T. B. L. CO. / SHAMOKIN & TREVORTON BUS LINE COMPANY / SKAMOKIN-TREVORTON BUS LINE There not much information on this company, except that it was around in the late 1920s. One source says that the company succeeded the Shamokin & Edgewood Electric Railway Co. in Shamokin, Pennsylvania in 1928-1929. The company is mentioned in several newspaper ads in Skamokin, Pennsylvania in the 1930s until the late 1960s. There’s an ad in the September 1, 1932, edition of the Shamokin News-Dispatch: “Travel Information TRAVEL BY BUS For safety and economy. Shamokin – Trevorton Bus Line Co. All schedules listed inside front cover of the telephone directory.” There’s also a 1960 photograph of George Jones, Sr., who is identified as the co-owner of Shamokin-Trevorton Bus Line Company.
SHASTA TRANSIT COMPANY was operating in the early 1920s out of Union Stage Depot in Sacramento, California. At that time the company ran all the way to the Oregon border. W. M. Sanford was the registered contact. The company was acquired by Pickwick Stage System. In May 1930 the company was sold to Pacific Greyhound Lines, Inc.
SHEARER BUS LINE was operating in the early-mid 1920s, offering service to South Pittsburg, Tennessee, near the Tennessee-Alabama border. The company was still operating in the mid 1930s. It is not listed any of the 1940s editions of the MTD.
SHELBY TRANSIT COMPANY, INC. began operating in the city of Shelby, North Carolina, in 1939. Its routes: Streets of the City of Shelby; extension of East Marion Street, N. C. Highway No. 20 from city limits to Cleveland County Fairgrounds; Extension of West Marion Street from city limits to Dover and Ora Mills and to city limits at East Lee Street. In 1954 the company operated 10 buses over 20 route miles.
A. W. SHEPHERD BUS LINES / A. W. SHEPHERD TRAILWAYS / OZARK TRAILWAYS / OZARK TRAILS, INC. / MO-ARK TRAILS A. W. Shepherd Bus Lines was formed April 29, 1938, in Springfield, Missouri, by A. W. Shepard, and ran between Springfield, Missouri, and Fayetteville, Arkansas, as well as Shreveport, Louisiana, Durant and Oklahoma City, Oklahoma, and Dallas, Texas. The history of the company is a bit tangled, but piecing together parts from various editions of MTD and Russell’s, at some point the company joined the National Trailways Bus System and operated until 1946 as A. W. Shepherd Trailways. That year Shepherd changed the name to Ozark Trailways, and incorporated A. W. Shepherd Bus Lines as Ozark Trails, Inc. In March 1950 Shepherd sold Ozark Trails, Inc. to Des Moines Springfield & Southern Stages of Springfield, Missouri, and founded Mo-Ark Trails, which ran from Springfield, Missouri, to Berryville, Arkansas. Mo-Ark Trails continued operations until 1967.
SHOALS TRANSIT, INC. In November 1933 the Alabama Public Service Commission set a hearing for the petition of John Burns, d.b.a. Burns Transportation Company, to operate a bus line between Sheffield and Florence through the Muscle Shoals district of Alabama. Burns’ petition was approved. The story is picked up on page 7 of the February 5, 1933, edition of The Birmingham News from Birmingham, Alabama: “TROLLEY SERVICE ENDS Sheffield Street Car Franchise Lapsed After 30 Years SHEFFIELD — Midnight Friday saw the end of 30 years service by the street cars in this city. The franchise given the Sheffield Company in 1903, and later sold to the Alabama Power Company in 1934, expired at that time, and the latter firm did not ask to renew the franchise. The cities of Florence and Tuscumbia also are without the services of street cars due to the fact that the city fathers of the two agreed to allow the Alabama Power Company to cease operations at the same time it did in Sheffield, as the Burns Transportation Company would inaugurate a bus lines to serve the Trl-Cities instead of the street cars.”
In February 1933 the company signed a contract with the Southern Railroad to furnish a bus service in Florence, after the railroad discontinued its trolley service on February 3. In November 1936 a hearing was set for Burns Transportation Company to sell a portion of it operating certificate to MO-ARK Coach Lines. In 1936 Burns Transportation Company, Inc. was awarded a 30-year franchise from the cities of Sheffield and Tuscumbia, Alabama, to operate a local bus line. In April 1936 the Florence, Alabama, board of city commissioners granted Burns Transportation Company a 30-year transit franchise.
In December 1941 Burns Transportation Company’s franchise was transferred by the Florence city commission to Shoals Transit, Inc., whose corporation, SHOALS TRANSIT & TRANSIT HOLDINGS, was recently formed to begin the bus company. D. S. Frayer of Jacksonville, Florida, was the new company’s owner and president. Shoals Transit, Inc. served the Tri-Cities of Florence, Sheffield and Tuscumbia, Alabama.
In March 1945, near the end of World War Two, it was announced that the company would receive five new 33 passenger buses in April from Southern Coach Manufacturing Company of Evergreen. On March 30, 1950, Shoals Transit, Inc. was sold by its owner D. S. Frayer to D. J. Giacoma and associates. A. W. Freund was general manager. Giacoma had bus operations in Danville, Centralia and Cario, Ill., Cape Girardeau, Mo., and Dyersburn, Tennessee. Giacoma also bought Pensacola, Inc., operating out of Muscle Shoals, Alabama and Pensacola, Florida. In 1954 the company was operating 15 buses over 40 route miles. By 1956 the company was owned by American Transit Lines, Inc. of St. Louis, Missouri. On April 30, 1960, Shoals Transit, Inc. announced it would terminated its service to the Tri-Cities. The company postponed the shut-down date until June so its replacement company, Joiner Bus Lines, could take over service. In June the city of Florence, Alabama, granted Joiner Bus Lines a 30-year franchise. Joiner ran four routes in Florence, with some service to Sheffield and Tuscumbia.
SHORE LINE MOTOR COACH COMPANY was formed in 1926 and was owned by the Gary Railways Company, which was part of Midland Utilities, which in turn, was a holding company controlled by Samuel Insull. The announcement is found in the April 26, 1926, edition of The Daily Reporter from Greenfield, Indiana: “MERGER OF TWENTY-FOUR BUS ROUTES IS APPROVED Approval of a merger of twenty-four bus routes in northern Indiana was given Saturday by the public service commission in an order authorizing the purchase of the routes by the Shore Line Motor Coach Co., from the Gary Railways Co., Farina’s Bus Line & Transportation Co. and B. P. Shearon.” (Gary Railways Co., Farina’s Bus Line and B. P. Shearon were all part of Samuel Insull’s interests.) Not long afterward the formation a significant portion of the company was sold, which is related in a Friday January 6, 1928, article in The Coloma Courier and the Benton Harbor Herald (Michigan), Motor Transit Corporation Takes Over Part of Shore Line Motor Coach Co. “The big yellow motor coaches of the Shore Line Motor Company will no longer operate through here. Business of the Shore Line Motor Coach Company, north of Benton Harbor, has been sold to the Motor Transit Corporation, which controls the Safety Motor Coach Company, which operates the Greyhound Lines. . . . The Southwestern Michigan Motor Coach Company, with the headquarters in Kalamazoo, which has been under the same general management as the Shore Line company, has also been sold to the Motor Transit Corporation. The Southwestern Michigan Motor Coach company was formerly the Carey & Leach Bus Lines, Inc. The company operates interstate coaches between Chicago and Detroit, and local service between Kalamazoo, Paw Paw, Lawrence, Hartford, Watervliet, Benton Harbor and St. Joseph, Kalamazoo and South Bend, and Kalamazoo and Sturgis.” Eventually what was left of Shore Line Motor Coach Co. was sold to Chicago & Calumet District Transit Co.
THE SHORT LINE of Rhode Island. The following information is quoted, in part, from the Massachusetts Regional Bus Study of June 2013: DPU CPCN Review: “The Short Line was originally chartered as the Newport & Bristol Ferry Railway Company in 1902. The name was changed to the Newport & Providence Railway in 1903. In 1904 the company opened a trolley line from Newport to Bristol Ferry, with connections to Providence via ferry to Bristol and from there via the New Haven Railroad. This route was advertised as the “Short Line” to Providence. In 1926, the Newport & Providence Railway replaced the trolley line between Newport and Bristol Ferry with a through bus route between Newport and Providence. About 1928, this company took over operation of bus service between Newport and Fall River that had replaced another trolley line in 1925. The Newport & Providence Railway Company was officially renamed the Short Line, Inc. about 1930. (During the 1930s, the Short Line name was also used by several other bus companies in the Northeast that were under the same ownership or otherwise affiliated with the Rhode Island company.) After World War II, George Sage of Newport bought the original Short Line company.” In 1970 the Short Line, Inc., and Interstate Busses Corp. were merged to become Bonanza Bus Lines. On February 1, 1971, the DPU formally reissued all of the Massachusetts CPCNs that were held by the Short Line to Bonanza. Two different badges are known (so far): one in nickel and one in brass; they measure approx 1½” x 1½” and are marked with a patent number.
THE SHORT LINE of CONNECTICUT, INC. I’ve found little background info on this company; it was affiliated and/or owned by the same The Short Line based in Rhode Island. The November 17, 1965, edition of the Bridgeport Post from Bridgeport, Connecticut, reported a proposed sale: “PUC WEIGHS PROPOSAL TO SELL 2 BUS FIRMS HARTFORD (AP)-The State Public Utilities Commission has under advisement the proposed sale of two bus companies to Edward P. Hayes Jr. and John D. Hayes, both of Rocky Hill. There was no opposition to the sale of the Short Line of Connecticut and the HW Transit Co. of Meriden at a public hearing Tuesday. The purchase of Short Line would be made from John J. Wall. The purchase was said to involve assumption of the company’s liabilities.” There was no followup info on this proposed sale. However, the company was sold in 1971 to Gerald Katz, an officer David’s Bus Service Inc., of New Haven, and Russell Johanen of the Cross Country Coach Co. of Milford. The badge shown below may or may not belong to this company—or perhaps to one of the other companies. It is made of die-pressed brass and has two threaded posts. The badge was made by HOOKFAST PROVIDENCE R.I. (marked on thumbnuts).
THE SHORT LINE, INC. OF PENNSYLVANIA Was affiliated and/or owned by the same The Short Line based in Rhode Island; this company was headquartered in West Chester, Pennsylvania, in 1956 and served West Chester, Downington, Coatsville, Chester, Kennett Square, Philadelpia, Wilmington, Delaware and Maryland. In 1956 it operated 46 buses over a 643 route miles.
THE SHORT WAY LINES, INC. was a suburban and interurban bus service that ran in Michigan, Ohio, Indiana, Kentucky and Illinois from the 1930s through the 1950s. It was based in Toledo, Ohio, and in 1947 served Toledo, Ohio, Flint, Ann Arbor, Lansing, Grand Rapids, MI, Ft. Wayne, Muncie, Logansport, Gary, Hammond, Ind., Somerset, Ky., and Chicago, Illinois. According to the 1947 MTD it was “Successors to Interurban Transit Line, Inc.; Michigan-Ohio Bus Lines, Inc., Blue Bird Coach Lines, Inc. and The Short Way Lines, Inc.” It ran 109 buses over 1809 route miles in 1947. The first badge pictured below is an original company badge before it was merged with the above companies. It has two threaded posts and measures 2½” x 2½”; the second badge was issued after the merger of the above companies, was made by WHITEHEAD – HOAG CO. NEWARK N.J. and measures 1¾” x 2¼”. The third badge has two threaded posts, measures 2¼” in length and is marked MAIER-LAVATY COMPANY CHICAGO.
SHORTY’S BUS LINE Founded by W. H. McNeally, the company operated out of Dyersburg, Tennessee. In 1930 the company obtained a route between Fulton and Wickliffe, Kentucky from Smith Motor Company. In 1931 the company is mentioned in a Kentucky Court of Appeals document in relation to a contested route involving Gibbs Bus Line, a Tennessee company applying to run a service over the same route. According to one source the company operated until 1954.
S. T. CO / SHREVEPORT TRANSIT COMPANY According to the person selling this badge, it is from the Shreveport Transit Co, which ran buses in Shreveport, Louisiana, from 1958-1974. It is hallmarked.
SHOUP BUSES, INC. See Middlebury Bus Lines.
SHUBAT BUS COMPANY was founded by Joseph Shubat (1888-1975) in the late 1920s and served Iron River, Stambaugh, Caspian, Gaston, Crystal Falls, Sagola and Iron Mountain, Michigan, and Hibbing, Minnesota. The company was still in business in the 1980s.
SIDDEN BUS LINES / INDEPENDENT BUS LINES / TWIN CITY LINES Sidden Bus Lines was operating in Winston-Salem, North Carolina, in the 1940s, doing business as Blue Eagle Bus Lines and as City Transit Lines under a franchise, transferred its operating rights on October 29, 1945, to “Sidden Bus Lines, a limited partnership with its principal place of business in Winston-Salem, which said partnership is composed of C. C. Sidden, General Partner, North Wilkesboro, N. C, M, Joyce Sidden, Limited Partner, North Wilkesboro, N. C, and J. Earl Sidden, Limited Partner, Winston-Salem, N. C, for sale and transfer to said Sidden Bus Lines of the operating rights as set out and described in said certificates Nos. 521 and 539, together with certain buses, real estate, and other properties for an agreed purchase price of $77,500, copies of which said sales agreement and limited partnership agreement of Sidden Bus Lines have been filed with the Commission . . . it further appearing that the said sales agreement includes properties and rights, other than the operating rights, of Independent Bus Lines.” Shortly after this transfer of ownership, this item appeared in the April 18, 1946, edition of the Statesville Record and Landmark in Statesville, North Carolina: “C. W. Caudle, of Winston-Salem and Moody White, of Statesville, are listed as co-owners of the Twin City Lines, Inc., company which received its corporation charter within the last week. The Twin City Lines, Inc. bought this week the Sidden Bus Lines of Winston-Salem.” In 1956 Twin City Lines was operating 8 buses over 116; C. W. Caudle was the general manager.
SIERRA NEVADA STAGES was operating in the mid 1920s out of Union Stage Depot in Sacramento, California. W. M. Sanford was president. (The company was owned by California Transit Company.) The company was still in operation into the 1930s.
SIERRA TRANSIT COMPANY, INC. was operating in the mid 1920s out of Union Station Depot in Sacramento, California. O.R. Spickard was the president.
N. P. SINNOTT AUTO LINE was operating in the mid 1920s out of Felton, California.
SIOUX CITY TRANSIT COMPANY, INC. / SIOUX CITY SERVICE COMPANY / SIOUX CITY LINES / SIOUX CITY LINES, INC. / SIOUX CITY TRANSIT SYSTEM The history of public transit in Sioux City, Iowa, dates back to 1884 and the Sioux City Street Railway Company. Sioux City Service Company operated streetcars from 1909 until 1944 when it leased its operation to Sioux City Transit Company. The details of this change are noted on page 3 of the Thursday, November 30, 1944, edition of the Sioux City Journal in the article “TROLLEY LINES CHANGE HANDS:”
“The streetcar system which for many years has been operated by the Sioux City Service company, subsidiary of the Sioux City Service Gas and Electric company, at 12:01 o’clock Wednesday morning passed to the management of the Sioux City Transit company as a result of the sale of the system by the Sioux City Gas and Electric company to Morningside college, announced several weeks ago.
“The Sioux City Transit company will operate the system as lessee. It has opened offices on the fifth floor of the Security building, with the following officers in charge: C. T. Williams, president and general manager; G. A. Berryman, vice president and assistant general manager; Calvin Huntley, secretary, and Joe Weir, assistant secretary. All previously were connected with the Sioux City Service company or affiliated companies. . . . Tokens purchased from the old company would be accepted for rides on the lines of the new company.
“R. J. Sweet, secretary and treasurer of Morningside college, gave out the following statement . . . in the absence of Dr. E. A. Roadman, president of the college: ‘Morningside college now has completed the purchase of all the assets of the Sioux City Service company, and it has leased all the transportation assets to a new Iowa corporation known as the Sioux City Transit company.'”
Sioux City Transit Company was incorporated on November 9, 1944. In 1948 the company replaced the last trolley with a bus. The company also operated buses in South Sioux City, Nebraska. Sioux City Transit Company’s franchise was set to expire in 1951 and their renewal was challenged by the infamous National City Lines, which was gobbling up small bus operations all over the United States. National City lost their bid, but on October 18, 1953 the Sioux City Journal reported that National City Lines bought out Sioux City Transit Company, Inc. At the time the company was operating 77 buses.
The new company, Sioux City Lines, lasted until 1967 when it was reorganized as Sioux City Lines, Inc. In 1969 Sioux City Transit System was formed when the City of Sioux City purchased the failed Sioux City Lines, Inc. Currently SCTS is administered by the Assistant City Manager, who reports to the City Manager. The City Council approves recommendations on policy and budgets for the Assistant City Manager and the Transit Advisory Board. Currently, SCTS employs forty-two full-time and part-time positions. The badge shown below is for Sioux City Transit System, is nickel-plated metal with one threaded post and two pin posts. It measures approx. 3″ x 1 ½”.
SIOUX FALLS TRACTION SYSTEM was founded in Sioux Falls, South Dakota, in 1907 by 70 year old Frank Mill, the former owner of the Des Moines Register. The first streetcars of the Sioux Falls Traction System ran on October 5, 1907. By the late 1920s the company was running a fleet of buses between Sioux City, Iowa and Sioux Falls, S.D. known as the Sioux Falls Traction System Bus Lines. In May of 1930 Interstate Transit Lines acquired the Sioux Falls Traction System Bus Lines.
When it acquired Sioux Falls Traction Bus Lines, Interstate Transit Lines already had been bought out by the Chicago & North Western Railroad and the Union Pacific Railroad, the two companies operating as “a single unit in the territory of the two railroads.” (Union Pacific Stages was formed in 1927 as a bus subsidiary of Union Pacific Railroad.) In 1943 the two bus companies, Interstate Transit Lines and Union Pacific Stages, began operating under the name Overland Greyhound Lines. On October 1, 1952, The Greyhound Corporation bought out Interstate Transit Lines and Union Pacific Stages for cash and stock. Both companies were liquidated and their assets were absorbed by Overland Greyhound Lines.
SIOUX LIMITED LINES / SIOUX LTD. LINES was an interstate bus company that was owned by M. M. Liederbach, who owned and operated the Liederbach Bus Company, an intercity operation. Both companies were headquartered in Minneapolis, Minnesota. In 1937 the Sioux Limited Lines was advertising that they “. . . are now operating 29-passenger buses between Chicago and Minneapolis. The bus leaves Wagner’s Café, Neillsville, bound for Chicago at 12:09 mid-night. The cost is $4.65 for one-way trip or $8.45 for round trip. The Minneapolis bound bus, 5:50 a.m., $2.65 one-way trip or $4.70 round trip. Buses may be chartered for special occasions.” There is no info on when this line ceased operations, but in 1952 the Zephyr Lines acquired the Liederbach Bus Company.
SISSON-McCLOUD AUTO STAGE was operating in the mid 1920s out of Mt. Shasta, California. Mrs. M.K. Davis was the registered contact.
SKAGWAY ALASKA STREET CAR / SKAGUAY ALASKA STREET CAR was a tour bus operated in Skagway, Alaska, by Martin Itjen (January 24, 1870 – December 3, 1942). Itjen designed, built, owned and operated the bus in the early 1900s. A surviving postcard says “The trick cub bear on the front of the car is the Traffic Manager.” The bus ran from the Pullen House Hotel in Skagway for a two hour tour for the price of 25 cents. According to an entry in Wikepedia, Itjen “. . . held many distinct titles, including that of miner, railroad employee, hotel operator, hack service, the town’s undertaker, Ford motor car dealer, and a tour guide. . . . Much of Skagway’s early history was saved from destruction because of his interest in the city. When business was slow he built a tour bus from an old Ford bus. Martin referred to it as a “streetcar.” He began giving tours of the goldrush town. By the 1930s he became Skagway’s premier tour agent. The most picturesque car carried a bear cub on the front, the bear growling and pointing to the right or left as the car turned. A small mannequin on the front was operated by foot pedal. He nodded his head, waved a flag, rang a bell, and puffed exhaust smoke through a cigarette. One of the buses had an effigy of Soapy Smith that at the pull of a handle, Martin would make Soapy salute walking pedestrians as he passed them. The buses toured the streets of Skagway and visited the Gold Rush Cemetery and other Skagway attractions. Martin’s tour was quite a show: He recited poetry, told stories, and related humorous anecdotes of Skagway during the gold rush.
In 1935, as a great publicity stunt, Martin took his ‘street car’ to Hollywood to promote Skagway tourism. He called on big screen starlet, Mae West, to ‘come up and visit him sometime.’ The pair was popular with newsmen and photographers. While in the movie capital, Martin attracted numerous screen queens to his side for photographs. Skagway had become a tourist stop, thanks to Martin.
In 1938 Martin published a book (First edition 1934) and an LP (long playing) record, entitled, The Story of the Tour on the Skagway, Alaska Street Car. Martin’s tours were theatrical productions, complete with motorized mechanical actors, poetry and humorous ancedotes, all relating to the colorful history of Skagway and its inhabitants.“
SKY LINE STAGES was operating a passenger motor vehicles between Eureka and Durango, Colorado, in the late 1920s.
SMITH BUS LINE was operating out of Alpena, Michigan, in the 1930s. It was founded by William Smith and ran between Alpena and Indian River. In the 1940s it added Gaylord, Michigan, to its schedule. It is listed in the 1954 MTD, and there is a reference to a Smith Bus Line in Alpena in 2003.
SMITH MOTOR COACH COMPANY / DIXIE GREYHOUND LINES Dixie Greyhound Lines began in 1925 in Memphis, Tennessee, as the Smith Motor Coach Company, when James Frederick Smith, a former truck salesman, received a used truck as a gift from his previous employer, John Fisher, who owned the Memphis Motor Company. Smith removed the truck body, built a 12-seat bus body instead on the chassis, and started driving the vehicle himself, first between Memphis and Rosemark, northeast of Millington, in the north end of Shelby County (of which Memphis is the seat), about 25 miles from downtown Memphis to the north-northeast on state road 14 (an alternate route to Brownsville), and soon also between Memphis and Bolivar, about 66 miles to the east on US highway 64, on the way to Chattanooga. By the end of his second year in business, Smith owned and ran 25 coaches; by the end of his third year, he had 60 and had greatly expanded his routes. In 1930 Smith Motor Coach Company became an interstate line, running to Paducah, Kentucky, Evansville, Indiana, and Saint Louis, Missouri; the next year the company ran into Birmingham, Alabama and Jackson, Mississippi. In 1931 The Greyhound Corporation bought a controlling interest in the Smith Motor Coach Company, renamed it as the Dixie Greyhound Lines, and appointed Frederick Smith as the president of the company. Later Fred Smith employed his brother, Earl William Smith, Sr., in the management of Dixie Greyhound Lines. In 1948 Fred Smith suddenly died, and Earl succeeded Fred as the president of Dixie. In October 1954 The Greyhound Corporation merged Dixie and a neighboring regional company, the Teche Greyhound Lines, based in New Orleans, Louisiana, into the Southeastern Greyhound Lines, which was based in Lexington, Kentucky. The three fleets of the three divisions became combined into a single fleet. Thus ended the Dixie Greyhound Lines. (Info from Wikipedia.)
SMITH’S AUTO STAGE LINE was operating in the mid 1920s out of Forks of Salmon, California (an unincorporated community in Siskiyou County). George W. and Ralph B. Smith were the owners/operators.
SMOKY MOUNTAIN STAGES, INC. was an intercity bus company operating in the early 1940s in Knoxville, Tennessee, to Asheville and Charlotte, North Carolina, to Greenville, South Carolina, to Atlanta, Georgia, and into the Great Smoky Mountains National Park in western North Carolina and eastern Tennessee. In 1946 the company operated 107 buses over 1,664 route miles.
SMOKY MOUNTAIN TOURS COMPANY operated in Asheville, North Carolina, from the early 1930’s until 1970. The company ran tours into the Great Smoky Mountains National Park. On May 25, 1941, its operating commission was as follows: From Asheville to any of the following points: Chimney Rock, Mt. Pisgah, Mt. Mitchell, Little Switzerland, Blowing Rock, Mitchell Game Preserve, Biltmore Estate, Elk Mt. Scenic Highway, Wayah Blad, Franklin, Buck Creek, High Hampton, Highlands, Soco Gap and from points of scenic interest adjacent to Asheville under the following conditions: For scenic purposes only and not to pick up and discharge passengers en-route, nor charter buses where passenger transportation is the sole consideration.
SMOKY MOUNTAIN TRANSIT COMPANY, INC. operated in the 1940s inside the Great Smoky Mountains National Park in western North Carolina and eastern Tennessee. The Louisville & Nashville Railroad had an agreement with the Smoky Mountain Tours Company and the Smoky Mountain Transit Company in 1940 to carry passengers from their railhead into the Great Smoky Mountains National Park. (Note: there was a Great Smoky Mountain Transit Company, Inc. that operated in the same time frame as Smoky Mountain Transit Company. It operated between Knoxville, Sevierville and Gatlinburg, Tennessee, and points in North Carolina.)
SNOHOMISH-SEATTLE-PACKARD STAGE LINE began operations on June 9, 1921, out of Seattle, Washinton, to Snohomish. The owners were E.D. Grove, J.H. Bogue and A. Erickson. The company appears to have been short-lived.
Société de Transport de la Communauté Urbaine De Montréal (STCUM) / Société de transport de Montreal From 1861 to 1886, the Montreal City Passenger Railway Company operated a small network of horse-drawn trams in Montreal, Quebec, Canada. In 1886 the company changed its name to Montreal Street Railway Company. The first electric tram appeared in 1892. The company underwent another name change in 1893: the Montreal Island Beltline Railway. A year later, the network was fully electrified and in 1894. From 1910 to 1911 the company was renamed Montreal Public Service Corporation before changing again to Montreal Tramways Company. Buses began to be widely used starting in 1925. In 1937 the first trolley buses were used. In 1939, the company had 929 trams, 224 buses and 7 trolley buses, serving about 200 million passengers per year. The replacement of tram lines by buses began in 1951, when a law was passed by the provincial government transferred the overall management of transport in Montreal to a public organization, the Commission de transport de Montréal (CTM). The last tram was withdrawn from service in 1959.
The CTM became the Commission de transport de la communauté urbaine de Montréal (CTCUM) in January 1970, and in 1985, rebranded itself again by becoming the Société de Transport de la Communauté Urbaine De Montréal (STCUM). In 2002, at the time of the time of the merger of Montreal with other municipalities on the Island of Montreal, the Société de transport de Montreal was created, taking the place of the STCUM.
SOMERSET BUS COMPANY was founded in Newark, New Jersey, in 1925 by Frank Noll. It continued as a family-run business until June 1982 when it was taken over by New Jersey Transit, the state-owned system. Its routes were from Union, Essex, Middlesex and Somerset Counties in New Jersey to New York City. The badge is made of metal with one pin post and one threaded post.
SONORA PASS AUTO LINE was operating in 1926 out of Bridgeport, California. M. C. McAlec and Dan Berg were the registered agents.
SOUTH CALERA STREET RAILWAY COMPANY ran in Calera, Alabama, after 1891. No information.
South Carolina Electric & Gas Company (Columbia SC) 1959
SOUTH CENTRAL STAGES / SOUTH CENTRAL TRAILWAYS In the 1940s the company was owned and operated by Lon Massey out of Fort Scott, Kansas. In 1945 the company joined the National Trailways Bus System as South Central Trailways. By the early 1950s the company had been taken over by A. W. Shepherd and moved to Springfield, Missouri. A. W. Shepherd was the president and general manager and the company operated out of 529 W. McDaniel St. in Springfield, which was also the address of Mo-Ark Trails, which the MTD states that Shepherd owned, and South Central Stages controlled. (Shepherd’s wife, Mary R. Shepherd, served as the company’s secretary-treasurer.) South Central Stages dropped its membership in Trailways in 1954. In 1954 the company operated 4 buses over 320 route miles. In 1957 the company was sold to Smitty’s Bus Company.
SOUTH COAST TRANSIT / SOUTH COAST TRANSIT CORPORATION was formed before 1963 in Orange County, California, and was “a wholly owned subsidiary of American Transit Corporation, a Missouri corporation, which was engaged in public transit operations in a number of states throughout the United States.” (At the time American Transit Corporation owned some 31 other transit agencies.) South Coast Transit was formed by its parent company after it purchased various Orange County transit agencies, which included Santa Ana Transit. On June 4 1963, South Coast Transit Corporation filed an application with the California Public Utilities Commission to increase fares; the application gives some insight into the operation at that time: “[South Coast Transit Corporation] is an intercity passenger bus and express service in Orange County between Santa Ana and Laguna Beach, a distance of about 23 miles, through intermediate cities or communities of Costa Mesa, Newport Beech, Balboa Island, and Corona del Mar, and also furnishes service between Santa Ana and Balboa.” (The application was denied on Feb. 18, 1964.) In August 1972 the company was part of a merger of various Orange County transit agencies, which formed the Orange County Transit District. In 1991, the Orange County Transit District was combined with seven separate Orange County agencies to create the Orange County Transportation Authority. The badge is unmarked but was likely made by GREENDUCK COMPANY after their relocation to Hernando, Mississippi in 1962. It measures 3″ x 2½” and has two threaded posts.
SOUTH END TRANSPORTATION, INC. was a privately owned intercity bus company running of Trout Creek, Michigan, in the early 1970s. It is no longer in business.
SOUTH FORK-PETROLIO STAGE LINE was operating in the mid 1920s out of Petrolia, California. John C. Albree was the registered contract.
“S.H.C.B.B.O. ASSOCIATION” SOUTH HUDSON COUNTY BOULEVARD BUS OWNERS ASSOCIATION was formed on April 1st, 1922 by sixty-seven independent New Jersey bus owners and operators headquartered in Bayonne, N. J. The independent companies worked together as a single company offering local intercity, long distance and charter service. Their service area was between Veterans’ Square or Journal Square, Jersey City, New Jersey, the city of Bayonne, New Jersey and New York City. Over the coming years, the number of associate companies fluctuated. In 1945 the number was 100, but the following year the number was down to 43. Perhaps the reason for this drop in membership can be found in this report in the Courier-News from Bridgewater, New Jersey for October 20, 1945: “Bus Strike Looms In Jersey City Jersey City. A strike at mid night tonight by 100 members of the South Hudson County Boulevard Bus Drivers Association was threatened last night by Harold Kreiger, counsel for the drivers association. He estimated that the line, which operates 67 buses from Journal Sq., Jersey City, to First St., Bayonne, normally serves about 25,000 persons. The drivers are asking $57.50 for an eight and a half hour-day, six days a week, Kreiger said, as compared to their present pay of $51 for a ten-hour day, six days a week. Paid holidays, vacations and a changed working schedule are also demanded by the drivers, Kreiger said. Gus D. Aquilla. president of the South Hudson County Boulevard Bus Owners Association, had no comment last night on Kreiger’s demands.”
The 1956 MTD lists the 43 associated companies:
ACE BUS TRANSPORTATION CORP.
ATLANTIC BUS CO., INC.
B 11 BUS CO., INC.
B & M BUS CO., INC.
B 7 BUS CORP.
B 6 BUS CO., INC.
BEE EIGHT BUS CORP.
BEE FIVE BUS CORP.
CASPAR BUS CO., INC.
CHARLES DAHLSTROM BUS SERVICE JERSEY CITY
DOMENICO BUS SERVICE, INC.
DORBY BUS CO., INC.
DREYER & HEINEMANN BUS CO., INC.
DROGIN BUS CO.
DUCO BUS CO., INC.
EMPIRE BUS CO., INC.
F. D & D. S. BUS CO., INC.
FILIDA BUS CO., INC.
FRIEDMAN TRANSPORTATION CO.
MICHAEL & PETER GABRIAN
FLORIA BUS CO., INC.
HAJDUK BUS CO.
JOHN HYDUKE & ANTHONY C. SILEWSKY
J. R. M. BUS CO.
J. S. BUR CORP.
KOLWALSKY BUS SERVICE
LEAVEY BUS CORP. JERSEY CITY
LIBBY BUS CO., INC. WEST NEW YORK
M. S. BOULEVARD BUS CO., INC.
MOLMAR BUS TRANSPORTATION CORP.
MORRIS BUS CORP.
P. Z. BUS CO.
PAGE BUS CORP.
PENNISULA BUS CO.
PRIME BUS CO., INC.
PRINCE BUS CORP.
R. J. S. & A. L. Z. BUS CORP., CEDAR GROVE
DOMINICK RAIMONDO, INC., JERSEY CITY
RAMO BUS CORP.
SAFFRON BUS CORP., INC.
SILVER BUS CO.
TERRY BUS CO., INC.
WOODS & COSTA, INC.)
The S.H.C.B.B.O. ASSOCIATION was still in business in the early 2000s. Eventually its routes were taken over by Drogin Bus Company, which had been an Association member. After this company’s demise, the routes were taken over by The Red & Tan Lines.
As to the badges used by the Association, since the companies were independent it may be assumed that some used their own company badges with or without the Association’s badge; however, some may have worn only the S.H.C.B.B.O. ASSOCIATION badge. The S.H.C.B.B.O. ASSOCIATION badge shown here is made of die pressed brass with one threaded post, has a diameter of 1½” and the thumb nut is marked “THE VICTORY PATENTED”. The badge has a bright gold wash and is enameled. Given that it depicts a 1920s era bus, it is obvious that the badge pictured here is one of the original badges made when the Association was formed back in 1922. Since I’ve not seen any later Association badges, I don’t know if any were issued.
SOUTH JERSEY COACH LINES was an intercity bus company running out of Bridgeton, New Jersey. It filed for a trade name in the state of New Jersey on September 28, 1944. The company operated until 1959. In 1956 the company was operating 18 buses over 446 route miles, serving Atlantic City, Wildwood, New Jersey and Wilmington, Delaware. The first badge is made of nickel and has two threaded posts. The second badge is probably made of nickel-plated brass, is die pressed with a single threaded post and a pin post.
SOUTH LOS ANGELES TRANSPORTATION CO. ran in South Los Angeles and Compton, California, in the 1950s. The badge has two threaded posts and measures 2½” x 2½.
SOUTH MIAMI COACH LINES connected Miami with South Miami and Coral Gables, Florida. In 1960 the Dade County Commission passed an ordinance creating the Metropolitan Transit Authority (MTA) to unify the different transit operations into one countywide service. These companies included the South Miami Coach Lines. The badge has two threaded posts, and was made by FIFTH AVENUE UNIFORM COMPANY 19 SO. WELLS CHICAGO.
SOUTH PEKIN & PEKIN BUS & TRANSFER COMPANY was located in South Pekin, Illinois, and operated before 1921 between South Pekin and Pekin. There’s not much info on the company; in 1923 it was taxed on $2,250 net assets.
SOUTH PLAINS MOTOR COACHES, INC. This company began operations in the early 1920s providing service between Lubbock, Sweetwater and Bledsoe, Texas. By 1928 the company was using the Lubbock Union Bus Terminal. In 1937 McMakin Motor Coaches bought out Red Star Coaches, Inc., and folded it’s service, which was thereafter known as McMakin Motor Coaches, Inc. By 1938 McMakin Motor Coaches Inc. had bought out South Plains Motor Coaches, Inc. and owner Charles C. McMakin was running both companies. That merger would lead to the founding of Texas, New Mexico and Oklahoma Coaches, Inc. (TNM&O) in 1939.
SOUTH SIDE MOTOR COACH COMPANY, INC. was given a charter in January 1926 to operate in Indianapolis and its suburb Beech Grove, Indiana. The company was founded and owned by Gilbert E. McFarland and Frank Stuck. They sold out for $22,500 to the Beech Grove Traction Company in 1929 and the bus company was incorporated that same year. The operation was sold in 1936 and was reorganized in 1937 as Beech Grove Transit Company. This company was sold in 1941 to Indianapolis Railways / People’s Motor Coach Company.
SOUTH SUBURBAN SAFEWAY LINES The South Suburban Motor Coach incorporated in 1927 and was formed to provide route service to Chicago, Illinois’, south suburbs after the streetcar Chicago & Interurban Traction Co. failed. In 1933, after merging, the company reorganized and became the South Suburban Safeway Lines. In 1983, the company was sold to Chicago’s RTA. The badge measures approx. 2¼” x 2½” and has two threaded posts. It was made by FIFTH AVENUE UNIFORM COMPANY 19 SO. WELLS CHICAGO.
SOUTHEASTERN PENNSYLVANIA TRANSPORTATION AUTHORITY / SEPTA The South Pennsylvania Transportation Authority was created by the Pennsylvania legislature on August 17, 1963, to coordinate government subsidies to various transit and railroad companies in southeastern Pennsylvania. It commenced on February 18, 1964. Today SEPTA is a regional public transportation authority that operates bus, rapid transit, commuter rail, light rail, and electric trolleybus services for nearly 4 million people in five counties in and around Philadelphia, Pennsylvania. It is the major transit provider for Philadelphia and the counties of Delaware, Montgomery, Bucks and Chester. SEPTA commuter rail lines terminate in the nearby states of Delaware and New Jersey, additional service to Philadelphia from those states is provided by other agencies.
SEPTA has the 6th-largest U.S. rapid transit system by ridership, and the 5th largest overall transit system. It is one of only two U.S. transit authorities that operates all of the five major types of terrestrial transit vehicles: regional (commuter) rail trains, “heavy” rapid transit (subway/elevated) trains, light rail vehicles (trolleys), trolleybuses, and motorbuses. (Information from Wikipedia.) The badge is made of chrome-plated metal with enamel paint. It has two threaded posts.
SOUTHEASTERN STAGES, INC. had its beginnings in the late 1920s when Alonzo Curtis “Lon” Shipman (1900-1989) and his brother Seldon Edgar Shipman (1896-1981) founded a bus company in Hendersonville, North Carolina. Seldon Shipman left the company in the late 1920s, after which Lon moved to Augusta, Georgia. There Lon Shipman took on a partner named Jake Hughes and together they renamed their business Southeastern Stages. By merging three smaller companies, they incorporated in 1933. The new company grew rapidly by working with other major carriers, such as Greyhound Lines. Today Southeastern Stages is still a family run business (Lon Shipman’s granddaughter’s husband is the president of the company), and operates between cities in Georgia, North Carolina, and South Carolina only. It is an affiliate of Greyhound Lines, Inc., and is the provider for services sold through Greyhound.
The badge has two threaded posts, measures 2 ½” X 2 ½” and was made by MAIER-LAVATY COMPANY CHICAGO. If you will look at our Greyhound page, you’ll notice that the design is identical to the Type 1-c Greyhound Lines badge, which was also made by MAIER-LAVATY COMPANY CHICAGO. Without doubt this badge design reflects Southeastern Stages’ early Greyhound Lines association.
SOUTHERN CALIFORNIA RAPID TRANSIT DISTRICT (almost always referred to as RTD or rarely as SCRTD), was the successor to the original Metropolitan Transit Authority after it virtually went bankrupt. The RTD was created by an act of the California State Legislature in 1964, and took over all of the bus service operated by MTA on November 5, 1964. RTD was merged into the Los Angeles County Metropolitan Transportation Authority in 1993. There are two badges; the earliest is made of steel, measures 3″ x 2½” and has two threaded posts. The later badge is an oval pin-back button type with a plastic cover; it measures approx. 1½” x 1¼” and is marked on the back “B.B. CO. UNION MADE ROCH. N.Y.” and is marked on the rim: “BASTIAN BROS. CO. ROCHESTER N.Y.”
SOUTHERN CALIFORNIA STAGE COMPANY In 1916 this company was located at 643 South Spring Street, Los Angeles, California, and operated between L.A. and San Diego. In March 1916 it opened offices in San Bernardino, California in preparation “to run a line of passenger automobiles between this city and Los Angeles.” The company was still operating in 1920 when a newspaper article mentioned it was operating “a fleet of almost a score of REO Speed Wagons . . . and eight of the cars had run over 100,000 miles each . . . two of them have gone over 300,000 miles and one is being extended to accommodate a twenty-passenger body in place of the original body for sixteen passengers.”
SOUTHERN COACH COMPANY was operating out of Greensboro, North Carolina, in the mid 1920s. Authorized Operation: Greensboro to Charlotte, Highways Nos. 10 and 15. G. T. Elliott was the president in 1928. Carolina Coach Company bought out Southern Coach Company in 1929.
SOUTHERN COACH COMPANY This company was founded in 1942, and is still in business providing bus charter services. It is based in Durham, North Carolina. Southern Coach Company operates as a subsidiary of Coach America Group, Inc.
SOUTHERN COACH LINES In 1926 the Tennessee Electric Power Company (TEPCO), which ran Nashville, Tennessee’s, streetcars, formed a motor-coach subsidiary: the Tennessee Transportation Company. “Charter of Incorporation document for Tennessee Transportation Company, issued by Office of Secretary of State, State of Tennessee August 1926. . . . Indenture agreement between Tennessee Electric Power Company and Tennessee Transportation Company re: use of busses (‘motor propelled vehicles’) for public transportation for the City of Nashville, December 15, 1926.” When the Tennessee Valley Authority took over TEPCO in 1940, forcing its liquidation, capital provided by TEPCO and the Tennessee Transportation Company created a new corporation—the Nashville Coach Company—to provide city bus service. In a 1941 reorganization, Southern Coach Lines, Inc., was formed and took over the Nashville Coach Company, as well as the transit system in Chattanooga, which was operated by the Tennessee Electric Power Co. In 1953 the city-created Nashville Transit Authority inaugurated a new service: Nashville Transit Company, which was owned and operated by United Transit Company of Richmond, Virginia. In 1973 the Metropolitan Government of Nashville and Davidson County applied for a federal grant for the purchase of the Nashville Transit Company. In September 1973, the transfer from private to public ownership was completed and the Metropolitan Transit Authority was officially chartered. A five member Board of Directors was formed to oversee the operation of the Metropolitan Transit Authority. The MTA entered into a contract with McDonald Transit Associates to provide advisory and management services for the public transit system. The badge measures 2¼” x 1¾” and has a single threaded post.
SOUTHERN KANSAS STAGE LINES / SKSL was formed on Nov. 26, 1924, by Aaron Greenleaf and Dan Sauder with two “worn” buses and a 7-passenger automobile. (Each owner drove one of the buses.) Its schedule in 1925 was from Wichita to Pratt, Wichita to Augusta, Wichita to Eureka, Eldorado to Winfield through Wichita, Wichita to Caldwell, and South Haven to Blackwell. In 1926 it was operating a total of 33 buses. By 1927 it had either absorbed or joined other bus lines and combined they were transporting 1200 passengers daily with 41 buses serving 50 towns in the area. By 1933 the company was operating 105 buses and transporting 30,000 passengers per month. The company also ran a freight trucking company with 90 trucks carrying 100,000 pounds of freight daily. In total in 1933 SKSL employed 400 persons. In 1935 the Atchison, Topeka & Santa Fe Railway (AT&SF) purchased controlling interest in Southern Kansas Stage Lines for $5,000,000 and ran its buses to compliment rail passenger service. In 1938 the SKSL was absorbed into AT&SF’s newly formed subsidiary, Santa Fe Trail Transportation Company. In March 1948 the Santa Fe Trail Transportation Company was sold to Continental Trailways. The SKSL badge has two threaded posts, measures approx. 2¼” x 2¾” and was made by F.H. NOBLE & SON CHICAGO.
SOUTHERN PACIFIC MOTOR TRANSPORT COMPANY / SOUTHERN PACIFIC MOTOR TRANSPORTATION COMPANY was organized in April 1927 by Southern Pacific Railroad Company and operated motor coaches over interurban routes in Oregon. “On January 1, 1929, the Pacific Transportation Securities, Inc., was organized to consolidate SP’s motor bus operations with those of its principal competitors, the Pickwick and Greyhound corporations in the territory west of Salt Lake City and El Paso, and south of Portland. SP owns approximately a one-third interest in the consolidated company which took the name Pacific Greyhound Corp. on April 1, 1930, and that of Pacific Greyhound Lines on December 31,1936.” The company purchased all outstanding stock of California Parlor Car Tours Company for $75,000 in 1931. In May 1930 the company was sold to Pacific Greyhound Lines, Inc. (Info from Seventy-Five Years of Progress An Historical Sketch of the SOUTHERN PACIFIC 1869-1944 by Erle Heath.)
SOUTHERN PASSENGER MOTOR LINES, INC. began as Southern Freight & Passenger Motor Lines, Inc. in Lynchburg, Virginia, in the late 1920s. In January 1932 the company changed its name to Southern Passenger Motor Lines, Inc., with C. W. Falwell, Jr., as president. At that time its capital stock was valued at $80,000. In June 1934 the company transferred part of its operation to Atlantic Greyhound Lines, which covered service between Richmond and the Shenandoah Valley. In December 1938 the company sold out to Virginia Stage Lines, Inc. of Charlottesville, Virginia. The badge is made of die-pressed nickel-plated brass with a pin back and measures a little less than 3″ in length.
SOUTHERN PENNSYLVANIA BUS COMPANY On June 25, 1910, the Wilmington & Philadelphia Traction Company was incorporated in Delaware, with a subsidiary named Southern Pennsylvania Traction Company, which was formed to lease a number of transportation companies operating in southern Pennsylvania. On August 10, 1922, the Southern Pennsylvania Bus Company was incorporated to run a route from the city of Chester, Pennsylvania, to the Delaware State Line, and between the city of Chester and Buckman Village. From Chicago Transit & Railfan: “In 1928, Wilmington & Philadelphia Traction Co. became a subsidiary of United Gas Improvement Co. By 1940, with the replacement of all electric railways with buses, the leased electric railway companies were dissolved. In 1941, Wilmington & Philadelphia Traction Co. was renamed Delaware Coach Co. In 1951, Delaware Coach Co. and [its] subsidiary Southern Pennsylvania Bus Co. became a separate new company from United Gas Improvement Co.” After a prolonged strike in 1960 by Southern Pennsylvania Bus Company employees, the Philadelphia Suburban Transportation Company, which used both its name and Red Arrow Lines, formed a subsidiary named Red Arrow Lines, Inc. This subsidiary purchased Southern Pennsylvania Bus Company and resumed bus service on June 30, 1960. In 1970 Philadelphia Suburban Transportation Company/Red Arrow Lines’ operations were taken over by the Southeastern Pennsylvania Transportation Authority. (See Red Arrow Lines, Inc. for more information.)
SOUTHERN PENNSYLVANIA TRACTION COMPANY See Southern Pennsylvania Bus Company.
SOUTHERN STAGES I’m not sure of this badge, but it came from Georgia and seems to fit Southern Stages of Macon, Georgia. The company was founded by Frank Wilkinson in the early 1930s. At some point Southern Stages joined the National Trailways System as Southern Trailways. Its main route was from Augusta, Georgia to Columbus via Macon. In 1947 the company was operating 29 buses over 660 route miles. In the mid 1950s Wilkinson bought Atlantic Trailways of Savannah from its founder A. Booker. The badge is nickel and measures 2⅜” x 2 ½” and has a single threaded post.
SOUTHERN STAGES INC. ran from 1949 until 1968. The company provided a strong bridge route from Columbus to Augusta for the “Dixieland Route” Trailways through bus service from Dallas TX to Raleigh NC. In April 1961 the ICC won a judgement against Southern Stages Inc. in a case involving enforcement of bus desegregation. The case involved a passenger in Georgia in the summer of 1960. They were fined $100. The badge measures 2⅝” X 2⅜” with two threaded posts.
Southern Tours (St Petersburg FL) 1959
SOUTHFORK-PETROLIA STAGE LINE was operating in the mid 1920s out of Petrolia, California. It ran to Humbolt.
THE SOUTHLAND LINES ran from late 1920s into the early 1930s, and was based in Ft. Worth, Tx. It ran a service from Indianapolis through Cincinnati to Louisville. The badge has a single threaded post.
SOUTHLAND TRANSPORTATION COMPANY was founded in 1925 by Harris A. Spearin and operated under contract with the Chesapeake & Ohio Railroad between Cincinnati, Ohio, and Covington, Kentucky. The company’s founding was made possible by financial backing from Carl Wickman, the founder of Mesaba Transportation Company, which Wickman would later build into The Greyhound Corporation. Spearin was also the founder of the White Bus Lines, which was based in Duluth, Minnesota; in 1923 he sold that company to Wickman’s Mesaba Transportation Company. The January 28 1928, issue of Railway Age reported that the “Southland Transportation Company . . . has been merged with the Greyhound Lines, Inc.. H. A. Spearin, president of the Southland Transportation Company, has been appointed general manager of the Greyhound lines operating from Cincinnati.”
SOUTHWEST COACHES, INC. This company was operating in the late 1920s out of Wichita Falls, Texas. In 1939 it was serving Oklahoma City, Oklahoma, and Wichita Falls, Abilene and Sweetwater, Texas. The president and general manager was Robert Grozier, with Christine Grozier as secretary. The company is listed in the 1946 MTD, but not the 1950s editions.
SOUTHWESTERN MICHIGAN MOTOR COACH COMPANY According to a Friday January 6, 1928, article in The Coloma Courier and the Benton Harbor Herald (Michigan), Motor Transit Corporation Takes Over Part of Shore Line Motor Coach Co., the Southwestern Michigan Motor Coach Company was formerly the Carey & Leach Bus Lines, Inc., which had been operating since the teens in Illinois, Indiana and Michigan: “The big yellow motor coaches of the Shore Line Motor Company will no longer operate through here. Business of the Shore Line Motor Coach Company, north of Benton Harbor, has been sold to the Motor Transit Corporation, which controls the Safety Motor Coach Company, which operates the Greyhound Lines. . . . The Southwestern Michigan Motor Coach Company, with the headquarters in Kalamazoo, which has been under the same general management as the Shore Line company, has also been sold to the Motor Transit Corporation. The Southwestern Michigan Motor Coach company was formerly the Carey & Leach Bus Lines, Inc. The company operates interstate coaches between Chicago and Detroit, and local service between Kalamazoo, Paw Paw, Lawrence, Hartford, Watervliet, Benton Harbor and St. Joseph, Kalamazoo and South Bend, and Kalamazoo and Sturgis.“
The monthly magazine, Railway Age and Railway Review for January 1, 1928, to June 30, 1928, explains who actually owned Southwestern Michigan Motor Coach Company: “The Insull interests of Chicago, which own the Chicago, North Shore & Milwaukee, the Chicago, South Shore & South Bend, and the Chicago, Aurora & Elgin Railway Companies, in addition to a number of subsidiary motor coach companies supplementing and feeding the rail lines, have sold to the Motor Transit Management Company two of the motor coach subsidiaries, the Southwestern Michigan Motor Coach Company and the Northern Illinois Service Company. The two transferred companies have been operating the lines from Chicago to Davenport, Ia., and to Detroit, Mich., and Muskegon, as well as a number of local lines in northern Illinois and southwestern Michigan.“
In 1929 the Safety Motor Coach Lines (also a subsidiary of Motor Transit Corporation and which would, in 1930 become Eastern Greyhound Lines of Michigan), bought out the Southwestern Michigan Motor Coach Company.
SOUTHWESTERN MOTOR CARRIERS CORPORATION / SOUTHWESTERN STAGES, INC. / SOUTHWESTERN TRAILWAYS According to one webpage detailing the history of Trailways, Southwestern Trailways was formerly Southwestern Stages and operated from 1937-1947. In the 1946 edition of MTD, Southwestern Trailways, which is operating out of Oklahoma City, Oklahoma, is shown as part of Southwestern Stages, Inc. However, according to the Interstate Commerce Commission’s year end December 31, 1944 report, Southwestern Trailways was formerly Southwestern Motor Carriers Corporation. This report is backed by the Oklahoma Corporation Commission in a report dated 1938, and in a Court of Appeals for the Tenth Circuit Court that was brought before the U.S. Supreme Court dated December 13, 1948: “No. 370. Southwestern Motor Carriers Corporation d/b/a Southwestern Trailways.” There is yet another court case, this one in Texas, involving Southwestern Motor Carriers Corporation and the Brotherhood of Railroad Trainmen dated 1945: “Southwestern Motor Carriers Corp. is an Oklahoma corporation with its office and principal place of business in Oklahoma City, Oklahoma. Under the name of Southwestern Trailways it is engaged in transporting by motor vehicle persons, property, and United States mail between various termini in the States of Oklahoma and Texas.” There isn’t enough information on the Net to figure out this conundrum, but it would seem that Southwestern Motor Carriers and Southwestern Stages were one and the same company. In 1939 Southwestern Trailways was operating between Oklahoma City, Oklahoma and Altus. In the 1940s it was operating interstate in Oklahoma and Texas. According to one source it operated until 1947 when it was absorbed by Mid-Continent Trailways. The badge is made of nickle-plated brass, has enamel inlay and two threaded posts.
SOUTHWESTERN STAGES, INC. See Southwestern Motor Carriers Corporation.
SOUTHWESTERN TRANSPORTATION COMPANY In 1928 the St. Louis Southwestern Railroad, which was nicknamed “The Cotton Belt Route” or “Cotton Belt“, formed Southwestern Transportation Company as a bus subsidiary to connect smaller towns to its passenger train service to its railheads. The railroad and its subsidiary operated in northeast Texas to Arkansas and Missouri. The May 21, 1931, edition of the San Bernardino Sun, carried this story about the bus company: “Federal Jury Indicts Railway On 20 Illegal Rebate Charges MEMPHIS, Tenn., May 20. The St Louis Southwestern railroad, know as the “Cotton Belt” railroad, was indicted by a Federal grand Jury here today on 20 counts charging illegal rebates to shippers through the subsidiary Southwestern Transportation Co., the line’s motor bus division.” In 1933 Southland Greyhound Lines was merged with Southwestern Transportation Company and Western Greyhound Lines to form Southwestern Greyhound Lines, Inc. From 1933 to 1958 had partial ownership of Southwestern Greyhound Lines.
SPA TRANSIT bought Hot Springs Street Railway Company on July 1, 1966. The company ran buses in Hot Springs, Arkansas, and was owned by William A. Lankford until January 1976 when Mr. Lankford returned the franchise to the city. (Mr. Lankford died in Hot Springs on November 20, 2001.)
SPEEDWAY AUTO BUS COMPANY began operating in Chicago, Illinois, in 1921 serving Hines VA Medical Center. J. D. GALVIN was the president of the company. In October 1922 the company filed an application with the Illinois Commerce Commission of the State of Illinois for a Certificate of Convenience and Necessity to operate motor vehicles for the transportation of persons over the following routes, to wit: “Beginning at the intersection of Desplaines Avenue and the right of way of the Metropolitan Elevated Railroad Company and Chicago, Aurora & Elgin Railway Company in the Village of Forest Park, Cook County, Illinois, thence north on said Desplaines Avenue to Randolph Street, commonly called Washington Boulevard; thence west on said Randolph Street, commonly called Washington Boulevard, through the said Village of Forest Park, and continuing west on Washington Boulevard through the Village of River Forest in Cook County, Illinois, the Forest Preserve District in Cook County, Illinois, and through the Village of Maywood in Cook County, Illinois, to Fifth Avenue in said Village of Maywood, thence north on said Fifth Avenue to Lake Street in said Village of Maywood, thence west on said Lake Street through said Village of Maywood to its western limits, then through, the village of Melrose Park in Cook County, Illinois, to its western limits and west through Proviso Township to the western boundary line of said Cook County, then continuing west on said Lake Street in Kane Township in Du Page County, Illinois, to the Village of Elmhurst, Du Page County, Illinois, and continuing west on Lake Street in said Village of Elmhurst to York Street in said Village, thence south on said York Street to the station of the Chicago & Northwestern Railway in said Village of Elmhurst in Kane Township, Du Page County, Illinois. Also from the intersection of Fifth Avenue and Lake Street, in the Village of Maywood, in Cook County, Illinois, north on said Fifth Avenue to the northern limits of said Village of Maywood, thence continuing north on Fifth Avenue and the River Road in Melrose Park, in the Township of Proviso, in the County of Cook and State of Illinois, to the northern limits of the Village of Melrose Park, thence north on said River Road to the northern limits of said Township of Proviso, thence north on said River Road in the Township of Leyden to River Grove, thence continuing north on the said River Road to Grand Avenue in the Village of River Grove, thence west on Grand Avenue to the western limits of the said Village of River Grove, thence west on Grand Avenue in the Village of Franklin Park, to Rose Street in said Village of Franklin Park, thence north on said Rose Street to Main Street in said Village of Franklin Park in the Township of Leyden and the County of Cook. Also from the intersection of Fifth Avenue and Washington Boulevard in the Village of Maywood, County, Illinois, west on said Washington Boulevard to Seventeenth Avenue in said Village of Maywood, thence south on said Seventeenth Avenue to the right of way of the Chicago Aurora and Elgin Railway Company, all in said Village of Maywood. Also from the intersection of Washington Boulevard and Seventeenth Avenue north on Seventeenth Avenue in the Village of Maywood, Cook County, Illinois, to St. Charles Road, west on St. Charles Road to Nineteenth Avenue, north on Nineteenth Avenue to the northern limits of the said Village of Maywood, thence north on Broadway in the Village of Melrose Park, Cook County, Illinois, to Lake Street in said village.” In 1930 Speedway Auto Bus Company sold to Chicago & West Towns Railway Company.
SPEEDWAY TRANSPORT COMPANY There is almost nothing about this company on the Net, nor in any of the many books I have here on early bus companies. Judging from the style of badge, its safe to say the company was around in the 1930s. There was a lawsuit filed on October 12, 1935, Quaker Oil Co., Inc. vs. Speedway Transportation Co., Inc. apparently in Indianapolis, Indiana, although the newspaper article doesn’t make that clear. But note that the company was named “Transportation” not “Transport.” There is a 1987 obituary for a man who worked for “Speedway Transport Co.”, but judging by his age his employment would have been in the 1960s, and there are no listings for this company in any of the transit books from that time. It may have been a trucking company that also ran (maybe briefly) a bus service, which a number of trucking companies did in the early days. Also, there was a Speedway Transport Company in Kenya, which as a British Colony, used English in their daily business. This company was around at least in the 1940s and 1950s.
SPENCER-MARTINSVILLE MOTOR LINE was operating in Spencer, Indiana, in the mid 1920s.
SPOKANE CITY LINES succeeded Spokane United Railways in 1945, in Spokane, Washington, and ran until 1968 when the city took over operations. The badge has two threaded posts, measures 2½” x 2½” and was made by GREENDUCK CO. CHI.
SPOKANE-PORTLAND & SEATTLE TRANSPORTATION COMPANY / S.-P. & S. TRANSPORTATION CO. was operating in the 1920s and was a subsidiary of the Spokane-Portland & Seattle Railway. Its route extended from Portland, Oregon, to Astoria, Oregon, which was a distance of 105 miles; it ran 14 round trips a day and operated 33 White motor coaches and 2 Cadillac automobiles. (The White chassis were fitted with bodies built in the S. P. & S. Railway’s shops. See Railway Age for September 22, 1928.) In May 1942 the company was acquired by Oregon Motor Stages, Inc.
SPOON BROTHERS STAGE LINES was owned by Ira Spoon, and was based in Clifton, Arizona, in the 1950s. It ran 3 buses over 330 route miles.
SMTD / SPRINGFIELD MASS TRANSIT DISTRICT “Springfield Mass Transit District (Illinois); changed its name in 2016 dropping ‘Springfield’ from its title and replacing it with ‘Sangamon.’ The district’s acronym, SMTD, won’t change. Board chairman Brian Brewer, who proposed the name change, said the new title of ‘Sangamon Mass Transit District’ more accurately reflects services the district provides, which now extend beyond the city.” The badge is made of plastic, has two threaded posts and measures about 2⅜”.
SPRINGFIELD STREET RAILWAY COMPANY / SPRINGFIELD ST. RY. CO. was a Springfield, Massachusetts, streetcar and bus company that ran from 1868 until 1974. In 1924 the company was running over 199 route miles with 409 electric passenger cars and 4 motor passenger autobuses. The company discontinued streetcar service in 1940 and in 1946 operated 202 buses over 293 route miles. In 1974 the Pioneer Valley Transit Authority (PVTA) was created and is based in Springfield, Massachusetts; it serves Hampden, Hampshire, and Franklin counties. The Springfield Area Transit Company (SATCo) operates the southern portion of PVTA’s service area, servicing Hampden County. There are several known different badges for Springfield Street Railway Company; the badge drawing reproduced here looks like it dates to the early part of the 20th century. It is pin backed, measures 1¾” x 1½” and is hallmarked.
Springfield Transportation Company (IL) 1959
SPRINGFIELD We need help here identifying which Springfield company belongs to this badge! The collector who corresponded with me thinks it’s Springfield, Illinois. But some have identified it as Springfield, MA. The badge measures 2¼” x 2½ “, has two threaded posts and is marked MAIER-LAVATY COMPANY CHICAGO.
SPRINGWELLS MOTOR BUS COMPANY There’s not much information about this company. It was operating in the 1920s in Michigan, and was operated by the Detroit United Railways. It was taken over by Eastern Michigan Motor Buses, Inc. in 1928.
STAFFORD MOTOR COMPANY was operating in Saginaw, Michigan in the 1930s.
STAGE COACH LINES The Checker Bus Corp. was reorganized into Stage Coach Lines in the 1960’s and ran on Long Island, New York. It acquired Mid-Island Transit, and eventually would be acquired by Bee Line, Inc., which in turn was acquired in 1973 by the Metropolitan Suburban Bus Authority operating as MTA Long Island Bus.
TROY H. STAIR BUS LINE was a company operating out of Rolla, Missouri, and owned by Troy H. Stair. It began business on December 11, 1946, operating a route between Rolla and West Plains, Missouri. The company was out of business by 1979.
STAMPER COACH SHORE BUS TRANS. CO. INC. No information on the Net about this one. The badge measures a little over 1½” and has a single threaded posts.
STAR AUTO STAGE ASSOCIATION was organized on October 26, 1916, with its office in Sacramento, California. On May 1, 1917, it had between 50 and 60 independent bus company members. In 1920 Wesley Elgin “Buck” Travis (1870-1952) bought out the association’s then fifty-four members, combining the companies and incorporating as the Star Auto Company, which he later renamed California Transit Company. With that many companies under one roof, Travis’ company became the largest transit corporation in the state of California. The next chapter was noted in the December 6, 1924 edition of the Madera Tribune, which announced the impending merger of John C. Walling’s Valley Transit Company with Travis’ California Transit Company: “A deal involving approximately a half million dollars whereby the Valley Transit company of Fresno will be sold outright to W. E. Travis, president and general manager of the California Transit company of Oakland, is under way and will probably be completed early next week, it became known yesterday. . . . The deal is pending between stockholders of the Valley Transit company and W. K. Travis of the California Transit company for the controlling interest in the Valley Transit company. . . . the merged companies will make what is believed to be the largest stage company in the world doing an annual business of approximately one and one half million dollars and operating about 150 stages in the San Francisco, Sacramento. Fresno and Stockton districts.” In October 1928 Travis turned over all his bus interests (by this time they included the American Motor Transportation Company and its subsidiary, Pioneer Yelloway Stages) to Motor Transit Corporation, which would soon be renamed The Greyhound Corporation, in exchange for sizable stock interests in the company. (Greyhound’s predecessor Motor Transit is not to be confused with the Los Angeles suburban bus operation known as Motor Transit, which was not part of this deal, but which would soon become part of Pacific Greyhound Lines, Inc.) Skipping over a lot of history, by the mid-1930s Pacific Greyhound Lines was operational, with The Greyhound Corporation, the Pickwick Corporation and the Southern Pacific Company each owning one-third interests. For his part Wesley Travis was appointed to a somewhat minor position on the board of Pacific Greyhound. However, in 1932-1933, Travis led something of coup and took control of Pacific Greyhound Lines and remained in control as president and chairman of the board until his death in 1952.
STAR BUS LINE The only company that seems to match this badge is the Star Bus Line operating in Oak Grove, Louisiana, in 1946; C. A. Franklin was the owner. It was not listed in the 1950s MTD. The badge is made of metal and enamel and has two threaded posts.
STAR BUS LINES, INC. ran in Nassau County, New York, in the 1940s, operating a suburban service around Bellmore, New York. The company became Mid-Island Transit in 1966, which later was acquired by Stage Coach Lines, which would be acquired by Bee-Line, Inc. The badge has no makers’ mark, measures 2½” x 2⅜”, and has two threaded posts.
STATEN ISLAND COACH COMPANY was formed in 1925 as a subsidiary of Richmond Light & Railroad Co. to operate buses in place of streetcars in the borough of Richmond in New York City. However, buses did not replace Richmond’s streetcar until 1933-34. In 1937, the Staten Island Coach Co. took over the Tompkins Bus Co., which had been operating routes in Richmond. In 1946, the Staten Island Coach Co. went bankrupt, and the Isle Transportation Co., a company organized by a group of Staten Island Coach Co. employees, began operating the buses in the borough of Richmond in New York City.
STATESVILLE MOTOR COACH COMPANY, INC. was running in December 1937 from Statesville, North Carolina. It ran in conjunction with Atlantic Greyhound Corporation between Statesville and Troutman. In 1956 the company ran 8 buses over 50 route miles, and Moody White was the owner and president. The company was still operating in 1970.
STATESVILLE-SALISBURY COACH COMPANY, INC. was operating out of Statesville, North Carolina, in the mid-1920s. Authorized Operation: Salisbury to Statesville, Highway No. 10. In the 1930s the company was headquartered in Charlotte, North Carolina. In March 1938 the company filed for dissolution, which was granted on the 23rd of the March.
STATESVILLE-TAYLORSVILLE-LENOIR BUS LINE was operating in the mid 1920s out of Taylorsville, North Carolina. It ran from Statesville to Lenoir via Taylorsville, Highways Nos. 18 and 75. The company was owned by Lee Meadlock. Apprently this company went out of business in 1929: “Franchise Certicate No. 175, issued to Lee Meadlock operating as the Statesville-Taylorsville-Lenoir Bus Line, having expired on August 9, 1929, and the operation thereunder having been unsatisfactory, the Commission, in its direction, Orders, That Franchise No. 175 shall not be renewed. This order shall be effective from and after October 1, 1929. By order of the Commission: R. O. Self, This 17th day of September, 1929.”
STAUNTON-LIVINGSTON MOTOR TRANSPORTATION COMPANY, INC. was organized in May 1919 and ran an intercity route between Staunton in Macoupin County and Livingston in Madison County, Illinois. At that time the company hauled both freight and passengers using motor trucks. The company was still in business in the 1940s and 1966 and Harold Schuette was president. (The company is not listed in the 1940s editions of the MTD.) In 1956 the company was operating 4 buses serving Staunton, Livingston and E. Alton, Illinois.
STAVROS BROTHERS STAGE LINE was operating in the mid 1920s out of Merced, California. Chris E. Stavros was the owner/operator.
STEEL’S STAGE LINE was operating in 1923 from Vernonia to Holton, Oregon, over 15-mile route.
STEINWAY TRANSIT CORPORATION/ STEINWAY RAILWAY COMPANY / STEINWAY OMNIBUS CORPORATION / STEINWAY LINES The Steinway Railway Company had its beginning in northwestern Queens, New York City, in 1892, through the merger of the Rikers Avenue and Sanford Point Railroad and Steinway and Hunters Point Railroad. The company was acquired by New York and Queens County Railway (NY&QC) in 1896. That was the year that NY&QC became the largest trolley line in Queens when it consolidated four previous streetcar operators: Flushing and College Point Electric Railway, Long Island City and Newtown Railway, Newtown Railway, and Steinway Railway Company. On February 19, 1926, NY&QC established a bus division called the Queens-Nassau Transit Lines.
When NY&QC faced bankruptcy in 1922, it sold Steinway Railway Company to the Third Avenue Railway System, which allowed the company to operate under its own name. In 1938 the company was bought by the Queensboro Bridge Railway Company, which set up a subsidiary under Steinway Omnibus Company, and converted its lines from streetcars to buses. Queens-Nassau Transit Lines was renamed Queens Transit Corporation in 1957, and Steinway Omnibus became Steinway Transit in 1959. The two companies merged in 1986 to form the Queens/Steinway Transit Corporation.
On February 27, 2005, the MTA Bus Company took over the operations of the Queens Surface routes, part of the city’s takeover of all the remaining privately operated bus routes. The badge is made of nickel with a brass insert. It measures approx. 1¾” x 2 ¼” and has a pin back.
STERLING CITY-CHESTER AUTO STAGE was operating in the mid 1920s out of Chico, California. A.A. Johnson was the registered contact and the company ran from the Hotel Butte in Chico.
STEVENS STAGE LINES replaced McDowell-Lafferty Stage Lines in January 1969 after Elmer and Sandra Stevens bought the business from Frank and Maxine McDowell. The company continued offering tour buses and charter service, as well as some local service in Port Townsend, Washington. In 1980, after receiving a federal grant, the Transportation Benefit Authority (PTBA) of Jefferson County was formed and began offering bus service. This was made possible by contracting with Stevens Stage Lines for buses and drivers. The following year voters approved a sales tax to fund the service, which was the beginning of Jefferson Transit. Stevens Stage Lines continued supplying buses and drivers to the new agency. In August 1981 Jefferson Transit bought Stevens Stage Lines and thus the two lines legally merged.
STEVINSON-TURLOCK AUTO STAGE COMPANY was operating in the mid 1920s out of Stevinson, California. G.H. Blount was the registered contact.
A. S. STILL & SON AUTO BUS LINE was founded in Sayville, New York, in June 1917 by Alanson Sanford “Lance” Still. He ran a bus between Sayville and Patchogue, which is less than 5 miles away. “In April 1920, Islip Town awarded him one of its new franchises for the Patchogue to West Sayville route with limited service continuing to Carleton Avenue, East Islip in morning and afternoon; in January 1921, Still extended his service from Sayville to West Sayville hourly and to East Islip twice daily, connecting there with Swezey Bus Lines to Babylon.” In July 1926, Frank Gordon, owner of Blue & White Bus Company, bought out the bus company. Still later went to work for the Utility Line as the Patchogue manager. He died April 8, 1942 at age 78. The February 18, 1923 edition of The Brookly Daily Eagle from Brooklyn, New York gives a bit more insight: “Patchogue, L.I. Feb. 17 The mystery surrounding the failure of Alanson Still, operator of a bus line between here and West Sayville, to serve the injunction which he took out on Wednesday to restrain Ferlazzo Brothers [FERLAZZO’S BUS LINE, INC.] from operating their rival bus line was cleared today with the arrest of three of the Ferlazzo drivers . . . on the ground that they were driving busses on a line for which no franchise had been obtained. A week ago Still’s franchise was renewed but the Ferlazzo Brothers failed to obtain their renewal. Still charges a 15 cent fare while his rivals charge only 5.”
STIMSON TRANSIT COMPANY was operating in the mid 1920s out of Huntington Park, California. James B. Stimson was the owner/operator.
STOCKTON CITY LINES, INC. In 1939 Stockton Electric Railway, in Stockton, California, was sold to the infamous National City Lines, and the name was changed to Stockton City Lines. (See the entry for this company on this webpage for more information.) as was their custom, the company immediately discontinued operating streetcars and put buses in their place. The company ran until 1965 when it was taken over by Stockton Metropolitan Transit District. The badge measures 2½” x 2½” and was made by FIFTH AVENUE UNIFORM COMPANY 19 SO. WELLS CHICAGO. (Note: some badges are not marked on the back!)
STOCKTON & ANGELS STAGE LINE was operating in the mid 1920s out of Angels Camp, California. Angels Camp, also known as City of Angels and formerly Angel’s Camp, is the only incorporated city in Calaveras County, California. Turner Lillie was the owner/operator.
STOCKTON-CLEMENTS AUTO STAGE was operating in the mid 1920s out of Clements, California. D.G. Anderson was the registered contact.
STOCKTON-JACKSON AUTO STAGE LINE / STOCKTON-JACKSON STAGE LINE was operating in the mid 1920s out of Jackson, California. John Smalley was the registered contact.
STOCKTON-HOLT AUTO LINE was operating out of Stockton, California in the mid 1920s. The registered contacts were Colberg and Colberg.
STOCKTON-HOLT STAGE COMPANY was operating in 1918-1919 out of Stockton, California. This is all that is known of the company.
STONY CREEK BUS COMPANY operated in the late 1920s Stoney Creek, Tennessee.
STORM KING STAGE CORPORATION An excerpt from the October 1922 edition of Bus Transportation tells the story of this company’s founding: “On Sept. 31, ten minutes after the Storm King Highway was declared open, the Storm King Stage Corporation started operation of a fleet of new buses, each carrying sixty persons. . . . This road eliminated 11 miles from the old bus route from Newburgh to West Point and Highland Falls, N.Y. . . . William J. Duffy, Highland Falls, N.Y., heads the Storm King Stage Corporation.” The National Taxicab and Motorbus Journal for October, 1922 gives a bit more background: “The Storm King Stage Corporation, Newburgh, has been formed with a capitalization of $15,000, to take over the franchise granted last January to William J. Duffy to operate a motorbus service between Newburgh and Bear Mountain Park, via Cornwall.”
At some point the company’s ownership changed hands. By the early 1950s it was owned by Julius Dubrin, whose daughter Gloria married West Point U.S. Military Academy graduate Jerome “Jerry” Brisman in 1952. Some 15 years later the Brismans took over Storm King Stage Corp. An April 30, 2007, article, BRISMAN TO BE HONORED BY CITIZENS FOUNDATION, published in Cornwall and Cornwall on Hudson, relates: “After 15 years of being on the road, and with four young children to raise, Jerry and Gloria returned to Orange County and eventually took over her father’s bus company. The Brismans turned the company into the public school bus line for Highland Falls, then Cornwall and finally in 1977 they saw the potential for a whole new line of business. ‘The Military Academy was celebrating it sesquiecentennial,’ Jerry recalls, ‘and they asked us to do a one-day tour. It was so successful that they asked us to continue and that led to the creation of West Point Tours.’” They renamed the company West Point Tours, Inc., which today operates out of Vails Gate, NY. (Note: this information is at odds with West Point Tours’ webpage: “May 19, 2017 – West Point Tours was established in 1947 — an outgrowth of the Storm King Stage Corporation, which was founded in 1928.” However, since I cite an interview with Jerry Brisman about the founding of West Point Tours in 1977, it seems that the West Point Tour webpage’s information is incorrect. Also, Storm King Stage Corp. was clearly founded in 1922, not 1928.)
Meet a Storm King Stage Company driver: Charles Kimball Robinson, born in Greenwich, New York, on July 6, 1903, and died in 1971. Charles was employed as stage/bus driver for the Storm King Stage Company. His route was the Storm King Highway to the US Military Academy at West Point and to Highland Falls. During his years of driving, Charles received awards from the National Safety Council for safe driving, and in 1940 received a medal for driving safe 15,000 miles; he later received an award for driving more than 250,000 miles in 8 years without an accident.
STUDEBAKER BUS LINES, INC. operated out of Seymour, Indiana, in the 1920s. It was still in business in 1930.
STUDIO BUS LINE started in 1913 running a bus line from Hollywood to Culver City in Los Angeles County, California. The company was bought out by the newly-formed Asbury Bus Lines in 1939.
STUDIO STAGE LINE was operating in the mid 1920s out of Pasadena, California.
SUBURBAN AUTO COACH CO. was a bus company that served the northwest suburbs of Chicago, Illinois. In July 1925 began running a service between Arlington Height and Des Plaines, Illinois. In the late 1920s the White Line Motor Bus Co., Suburban Auto Coach Co. and Federal Transportation Co. merged to form United Motor Coach Co.
SUBURBAN BUS LINES began operations during World War II in Greensboro, North Carolina, and High Point, North Carolina, and was owned by H. F. Moore. It ran from the intersection of N. C. Highway No. 301 near High Point over N. C. Highway No. 68 to Friendship, N.C. In 1953 H. F. Moore and Wallace A. Kennedy took over Duke Power Company‘s bus systems in High Point and Salisbury (which included Suburban Bus Lines) and formed the Consolidated Bus Lines. Suburban Bus Lines continued operating but under control of Consolidated Bus Lines. In 1956 the company was running 6 buses in High Point. As to a badge, see the entries below.
SUBURBAN BUS LINES There are several possibilities for this badge, including the previous entry. There was a company by this name operating out of Camden, New Jersey in the 1950s-1960s. It connected Philadelphia and Camden with Erlton, Bloomfield Park, Marlton-Medford, Medford Lakes, Vincentown, Maple Shade, Green Tree, Lumberton. There was another company operating out of Albuquerque, New Mexico in the 1940s. It was a subsidiary of Albuquerque Bus Company and served the city of Albuquerque and Sandoval: “[D]uring the 1950’s, Suburban Bus Lines replaced Armijo Bus Co. and Isleta Bus Line, which had been under common ownership, and which ceased operations. Additional information on these Albuquerque area operations is available in the July-September 1997 issue of the magazine ‘Motor Coach Age‘.” (Info from Chicago Transit & Railfan website.) There are several badges, although I’ve no hint to which company they belong. The first badge is die stamped, chrome-plated brass, measures approx. 2¾” with no makers mark and a single threaded post. (The thumb nut is marked “Hookfast.”) The second badge is chrome-plated brass, measures 2½” x 2⅜”, has a single threaded posts, and was made by FIFTH AVENUE UNIFORM COMPANY 19 SO. WELLS CHICAGO. The third badge is made of brass, is nickel-plated and has two threaded posts. It measures 2½” x 2¾”.
SUBURBAN TRANSIT was operating from LaPorte, Indiana, in the 1940s and 1950s. It was a suburban and intercity company and served LaPorte, Michigan City, Kingsbury Ordinance Plant, Kingsford Heights; it ran 7 buses over 24 route miles and was owned by Leon C. Skalicky. The badge has two threaded posts.
SUBURBAN TRANSIT COMPANY There are several companies with this name; one is Suburban Transit Company, Inc. of Columbia, South Carolina, which was running in the 1950s. The other was running in the 1960s in Oak Lawn, Illinois. The owner was Jim Petinis, who bought the company from the original owner, Mike Sklom. However, to date I’ve not discovered the name of the company when Mr. Sklom owned it. The one and just about only mention of the company appears in 1967 when it was hit hard by a tornado that ripped through Oak Lawn. Suburban Transit Company, which was located near 95th Street and Menard Avenue, saw extensive damage: “Many of their buses, each weighing around ten tons, were ripped open by the high winds while others were thrown hundreds of feet from their original location.” There is a photograph of a number of the company’s buses piled up in the Oak Lawn Community High School baseball field, which was located behind the bus company garage. The company reported extensive losses, including 19 buses valued at $35,000 each when it applied for a $700,000 loan to replace their losses.
SUBURBAN TRANSIT LINES, INC. operated out of Anderson, South Carolina, in the mid 1940s. In 1945-46 the company was granted a certificate of operation in North Carolina and gave a Winston-Salem Post Office box as a mailing address. The routes were from Winston-Salem to Bethania via Liberty Street and Patterson Avenue to Grant Avenue to intersection of Highway No. 52-A, to New Old Town School Road to the Bethania Road; thence over Bethania Road to destination. The company also ran a freight line. By looking the badge, which as a Trailways design, it would appear that the company had some connection to Trailways. The badge has two threaded posts and was made by HOOKFAST PROVIDENCE R.I.
SUFFOLK BUS CORPORATION began service in 1946 and served Bay Shore, Brentwood, West Brentwood, Central Islip, Islip, and Babylon, New York. It continues today under contract with Suffolk County Transit.
SULLIVAN’S AUTO STAGE LINE was operating in the mid 1920s out Willows, California. It was owned by D. O. Sullivan.
SUMPTER STAGE LINE was operating in 1923 from Baker to Sumpter, Oregon, over a 33-mile route.
SUN VALLEY BUS LINES, INC. / SUN VALLEY TRAILWAYS One source offers that this company was started in 1947; however, there is a professional photo of one of its buses that is dated June 9, 1945. It’s listed in the 1946 MTD as located in Phoenix, Arizona, L. A. Tanner president. The following is an account of a 1947 trip on one of Sun Valley’s coaches: “In these years, the entire area was very remote. The principal highway was narrow, two-lane and unpaved, not dissimilar to the poorer sections of today’s Control Road west of Tonto Village. The trip from Phoenix was a full day and sometimes longer. In 1947, R-C staff members were transported from Phoenix to Camp Geronimo via bus provided by Sun Valley Bus Lines. The bus had wooden spoke wheels and the bus top was canvas. The trip started at Scout Headquarters at 8:00 AM; lunched at Sun Flower and arrived at Camp Geronimo at 4:00 PM.” There is a notice in the Tucson Daily Citizen, from Tucson, Arizon December 19, 1947: “. . . application of the American Bus Lines, Inc. and the Sun Valley Bus lines to expand their operations. . . . Sun Valley [Bus] wants to broaden its operations to include New Mexico and Texas.” The company was a Trailways affiliate from 1949-1954, as was American Bus Lines. In 1977 this company was listed as a subsidiary of The Greyhound Corporation. The company was still operating in 2009, but is now listed as out of business. There are two badges. The first badge is an older nickle-plated exmaple with enameling and has two threaded posts. The second badge has the word “Inc.” included in the title, is made of nickle-plated metal and his two threaded posts. The third badge is a later gold-colored example of the second badge.
SUN VALLEY STAGES COMPANY was a Twin Falls, Idaho bus charter service as well as a regular carrier running between Twin Falls and Boise, Idaho. A June 19, 1948, Salt Lake Tribune classified ad stated that the company was for sale, had seven buses, operated 450 route miles and had been in business for 17 years, meaning it was founded in 1932. At that time the company was owned by J. L. Schwinn. The company was still in business in April 1965.
SUNNY SOUTH LINES was the trade name of a service owned by Detroit and Cincinnati Coach Lines, which ran a service between Detroit and Cincinnati. The company was founded by Walter Nisun, and according to the August 20, 1929, edition of the Battle Creek Enquirer from Battle Creek, Michigan (page 22), the company began running “. . . baggage bus service between Detroit and Cincinnati and Detroit and Chicago. The company will operate 12 buses.” One webpage says it was sold it to the Motor Transit Corporation in 1928. MTC would be renamed The Greyhound Corporation. According to the 1928-29 edition of WILLIAMS’ Cincinnati Directory, the company was named SUNNY SOUTH AND GREYHOUND LINES.
SUNRISE COACH LINES was founded in 1946: “Headquartered in Greenport the company is a sister company to Sunrise Busses, Inc that operates School Buses for the local school district. Sunrise Coach also operated Coach buses that went form the North Fork of Long Island to Manhattan. Their Coach Lines were brought out by Hampton Jitney in 2006.”
SUNSHINE BUS LINES, INC. See Sunshine Trailways for a history of this company.
SUPER SERVICE COACH There’s nothing on the Net about this company. The badge has one threaded post and one pin post.
SUPERIOR BUS COMPANY was “granted a certificate of convenience and necessity by the Commission on October 4, 1920, for the operating of a motor bus line between the cities of O’Fallon and Belleville and the village of Shiloh . . . ” by the Illinois Public Utilities Commission. By 1922 it was operating between Belleville and O’Fallon via Shiloh, between Belleville and Scott Field, (the government flying school,) and between Belleville and Mascoutah, Illinois. By 1925 the company was operating interstate service to St. Louis, Missouri. According to one source the company ceased operations in 1931. When rival Community Motor Bus Company was granted a certificate of convenience and necessity to operate motor buses between Belleville and Nashville, Illinois in 1924, it was contested by Superior Bus Company. After two court appeals, in February 1926 the Illinois Supreme Court finally found in favor of the Superior Bus Company. (In 1923 Community Motor Bus Company had been founded by a former manager and stockholder of Superior Bus Company.)
SURFACE TRANSIT, INCORPORATED operated buses in Manhattan and the Bronx, New York City, from 1956 to 1962. It succeeded Surface Transportation Corporation, but was in fact a new company, being a subsidiary of Fifth Avenue Coach Lines, Incorporated, which was a 1956 renaming of the former New York City Omnibus Corporation. All of the routes of Fifth Avenue Coach Lines, Inc. and its subsidiary Surface Transit, Inc. were taken over in 1962 by the Manhattan and Bronx Surface Transit Operating Authority.
SURFACE TRANSPORTATION SYSTEM / STS (Surface Transportation Corporation) was formed in 1924 as a subsidiary of the Third Avenue Railway System (TARS). As buses gradually replaced streetcars in the 1940’s TARS operated buses in Manhattan and the Bronx, New York City. The Surface Transportation Corporation was dissolved as a corporation in 1956 when the Third Avenue Railway System was sold to New York City Omnibus Corporation. The badge measures 2½” x 2 ⅝ “, is die pressed and has two threaded posts. (Note: there is a smaller version of this badge that is smaller that only has the employee number and no room for the employee’s position, i.e., “OPERATOR” or “SUPERVISOR”.)
SUSANVILLE-BIEBER STAGE LINE was operating in the mid 1920s out of Susanville, California. David S. Mitchell was the registered contact and Douglas Duggan was the manager.
SUSANVILLE-KLAMATH FALLS STAGE / SUSANVILLE-DOYLE LINE David S. Mitchell owned this company, which (according to one source) was “operating illegally” in 1921-1922. The company was in business in 1929 operating out of Susanville, California.
SUSANVILLE-WENDEL STAGE was operating out of Susanville, California, in the mid 1920s. George B. Lang was the registered contact.
SUTHERLAND’S TIJUANA STAGES Fred Sutherland and Mariana Gear’s application, No. 3387 dated January 30, 1918, to transport passengers between San Diego, California, and Calexico was denied by the California Public Utilities Commission. Nevertheless, at some point it was granted permission and was operational in 1918 through the at least the early 1940s between San Diego, California and Tijuana, Mexico. During Prohibition the company did a booming business transporting people over the infamous “Road to Hell” to Tijuana’s bars—even traveling as far as Hussong’s Cantina in Ensenada. The company’s buses left San Diego at 10 a.m., 2 p.m., and 6 p.m. The company had 34 smaller vehicles that went south more often during the day. The last bus left Tijuana at midnight. There is a surviving photo of the company headquarters in San Diego preserved by the San Diego History Center.
SWALLOW LINES SEE ILLINI SWALLOW LINES (This badge measures 2¼” and has a single threaded post. The company ties into Illini Swallow Lines.)
SWAN QUARTER-BELHAVEN MOTOR BUS LINE was operating in mid 1920s. It ran from Swan Quarter, North Carolina, to Belhaven on Highway 91.
SWEZEY’S BUS LINE, INC. From the Sayville Library’s history of Sayville, Long Island, New York: “Frederick R. Swezey [brother-in-law of Frank Gordon, owner of Blue &White Bus Line, Inc.] had been operating a bus line between Babylon and East Islip [Long Island, New York] since about1920. In April 1929 (possibly because of the apparent demise of Blue & White), he applied for a franchise for the East Islip/eastern boundary of Islip Town or Blue Point/Patchogue route. . . . Swezey received approval from Town of Brookhaven but not Islip.” Frederick Swezey died on June 1, 1921 leaving his bus company to son Hermon Elliot Swezey (born 1888, died 1966). More info can be found in these minutes of a meeting of the Town Board of the Town of Riverhead, dated Wednesday, September 30,1931 at 2 P.M.: “An application from the Utility Lines, Inc., requesting the Town Board to consent to the transfer of the franchise, granted to the Swezey’s Bus Line,Inc. on December 12,1928, to the Utility Lines, Inc., was presented. Mr.Swezey of Swezey’s Bus Line, Inc., addressed the Board advising that he was to discontinue his bus line and would suggest that the Board consent to the transfer of the franchise granted him to the Utility Lines,Inc. On motion duly made, seconded and carried it was resolved that this Board hereby consents to the transfer of the franchise, granted December 12,1928 to the Swezey’s Bus Line, to the Utility Lines, Inc.” According to one notice, the Swezey Bus Line, Inc. still survives as the Hermon E. Swezey Bus Company, which is a school bus operation.
SYRACUSE & EASTERN TRANSIT CORPORATION From Atwood’s Catalogue of US & Canadian Transportation Tokens: “Syracuse & Eastern Railroad was incorporated in April, 1923, as successor to the Syracuse & Suburban Railroad, which had been sold at foreclosure proceedings. Syracuse & Eastern Bus Lines was a subsidiary, and ultimately the name was changed to Syracuse & Eastern Transit Corp.” The bus operation ran in the 1930s and issued tokens under Syracuse & Eastern Bus Lines, Inc. In 1946 it ran 6 buses over 3. 2 route miles. It was still operating in 1956.
SYRACUSE & OSWEGO MOTOR LINES was operating in Syracuse, New York, in the 1940s-1950s. In 1946 it ran 68 route miles with 24 buses. The badge measures 2¾”.
SYRACUSE TRANSIT COMPANY / SYRACUSE TRANSIT CORPORATION Information from Wikepedia and other sources: New York State Railways was a subsidiary of the New York Central Railroad that controlled several large city streetcar and electric interurban systems in upstate New York. It included the city transit lines in Rochester, Syracuse, Utica, Oneida and Rome, plus various interurban lines connecting those cities. In 1905 the New York Central took control of the Rochester Railway Company, the Rochester & Eastern Rapid Railway and the Rochester & Sodus Bay Railway, and the Mohawk Valley Company was formed by the railroad to manage these new acquisitions. New York State Railways was formed in 1909 when the properties controlled by the Mohawk Valley Company were merged. In 1912 it added the Rochester and Suburban Railway, the Syracuse Rapid Transit Railway, the Oneida Railway, and the Utica & Mohawk Valley Railway.
In 1928 the New York Central sold the New York State Railways and the following year it entered receivership. The New York State Railways emerged from receivership in 1934, and gradually the remaining core city lines were sold as separate operations. The Rochester Lines were reorganized as the Rochester Transit Corporation on August 2, 1938. The Syracuse Lines were reorganized on November 22, 1939, as the privately-owned Syracuse Transit Corporation / Company with Benjamin E. Tilton as president (Tilton has been previously appointed as a trustee of the New York State Railways while it was in bankruptcy proceedings). This company inherited 27 transit routes serving the city and suburbs of Syracuse, seven of which were streetcar lines. By 1941, all lines had been converted to bus operation. In 1946 Syracuse Transit Company operated 260 buses over 132 route miles, and Benjamin Tilton was still running the company. On December 23, 1969, the company increased bus fares to 30¢. By 1972 the Syracuse Transit Corporation was bankrupt and its transit franchises were purchased by the public Central New York Regional Transportation Authority, which continued their operation as CNY Centro.
Copyright © 2019 TRANSITBADGES.COM. All Rights Reserved. You may freely quote from this page with the proviso that TRANSITBADGES.COM is credited.